
Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners 
University Park Plaza Building 

2829 University Avenue South East, Suite 425 

Minneapolis, MN  55414 
Office telephone: 651-201-2820 Office Fax: 612-617-2248 

Office e-mail: bbe.board@state.mn.us Board Website: www.barbers.state.mn.us 

 

 

Instructor Examination and Registration Application 
Application Requirements: The following items must be included with the application to complete the 

registration process. 

 

 Application fee:  $180.00 

 

 

 Completed Application returned by the 20
th
 day 

of the month prior to the examination date (if 

the 20
th
 falls on a week end application is due 

on the Friday prior to the 20
th
) 

 

 Transcripts and/or Course Completion 

Certificates for Required Instructor Courses 

 

 Be a Registered Master Barber in Minnesota for 

a minimum of three years prior to application. 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 604.113 and 609.535, the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiner’s is authorized to 

charge service fee of $30.00 for any check that is returned for nonpayment. 

Applicant Information Collection and Use 
The information collected during the application process is used to determine eligibility for examination or 
barber registration/license. You are not legally obligated to provide any of the information requested. If you 
do not provide the information the Board may be unable to process your application resulting in the 
application process being delayed or the application being denied. 
  
The Board is required to have licensee Social Security number on file by Minnesota Statute 270C.72 and 
cannot issue a license without having the number.  Your Social Security number may be requested by and 
released to the Minnesota Commissioner of revenue and may be used for revenue recapture as authorized by 
Minnesota Statute.  Minnesota Statute 13.355 classifies Social Security numbers as private data on individuals 
and your Social Security Number will not be released except as specifically authorized by law. 
  
Upon issuance of a certificate, license, or registration all information provided during the application process 
will become public information pursuant to Minnesota Statute Chapter 13.41 Subd. 5, with the exception of 
Social Security Numbers as specified above.  
  
To avoid delay in processing please complete all parts of the application and provide all requested 
documentation.  Applications are not complete and cannot be processed until all information and 
documentation is provided.  
 
You should receive information regarding the status of you application within 10 business days of the Board 
receiving the completed application. If you have questions regarding the application process or need 
assistance please call the office at 651-201-2820 Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm excluding holidays. If 
we do not answer please leave a message and we will return the call. 
  

  
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 

 

 

Applicant Information  
Last Name First Name Middle Initial 

 

 

Residential Address  Telephone Number 

 

 

City State Zip Code County 

 

Date of Birth 

 

 

Master Barber License Number: E-mail address 

 

Exam Month Applying for:   ____May  _____Nov 

 

To be eligible for the Barber Instructor Examination: 

Certificates of completion from a Board approved program or transcripts from an accredited college or university 

program documenting completion of the following courses, or their equivalent as determined by the Board, must be 

on file with the Board or attached to this application. 

 

 Introduction to Career and Technical Education Teaching 

 Philosophy and Practice of Career and Technical Education 

 Course Development for Career and Technical Education 

 Instructional Methods for Career and Technical Education  

 Human Relations 

 

All applicants for barber registration in the State of Minnesota must answer the following questions. If you 

answer yes to any of these questions, you must provide the additional documentation that is listed. 

 

1. Have you ever held a barber license in another state or country?  

 

If yes, list the license type and the State/Country in which you were licensed 

o Yes 

o No 

2. Have you, or any license that you have held, been the subject of an Inquiry or 

Investigation by any board or division of Barbering or the Office of the Attorney General?  

 

If yes, a written, signed explanation, including specific dates, along with the letters of 

inquiry and resolution must be attached to this application 

o Yes 

o No 

3. Have you held a barber license which has been censured, suspended, revoked, cancelled, 

terminated or been subject to any type of administrative or disciplinary action in any state, 

including Minnesota?  

 

If yes, you must attach all of the following: 

 A written statement signed and dated by the applicant identifying the type of 

license and an explanation of each incident. 

 A copy of the Notice of Hearing or other documentation that states the charges 

and allegations 

 A copy of the official document which establishes the resolution or final 

judgment. 

o Yes 

o No 

 

 

4. Have you been notified by the Commissioner of Revenue, pursuant to Minnesota Statute 

270C.72 that you currently owe the State of Minnesota any delinquent taxes?  

If yes, attach a signed, dated explanation including payment plan or resolution. 

 

o Yes 

o No 
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Barber Instructor Responsibilities 
 

Your signature on this application indicates that you have read and understand the following. 

 

Renewal 
Your registration will expire each year on December 31st. Failure to renew on or prior to that date will result in 

additional fees to reinstate the registration.  

 

Minnesota Statute 154.15 Subd. 2. States: Effect of failure to renew. … A registered instructor of barbering who 

has not renewed a certificate of registration may be reinstated within four years of such failure to renew without 

examination upon payment of the required restoration fee 

for each year the certificate is lapsed. All registered barbers and registered apprentices  

who allow their certificates of registration to lapse for more than four years shall  

be required to reexamine before being issued a certificate of registration. All registered  

instructors of barbering who allow their certificates of registration to lapse for more  

than four years shall be required to reexamine before being issued a certificate of  

registration. 

 

Communicable Disease 
You understand that you may not practice barbering while having an infectious or contagious disease, and certify 

that you currently do not have an infectious or contagious disease. 

 

Name Change 
If you have a change of name, please notify the board in writing and include a photo copy of the legal document 

that changed your name (marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, etc…) 

 

Address Change 
An address change can be completed over the telephone, by fax, in person or by e-mail. It is your responsibility to 

inform the board so as to not delay receipt of Board communications. 

 

Barber Laws and Rules 
 Copies of the Minnesota Barber Laws and Rules may be purchased from the Minnesota Bookstore 

(651.297.3000-660 Olive Street, St. Paul) or found at: www.leg.state.mn.us 

 

CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT 
 

I certify that I have read and understand the information provided above and that the information I have included 

within this application is true and correct.  

 

 

_________________________________________  ________________________ 

Signature of Applicant      Date 

 

Subscribed and sworn before me this _____day of _______________, 20______. 

 

 Notary Seal       

       _____________________________________ 

       Notary Public 

       County: ______________________________ 

       My Commission Expires: ________________ 


