BEFORE THE MINNESOTA

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY

In the Matter of
Pamela J. Becker, P.T.

Year of Birth: 1946 | STIPULATION AND ORDER
License Number: 4994 :

IT IS HEREBY STIPULATED AND AGREED, by and between Pamela J. Becker, P.T.
(“Licensee”), and the Complaint Review Committee (“Committee”) of the Minnesota Board of
Physical Therapy (“Board”) as follows:

1. - During all times.herein, Licensee has been and now is subject to the jurisdiction
of the Board from which she holds a li(l:ense to practice physical therapy in the State of
Minnesota.

2. Licensee was represented by attorney Jennifer Nodes and attorney Jack T.
Sullivan of Best and Flanagan, LLP, 225 South Sixth Street, Suite 4000, Minneapolis, MN
55402 The Committee was represented by Bryan D. Huffinan, Assistant Attorney General, 445
Minnesota Street, Suite 1400, St. Paul, MN |

FACTS

3. On May 2, 1992, Licensee was licensed fo practice physical therapy in the State
of Minnesota.

4. At all times relevant to the proceeding facts, Licensee was employed as a physical
therapist with a facility in Minnesota.

5. On three occasions in 2011, Licensee left patients unatiended so she could answer
her cell phone. For example, Patient 1, who was unable to safely ambulate alone, was left
unattended and found wandering the halls by himself. As. a result of the incidents, Licensee was

placed on the final step of progressive discipline in August 2011.



6. On July 31, 2012, Licensee administered physical therapy to Patient 2. The
following occurred during Patient 2’s treatment: |
a. Licensee left Patient 2 alone in the gym unattended on a diathermy
machine and did not ask anyone to supervise Patient 2.
b. _ Licensee was butside of the gym performing gait training with gnothﬁr

patient while Patient 2 was still on the diathermy machine.

c. Diathermy was not a part of Patient 2’s plan of care.
d. Licensce did not document the diathermy treatment.
7. On August 7, 2012, Licensee’s employment was terminated due to a serious

violation of safety rules.
STATUTES
8. The Committee views Licensee's practices as inappropriate in such a way as to
require Board action under Minn. Stat. § 148.75(a)(6) and (7) (2012). Licensee agrees that the
conduct cited above constitutes a reasonable basis in law and fact to justify the disciplinary
action under these statutes.
REMEDY
9. Upon this stipulation and all of the files, records, and proceedings herein, and
without any further notice or heariﬁg herein, Licensee hereby consents that until further order of
the Board, made after notice and hearing upon application by Licensee or upon the Board's own
motion, the Board may make and enter an order SUSPENDING Licensee’s license as a physical
therapist in Minnesota. The suspension is STAYED s‘o\long as Licensee complies ﬁvith the
following CONDITIONS:
a. The Board imposes a CIVIL PENALTY in the amount of $3,000 for the

conduct described above. However, Licensee must only pay $1,000 while the remaining $2,000



will be stayed so long as Licensee complies with all of the terms‘ and conditions set forth in this
Stipulation and Order. Licensee must pay the civil penalty by cashier’s check or money order
made payable to the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy, 2829 University Avenue S.E.,'
Suite 420, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414-3664, within 60 days of the date of this Order.

b. Within six months from the date this Stipulation and Order is adopted by
the Board, Licensee must complete an Essentials of Physical Therapy course presented by the
Minnesota Chapter of the American fhysical Therapy Association. Licensee must obtain
preapproval of the course from the Committee before attending the course.

c. Within six months from the date this Stipulation and Order is adopted by
the Board, Licensee must complete a course regarding the Roles and Responsibilities of Physical
Therapists and Physical Therapists Assistants. The course must be preapproved by the
Committee,

10.  Licensee may petition the Board for an unconditional license updn satisfactory
completion of the terms of this Stipulation and Order. Licensee’s petition for an unconditional
license may be granted, if at all, as the evidence dictateé and based upon the need to protect the
public. The burden of proof falls upon Licensee to demonstrate by a preponderance of the
evidence that she is capable of conducting herself in a fit and competent manner in the practice
of physical therapy. |

At the time of Licensee’s petition, Licensee may be required to meet with a
Complaint Review Committee. The Committee will make a recommendation to the Board to
continue, modify, or remove the conditions set out herein. - However, the Board must render a
final decision. |

11.  Licensee is responsible for all costs incurred as a result of compliance with this

Stipulation and Order.



12. In the event Licensee resides or practices outside the State of Minnesota, Licensee
must promptly notify the Board in writing of the location of her residence and all work sites.
Periods of residency or practice outside of Minnesota will not be credited toward any period of
Licensee’s suspended, ﬁmited, or conditioned license in Minnesota unless Licensee demonstratés
that practice in another state conforms completely with Licensee’s Minnesota license to practice
physical therapy.

