
Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Independent Examiner Application

Rights of Subject Data – Tennessen Warning 
You are being asked to supply private or confidential data as part of an application for issuing or renewing either a 
license or registration. The purpose and intended use of this information is to enable the Board to determine 
whether you meet statutory and rule requirements for license or registration issuance or renewal. You are not 
required to provide this information. However, failure to do so may impede your ability to receive or renew a 
license or registration. This data is classified as confidential during the pendency of the application but may then, 
with the exception of Social Security numbers, become public following issuance or renewal of the license or 
registration. Board staff, Board designee’s, and staff of the Attorney General’s office may have access to this data 
as required for review of this application. Questions and answers regarding previous licensure or conduct are 
maintained as confidential, and will become private once the license or registration is issued or renewed. You 
have the right to consult with legal counsel before providing any information to the Board.

Minnesota Statute, section 148.09 INDEPENDENT EXAMINATION. 
A doctor of chiropractic conducting a physical examination of a patient or a review of records by a doctor of chiropractic, 

for the purpose of generating a report or opinion to aid a reparation obligor under chapter 65B in making a determination 
regarding the condition or further treatment of the patient, shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) the doctor of chiropractic must either be an instructor at an accredited school of chiropractic or 
have devoted not less than 50 percent of practice time to direct patient care during the two years immediately preceding 
the examination; 

(2) the doctor of chiropractic must have completed any annual continuing education requirements 
for chiropractors prescribed by the Board of Chiropractic Examiners; 

(3) the doctor of chiropractic must not accept a fee of more than $500 for each independent exam conducted;
and 

(4) the doctor of chiropractic must register with the Board of Chiropractic Examiners as an independent
examiner and adhere to all rules governing the practice of chiropractic. 

Minnesota Rules, part 2500.1160 INDEPENDENT EXAMINATION REGISTRATION. 
Subpart 1. Qualifications; proof. 

Documentation establishing that a chiropractor meets the qualifications must be included with the application to 
register with the board as an independent examiner under Minnesota Statutes, section 148.09. A chiropractor must be 
licensed to practice in Minnesota and must have been in practice for the two years immediately preceding registration. 

The chiropractor/instructor must present to the board proof of instructor status or attest to being involved in direct 
patient care for 50 percent of the time spent in practice during the two years immediately preceding the independent 
examination of a patient. An affidavit on a form as provided by the board must be filed with the board at the time of 
application to register. 
Subp. 2. Registration. 

The chiropractor must apply for registration with the board not less than 30 days prior to the anticipated date of 
commencement of independent examinations. The chiropractor must pay a registration fee as established by the board in 
part 2500.1150, item G. 
Subp. 3. Annual renewal. 

An annual renewal of registration is required before March 1 of each year after initial registration with the board. The 
chiropractor must pay an annual renewal fee as set by the board in part 2500.1150, item H. The chiropractor must fulfill the 
continuing education requirements set by the board in part 2500.1200, and meet all other registrations requirements 
continuously for renewal. Renewals are done online through your board account. 

Please retain these rules for your records! 
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=148.09&stat.148.09
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=2500.1150
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=2500.1150
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=2500.1200
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Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
Independent Examiner Application 

All boxes must be answered or marked as “not applicable.” Unanswered  questions 
will result in the application being returned to you and will delay processing. 

Step 1: Licensee Information. 

First Name Full Middle Name Last Name suffix 

Other/alias/maiden name business phone email 

Mn DC license # Length of time Licened in MN Other state DC license(s) 

[  ]  I affirm that my business address, business phone number and email address recorded with the Board are 
current and accurate. I understand that I am required by law to update this infomation within 30 days if a change 
and that I may log into my secure online account to update this information at any time. 

Step 2: Affidavit to the Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners (MBCE) 

[  ] I hereby swear that I am a doctor of chiropractic conducting a physical examination of a patient or a review of 
records by a doctor of chiropractic, for the purpose of generating a report or opinion to aid a reparation obligor 
under Minnesota Statutes chapter 65B in making a determination regarding the condition or further 
treatment of the patient, and I meet the following requirements:  

[  ] I am an instructor at an accredited school of chiropractic or have devoted not less than 50 percent of practice 
time to direct patient care during the two years immediately preceding the independent examination. 

[  ] I will not accept more than $500 per independent examination as required by MINN. STAT. 148.09 subdivision 3. 

[  ] I affirm that the above requirements are to be met on a continuous basis, and that the MBCE may require me 
to present proof that I have complied with MINN. STAT. 148.09 at any time. 

[  ] I affirm that I may not perform any Independent Examinations for a period of 30 days following approval of 
my Initial application by the board. 

[  ] I affirm that this registration will expire the last day of February each year. Renewal of my registration requires 
the payment of a $100 non-refundable fee and the submission of an updated affidavit which may be 
accomplished through my online account with the Board. My eligibility for registration renewal shall be 
dependent upon whether I meet all renewal requirements which may be established by rule. 
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Step 3: Notarized Signature 

I further acknowledge and agree as follows: 

I, the undersigned, being duly sworn, do state upon oath that I understand and agree to the above. 

Applicant's Signature BEFORE a Notary Date 

NOTARY: 

Subscribed and sworn to before me personally on: 

This   day of  , 
 (NOTARY SEAL) 

Signature of Notary 

Step 4: Fee & Submission 

Submit this application along with a Registration fee of $150 payable to the MBCE by U.S. mail to: 

Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
335 Randolph Avenue, Suite 280 

Saint Paul, MN 55102-5501 

Questions, please contact the Licensing Coordinator at 651-201-2848 

MBCE OFFICE USE ONLY 

Form Related Information Received Stamp Payment Information 
Incomplete Form Returned 
To Licensee 

Check/money order Number 

Fee $ 

Initials 

Date Re-Received Form 

Signature of Executive Director Date of Approval or Reinstatement to Active 

Rev. 11/2023
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