BEFORE THE MINNESOTA BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY COMPLAINT REVIEW COMMITTEE

In the Matter of the Physical Therapy License of

Kristine Ann Lawrence, PT

License Number: 6232

AGREEMENT FOR CORRECTIVE ACTION

This Agreement is entered into by and between Kristine Ann Lawrence, PT ("Licensee"),

and the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy ("Board") Complaint Review Committee

("Committee") based on Minnesota Statutes section 214.103, subdivision 6(a)(2). Licensee and

the Committee agree to the following:

FACTS

Licensee and the Committee have agreed to enter into an Agreement for Corrective Action

("Agreement") to address the concerns identified below.

1. The Board granted Licensee a license to practice as a physical therapist ("PT") in

Minnesota on September 12, 1998.

2. Licensee works as a PT specializing in pelvic health therapy.

3. On or around February 1, 2024, Licensee met with a patient ("Patient #1"), who

has a history of mental health issues. Licensee assessed the patient and identified Patient #1's pain

center as a spot near the groin. Patient #1 consented to Licensee touching the spot with her fingers.

During treatment Patient #1 and Licensee were discussing various topics including Patient #1's

childhood. While maintaining contact on the spot identified by the patient, Licensee asked Patient

#1 to recall their earliest trauma. Licensee tried to guide Patient #1 through their traumatic

experience and implemented distraction techniques including requesting that they sing a song

while she continued to maintain physical contact on the spot identified by the patient as the source of their pain. Patient #1 felt violated after this encounter with Licensee.

CORRECTIVE ACTION

- 4. Based on the available information and the discussion at the conference, the Committee views Licensee's conduct as a violation of Minnesota Statutes section 148.75(a)(1) (violation of a Board statute or rule) and Minnesota Statutes section 148.75(a)(6) (engaged in unprofessional conduct). Licensee agrees to address the concerns identified by taking the following corrective action:
- a. *Consultation*. Within six months, Licensee shall obtain at least six hours of one-on-one professional consultation from a Minnesota licensed physical therapist with trauma-informed care experience on the topics of informed consent, the difference between physical therapy and mental health services, trauma-informed care, and ethics, and how to apply her knowledge of these issues and any other issues covered during consultation to her practice. Licensee must follow any and all recommendations of the consultant concerning how to gain additional knowledge regarding the above issues and how to apply such principles to her practice.
- b. *Preapproval*. Licensee shall submit the *curriculum vitae* of her proposed professional consultant for preapproval by the Committee within 30 days of the date this Agreement becomes effective. Licensee shall select a consultant with whom she has had no previous personal or professional relationship. The Committee reserves the right to reject the consultant proposed by Licensee. If the Committee rejects the consultant proposed by Licensee, the Committee may require that Licensee submit additional names.
- c. *Consultant's Report.* At the conclusion of the consultation, Licensee shall have the consultant submit a report to the Board no later than 60 days from the date of the

consultation session, or if the consultation is conducted over more than one session, from the date of the last consultation session. The report must be submitted no more than eight months from the date of this Agreement. The report shall provide and/or address:

- 1) A statement that the consultant has reviewed this Agreement and any other data deemed relevant by the Committee;
 - 2) The date(s) on which consultation was held with Licensee;
 - 3) Licensee's level of participation in the consultation;
 - 4) The issues discussed in the consultation;
- 5) The consultant's opinion as to whether Licensee has demonstrated a satisfactory understanding of the issues that gave rise to this Agreement and whether additional consultations or education is required; and
- 6) Any other information the consultant believes would assist the Board in its ultimate review of this matter.
- d. **Self-Report and Attestation.** At the conclusion of the consultation, Licensee shall have 60 days to submit a report and attestation to the Board. The report and attestation must be submitted no more than eight months from the date of this Agreement. The report and attestation shall provide and/or address:
 - 1) A brief statement of the topics discussed in the consultation;
- 2) What Licensee has learned from the consultation, including her own statement as to her comprehension and knowledge of the issues that gave rise to this Agreement;
- 3) A statement as to how Licensee has changed her practice as a result of the knowledge and skills obtained or honed through the consultation; and

4) Any other information Licensee believes would assist the Board in its ultimate review of this matter.

OTHER INFORMATION

- 5. No condition imposed as a remedy by this Agreement shall be used as a continuing education activity for the purpose of renewal of Licensee's license to practice as a physical therapist, unless it is specifically stated in this Agreement that the condition may be used for this purpose.
- 6. Upon Licensee's satisfactory completion of the corrective action set forth in paragraph 4 above, the Committee agrees to dismiss the complaint referenced in the Facts section above. Licensee agrees that the Committee will be the sole judge of satisfactory completion. Licensee understands and further agrees that if, after dismissal, the Committee receives additional complaints similar to those referenced in the Facts section, the Committee may reopen the dismissed complaint.
- 7. If Licensee fails to complete the corrective action satisfactorily or if the Committee receives additional complaints alleging conduct similar to the conduct described in the Facts section above, the Committee may, in its discretion, reopen the investigation and proceed according to Minnesota Statutes chapters 14, 148.65 to 148.78, and 214. Licensee agrees that failure to complete the corrective action satisfactorily constitutes failure to cooperate under Minnesota Statutes section 148.75(a)(21) and may subject Licensee to disciplinary action by the Board. In any subsequent proceeding, the Committee may use the Facts section of this Agreement as evidence.

- 8. The effective date of this Agreement shall be the date it is signed by the Committee representative. The Agreement shall remain in effect until the Committee dismisses the complaint, unless the Committee receives additional information that renders corrective action inappropriate.
- Licensee understands this Agreement does not constitute disciplinary action. Licensee further understands and acknowledges this Agreement and the dismissal letter issued upon successful completion of the corrective action are classified as public data, according to Minnesota Statutes section 13.41, subdivision 5. Licensee also understands that this Agreement will be accessible on the Board's website and will be provided to anyone who requests a copy. If the dismissal letter is issued, the Agreement will remain on the Board website, along with a copy of the dismissal letter.
- Licensee was represented by Dyan J. Ebert, Esq., of Quinlivan & Hughes, P.A. The 10. Committee was represented by Alex Mountain, Assistant Attorney General.
- Licensee hereby acknowledges she has read and understands this Agreement and 11. has agreed to enter into it. This Agreement contains the entire agreement between the Committee and Licensee, there being no other agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies the

terms of this Agreement.

For the Committee