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Minnesota Board of Denistry

General Dental Licensure Application Checklist

You must submit the following documents at the time of application for licensure. Use this checklist to
ensure that you have included the required documents. Applications with documents missing or not
acceptable will be mailed back to you. NOTE TO NOTARIES: Our Board requires a statement from you, along
with your stamp/signature that states: “This is a true copy of the original”.

] Completed Application Form (All 4 pages complete)
Diploma (Notarized copy)
National Board Exam (Original or notarized copy)

Clinical Exam (Original or notarized copy)

O O o O

Minnesota Jurisprudence Exam (Original or notarized copy)
Information on the Jurisprudence Exam may be found at
http://mn.gov/health-licensing-boards/dentistry/licensure/jurisprudence.jsp

1 CPR Card (Copy, ONLY American Heart Association or American Red Cross healthcare provider courses
are acceptable)

[ Check or money order payable to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry for the amount listed on Page 1
of the application.

The following items must be included if they apply to you:

L] Affidavit of Licensure (Original document, required only if you are or have been licensed as a general
dentist, resident, faculty, specialist, hygienist, or registered/licensed dental assistant in another state,
Canadian Province, or country)

] Response to disclosure questions (Required only if you answer Yes to any of questions 18-22)

If you intend to provide Nitrous Oxide, Conscious Sedation, Contracted Sedation Services or General
Anesthesia, you must fill out the proper application (Application form for Nitrous Oxide NOT required for
graduates of the University of Minnesota Dental program after May 2008). These forms can be found on our
website under FORMS: http://mn.gov/boards/dentistry/forms/



http://mn.gov/health-licensing-boards/dentistry/licensure/jurisprudence.jsp
http://mn.gov/boards/dentistry/forms/

MINNESOTA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Lic # 2829 University Avenue SE, Suite 450
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414
Issued (612) 617-2250 (888) 240-4762

MN Relay Operator for Hearing and Speech Impaired

App # (800) 627-3529

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY
NON REFUNDABLE FEE DUE - $340.00

(Application Fee $140.00; Background Check Fee $32.00; Initial Fee $168.00)

Instructions. Each item on this application must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately by the applicant. Fraud or deception in
securing a license is a gross misdemeanor and cause for revocation or suspension of a license. If space for any answer is insufficient,
the answer may be completed on another piece of paper. Please specify the number of the item, sign it, and attach it to the rest of the
application. BE SURE ALL FOUR PAGES OF THIS APPLICATION AND ITS ATTACHMENTS ARE COMPLETED.

Minnesota Government Data Practice Act Notice. This notice is given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §13.04, subdivision 2, and
§13.41, subdivision 2. In order to be licensed, you must submit all the information requested in this application. The Board will use the
information to determine if you meet statutory and rule requirements for licensure. Accordingly, OMISSIONS OR INACCURACIES ARE
GROUNDS FOR DENYING YOUR APPLICATION. All data, except your name and address, submitted by you or on your behalf are
considered private until you are licensed, at which point the data become public. “Private” is defined by law as information which is
accessible only to: you; the staff and members of the Board; the Board’s legal counsel; any person to whom the Board must refer the
application or parts thereof for verification purposes or for otherwise determining your qualifications; and to persons you designate. In
addition, if the matter of your license becomes contested and thereby results either in a contested case hearing or litigation, the data
submitted by you or on your behalf may also become accessible to the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings, appropriate courts,
and those associated with such proceedings, and thereby become public data.

Americans With Disabilities Act. It is the policy of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry to comply with the Americans With Disabilities
Act (ADA). The ADA provides, in part, that qualified individuals with disabilities shall not be excluded from participating in or be denied
the benefits of any program, service or activity offered by the Minnesota Board of Dentistry. If you require additional information about
the Minnesota Board of Dentistry’s ADA policy please contact the Minnesota Board of Dentistry’s designated ADA coordinator.

***PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK***

BACKGROUND
1. Name (last, first, middle) Today’s Date
2. Primary Practice Address (street) (required if employed) City, State, Zip
3. Mailing Address (street) City, State, Zip
4. Telephone (include area code) Email Address (mandatory)
5. Sex Birthdate Social Security Number

U male U Female

6. Other name(s) by which you are or have been known and reasons for change

DENTAL EDUCATION

7. Dental School

8. Location Date of Graduation (mo, day, year)

[} Degree (attach one of the following: notarized copy of diploma, OR original official transcript, OR original certificate/letter of
graduation): U D.D.S. U D.M.D. 0 Other (specify)

10. | Internship, Residency, or Post-Graduate Training Date Completed (mo, day, year)

11. | Other College or University Education (include dates and degrees earned)
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EXAMINATIONS — All exams must be passed within 5 years prior to application

Month | Day |Year

12. NATIONAL BOARD EXAMINATION - Date Completed
Attach a notarized copy of National Board certificate or card......cvceeeeeeieieiecriririrnennnnn.

13. CLINICAL EXAMINATION FOR LICENSURE - Date Completed
Attach a notarized copy of passing one of the following:
e Board accepts CRDTS, SRTA, CITA, WREB, CDCA/ADEX....icicieiiiiiiiiieinenennn.
(all components of the exam chosen must have been completed)
¢ National Dental Examining Board (NDEB) of Canada, if
o agraduate of Accredited Canadian Dental school, or
o agraduate of Univ. of MN on or after 5/2010 ....cccvvieiieieieiiiriececne s reaeeaans

14. MINNESOTA JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION - Date Completed
Attach an original or notarized copy of proof of passing the Exam..............cccccceenvnin.

