BEFORE THE MINNESOTA

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

In the Matter of William H. Vold, D.D.S. License No. D9953

STIPULATION AND ORDER ACCEPTING VOLUNTARY SURRENDER OF LICENSE

STIPULATION

William H. Vold, D.D.S. ("Licensee") and the Minnesota Board of Dentistry's Practitioner Review Committee ("Committee") agree the above-referenced matter may be resolved without trial of any issue or fact as follows:

I.

JURISDICTION

1. The Minnesota Board of Dentistry ("Board") is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 150A, section 214.10, and section 214.103 to license and regulate dentists and to take disciplinary action when appropriate, including accepting a voluntary surrender of license.

2. Licensee holds a license from the Board to practice dentistry in the State of Minnesota and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board with respect to the matters referred to in this Stipulation and Order.

II.

BACKGROUND

3. Following a thorough review of all available information, the Committee composed of Board members, Angela Rake, D.D.S., Hassan Ismail, D.D.S., Heidi Donnelly, L.D.A., and Ruth Dahl, determined that the matter could be resolved by mail with this Stipulation and Order. Nicholas B. Lienesch, Assistant Attorney General, represents the Committee in this matter.

4. Through this Stipulation and Order, Licensee has been advised by Committee representatives that he may choose to be represented by legal counsel in this matter. Licensee waived his right to representation.

III.

FACTS

- 5. The parties agree this Stipulation and Order is based upon the following facts:
 - a. Licensee is a dentist licensed in the State of Minnesota.

b. On March 9, 2021, the Board adopted a Stipulation and Order for Stayed Suspension and Conditional License ("2021 Order") that placed conditions on Licensee's license to practice dentistry due to his substance use disorder. Licensee's 2021 Order required him to participate in the Health Professionals Services Program. Licensee is currently subject to the 2021 Order.

c. On April 15, 2021, Licensee contacted the Board to request a voluntary surrender of his license to practice dentistry in the State of Minnesota. Licensee indicated that he is retiring from practicing dentistry.

IV.

LAWS

6. Licensee acknowledges the conduct described in section III. above constitutes a violation of Minnesota Statutes section 150A.08, subdivision 1(8) and justifies the disciplinary action described in section V. below.

V.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION

The parties agree the Board may take the following disciplinary action and require compliance with the following terms:

7. The Board hereby accepts the **VOLUNTARY SURRENDER** of Licensee's license to practice dentistry in the State of Minnesota in accordance with the following terms:

a. <u>Prohibitions</u>. Effective after April 30, 2021, Licensee shall not engage in any act that constitutes the practice of dentistry as defined in Minnesota Statutes section 150A.05 and shall not imply to former patients or other persons by words or conduct that Licensee is licensed to practice dentistry.

b. <u>Transfer of Patient Records</u>. If applicable, no later than 30 days after April 30, 2021, Licensee shall notify his patients that he is no longer practicing dentistry and they may request that their patient records be provided to them or their new treating dentists. Licensee shall comply with record requests within 15 days of receipt. Within 30 days after the date of this Order, Licensee shall provide the Board with written verification that he has complied with this paragraph.

Requirements for License Reinstatement

8. The requirements for reinstatement of Licensee's license are as follows:

a. <u>Reinstatement Application</u>. Licensee may apply to the Board for reinstatement at any regularly scheduled Board meeting no earlier than one year after the effective date of the Board's Order. Licensee must comply fully with the applicable statutes and rules in effect at the time of Licensee's application, including the payment of all fees relating to reinstatement and completing the Professional Development requirements.

b. <u>License Examination(s)</u>. If Licensee is out of practice for more than two (2) years after the effective date of this Stipulation and Order, Licensee shall take and successfully attain a passing score on the regional clinical examination specified in Minnesota Rules 3100.1100, subpart 2.

c. <u>Burden of Proof</u>. Licensee's compliance with the above-referenced requirements shall not create a presumption that he should be granted a license to practice dentistry in the State of Minnesota. When applying for reinstatement, the burden of proof shall be upon Licensee to demonstrate to the Board by clear and convincing evidence that he is capable of conducting himself in a qualified and competent manner, is able to perform the duties of a dentist with reasonable skill and safety, and has complied fully with the terms of the Board's Order.

d. <u>Meeting with a Practitioner Review Committee</u>. Licensee shall meet with a Practitioner Review Committee of the Board at least 60 days prior to the Board meeting to consider Licensee's application for reinstatement. The Committee shall review and discuss with Licensee his application and supporting evidence. After meeting with Licensee, the Committee shall forward a report containing its recommendations to the Board.

e. <u>Board Action</u>. At any regularly scheduled Board meeting following Licensee's application for reinstatement and meeting with a Practitioner Review Committee, the Board may take any of the following actions:

1) Reissue a license to Licensee;

2) Reissue a license to Licensee with limitations and/or conditions placed upon the scope of Licensee's practice of dentistry; or

3) Deny the application for reinstatement upon Licensee's failure to meet the burden of proof.

VI.