CONSEQUENCES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE OR ADDITIONAL VIOLATIONS
A. Noncompliance With Requirements for Stayed Suspension

13,  If the Committee hés probable cause to believe Licensee has failed to comply
with, violated any of the requirements for staying the suspension as outlined above, ot has
engaged in practice which violates the Minnesota Physical Therapy Practice Act, the Committee
may remove the stay of suspension pursuant to the procedures outlined in paragraph 14 below,
with the following additions and exceptions:

a. The removal of the stayed suspension will take effect upon service of an
Order of Removal of Stayed Suspension (“Order of Removal”). Licensee agrees that the
Committee is authorized to issué an Order of Removal, which shall remain in effect and will
have the full force and effect of an order of the Board until the Board makes a final
determination pursuant to the procedures outlined in paragraph 14 below or until the complaint is
~ dismissed and the order is rescinded by the Committee. The Order of Relﬁoval must confirm the
Committes has probable cause to believe Licensee has failed to comply with or has violated one
or more of the requirements for staying the suspension of Licensee’s license. Licensée further
agi‘ees an Order of Removal issued pursuant to this paragraph shall be deemed a public
document under the Minnesotﬁ Government Data Practices Act. Liceﬁsee waives any rightto a

conference or hearing before removal of the stayed suspension.
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b. | The Committee must schedule the heaﬁng pursuant to paragraph 14 below

to be held within 60 days of service of the Order of Removal.
B. Noncompliance With Stipulation and Order
14.  If Licensee fails to ‘comply with or violates this Stipulation and Order, the

Committee may, in its discretion, seek additional disc;ipline either by initiating a contested case
pfoceeding pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14 (2012) or by bringing the matter directly to
the Board pursuant to the following procedure:

a, The Committee may schedule a hearing before the Board. At least
20 days before the hearing, the Committee must mail Licensee a notice of the violation(s) alleged
by the Committee. [n addition, the notice must deSignate the time and place of the hearing.
Within ten days after the notice is mailed, Licensee musi submit a written response to the
allegations. If Licensee does not submit a timely response to the Béard, the allegatibns may be
deem.ed admitted.

b. The Committee, in its diScretién, may schedule a conference with
Licensee prior to the hearing before the Board té discuss the allegations and to attempt to resolve
the allegations through agreement. |

C. Prior to the hearing ‘before the Board, the Committee anericensee rnéy
submit affidavits and written afgument in support of their positions. At the hearing, the
Committee and Licensee may present oral argument. Argument shall not refer to matters outside
the record. The evidentiary record shall be limited to the affidavits submitted prior to the hearing -
and this Stipulation and Order. Unlesg stated otherwise in this Stipulation and Order, the
Committee shall have the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that a violation
has occurred. If Licensee has failed to submit a timely response to the allegations, Licensee may

pot contest the allegations, but may present argument concerning the appropriateness of



additional discipline. Licensce waives a hearing before an administrative law judge, discovery,
cross-examination of adverse witnesses, and other procedures governing hearings.'pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes chapter 14.

d. Licensee's correction of a violation priqr to the conference, héaring, or
meeting of the Board may be taken into account by the Board but shall not limit the Board's
authority to impose discipline for the violation. A decision by the Committee not to seek
discipline when it first learns of a violation will not waive the Committee's right to later seek
discipline for that violation, either alone or in combination with other violations, at any time -
while Licensee's Iiceﬁse is suspended or the suspension is stayed.

e, Following the hearing, the Board will deliberate confidentially. If the
allegations are not proved, the Board will dismiss the allegations. If a violation is proved, the
Board may imposer addij;ionai discipline, including additional requirements for the stayed
suspension, removal of the stayed suspension, an additional period of suspension, or revocation
of Licensee's license.

15. In the event the Board in its discretion does not approve this set"clement,‘ this
stipulation is withdrawn and will be of no evidentiary value and may not be relied upon nor
introduced in any disciplinary action by either party hereto except that Licensee agrees that
should the Board reject this stipulation and if this case proceeds to hearing, Licensee will assert
no claim that the Board was prejudiced by its review and discussion of this stipulation or of any
records relating hereto. o

16.  This stipulation does not in any way limit or affect the authority of the Board to
temporarily suspend Licensee’s license under Minn. Stat. § 148.755 or to initiate contested case

proceedings against Licensee on the basis of any act, conduct, or omission of Licensee justifying




I7. Licensee waives any further hearings on this matter before the Roard to which

Licensee may be entitled by Minnesota or United Stateg constitutions, statutes, or rules and

of this stipulation.

Dated:; l(( %) HE{ Dated: /"8 '@g&’
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SIGNATURE ON FILE
PAMELA J. BECRER B T FoRTEE COMMIZAEEY

Licensee

MINNESOTA BOARD OF
PHYSICAL THERAPY

SIGNATURE ON FiLE
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Executive Director
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