15. | List other national, regional, state, or Canadian Province licensure examinations (give names and dates of each examination
and indicate any failures).

PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND

16. List each state, Canadian Province or country, where you are or have held a license as a (general dentist, resident, faculty,
specialist, hygienist, or license/registered dental assistant. (if so, please complete #17)

17. AFFIDAVIT OF LICENSURE
This Affidavit of Licensure, copy thereof, or official letter that includes this information must be completed by the licensing authority
of each state, province and country listed in item 16. The original document, containing an official signature and seal, must be

submitted.
I, Secretary/Chair of the
hereby certify that

was granted license number to practice dentistry in state/province of
on the day of , , and that this license is: O active U terminated

(date) (month) (year)
| further certify that disciplinary action: U has been taken against said licensee* U has not been taken against said
licensee; AND

U is pending* O is not pending Q that pending disciplinary action cannot be confirmed or denied.

Dated this day of , 20

(SEAL)
Signed

(Signature of Secretary or Chair)
*Please attach a statement pertaining to disciplinary action, if any.
Title

DISCLOSURE QUESTIONS

YES NO

18. Have you ever been suspended from practice, reprimanded, censured or otherwise disciplined or

disqualified as a dentist or other professional? (If so, attach a statement indicating reason for action,

dates, disposition and address of licensing authority in possession of record.) a a
19. Do you have any criminal charges pending against you? (If so, attach a statement giving full details

including reason, dates, name and location of court, and case number.) a a
20. Have you ever been convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor? (If so, attach a statement

giving full details including reason, dates, name and location of court, and case number.) a a
21. Are there any unsatisfied judgments against you that resulted from the practice of dentistry?

(If so, attach a statement giving details including nature of judgment, dates and reasons for non-payment.) a a
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22. Based on your assessment or that of another professional, does your use of alcohol or drugs, or the
existence of a physiological or psychological medical condition, in any way impair or limit your ability to
practice dentistry with reasonable skill and safety?

If yes, please 1) explain the use or medical condition, and 2) explain whether the impairment(s) or limitation(s)
caused by your use of alcohol or drugs or by the existence of your physiological or psychological medical
condition are reduced or ameliorated because you receive ongoing treatment or because of the manner in which

you have chosen to practice . (Please provide these explanations on a separate attachment to your application.) d d

23. TESTIMONIALS - FROM DENTISTS WITH WHOM YOU ARE ACQUAINTED (for at least one year) BUT NOT
RELATED TO AND NOT INCLUDED ELSEWHERE ON THIS APPLICATION (two required):

This certifies that | have been personally acquainted with for years,
that | know him/her to be of good professional character and hereby recommend him/her to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry for
licensure to practice dentistry in Minnesota.

Name Address
City State Zip Phone #
Dental school graduated from on / /
Licensed in (state or province) License Number
(Criginal Signature) (Date)
This certifies that | have been personally acquainted with for years,

that | know him/her to be of good professional character and hereby recommend him/her to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry for
licensure to practice dentistry in Minnesota.

Name Address
City State Zip Phone #
Dental school graduated from on / /
Licensed in (state or province) License Number
(Original Signature) (Date)

24. REFERENCES -- Acquaintances
Persons with whom you are personally acquainted but not related to and not included elsewhere on this application (two required).

Name Occupation
Address

City State Zip Phone

Name Occupation
Address

City State Zip Phone

25. REFERENCES -- Dentists
Dentists with whom you are personally acquainted but not related to and not included elsewhere on this application (two required).

Name Occupation
Address

City State Zip Phone

Name Occupation
Address

City State Zip Phone
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26. PHOTOGRAPH

For identification purposes,
please tape one passport
size photograph here, taken
within the last six months.

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT

27. STATE OF )
COUNTY OF ) SS.

I, , the applicant being first duly sworn, certify that | am the person referred to in this
application for dental licensure, that under penalty of perjury all the information contained in this application and in any
attachment or additional document submitted herewith is true and correct and that all persons and organizations, whether
public or private, are authorized to release to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry any information, files or records requested
in connection with this application.

APPLICANT’S ORIGINAL SIGNATURE

(Sign before a Notary Public)

Sworn to before me this day of , 20

My Commission expires (SEAL)

Notary Public Signature

NOTES - PLEASE READ CAREFULLY:

a. Please be sure all FOUR pages of this application are completely filled out. Incomplete applications WILL be
returned to you without action pursuant to Minnesota Rule 3100.1500.

b. Remember to attach the required original documents or NOTARIZED photocopies listed in items 9, 12, 13 and 14. (A
notarized copy is a photocopy that is certified to be a true copy of the original document and is signed and
stamped/sealed by a notary public.)

c. Photocopy of current BLS Healthcare provider CPR certification from AHA or ARC.

d. Your check or money order should be payable to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry. Pursuant to Minnesota
Statutes Section 604.113, there will be a $20 service charge on all checks not honored by your bank.

If you intend to provide Nitrous Oxide, Conscious Sedation, Contracted Sedation Services or General
Anesthesia, you must fill out the proper application (Application form for Nitrous Oxide NOT required for graduates
of the University of Minnesota Dental program after May 2008). Applications can be found on our website under
FORMS: http://mn.gov/boards/dentistry/forms/

PLEASE DO NOT WRITE BELOW

CL. EX. PHOTO TESTIMONIALS
NAT.EX. AFFID. FEE
JURIS DIPL. OTHER
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