MINNESOTA BOARD OF DIETETICS AND NUTRITION PRACTICE



2829 University Avenue SE • Suite 402 • Minneapolis, MN 55414-3245 Telephone (651) 201-2764 • Fax (651) 201-2763 • https://mn.gov/dietetics-and-nutrition/board.dietetics-nutrition@state.mn.us • MN Relay Service for Hearing Impaired (800) 627-3539

ONLINE LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

1. Read the laws that govern the practice of dietetics and nutrition in Minnesota.

You will be asked to approve via electronic signature upon completing the online application stating that you have read Minn. Statutes Sections 148.621 through 148.634.

2. Read the rules established by the Board of Dietetics and Nutrition Practice.

You will be asked to approve via electronic signature upon completing the online application stating that you have read Minn. Rules 3250.0010 through 3250.0150.

3. Before beginning the online application process, you will need detailed information to expedite the online process including. Any missing documentation will delay processing of your application.

- a) Social Security number or Alien Registration Number
- b) Education History-names of all educational institutions attended, from high school through doctoral programs.
- c) Practical and/or Work Experience-List completed Internship information and related work experience. If you are a new graduate this may not apply just enter your Internship information.
- d) Current and former license numbers, dates issued and expired from Minnesota and/or any other jurisdictions, *if applicable*.
- e) Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit card to pay all fees. ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE

4. Complete the online application.

- a) Enter your name the way you want it to appear on your Official License Certificate.
- b) The name you enter must exactly match the name on the supporting documents, or documentation of formal name change must be submitted.

5. Submit the following to the board office after completing the Online Application:

- a) If you are applying for a Licensed Dietitian:
 - i. You must submit a notarized copy of your current registration card from the Commission on Dietetic Registration, **OR**
 - ii. You must submit an official transcript showing your degree as required in Minn. Rule 3250.0010, Subp. 2, Para. A.; AND documented proof of completing a preprofessional practice experience component in dietetic practice; AND documented proof of successful completion of the registration examination for dietitians administered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration, taken within the past five years.

b) If you are applying for a Licensed Nutritionist:

- You must submit an official transcript showing your degree as required in Minn. Rule 3250.0020, Subp. 2, Para A.; AND documented proof of completing a preprofessional practice experience component in nutrition practice; OR
- ii. You must submit a notarized copy of certification as a Certified Nutrition Specialist by the Certification Board for Nutrition Specialist.

6. Fees for Licensure.

Application Fee	Dietitian with RD	\$100	Nutritionist	\$175
Initial License Fee		\$150		\$150
Criminal Background Check Fee		\$32.00		\$32.00
Total Due		\$282.00		\$357.00

YOU MUST SUBMIT THE APPLICATION FEE, INITIAL LICENSE FEE AND CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK FEE.

- 7. Licenses will be issue within 48 hours of receiving all required documentation and results of the Criminal Background Check to the board office.
- 8. All licenses issued before November 1 will expire November 30 of issuing year. If licensed November 1 or after expire November 30 of the following year.

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

The Minnesota Board of Dietetics & Nutrition Practice is statutorily required to complete a Federal and State Criminal Background Check prior to issuing your license. In Minnesota, a formal application to the Board will initiate this separate processing conducted by another agency, the Criminal Background Check Unit (CBC). Initial results indicate this may add three to four weeks to complete the CBC and application to the license process. Once you apply online or the paper application is received, the Criminal Background Check Unit will contact you with directions to complete the CBC. The \$32.00 fee is added to your application and there is no additional fee. The Minnesota Board of Dietetics & Nutrition Practice will be informed of the results and move your application forward.