
BEFORE THE MINNESOTA

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

In the Matter of
Xieng Khan Lee, D.D.S.
License Number: DL3025

STIPULATION AND ORDER
FOR STAYED SUSPENSION

STIPULATION

Xieng Khan Lee, D.D.S. ("Licensee") and the Minnesota Board of Dentistry's

Practitioner Review Committee ("Committee") agree the above-referenced matter may be

tesolved without trial of any issue or fact as follows:

rI.
JURISDICTION

1. The Minnesota Board of Dentistry ("Board") is authorized pursuant to Minnesota

Statutes chapter 150A, section 214.10, and section 214.103 to license and regulate dentists and to

take disciplinary action when appropriate.

2. Licensee holds a license from the Board to practice dentistry in the State of

Minnesota and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board with respect to the matters refened to in

this Stipulation and Order.

u.

REPRESENTATION

3. Licensee was advised that he may choose to be represented by legal counsel in

this matter. Licensee retained Fabian Hoffner, Esq., The Hoffner Law Firm, Ltd.,310 4th

Avenue South, Suite 5010, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55415. Nicholas B. Lienesch, Assistant

Attorney General, represented the Committee in this matter.



IIr.

F'ACTS

4. The parties agree this Stipulation and Order is based upon the following facts as

outlined below:

5. On June 9,2017, Licensee was charged in Hennepin County District Court with

Prostitution - Hiring or Agreeing to Hire a 13 to 15 year old, a felony offense, in violation of

Minnesota Statutes section 609.324, subdivision 1(bX2). The criminal complaint alleged that on

April 12, 20L7, Licensee responded to a Backpage.com advertisement in the "women seeking

men" section, advertising sexual services, and colresponded with an undercover police officer

who posed as a l5-year-old girl. Licensee agreed via text message to engage in sexual relations,

and arrived at an agreed-upon location in Maple Grove where the supposed sexual activity was

to occur. Licensee was arrested with $402 in cash.

6. On April 19,2018, Licensee submitted to the Board his application for renewal of

his dental license. Licensee answered "No" to the following question on the renewal application:

Do you have any criminal charges pending against you?

7. On April 20, 2018 an Amended Criminal Complaint was filed in Licensee's

criminal case, adding a second count as follows: Solicitation of a Child or Someone the Person

Reasonably Believes to Be Child Through Electronic Communication to Engage in Sexual

Contact, a felony offense, in violation of Minnesota Statutes section 609.352, subdivision 2a.(l).

8. On May 16, 2018, the dishict court convicted Licensee of both charges. The

district court ordered a psychosexual evaluation of Licensee prior to sentencing, which included

the finding that there is no indication that Licensee represents a current imminent risk of harm to
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self or others. Licensee was sentenced to a stay of imposition and was not required to register as

a sex offender.

9. The Board was flrst informed of Licensee's above convictions on January 10,

2024.

IV.

LAWS

10. Licensee acknowledges the conduct described in section III. above constitutes a

violation of Minnesota Statutes sections 1504.08, subdivisions 1(1), (3), (6), and (7): and

Minnesota Rule 3100.6200.4.., and justifies the disciplinary action described in section V, below.

V.

DISCPLINARY ACTION

The parties agree the Board may take the following disciplinary action and require

compliance with the following terms:

11. Licensee is hereby REPRIMANDED for the conduct referenced in section III.

above.

STAYED SUSPENSION

, 12. The Board hereby SUSPENDS Licensee's license to practice dentistry. The

suspension is STAYED so long as Licensee complies with the following conditions:

a. Attendants with Female Patients. Immediately upon the effective date of

this Order, Licensee must have another female present in the operatory at all times when he is

providing any type of dental service to a female patient.

b. Civil Penalty. Licensee must pay to the Board a civil penalty totaling

$10,000. Licensee must pay $5,000 within 30 days of the date of this Order, and $5,000 at the
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time that he submits a petition for removal of the stayed suspension, pursuant to paragraph 13,

below. Payments must be made by cashier's check or money order made payable to the

Minnesota Board of Dentistry and shall be mailed to the Miruresota Board of Dentistry, clo

Bridgett Anderson, Executive Director, 2829 University Avenue S.E., Suite 450, Minneapolis,

Minnesota 55414.

c. Coursework. Licensee shall successfully complete the coursework

described below. All coursework must be approved in advance by the Committee. Licensee is

responsible for locating, registering for, and paying for all coursework taken pursuant to this

Stipulation and Order. None of the coursework taken pursuant to this Stipulation and Order may

be used by Licensee to satisfy any of the continuing dental educatiorlprofessional development

requirements of Minnesota Rules 3100.5100, subpart 2.

