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This Agreement is entered into by and between Kristine Ann Lawrence, PT (“Licensee”), 

and the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy (“Board”) Complaint Review Committee 

(“Committee”) based on Minnesota Statutes section 214.103, subdivision 6(a)(2).  Licensee and 

the Committee agree to the following: 

FACTS 

 Licensee and the Committee have agreed to enter into an Agreement for Corrective Action 

(“Agreement”) to address the concerns identified below. 

1. The Board granted Licensee a license to practice as a physical therapist (“PT”) in 

Minnesota on September 12, 1998. 

2. Licensee works as a PT specializing in pelvic health therapy. 

3. On or around February 1, 2024, Licensee met with a patient (“Patient #1”), who 

has a history of mental health issues.  Licensee assessed the patient and identified Patient #1’s pain 

center as a spot near the groin.  Patient #1 consented to Licensee touching the spot with her fingers.  

During treatment Patient #1 and Licensee were discussing various topics including Patient #1’s 

childhood.  While maintaining contact on the spot identified by the patient, Licensee asked Patient 

#1 to recall their earliest trauma.  Licensee tried to guide Patient #1 through their traumatic 

experience and implemented distraction techniques including requesting that they sing a song 
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while she continued to maintain physical contact on the spot identified by the patient as the source 

of their pain.  Patient #1 felt violated after this encounter with Licensee.   

CORRECTIVE ACTION 

4. Based on the available information and the discussion at the conference, the 

Committee views Licensee’s conduct as a violation of Minnesota Statutes section 148.75(a)(1) 

(violation of a Board statute or rule) and Minnesota Statutes section 148.75(a)(6) (engaged in 

unprofessional conduct).  Licensee agrees to address the concerns identified by taking the 

following corrective action:   

a. Consultation.  Within six months, Licensee shall obtain at least six hours 

of one-on-one professional consultation from a Minnesota licensed physical therapist with trauma-

informed care experience on the topics of informed consent, the difference between physical 

therapy and mental health services, trauma-informed care, and ethics, and how to apply her 

knowledge of these issues and any other issues covered during consultation to her practice.  

Licensee must follow any and all recommendations of the consultant concerning how to gain 

additional knowledge regarding the above issues and how to apply such principles to her practice.   

b. Preapproval.  Licensee shall submit the curriculum vitae of her proposed 

professional consultant for preapproval by the Committee within 30 days of the date this 

Agreement becomes effective.  Licensee shall select a consultant with whom she has had no 

previous personal or professional relationship.  The Committee reserves the right to reject the 

consultant proposed by Licensee.  If the Committee rejects the consultant proposed by Licensee, 

the Committee may require that Licensee submit additional names.   

c. Consultant’s Report.  At the conclusion of the consultation, Licensee shall 

have the consultant submit a report to the Board no later than 60 days from the date of the 
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consultation session, or if the consultation is conducted over more than one session, from the date 

of the last consultation session.  The report must be submitted no more than eight months from the 

date of this Agreement.  The report shall provide and/or address:  

   1) A statement that the consultant has reviewed this Agreement and 

any other data deemed relevant by the Committee;  

   2) The date(s) on which consultation was held with Licensee;  

   3) Licensee’s level of participation in the consultation;  

   4) The issues discussed in the consultation;  

   5) The consultant's opinion as to whether Licensee has demonstrated a 

satisfactory understanding of the issues that gave rise to this Agreement and whether additional 

consultations or education is required; and 

   6) Any other information the consultant believes would assist the 

Board in its ultimate review of this matter.   

d. Self-Report and Attestation.  At the conclusion of the consultation, 

Licensee shall have 60 days to submit a report and attestation to the Board.  The report and 

attestation must be submitted no more than eight months from the date of this Agreement.  The 

report and attestation shall provide and/or address: 

   1) A brief statement of the topics discussed in the consultation; 

   2) What Licensee has learned from the consultation, including her own 

statement as to her comprehension and knowledge of the issues that gave rise to this Agreement;  

   3) A statement as to how Licensee has changed her practice as a result 

of the knowledge and skills obtained or honed through the consultation; and 
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   4) Any other information Licensee believes would assist the Board in 

its ultimate review of this matter.  

OTHER INFORMATION 

5. No condition imposed as a remedy by this Agreement shall be used as a continuing 

education activity for the purpose of renewal of Licensee’s license to practice as a physical 

therapist, unless it is specifically stated in this Agreement that the condition may be used for this 

purpose. 

6. Upon Licensee’s satisfactory completion of the corrective action set forth in 

paragraph 4 above, the Committee agrees to dismiss the complaint referenced in the Facts section 

above.  Licensee agrees that the Committee will be the sole judge of satisfactory completion.  

Licensee understands and further agrees that if, after dismissal, the Committee receives additional 

complaints similar to those referenced in the Facts section, the Committee may reopen the 

dismissed complaint. 

7. If Licensee fails to complete the corrective action satisfactorily or if the Committee 

receives additional complaints alleging conduct similar to the conduct described in the Facts 

section above, the Committee may, in its discretion, reopen the investigation and proceed 

according to Minnesota Statutes chapters 14, 148.65 to 148.78, and 214.  Licensee agrees that 

failure to complete the corrective action satisfactorily constitutes failure to cooperate under 

Minnesota Statutes section 148.75(a)(21) and may subject Licensee to disciplinary action by the 

Board.  In any subsequent proceeding, the Committee may use the Facts section of this Agreement 

as evidence. 






