LAWS of MINNESOTA 2024

ARTICLE 23

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148D.061, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Requirements for a provisional license.** An applicant may be issued a provisional license if the applicant:

(1) was born in a foreign country;

(2) communicates in English as a second language;

(3) has taken the applicable examination administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or similar examination body designated by the board;

(4) (1) has met the requirements of section 148E.055, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (3), (4), (5), and (6); or subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (3), (4), (5), and (6); or subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (4), (5), (6), and (7); or subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (3), (5), (6), (7), and (8); and

(5) (2) complies with the requirements of subdivisions 2 to 7.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148D.061, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. **Disciplinary or other action.** <u>A licensee who is issued a provisional license is subject to the grounds for disciplinary action under section 148E.190.</u> The board may <u>also</u> take action according to sections 148E.260 to 148E.270 if:

(1) the licensee's supervisor does not submit an evaluation as required by section 148D.063;

(2) an evaluation submitted according to section 148D.063 indicates that the licensee cannot practice social work competently and ethically; or

(3) the licensee does not comply with the requirements of subdivisions 1 to 7.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148D.062, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Types of supervision.** (a) Twenty-five hours <u>Half</u> of <u>the</u> supervision <u>hours</u> required by subdivision 1 must consist of one-on-one in person supervision. The supervision must be provided either in person or via eye-to-eye electronic media while maintaining visual contact.

(b) Twelve and one-half hours <u>Half</u> of <u>the</u> supervision <u>hours</u> must consist of one or more of the following types of supervision:

(1) in-person one-on-one supervision provided in person or via eye-to-eye electronic media while maintaining visual contact; or

(2) in person group supervision provided in person, by telephone, or via eye-to-eye electronic media while maintaining visual contact.

(c) To qualify as in-person Group supervision, the group must not exceed seven members including the supervisor six supervisees.

(d) Supervision must not be provided by email.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148D.062, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Supervisor requirements.** (a) The supervision required by subdivision 1 must be provided by a supervisor who meets the requirements in section 148E.120 and has either:

(1) 5,000 hours experience engaged in authorized social work practice; or

(2) completed 30 hours of training in supervision, which may be satisfied by completing academic coursework in supervision or continuing education courses in supervision as defined in section 148E.010, subdivision 18.

(b) Supervision must be provided:

(1) if the supervisee is not engaged in clinical practice and the supervisee has a provisional license to practice as a licensed social worker, by:

(i) a licensed social worker who has completed the supervised practice requirements;

(ii) a licensed graduate social worker who has completed the supervised practice requirements;

(iii) a licensed independent social worker; or

(iv) a licensed independent clinical social worker;

(2) if the supervisee is not engaged in clinical practice and the supervisee has a provisional license to practice as a licensed graduate social worker, licensed independent social worker, or licensed independent clinical social worker, by:

(i) a licensed graduate social worker who has completed the supervised practice requirements;

(ii) a licensed independent social worker; or

(iii) a licensed independent clinical social worker;

(3) if the supervisee is engaged in clinical practice and the supervisee has a provisional license to practice as a licensed graduate social worker, licensed independent social worker, or licensed independent clinical social worker, by a licensed independent clinical social worker; or

(4) by a supervisor who meets the requirements in section 148E.120, subdivision 2.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148D.063, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Supervision plan.** (a) An applicant granted a provisional license must submit, on a form provided by the board, a supervision plan for meeting the supervision requirements in section 148D.062.

(b) The supervision plan must be submitted no later than 30 days after the licensee begins a social work practice position.

(c) The board may revoke a licensee's provisional license for failure to submit the supervision plan within 30 days after beginning a social work practice position.

(d) (c) The supervision plan must include the following:

(1) the name of the supervisee, the name of the agency in which the supervisee is being supervised, and the supervisee's position title;

(2) the name and qualifications of the person providing the supervision;

(3) the number of hours of one-on-one in-person supervision and the number and type of additional hours of supervision to be completed by the supervisee;

(4) the supervisee's position description;

(5) a brief description of the supervision the supervisee will receive in the following content areas:

(i) clinical practice, if applicable;

(ii) development of professional social work knowledge, skills, and values;

(iii) practice methods;

(iv) authorized scope of practice;

(v) ensuring continuing competence; and

(vi) ethical standards of practice; and

(6) if applicable, a detailed description of the supervisee's clinical social work practice, addressing:

(i) the client population, the range of presenting issues, and the diagnoses;

(ii) the clinical modalities that were utilized; and

(iii) the process utilized for determining clinical diagnoses, including the diagnostic instruments used and the role of the supervisee in the diagnostic process.

(e) (d) The board must receive a revised supervision plan within 30 days of any of the following changes:

(1) the supervisee has a new supervisor;

(2) the supervisee begins a new social work position;

(3) the scope or content of the supervisee's social work practice changes substantially;

(4) the number of practice or supervision hours changes substantially; or

(5) the type of supervision changes as supervision is described in section 148D.062.

(f) The board may revoke a licensee's provisional license for failure to submit a revised supervision plan as required in paragraph (c).

