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There are four social work licenses in Minnesota. 
Qualifying for a license requires a Council on 
Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited social 
work degree and supervised practice.  An 
applicant for licensure must also pass the 
Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) 
national licensing examination and authorize a 
criminal background check.  

Licensed Social Worker (LSW) 

 Accredited CSWE BSW degree 

 Bachelors ASWB exam 

 Supervised practice not required for initial        
licensure; but once licensed, 100 hours 
supervision over 4000 hours social work 
practice, documented at license renewal 

Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW) 

 Accredited CSWE MSW or DSW degree 

 Masters ASWB exam 

 Supervised practice not required for initial        
licensure; but once licensed, 100 hours 
supervision over 4000 hours social work 
practice, documented at license renewal 

Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW) 

 Accredited CSWE MSW or DSW degree 

 Advanced Generalist ASWB exam 

 100 hours supervision over 4000 hours social 
work practice, documented at application 

Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker 
(LICSW) 

 Accredited CSWE MSW or DSW degree, 
including 360 clock hours in 6 clinical 
knowledge areas earned through MSW 
coursework, other graduate coursework, or 
up to 90 CE hours  

 Clinical ASWB exam 

 200 hours supervision over no less than 4000 
and no more than 8000 hours of clinical 
practice, including 1800 hours of direct 
clinical client contact hours, documented at 
application 

How is clinical practice defined? 

Minnesota Statutes, Section 148E.010, subdivision 6, defines 
clinical practice as applying professional social work 
knowledge, skills, and values in the differential diagnosis and 
treatment of psychosocial function, disability, or 
impairment, including addictions and emotional, mental, and 
behavioral disorders. Treatment includes a plan based on a 
differential diagnosis. Treatment may include, but is not 
limited to, the provision of psychotherapy  to individuals, 
couples,  families, and groups. Clinical social workers may 
also provide the services described in the definition of 
practice of social work. 

What are the license requirements? 

Who can provide clinical services? 

Licensed Social Worker (LSW) 

 Not authorized for clinical practice 

Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW) and Licensed 
Independent Social Worker (LISW) 

 Authorized for clinical practice with ongoing 
supervision from Board approved licensing supervisor, 
not to exceed 8000 hours of clinical supervised practice 
without obtaining LICSW  license 

Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW) 

 Authorized for independent clinical practice 

Is there more information about the 
license requirements and application process? 

Complete information about licensing requirements and 
application process, online application and renewal      
services, and downloadable forms are available at the 
Board’s website. 
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“To ensure to the residents of Minnesota 

quality social work services by establishing 

and enforcing professional standards.” 

License 
Requirements 



 Students engaged in practice in an internship program 

required for a social work degree 

 Persons employed by county agencies  

 Persons employed by federally recognized tribes 

 Other licensed professionals 

 Persons hired before July 1, 2016, employed by a city or 

state agency, or a private nonprofit agency with a 

primary service focus addressing ethnic minority 

populations and the individual is a member of an 

ethnic minority population 

Minnesota Statutes, Sections 148E.055 and 148E.280  

require that all  persons either 1) practicing social work 

based on a social work degree accredited by the Council 

on Social Work Education (CSWE) or 2) representing 

themselves as a “social worker” must be licensed, 

except when practicing in an exempt setting.  Persons 

may not begin social work practice where licensure is 

required until they hold a valid license or temporary 

license.  

The Board has legal authority to determine whether a 

person in a specific position is engaged in social work 

practice and must be licensed.  If the duties performed 

in a position include services defined as “social work 

practice” in Minnesota Statutes, Section 148E.010, 

subdivision 6 or 11, and the basis for the position is the 

person’s Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) 

degree in social work, then licensure is required,  even if 

the job title is not “social worker” and even if an 

employer does not require  licensure.    

If an individual is unsure whether a social work  license 

is required for a specific position,  contact the Board for 

a determination. 

Social work services include: 

 Providing assessment and intervention through 
direct contact with clients, developing a plan 
based on information from an assessment, and 
providing services 

 Providing for the direct or indirect benefit of 
clients through administrative, educational, policy, 
or research services including, but not limited to:  

 Advocating for policies, programs, or services 
to improve the well-being of clients 

 Developing and administering programs 
providing social work services 

 Engaging in community organization to 
address social problems 

 Supervising individuals who provide social 
work services to clients or to comply with the 
Board’s supervised practice requirements 

 Teaching professional social work knowledge, 
skills, and values to students 

 Engaging in clinical practice 

 

Minnesota Statutes, Section 148E.010, subdivision 11,     

defines social work practice as working to maintain, restore, 

or improve behavioral, cognitive, emotional, mental, or  

social functioning of clients, in a manner that applies 

accepted professional social work knowledge, skills, and 

values,  including the person-in-environment perspective, by 

providing in person or through telephone, video 

conferencing, or electronic means one or more of the social 

work services described.  Clinical social work is defined in 

Minnesota Statutes, Section 148E.010, subdivision 6. 

Social work services may address conditions that impair or 

limit behavioral, cognitive, emotional, mental, or social 

functioning. Such conditions include, but are not limited to, 

the following: abuse and neglect of children or vulnerable 

adults, addictions, developmental disorders, disabilities, 

discrimination, illness, injuries, poverty, and trauma.   

Practice of social work also means providing social work 

services in a position for which the educational basis is the 

individual’s degree in social work. 

Who is exempt from licensure? Who must be licensed? What services do social workers provide? 

 How is social work practice defined? 

 Why is licensing important? 

Social workers provide services to vulnerable 

populations.  Licensing social workers is essential to 

ensure public protection for the residents of 

Minnesota.   

The Board ensures that licensed social workers are 

qualified, professional, ethical, and accountable.   

Clients can be assured that licensed social workers 

meet education, examination, supervision, continuing 

education, and ethical standards of practice.  If a 

licensee fails to meet the Board’s standards of practice, 

a client has access to the Board’s complaint resolution 

process.   

Through licensure, licensees gain enhanced 

professional identity, credibility,  marketability, and 

parity with other licensed professionals and may be 

eligible for third party reimbursement.   

What are the new licensing requirements 

beginning July 1, 2016? 

Beginning July 1, 2016, licensure is required for newly 

employed persons in a city or state agency, or a private 

nonprofit agency with a primary service focus 

addressing ethnic minority populations and the 

individual is a member of an ethnic minority 

population. 


