
BEFORE THE MINNESOTA

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

In the Matter of
Gregory A. Olson, D.D.S
License No. D10240

STIPULATION AND ORDER
FOR CONDITIONAL LICENSE

STIPULATION

Gregory A. Olson, D.D.S. ("Licensee") and the Minnesota Board of Dentistry's Licensure

and Credentials Committee ("Committee") agree the above-referenced matter may be resolved

without trial of any issue or fact as follows:

I.

JURISDICTION

l. The Minnesota Board of Dentistry ("Board") is authorized pursuant to Minnesota

Statutes chapter 150A, section 214.10, and section 214J03 to license and regulate dentists and to

take disciplinary action when appropriate.

2. Licensee holds a license from the Board to practice dentistry in the State of

Minnesota and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board with respect to the matters referred to in

this Stipulation and Order.

II.

BACKGROUND

3. Following a thorough review of all available information, the Committee,

composed of Board members Carl Ebert, D.D.S., Ranier Adarve, D.D.S., and Christy Jo Fogarty,

D.H., A.D.T., determined that the matter could be resolved by mail with this Stipulation and Order.

Nicholas B. Lienesch, Assistant Attorney General, represents the Committee in this matter.



4. Through this Stipulation and Order, Licensee has been advised by Committee

representatives that he may choose to be represented by legal counsel in this matter. Licensee

waived his right to representation.

IIL

FACTS

5. The parties agree this Stipulation and Order is based upon the following facts:

a. Licensee is a dentist who is licensed in the State of Minnesota.

b, In a November 14,2019 letter to the Committee, Licensee ackhowledged

that he employed at his offrce a dental hygienist who performed dental hygiene procedures for

approximately twenty-two months after the Board terminated her license on January 1,2018.

IV.

LAWS

6. Licensee acknowledges the conduct described in section III. above constitutes a

violation of Minnesota Statutes section 1504.08, subdivision 1(11), section l50A.l l, subdivision

l, Minnesota Rules 3100.8100 and 3100.8300, and justifies the disciplinary action described in

section V. below.

v.

DISCIPLINARY ACTION

The parties agree the Board may take the following disciplinary action and require

compliance with the following terms:
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CONDITIONS

7. The Board places the following CONDITIONS on Licensee's license:

a. Jurisprudence Examination. Within 90 days of the effective date of this

Stipulation and Order, Licensee shall take and pass the Minnesota jurisprudence examination.

Licensee may take the jurisprudence examination as many times as necessary to pass the

examination within the 90-day period, however, Licensee may take the examination only once

each day. At the end of the examination session, Licensee will receive a printed score report from

PSI Services, LLC. Licensee must submit to the Board either an original printed score report or a

notarized copy of the score report as proof of having passed the jurisprudence examination.

Licensee is responsible for locating a testing center, registering for the jurisprudence examination,

and paying for the examination fee through the Board's contracted testing agency, PSI Services,

LLC. [A link for PSI can be found on the Board's website under New Applicants and Exams.]

b. Civil Penalty. Licensee must pay to the Board a civil penalty totaling

$1000. Immediately after the effective date of this Stipulation and Order, Licensee must make

monthly payments to the Board on the frrst of each month in the amount of at least $100 for ten

consecutive months. Larger monthly payments made by Licensee will be accepted by the Board

and will fulfill this requirement more expeditiously. Payments must be made by cashier's check

or money order made payable to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry and mailed to the Minnesota

Board of Dentistry, clo Bridgett Anderson, Executive Director, 2829 University Avenue S.E.,

Suite 450, Minneapolis, Minhesot a 5541 4.

Removal of Conditions

8. The conditions upon Licensee's license shall be administratively removed upon

Licensee's satisfactory completion of the requirements set forth in paragraph 7 of this Stipulation

-t



and Order. The Board's Executive Director will send written notification to the Licensee regarding

the removal of the conditions from Licensee's license to practice dentistry.

vI.

CONSEQUENCES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE OR ADDITIONAL VIOLATIONS

9. Licensee shall comply with the laws or rules of the Board of Dentistry. Licensee

agrees that failure to comply with the Board's laws or rules shall be a violation of this Stipulation

and Order.