1) Ethics and Boundaries Essay Examination. Within nine months of

the effective date of this Stipulation and Order, Licensee must pass the "Unprofessional

Conduct" and "Professional Standards" portions of the ethics and boundaries essay examination

offered through Ethics and Boundaries Assessment Services ("EBAS"), LLC. Licensee should

review the EBAS website to learn about the application process, the 90 day test administration

cycle, the time required by the testing agency to score the examination (two to six weeks), the

retake policy on failed essays, and other relevant information. The score reporl of all

examination attempts by Licensee, regardless of Licensee receiving a passing or failing score,

shall be provided to the Committee by Licensee within ten business days of Licensee receiving a

test result. [The EBAS website regarding the examination can be found at www.ebas.ors]

2) PROBE Professional Ethics and Boundaries Program. Within nine

months of the effective date of this Stipulation and Order, Licensee shall successfully complete
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the pROBE Professional Ethics and Boundaries program offered through the Center for

Personalized Education for Physicians (.'CPEP"), which is a two-day, intensive, in-person

program, or another comparable ethics course approved in advance by the Committee. To

successfully complete the course, Licensee must receive a passing evaluation or grade, without

any condition or qualification. In addition, Licensee shall take all steps necessary, including

signing any waiver and/or consent forms required to ensure that CPEP will provide a copy of any

report to the Committee after completion of the program.

3) Written Report for coursework. within 30 days after completing

the course listed above, Licensee shall submit to the Committee:

a. ProofofLicensee'sattendanceatthecourse;

b. Copies of all materials used andlor distributed in the

course; and

c. Specific information addressing how Licensee will

incorporate the recently gained knowledge into Licensee's practice.

d. Licensee's report shall be typewritten in License's own

words, double spaced, at least two pages in length but no more than three pages, and shall list

references used to prepare the report.

All coursework reports submitted by Licensee are subject to review and approval

by the Committee.

Removal of Stayed SusPension
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13. Licensee may petition to have the stayed suspension removed from Licensee's

license at any regularly scheduled Board meeting no sooner than 12 months from the date of this

Stipulation and Order and only upon completion of all requirements of this Stipulation and

Order. Licensee has the burden of proving that Licensee has complied with the conditions of this

Stipulation and Order and that Licensee is safe and competent to practice without a stayed

suspension. Licensee must be in compliance with all elements of his criminal sentence at the

time of his petition in order for his petition to be considered. Licensee may be required, at the

Committee's discretion, to undergo an additional psychosexual evaluation upon petitioning, and

to provide any other information reasonably requested by the Committee. Licensee's

compliance with the foregoing 
.requirements 

does not create a presumption that the stayed

suspension should be removed. Upon consideration of the evidence submitted by Licensee or

obtained through Board investigation, the Board may remove, amend, or continue the stayed

suspension imposed by this Stipulation and Order.

VI.

CONSEQUENCES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE OR ADDITIONAL VIOLATIONS

14. Licensee shall fully and promptly cooperate with the Board's reasonable requests

concerning compliance with this Stipulation and Order, including requests for explanations,

documents, office inspections, or appearances at conferences. Minnesota Rules part 3100.6350

shall be applicable to such requests.

15. It is Licensee's responsibility to ensure all payments, reports, evaluations, and

documentation required to be filed with the Board pursuant to this Stipulation and Order are

timely filed by those preparing the payment, repofi, evaluation, or documentation, Failure to file
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payments, reports, evaluations, and documentation on or before their due date is a violation of

this Stipulation and Order.

