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INSTRUCTIONS  

 
1. This application form is intended for Licensed Professional Clinical Counselors (LPCCs) in Minnesota who 

completed a degree program after their license was initially issued and would like the Board to change the degree 
upon which their licensure is based. This application must be filled out completely.  Incomplete applications will 
be returned to you, delaying processing of your application. 

 
2. This application must be accompanied by the $150 non-refundable application fee (Minn. Stat. sec. 148B.53, 

subds. 3(5)).   Please make your check or money order payable to the Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and 
Therapy (or BBHT). 

 
3. All applicants must complete and submit the following to the Board office:  
   Application, completed, signed, notarized   
   Application processing fee in the amount of $150; Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 604.113, there will be 

a $30 service charge on all checks not honored by your bank. 
   Syllabi and/or course descriptions for all courses listed in section D, the “Clinical Coursework Sheet,” of this 

application. 
 
4.   Official graduate transcripts listing any coursework or degrees completed since your LPCC was issued must be 

sent directly to the BBHT office from the institution.  All courses must be from an accredited school (CHEA or 
CACREP-recognized) and must be passed for credit.  Transcripts do not need to be re-submitted if there are no 
changes or additions since your initial application. 
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5. Minnesota Government Data Practice Act Notice.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 270C.72, subdivisions 
1 and 4, the Board is required to ask all applicants to provide their social security number and Minnesota business 
identification number on all license applications. Failure to supply this information may jeopardize or delay the 
processing of your application. Upon request of the Commissioner of Revenue, the Board must provide to the 
Commissioner a list of all regulated individuals and applicants, including their names and addresses, social security 
numbers, and business identification numbers.  Under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, you are advised 
of the following regarding the use of this information: 
a. This information may be used to deny the issuance or renewal of your license in the event you owe the 

Minnesota Department of Revenue delinquent taxes in the amount of $500.00 or more. 
b. Upon receiving this information, the Board will supply it only to the Minnesota Department of Revenue. 

However, under the Federal Exchange of Information Agreement, the Department of Revenue may supply this 
information to the Internal Revenue Service. 

MINNESOTA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH and THERAPY 
 

Application Fee:  $150.00 (Non-refundable) 
 

SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION 
 

RIGHTS OF SUBJECTS OF DATA 
 
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. sec. 13.41, subd. 2, information you provide in this application, except for your name and 
address, is classified as private while you remain an applicant.  Private data is accessible only to you, the staff and 
members of the Board, the Board’s legal counsel, and persons you designate.  When you become licensed, the 
information in your file related to your licensure is classified as public under Minn. Stat. sec. 13.41, subds. 2 and 5.  If 
the application is denied this information may also become public under Minn. Stat. sec. 13.41, subds. 2 and 5. 
 
The purpose and intended use of this information is to enable the Board to determine whether you meet statutory 
requirements for licensure.  You are not legally obligated to provide this information, but you cannot be licensed 
without doing so. 

 
Please type or print the following information:  (All boxes must be answered or marked as “not applicable.”)   
 
1.  Last Name (legal)  
 
 

2.  First Name (legal) 3.  Full Middle Name (legal) 4.  Suffix (e.g., JR, SR, 
etc.) 

5.  Maiden Name, Surname, or Any Other Names or Aliases by Which You Have Been Known 
 
 
 
 
6.   LPCC License Number 
 

7.  Initial LPCC Licensure Date 8.  Date of Birth 
     MM / DD / YYYY 
 
 

9.  Gender 
 

 Male 
 Female 

10. Social Security Number: 
 
_________________ - _____________ - _________________ 
 

11.  Minnesota Business I.D. number (if applicable): 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
\ 

**Board Office use only** 
Payment Info:        
Check # ____________________ Amount $:  _______________ Staff Initials:  ____________________ 
Deposit #___________________ Date:  ____________________ 
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Section A – Personal Information Continued… 

12.  Home Address (street address, city, state, zip code and country.  No P.O. Boxes) 
 
 
 
 
 

13.  County (Home) 

14.  Business Name & Address (street address, city, state, zip code and country.  No P.O. Boxes) 
      Unemployed 
 
 
 
 

15.  County (Business) 

16.  Contact Information: Telephone Numbers 
 
 
(________)_________________________     (________)________________________    (________)_______________________________   
 Business                                                            Home                                                             Cell (optional):    Personal /  Business 
  
17.  E-mail Address (optional)  Please provide your email address if you wish to permit the Board to correspond with you by  
       email regarding the status of your application.   
 
        Personal: __________________________________________     Business: __________________________________________      

18.  Fax Number (optional) 
 
       Personal: __________________________________________     Business: __________________________________________      

 
19.  Designated address the Board should use for release to the public (check one):                     Home         Business 
20.  Designated phone number the Board should use for release to the public (check one):          Home         Business 
21.  Designated address for official Board mailings (check one):                   Home         Business 
 
Pursuant to Minn. Stat. 13.41, subd. 2(b), a person who is subject to a health-related licensing board must designate to the board a residence 
or business address and telephone number at which the licensee can be contacted in connection with the license.  These data are to be 
maintained in the board’s records as public data.  Therefore, the address and telephone number which you designate above is the address 
and telephone number the board will release in response to public inquiries, and is the address and telephone number the board will use for 
all contacts with you regarding your license, including renewal information.  If you change your address and/or telephone number prior to 
your next renewal, it is your duty to notify the board within 30 days of any change.  Your notification must be made in writing and 
submitted on the board’s change of address form available on the board’s website. 
 

SECTION B - NOTARIZATION 
 

All licensees must complete this section. 
 