CONSEQUENCES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE OR ADDITIONAL VIOLATIONS

9. If Licensee fails to comply with or violates this Stipulation and Order, the Committee may, in its discretion, seek additional discipline either by initiating a contested case

proceeding pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14 or by bringing the matter directly to the Board pursuant to the following procedure:

a. The Committee shall schedule a hearing before the Board. At least ten days prior to the hearing, the Committee shall mail Licensee a notice of the violation(s) alleged by the Committee. In addition, the notice shall designate the time and place of the hearing. Within seven days after the notice is mailed, Licensee shall submit a written response to the allegations. If Licensee does not submit a timely response to the Board, the allegations may be deemed admitted.

b. The Committee, in its discretion, may schedule a conference with the Licensee prior to the hearing before the Board to discuss the allegations and to attempt to resolve the allegations through the procedures of Minnesota Statutes section 214.103, subdivision 6.

c. Prior to the hearing before the Board, the Committee and Licensee may submit affidavits and written argument in support of their positions. At the hearing, the Committee and Licensee may present oral argument. Argument shall not refer to matters outside the record. The evidentiary record shall be limited to the affidavits submitted prior to the hearing and this Stipulation and Order. The Committee shall have the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that a violation has occurred. If Licensee has failed to submit a timely response to the allegations, Licensee may not contest the allegations, but may present argument concerning the appropriateness of additional discipline. Licensee waives a hearing before an administrative law judge, discovery, cross-examination of adverse witnesses, and other procedures governing hearings pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14.

d. Licensee's correction of a violation prior to the conference, hearing or meeting of the Board may be taken into account by the Board but shall not limit the Board's authority to impose discipline for the violation. A decision by the Committee not to seek discipline when it first learns of a violation will not waive the Committee's right to later seek discipline for that violation, either alone or in combination with other violations, at any time while this order is in effect.

e. Following the hearing, the Board will deliberate confidentially. If the allegations are not proved, the Board will dismiss the allegations. If a violation is proved, the Board may impose additional discipline, including additional conditions or limitations on Licensee's practice, suspension, or revocation of Licensee's license.

f. Nothing herein shall limit the Committee's or the Board's right to temporarily suspend Licensee's license pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 150A.08, subdivision 8, based on a violation of this Stipulation and Order or based on conduct of Licensee not specifically referred to herein.

VII.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

10. Licensee waives the contested case hearing and all other procedures before the Board to which Licensee may be entitled under the Minnesota and United States constitutions, statutes, or rules.

11. Licensee waives any claims against the Board, the Minnesota Attorney General, the State of Minnesota, and their agents, employees, and representatives related to the investigation of the conduct herein, or the negotiation or execution of this Stipulation and Order, which may otherwise be available to Licensee.

12. This Stipulation and Order, the files, records, and proceedings associated with this matter shall constitute the entire record and may be reviewed by the Board in its consideration of this matter.

13. Either party may seek enforcement of this Stipulation and Order in any appropriate civil court.

14. Licensee has read, understands, and agrees to this Stipulation and Order and has voluntarily signed this Stipulation and Order. Licensee is aware this Stipulation and Order must be approved by the Board before it goes into effect. The Board may approve the Stipulation and Order as proposed, approve it subject to specified change, or reject it. If the changes are acceptable to Licensee, the Stipulation and Order will take effect and the order as modified will be issued. If the changes are unacceptable to Licensee or the Board rejects the Stipulation and Order, it will be of no effect except as specified in the following paragraph.

15. Licensee agrees that if the Board rejects this Stipulation and Order or a lesser remedy than indicated in this settlement, and this case comes again before the Board, Licensee will assert no claim that the Board was prejudiced by its review and discussion of this Stipulation and Order or of any records relating to it.

16. This Stipulation and Order shall not limit the Board's authority to proceed against Licensee by initiating a contested case hearing or by other appropriate means on the basis of any act, conduct, or admission of Licensee which constitutes grounds for disciplinary action and which is not directly related to the specific facts and circumstances set forth in this document.

VIII.

DATA PRACTICES NOTICES

17. This Stipulation and Order constitutes disciplinary action by the Board and is classified as public data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13.41, subdivision 5. Data regarding this action will be provided to data banks as required by Federal law or consistent with Board policy. While this Stipulation and Order is in effect, information obtained by the Board pursuant to this Order is considered active investigative data on a licensed health professional, and as such, is classified as confidential data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13.41, subdivision 4.

18. This Stipulation contains the entire agreement between the parties, there being no other agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies this Stipulation.

LICENSEE

S

. DAS WILLIAM H. VOLD, D.D.S.

Dated: Apr: 1 30 ,2021

PRACTITIONER REVIEW COMMITTEE

BRIDGETT ANDERSON, L.D.A., M.B.A. Executive Director

Dated: _____, 2021

Upon consideration of the foregoing Stipulation and based upon all the files, records and proceedings herein,

The Board approves and adopts the terms of the Stipulation, orders the recommended action set forth in the Stipulation, and accepts the **VOLUNTARY SURRENDER** of Licensee's license to practice dentistry in the State of Minnesota effective this 11th day of May , 2021.

MINNESOTA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

DOS

ANGELA RAKE, D.D.S. President