BEFORE THE MINNESOTA

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

In the Matter of STIPULATION AND ORDER
Roger Allen Larson, D.V.M.
License No. C5567
STIPULATION

Roger Allen Larson, D.V.M. ("Licensee"), and the Minnesota Board of Veterinary
Medicine Complaint Review Committee ("Complaint Review Committee") agree that the above-
referenced matter may be resolved without trial of any issue or fact as follows:

I.
JURISDICTION

A. The Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine ("Board") is authorized pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes chapter 156 to license and regulate veterinarians and to take disciplinary
action as appropriate.

B. Licensee holds a license from the Board to practice veterinary medicine in the
State of Minnesota and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board with respect to the matters
referred to in this Stipulation and Order.

IL
COMPLAINT REVIEW COMMITTEE

A. The Complaint Review Committee that negotiated this Stipulation with Licensee
is composed of Meg Glattly, D.V.M., Board Secretary-Treasurer, John Lawrence, D.V.M., Board
Vice President, and John King, D.V.M., Executive Director of the Board. SusanE. Damon,

Assistant Attorney General, represented the Complaint Review Committee in this matter.



Licensee was advised of his right to be represented by legal counsel and knowingly and
voluntarily waived that right.
I11.
FACTS
A. For purposes of Board of Veterinary Medicine proceedings only and without
prejudice to Licensee in a proceeding in any other forum, the Board may consider the following
as true:

1. Licensee was initially licensed by the Board to practice veterinary
medicine in the State of Minnesota on June 29, 1967.

2. Veterinarians licensed in Minnesota must renew their licenses on a
biennial basis. Licensees on active status must, at the time of license renewal, certify their
completion of 40 hours of veterinary continuing education for the previous two-year period.

3. On December 29, 2006, Licensee signed an Application for Biennial
License Renewal for the period March 1, 2007 through February 28, 2009 (“Application”). On
the Application, Licensee certified as follows: “I will have completed 40 hours of veterinary
continuing education between March 1, 2005 and February 28, 2007.”

4. The Application for Biennial License Renewal that Licensee signed
contained the following warning: “Signing the renewal form without completion of required CE
is false certification and could be grounds for disciplinary action by the Board.”

5. In accordance with Minn. R. 9100.1000, the Board conducted a routine
audit of CE compliance for the March 1, 2005 through February 28, 2007 licensure period, and
Licensee was among those veterinarians randomly selected for auditing. In connection with the

audit, the Board asked Licensee to fill out a form listing the program title and sponsor of CE




programs attended, dates of attendance and number of CE hours per program, and to attach
documentation of the programs. The form also contained a section to report up to 10 hours of
self study.

6. In response to the audit, Licensee filled out the form, reporting only 10
hours of self study. Licensee submitted the form to the Board along with a letter, which stated:
“My attendance at meetings and programs of late has become intermittent and sporadic. If my
attendance has been lax, my record keeping has been more lax. Iam sure that programs attended
in the last two years would equal 20-25 hours of credit.”

Iv.
LAWS
A. Licénsee acknowledges that the facts and conduct described in section III above
constitute violations of the following Minnesota Statutes and Rules:

I. Minn. Stat. § 156.081, subd. 2(11) and Minn. R. 9100.1000, subp. 8.C(1)
(failure to meet minimum continuing education credit hour requirements for biennial license
renewal); and

2. Minn. Stat. § 156.081, subd. 2(17) (making a false statement to the
Board).

V.
REMEDY
A. Based on the foregoing facts and violations, the Board SUSPENDS Licensee’s
license, but STAYS the suspension, conditioned on Licensee’s compliance with the following

terms:




1. No later than six months from the date of this Order, Licensee shall
complete and provide documentation to the Board of his completion of 30 additional veterinary
continuing education hours to make up for the missing hours for the March 1, 2005 through
February 28, 2007 licensure period. These hours will not count toward the 40 hours of CE
required for the March 1, 2007 through February 28, 2009 licensure period.

2. Licensee shall pay to the Board a $1,500 administrative penalty. Payment
shall be sent to the Board of Veterinary Medicine ¢/o John King, D.V.M., Executive Director,
2829 University Avenue S.E., Suite 540, Minneapolis, MN 55414, and is due no later than 60
days from the date of this Order.

3. The Board, in its discretion, may audit Licensee’s CE compliance for the
March 1, 2007 through February 28, 2009 licensure period and for any other future licensure
period in which Licensee maintains an active license.

VL
CONSEQUENCES OF A VIOLATION

A. Hearing Before the Board. 1If the Committee determines that Licensee has
violated any term or condition of this Stipulation and Order, the Committee may schedule a
hearing before the Board and serve on Licensee a Notice of Hearing for Alleged Non-
Compliance with Stipulation and Order (“Notice”), which sets forth the allegations against
Licensee and provides Licensee notice of the date, time and place of the hearing before the
Board. The procedures set forth in paragraph VLB below shall apply to the hearing. The
Committee may, in its discretion, prior to the hearing, remove the stay of suspension based on its
determination that Licensee has violated this Stipulation and Order. A suspension shall become
effective upon service on Licensee of a written notice of removal of the stay of suspension and

order of suspension. If the notice and order are served by mail, the suspension shall become




effective three days after mailing. If the Committee removes the stay of suspension, the hearing
shall be held no later than 30 days after the effective date of the suspension, unless the
Committee and Licensee agree to hold the hearing at a later time. Any order of suspension
issued under this paragraph shall be considered a public document under the Minnesota
Government Data Practices Act.