(g) (e) The board must approve the supervisor and the supervision plan.

255

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148D.063, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Evaluation.** (a) When a licensee's supervisor submits an evaluation to the board according to section 148D.061, subdivision 6, the supervisee and supervisor must provide the following information on a form provided by the board:

(1) the name of the supervisee, the name of the agency in which the supervisee is being supervised, and the supervisee's position title;

(2) the name and qualifications of the supervisor;

(3) the number of hours and dates of each type of supervision completed;

(4) the supervisee's position description;

(5) a declaration that the supervise has not engaged in conduct in violation of the standards of practice in sections 148E.195 to 148E.240;

(6) a declaration that the supervisee has practiced competently and ethically according to professional social work knowledge, skills, and values; and

(7) on a form provided by the board, an evaluation of the licensee's practice in the following areas:

(i) development of professional social work knowledge, skills, and values;

(ii) practice methods;

(iii) authorized scope of practice;

(iv) ensuring continuing competence;

 (\mathbf{v}) (iv) ethical standards of practice; and

(vi) (v) clinical practice, if applicable.

(b) The supervisor must attest to the satisfaction of the board that the supervisee has met or has made progress on meeting the applicable supervised practice requirements.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148E.055, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 2b. Qualifications for licensure by completion of provisional license requirements as a licensed social worker (LSW). To be licensed as a licensed social worker, an applicant for licensure by completion of provisional license requirements must provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant:

(1) completed all requirements under section 148D.061, subdivisions 1 to 6; and

(2) continues to meet the requirements of subdivision 2, clauses (1) and (3) to (6).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148E.055, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 3b. Qualifications for licensure by completion of provisional license requirements as a licensed graduate social worker (LGSW). To be licensed as a licensed graduate social worker, an applicant for licensure by completion of provisional license requirements must provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant:

(1) completed all requirements under section 148D.061, subdivisions 1 to 6; and

(2) continues to meet the requirements of subdivision 3, clauses (1) and (3) to (6).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148E.055, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 4b. Qualifications for licensure by completion of provisional license requirements as a licensed independent social worker (LISW). To be licensed as a licensed independent social worker, an applicant for licensure by completion of provisional license requirements must provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant:

(1) completed all requirements under section 148D.061, subdivisions 1 to 6; and

(2) continues to meet the requirements of subdivision 4, clauses (1), (2), and (4) to (7).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148E.055, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 5b. Qualifications for licensure by completion of provisional license requirements as a licensed independent clinical social worker (LICSW). To be licensed as a licensed independent clinical social worker, an applicant for licensure by completion of provisional license requirements must provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant:

(1) completed all requirements under section 148D.061, subdivisions 1 to 6; and

(2) continues to meet the requirements of subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3) and (5) to (8).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 11. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes shall renumber each section of Minnesota Statutes listed in column A with the number listed in column B. The revisor of statutes shall also make necessary cross-reference changes in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules consistent with the renumbering.

Column A	Column B
148D.061	<u>148E.0551</u>
<u>148D.062</u>	<u>148E.116</u>
148D.063	148E.126

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

Sec. 12. **REPEALER.**

Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 148D.061, subdivision 9, is repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.

ARTICLE 24

BOARD OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY

Section 1. [148B.331] GUEST LICENSURE.

Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) A nonresident of the state of Minnesota who is not seeking licensure in Minnesota and intends to practice marriage and family therapy in Minnesota must apply to the board for guest licensure. An applicant must apply for guest licensure at least 30 days prior to the expected date of practice in Minnesota and is subject to approval by the board or its designee.

(b) To be eligible for licensure under this section, the applicant must:

(1) have a license, certification, or registration in good standing to practice marriage and family therapy from another jurisdiction;

(2) have a graduate degree in marriage and family therapy from a regionally accredited institution or a degree in a related field from a regionally accredited institution with completed coursework meeting the educational requirements provided in Minnesota Rules, part 5300.0140, subpart 2;

(3) be of good moral character;

(4) have no pending complaints or active disciplinary or corrective actions in any jurisdiction;

(5) submit the required fee and complete the criminal background check according to section 214.075; and

(6) pay a fee to the board in the amount set forth in section 148B.392.

(c) A license issued under this section is valid for one year from the date of issuance and allows practice by the nonresident for a maximum of five months. The months in which the nonresident may practice under the license must be consecutive. A guest license is not renewable, but the nonresident may reapply for guest licensure, subject to continued eligibility under paragraph (b), following expiration of a guest license.

Subd. 2. Other professional activity. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, a nonresident of the state of Minnesota who is not seeking licensure in Minnesota may serve as an expert witness, organizational consultant, presenter, or educator without obtaining guest licensure, provided the nonresident is appropriately trained or educated, or has been issued a license, certificate, or registration by another jurisdiction.

Subd. 3. Prohibitions and sanctions. A person's privilege to practice under this section is subject to the prohibitions and sanctions for unprofessional or unethical conduct contained in Minnesota laws and rules for marriage and family therapy under this chapter.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.