16. Licensee must make full payment to the person or agency that provides services

for all evaluations, inspections, courses, monitoring services, or other conditions required

pursuant to this Stipulation and Order. Licensee's failure to make full payment is a violation of

this Stipulation and Order and will render the requirement unsatisfied.

Imposition of Fine

17. If infonnation ol a report required by this Stipulation and Order is not submitted

to the Board by the due date, or if Licensee otherwise violates this Stipulaiion and Order, the

Committee may fine Licensee $100 per late report or other violation. Licensee shall pay the fine

and correct the violation within five days after service on Licensee of a demand for payment and

correction. If Licensee fails to do so, the Committee may impose additional fines not to exceed

$500 per violation. The total of all fines may not exceed $5,000. Licensee waives the right to

seek review of the imposition of these fines under the Administrative Procedure Act, by writ of

certiorari under Minnesota Statutes section 480A.06, by application to the Board, or otherwise.

Neither the imposition of fines nor correction of the violation will deprive the Board of the right

to impose additional discipline based on the violation.

Order of Removal of Stayed Suspension

18. If the Committee has probable cause to believe Licensee has failed to comply

with or has violated any of the requirements for staying the suspension as outlined in paragraph

11, above, the Committee may remove the stay pursuant to the procedures outlined in paragraph

18, below, with the following additions and exceptions:

a. The removal of the stayed suspension shall take effect upon service of an
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Order of Removal of Stayed Suspension ("Order of Removal"). Licensee agrees that the

Committee is authorized to issue an Order of Removal, which shall remain in effect and shall

have the full force and effect of an order of the Board until the Board makes a final

determination pursuant to the procedures outlined in paragraph 12, above, or until the complaint

is dismissed and the order is rescinded by the Committee. The Order of Removal shall confirm

the Committee has probable cause to believe Licensee has failed to comply with or has violated

one or more of the requirements for staying the suspension of Licensee's license. Licensee

further agrees an Order of Removal issued pursuant to this paragraph shall be deemed a public

document under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act. Licensee waives any right to a

conference or hearing before removal of the stayed suspension.

b. The Commi1ee shall schedule the hearing pursuant to paragraph 18,

below, to be held within 60 days of service of the Order of Removal,

Noncompliance or Violation With Stipulation and Order

19. If Licensee fails to comply with or violates this Stipulation and Order, the

Committee may, in its discretion, seek additional discipline either by initiating a contested case

proceeding pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14 or by bringing the matter directly to the

Board pursuant to the following procedure:

a. The Committee shall schedule a hearing before the Board. At least ten

days prior to the hearing, the Committee shall mail Licensee a notice of the violation(s) alleged

by the Committee, In addition, the notice shall designate the time and place of the hearing.

Within seven days after the notice is mailed, Licensee shall submit a written response to the

allegations. If Licensee does not submit a timely response to the Board, the allegations may be

deemed admitted.
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b. The Committee, in its discretion, may schedule a conference with the

Licensee prior to the hearing before the Board to discuss the allegations and to attempt to resolve

the allegations through the procedures of Minnesota Statutes Section 274,103, subdivision 6.

c. Prior to the hearing before the Board, the Committee and Licensee may

submit affidavits and written argument in support of their positions. At the hearing, the

Committee and Licensee may present oral argument. Argument shall not refer to matters outside

the record. The evidentiary record shall be limited to the affidavits submitted prior to the

hearing and this Stipulation and Order. The Committee shall have the burden of proving by a

preponderance of the evidence that a violation has occurred. If Licensee has failed to submit a

timely response to the allegations, Licensee may not contest the allegations, but may present

argument concerning the appropriateness of additional discipline. Licensee waives a hearing

before an administrative law judge, discovery, cross-examination of adverse witnesses, and other

procedures governing hearings pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14.

d. Licensee's correction of a violation prior to the conference, hearing or

meeting of the Board may be taken into account by the Board but shall not limit the Board's

authority to impose discipline for the violation, A decision by the Committee not to seek

discipline when it first learns of a violation will not waive the Committee's right to later seek

discipline for that violation, either alone or in combination with other violations, at any time

while this order is in effect,

e. Following the hearing, the Board will deliberate confidentially. If the

allegations are not proved, the Board will dismiss the allegations. If a violation is proved, the

Board may impose additional discipline, including additional conditions or limitations on

Licensee's practice, suspension, or revocation of Licensee's license.
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f. Nothing herein shall limit the Committee's or the Board's right to

temporarily suspend Licensee's license pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 150A.08,

subdivision 8, based on a violation of this Stipulation and Order or based on conduct of Licensee

not specifically referred to herein.

vII.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

20. Licensee is required to noti$r all cunent and future patients of the existence of

this Stipulation and Order.