B. Hearing Procedures. The following procedures shall apply:

1. Response to Allegations in Notice. At least seven days before the hearing,
Licensee shall submit a written response to the allegations set forth in the Notice. If Licensee
does not submit a timely response to the Board, the allegations may be deemed admitted.

2. Hearing Before Board. The Board shall hold a hearing before its own
members in accordance with the procedures set forth in paragraph VI.B.3 below to determine
whether the allegations are true and, if so, whether to take additional disciplinary action against
Licensee, which may include any of the forms of disciplinary action set forth in Minn. Stat.
§ 156.127.

3. Evidence at Hearing/Burden of Proof/Waiver of Hearing Before
Administrative Law Judge. At the hearing before the Board, the Committee and Licensee may
present affidavits made on personal knowledge or authenticated documents and may present
argument based on such evidence in support of their positions. The record before the Board shall
be limited to such affidavits, documents and this Stipulation and Order. The Committee shall
file with the Board all evidence it intends to present at the hearing and shall serve a copy on
Licensee at least 14 days before the hearing. Licensee shall file with the Board all evidence he
intends to present at the hearing and shall serve a copy on the Committee at least seven days

before the hearing. The Committee must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that Licensee




has violated this Stipulation and Order. The Board shall issue a final order within 30 days of the
hearing. Licensee waives a hearing before an administrative law judge and waives discovery,
cross-examination of adverse witnesses, and other procedures governing administrative hearings
or civil trials.

4. Costs. 1f the Committee proves by a preponderance of the evidence that
Licensee has violated this Stipulation and Order, the Board may require Licensee to pay costs of
the proceedings. The costs of the proceedings may include the cost paid by the Board to the
Office of the Attorney General for investigative and legal services, the cost of reproducing
records and documents, Board staff time, travel costs and expenses, and Board members’ per
diem reimbursements, travel costs and expenses.

C. Statutory Procedures. Nothing herein shall limit the Committee’s right to attempt
to resolve an alleged violation of this Stipulation and Order through the procedures of Minn.
Stat. § 214.103, subd. 6 or to initiate a contested case proceeding under Minn. Stat. ch. 14 based
on an alleged violation of this Stipulation and Order.

VIIL.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

A. Licensee knowingly and voluntarily waives a contested case hearing and all other
procedures before the Board to which Licensee may be entitled under the Minnesota and United
States constitutions, statutes, or rules.

B. Licensee knowingly and voluntarily waives any and all claims against the Board,
the Minnesota Attorney General, the State of Minnesota, and their agents, employees and
representatives related to the investigation of the conduct herein, or the negotiation or execution

of this Stipulation and Order, which may otherwise be available to Licensee.




C. This Stipulation and Order, the files, records and proceedings associated with this
matter shall constitute the entire record and may be reviewed by the Board in its consideration of
this matter. |

D. Licensee was advised of his right to be represented by counsel in this matter and
knowingly and voluntarily waived that right.

E. Licensee has read, understands and agrees to this Stipulation and Order and has
voluntarily signed the Stipulation and Order. Licensee is aware that this Stipulation and Order
must be approved by the Board before it goes into effect. The Board may either approve the
Stipulation and Order as proposed, approve it subject to specified change, or reject it. If the
changes are acceptable to Licensee, the Stipulation and Order will take effect and the Order as
modified will be issued. If the changes are unacceptable to Licensee or if the Board rejects the
Stipulation and Order, it will be of no effect except as specified in paragraph VILF.

F. Licensee agrees that if the Board rejects this Stipulation and Order or a lesser
remedy than indicated in this settlement, and this case comes again before the Board, Licensee
will assert no claim that the Board was prejudiced by its review and discussion of this Stipulation
and Order or of any records relating to it.

G. This Stipulation and Order shall not limit the Board's authority to proceed against
Licensee by initiating a contested case hearing or by other appropriate means on the basis of any
act, conduct, or omission of Licensee which constitutes grounds for disciplinary action and

which is not directly related to the specific facts and circumstances set forth in this document.




VIL
DATA PRACTICES NOTICES
A. This Stipulation and Order constitutes disciplinary action by the Board and is
classified as public data pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 13.41, subd. 4.
B. This Stipulétion contains the entire agreement between the parties, there being no

other agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies this Stipulation.
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R%GE‘R AY/LEN LARSON, D.V.M.
Licensee

Dated:ﬂ/j&;‘ﬂj 27,2007

ORDER
Upon consideration of the Sﬁpulation and all the files, records and proceedings herein,
the terms of the Stipulation are approved and adopted, and the recommended remedy set forth in

the Stipulation is hereby issued as an Order of this Board. effective this / é day of

@" /({AWAJ’\ , 2007.
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