

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

335 Randolph Avenue • Suite 210 St. Paul MN 55102 Telephone (651) 201-2762 • Fax (651) 201-2763

ONLINE LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. Before beginning the online application process, you will need detailed information to expedite the online process including:
 - a. Social Security number or Alien Registration Number.
 - b. Degree dates High School, Undergraduate and Optometric education.
 - c. Current and former license numbers, dates issued and expired from Minnesota and/or any other jurisdictions, *if applicable*.
 - d. Practical Experience.
 - e. Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit card to pay all fees.
 - f. Any missing documentation may delay processing of your application.

2. Criminal Background Check

The Minnesota Board of Optometry is statutorily required to complete a Federal and State Criminal Background Check prior to issuing your license. In Minnesota, a formal application to the Board will initiate this separate processing conducted by another agency, the Criminal Background Check Unit (CBC). It may add three to four weeks to complete the CBC and application to the license process. Once you apply online or the paper application is received, the Criminal Background Check Unit will contact you by email with directions to complete the CBC. The \$33.25 fee is added to your application and there is no additional fee. The Minnesota Board of Optometry will be informed of the results and move your application forward.

Complete your CBC as soon as possible as it can take four weeks to process the fingerprints.

3. Complete the online application.

Enter your name the way you want it to appear on your Official License Certificate. The name you enter must exactly match the name on the supporting documents, or documentation of formal name change must be submitted.

4. **Staff will receive your online application the following day.** Depending on your background and experience, you will need to submit all or a portion of the following requirements:

Primary verification documents that may be requested include:

- a. **Certified transcripts of non-optometric college education** must be sent directly from your school or college.
- b. **Certified transcript of optometric education** (must show degree conferred) and must be sent directly from your school or college of Optometry.
- c. Certified copy of NBEO Examination results, Part II, Part III and TMOD must be sent directly to the board office from the NBEO. This is typically completed through NBEO when you acknowledge states to receive your scores. Contact NBEO is you are uncertain.
- d. **State Law Exam**, this examination must be completed prior to the Board's review of your application. Results are valid for 1 year from completion.
 - i. Applicants need to take the Minnesota Law Examination online through the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) https://www.optometry.org/law.cfm. This is

an open book exam. Based on MN Statutes 148.52 through 148.62, 145.711 through 145.714 and MN Rules 6500.0100 through 6500.3000

- e. **Two (2) letters of recommendation** attesting to the moral and ethical character of the applicant. One letter is to be from a practicing optometrist in good standing who has personal knowledge of the applicant. Letters can be sent directly by US Mail or to the board's email address optometry.board@state.mn.us
- f. **License Verification** if currently or previously licensed in another state(s), contact each jurisdiction to have a License Verification sent to the Minnesota Board. Minnesota accepts all other state board of optometry's license verification issued directly by the state.
- g. Board staff will review your initial information and determine the appropriate application track and required documents you will be required to submit. Applicants will receive an email to log into your account and items will be listed as met/unmet on the online licensee record.

5. Fees for Licensure (Non-Refundable)

Application Fee

\$283.25

6. Level Licensure Statement

All Minnesota Licensed Optometrists must meet therapeutic certification standards (TPA) and considered as meeting nationally recognized TMOD requirements. This level licensure standard is all inclusive of any former education including, but not limited to DPA, TPA certifications if the Minnesota licensed O.D. is currently or initially licensed after January 1, 2013. One license certificate is issued which encompasses DPA, TPA and full licensure as a Minnesota Licensed Optometric Doctor, O.D.

7. Completed Application and Final License Approval:

You may monitor the progress of your application using your Minnesota Board of Optometry online record. When documentation is received, they are updated in your application and can be reviewed through your online account. When all documents are officially validated on your online account; staff will independently process the application and the official License will be issued within 48 hours of receiving all documents for the application, fees, and the completed Criminal Background Check.

8. All licenses expire December 31 of each year.