2l. Within ten days of execution of this Stipulation and Order, Licensee shall provide

the Board with the names of all states in which Licensee is licensed to practice as a dental

professional or holds any other professional or occupational license or registration.

22. If while residing or practicing in Minnesota, Licensee should become employed at

any other dental clinic or facility or move, Licensee shall notify the Board in writing of the new

address and telephone number within ten days,

23, In the event Licensee should leave Minnesota to reside or to practice outside of

the state, Licensee shall notifu the Board in writing of the new address and telephone number

within ten days. Periods of residency or practice outside of Minnesota will not apply to the

reduction of any period of Licensee's discipline in Minnesota unless Licensee demonstrates that

practice in another state conforms completely to this Stipulation and Order. If Licensee leaves

the state, the terms of this order continue to apply unless waived in writing.

24. Licensee waives the contested case hearing and all other procedures before the

Board to which Licensee may be entitled under the Minnesota and United States constitutions,

statutes, or rules.
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25. Licensee waives any claims against the Board, the Minnesota Attorney General,

the State of Minnesota, and their agents, employees, and representatives related to the

investigation of the conduct herein, or the negotiation or execution of this Stipulation and Order,

which may otherwise be available to Licensee.

26. This Stipulation and Order, the files, records, and proceedings associated with

this matter shall constitute the entire record and may be reviewed by the Board in its

consideration of this matter.

27. Either party may seek enforcement of this Stipulation and Order in any

appropriate civil court.

28. Licensee has read, understands, and agrees to this Stipulation and Order and has

voluntarily signed this Stipulation and Order. Licensee is aware this Stipulation and Order must

be approved by the Board before it goes into effect. The Board may approve the Stipulation and

Order as proposed, approve it subject to specified change, or reject it. If the changes are

acceptable to Licensee, the Stipulation and Order will take effect and the order as modified will

be issued. If the changes are unacceptable to Licensee or the Board rejects the Stipulation and

Order, it will be of no effect except as specified in the following paragraph.

29. Licensee agrees that if the Board rejects this Stipulation and Order or a lesser

remedy than indicated in this settlement, and this case comes again before the Board, Licensee

will assert no claim that the Board was prejudiced by its review and discussion of this

Stipulation and Order or of any records relating to it.

30. This Stipulation and Order shall not limit the Board's authority to proceed against

Licensee by initiating a contested case hearing or by other appropriate means on the basis of any
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act, conduct, or admission of Licensee which constitutes grounds for disciplinary action and

which is not directly related to the specific facts and circumstances set forth in this document.

Vru.

DATA PRACTICES NOTICES

3l. This Stipulation and Order constitutes disciplinary action by the Board and is

classified as public data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13,4T, subdivision 5. Data

regarding this action will be provided to data banks as required by Federal law or consistent with

Board policy. While this Stipulation and Order is in effect, information obtained by the Board

pursuant to this Order is considered active investigative data on a licensed health professional,

and as such, is classified as confidential data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13.41,

subdivision 4.

32. This Stipulation contains the entire agreement between the parties, there being no

other agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies this Stipulation.

LICENSEE PRA COMMITTEE

KHAN ETT ANDERSON, L.D.A,, M.B.A.
ve Director

S

Dated: r/t q ,2020 Dated 2420
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ORDER 

Upon consideration of the foregoing Stipulation and based upon all the files, records, and 

proceedings herein, 

The terms of the Stipulation are approved and adopted; and the recommended 

disciplinary action set forth in the Stipulation is hereby issued as an Order of this Board effective 

this ___ day of _______ � 2020. 
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MINNESOTA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

CHRISTY JO FOGARTY, D.H., A.D.T. 
President 

17 January