10. In Licensee's practice of dentistry, Licensee shall comply with the most current

infection control requirements of Minnesota Rules 3100.6300 and 6950.1000 to 6950.1080, and

with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Service, and the United States

Department of Health and Human Services.

11. Licensee shall fully and promptly cooperate with the Board's reasonable requests

concerning compliance with this Stipulation and Order, including requests for explanations,

documents, offrce inspections, or appearances at conferences. Minnesota Rules 3100.6350 shall

be applicable to such requests.

12. It is Licensee's responsibility to ensure all payments, reports, evaluations, and

documentation required to be filed with the Board pursuant to this Stipulation and Order are timely

filed by those preparing the payment, report, evaluation, or documentation. Failure to file

payments, reports, evaluations, and documentation on or before their due date is a violation of this

Stipulation and Order.

13. Licensee must make full payment to the person or agency that provides services for

all evaluations, inspections, courses, monitoring services, or other conditions required pursuant to
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this Stipulation and Order. Licensee's failure to make full payment is a violation of this Stipulation

and Order and will render the requirement unsatisfied.

Imposition of Fine

14. If information or a report required by this Stipulation and Order is not submitted to

the Board by the due date, or if Licensee otherwise violates this Stipulation and Order, the

Committee may fine Licensee $100 per late report or other violation. Licensee shall pay the fine

and correct the violation within five days after service on Licensee of a demand for payment and

conection. If Licensee fails to do so, the Committee may impose additional fines not to exceed

$500 per violation. The total of all fines may not exceed $5,000. Licensee waives the right to

seek review of the imposition of these fines under the Administrative Procedure Act, by wit of

certiorari under Minnesota Statutes section 480A.06, by application to the Board, or otherwise.

Neither the imposition of fines nor correction of the violation will deprive the Board of the right

to impose additional discipline based on the violation.

Noncompliance or Violation With Stipulation and Order

15. If Licensee fails to comply with or violates this Stipulation and Order or it is

determined Licensee has further violated Minnesota Statutes chapter 150A or Minnesota Rules

chapter 3100, the Committee may, in its discretion, seek additional discipline either by initiating

a contested case proceeding pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14 or by bringing the matter

directly to the Board pursuant to the following procedure:

a. The Committee shall schedule ahearing before the Board. At least ten days

prior to the hearing, the Committee shall mail Licensee a notice of the violation(s) alleged by the

Committee. In addition, the notice shall designate the time and place ofthe hearing. Within seven
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days after the notice is mailed, Licensee shall submit a written response to the allegations. If

Licensee does not submit a timely response to the Board, the allegations may be deemed admitted.

b. The Committee, in its discretion, may schedule a conference with the

Licensee prior to the hearing before the Board to discuss the allegations and to'attempt to resolve

the allegations through the procedures of Minnesota Statutes section 2l4JA3, subdivision 6.

c. Prior to the hearing before the Board, the Committee and Licensee may

submit affrdavits and written argument in support of their positions. At the hearing, the Committee

and Licensee may pfesent oral argument. Argument shall not refer to matters outside the record.

The evidentiary record shall be limited to the affidavits submitted prior to the hearing and this

Stipulation and Order. The Committee shall have the burden of proving by a preponderance of

the evidence that a violation has occurred. If Licensee has failed to submit a timely response to

the allegations, Licensee may not contest the allegations, but may present argument concerning

the appropriateness of additional discipline. Licensee waives a hearing before an administrative

law judge, discovery, cross-examination of adverse witnesses, and other procedures governing

hearings pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14.

d. Licensee's correction of a violation prior to the conference, hearing or

meeting of the Board may be taken into account by the Board but shall not limit the Board's

authority to impose discipline for the violation. A decision by the Committee not to seek discipline

when it frrst leams of a violation will not waive the Committee's right to later seek discipline for

that violation, either alone or in combination with other violations, at any time while this order is

in effect.

e. Following the hearing, the Board will deliberate confidentially. If the

allegations are not proved, the Board will dismiss the allegations. If a violation is proved, the
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Board may impose additional discipline, including additional conditions or limitations on

Licensee's practice, suspension, or revocation of Licensee's license.

f. Nothing herein shall limit the Committee's or the Board's right to

temporarily suspend Licensee's license pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 1504.08,

subdivision 8, based on a violation of this Stipulation and Order or based on conduct of Licensee

not specifically referred to herein;

VII.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

16. Within ten days of execution of this Stipulation and Order, Licensee shall provide

the Board with the names of all states in which Licensee is licensed to practice as a dental

professional or holds any other professional or occupational license or registration.

17. If while residing or practicing in Minnesota, Licensee should become employed at

any other dental clinic or facility or move, Licensee shall notify the Board in writing of the new

address and telephone number within ten days.

18. In the event Licensee should leave Minnesota to reside or to practice outside of the

state, Licensee shall notiff the Board in witing of the new address and telephone number within

ten days. Periods of residency or practice outside of Minnesota will not apply to the reduction of

any period of Licensee's discipline in Minnesota unless Licensee demonstrates that practice in

another state conforms completely to this Stipulation and Order. If Licensee leaves the state, the

terms of this order continue to apply unless waived in writing.

19. Licensee waives the contested case hearing and all other procedures before the

Board to which Licensee may be entitled under the Minnesota and United States constitutions,

statutes, or rules,
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20. Licensee waives any claims against the Bbard, the Minnesota Attorney General,

the State of Minnesota, and their agents, employees, and representatives related to the

investigation of the conduct herein, or the negotiation or execution of this Stipulation and Order,

which may otherwise be available to Licensee.

2L This Stipulation and Order, the files, records, and proceedings associated with this

matter shall constitute the entire record and may be reviewed by the Board in its consideration of

this matter.

22. Either party may seek enforcement of this Stipulation and Order in any appropriate

civil court.

23. Licensee has read, understands, and agrees to this Stipulation and Order and has

voluntarily signed this Stipulation and Order. Licensee is aware this Stipulation and Order must

be approved by the Board before it goes into effect. The Board may approve the Stipulation and

Order as proposed, approve it subject to specified change, or reject it. If the changes are acceptable

to Licensee, the Stipulation and Order will take effect and the order as modified will be issued. If

the changes are unacceptable to Licensee or the Board rejects the Stipulation and Order, it will be

of no effect except as specified in the following paragraph.

24, Licensee agrees that if the Board rejects this Stipulation and Order or a lesser

remedy than indicated in this settlement, and this case comes again before the Board, Licensee

will assert no claim that the Board was prejudiced by its review and discussion of this Stipulation

and Order or of any records relating to it.

25. This Stipulation and Order shall not limit the Board's authority to proceed against

Licensee by initiating a contested case hearing or by other appropriate means on the basis of any
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act, conduct, or admission of Licensee whic.h constituies grounds for disciplinary action and which

is not directly related to the specific facts and circumstances set forth in rbis document.

vln.

DATA PRACTICES NOTICES

26. This Stipulatisn and Order constitutes disciplinary action by the Board and is

classified as public dxa pursuant to Minqesota Statutes sestion 13.41, subdivision 5. Data

regardirg this action will be provided to data banks as required by Federal law or consistent with

Board policy. While this Stipulation and Order is in effect, inforrnation obtained by the Board

pursuant to this Order is considered active investigative data on a licensed health professional, and

as swh, is classified as confidential data pursuant to Minnesota Shtutes section 13.41 , subdivision

4.

27. This Stipulation contains the entire agreemeut between the parties, there being no

other agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies tlis Stipulation.

LICENSEE COMMITTEE

GREGOR D.D.S L.D.A,, M,B.A.
Executive Dirsctor

Dated 07 2A$ Dated:
<l-1_

2019

/
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ORDER

Upon consideration of the foregoing Stipulation and based upon all the files, records, and

proceedings herein,

The terms of the Stipulation are approved and adopted, and the recommended disciplinary
I

action set forth in the Stipulation is hereby issued as an Order of this Board effective tfris 10fl
day of b"wLn,e ,roq

MINNESOTA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Executive Board Secretary
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