       STATE OF: _____________________________ 
 
       COUNTY OF: ___________________________ 
 
       I hereby swear that the statements made in this entire application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and  
       that I have answered all questions on the application fully, completely, and without omission. 
 
 
                                                                                                             _____________________________________________________ 
                                                                                                             Applicant’s Signature 
 
        Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________________ day of __________________________, 20____________. 
 
 
                    (Notary Stamp)                                                                _____________________________________________________ 
                                                                                                             Notary Public Signature 
 
       My Commission expires the ______________ day of ____________________________, 20_____________. 
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SECTION C - EDUCATION 

 
Any graduate degree you would like to use as the basis for licensure must be from a counseling program recognized 
by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) or from an institution 
that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council for Higher Education 
Accreditation (CHEA).  If your degree is from a foreign institution that does not meet the accreditation 
requirements, you may have your degree evaluated by a credentials evaluation service that is accepted by the 
National Board for Certified Counselors  (NBCC).  The evaluation shall be done at your expense and the evaluation 
must be sent directly to the board from the evaluating agency.  (See Minnesota Statutes section 148B.532.)   
 
Please check one.  Please verify with your school program if you are not sure about accreditation: 

  The educational program I am applying under was CACREP accredited when I graduated (www.CACREP.org)  
  The educational institution I am applying under was accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by   

      CHEA when I graduated (www.CHEA.org) 
  I graduated from a foreign institution. A credentials evaluation will be sent to the Board from an appropriate  
  credentials evaluation service recognized by the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC) 

 
A.   New graduate program under consideration  (Official transcripts must be submitted to BBHT directly from 

your school.)  You will be required to use this degree for professional purposes upon approval. 
College or University 
Name: 

 

School Location (City & 
State, or Country): 

 

Dates Attended (M/D/Y): From: To (conferral date): 
Degree Earned: MS  MA  MEd  MSEd  MAEd  MC  PhD  PsyD  EdD  Other _____  
Major / Concentration:  
Credits Earned:  Semester   Quarter  Total credits earned in program: 
Transcript Has Been Requested from School:     YES     NO 

 
B.   Other graduate coursework completed for licensure purposes.  (Official transcripts must be submitted to 

BBHT directly from your school.)  Additional classes can be completed pre- or post-degree.   
 
INSTITUTION NAME 
& LOCATION 

 

 
COURSES 

DATES ATTENDED  

Indicate 
degree or 

No Credential 

 

Major / 
Focus 
Area 

 
Credits FROM 

(Mo/Year) 
TO 

(Mo/Year) 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

   Sem 
 Qtr 

Total: 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

   Sem 
 Qtr 

Total: 

 
WAIVER 

 
I, ________________________________________, hereby authorize any and all colleges, post-secondary 
educational institutions, police departments, courts or other entities maintaining records on me, to provide said 
records to the Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy upon their request.  I hereby absolve said 
colleges, post-secondary educational institutions, police departments, or other entities of any and all liabilities for 
providing said records pursuant to this request. 
 
 
 
_____________________________________ _____________________ 
Signature of Applicant Date 
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SECTION D – CLINICAL COURSEWORK SHEET 

 
Instructions: 

1. Applicants are required to have a total of 24 semester credits in clinical counseling subjects, or the 
equivalent in quarter credits (i.e. 36 quarter credits).  All applicable graduate work must be completed and 
passed for credit. 

2. You must submit course syllabi with your application; the burden of proof is upon the applicant to prove 
that coursework is clinical in nature.   

3. You may list each course only once in column A of the chart below.   Please list all clinical subjects 
contained in the course in column F. 

4. You must demonstrate that you have completed coursework in each of the six clinical subjects listed below.  
Please indicate the clinical subject(s) included in each course in column F of the chart, below (you can 
simply write in the subject numbers).  Required subjects are listed here: 
 

Subject 1: Diagnostic assessment for child and adult mental disorders; normative development; and 
psychopathology, including developmental psychopathology; 

 

Subject 2: Clinical treatment planning, with measurable goals; 
 

Subject 3: Clinical intervention methods informed by research evidence and community standards 
of practice; 

 

Subject 4: Evaluation methodologies regarding the effectiveness of interventions; 
 

Subject 5: Professional ethics applied to clinical practice; 
 

Subject 6: Cultural diversity. 
 

Please note that while you are required to document training in each of the six areas listed above you are 
not limited to these clinical subjects.  You may list any graduate coursework that you believe is clinical in 
nature in order to have it be considered towards the 24 required semester credits.  If a course was clinical in 
nature but did not include one of the required clinical subjects it may still count towards the requirement of 
24 total credits, but you must state the clinical subject matter that was covered in Column F. 

5. A majority of the 24 clinical credits must come from within the new degree program in order for it to be 
considered the basis for licensure.  However, clinical courses from the previous degree may still apply 
towards the requirement of 24 total clinical credits.   
 

A B C D F G 

Course 
Number: 

Course Number & 
Title, School: 

Credit 
Hour 
(Circle 
Unit): 

Credits 
Earned in 
Course: 

Clinical Subjects that were Covered in Course 
(list all that apply): 

Board 
use 
only 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

S / Q 

   

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

S / Q 
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Section D - Clinical Coursework Sheet, Continued… 
A B C D F G 

Course 
Number: 

Course Number & 
Title, School: 

Credit 
Hour 
(Circle 
Unit): 

Credits 
Earned in 
Course: 

Clinical Subjects that were Covered in Course 
(list all that apply): 

Board 
use 
only 

 
 
 

 

 

S / Q 

   

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

S / Q 

   

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

S / Q 

   

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

S / Q 

   

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

S / Q 

   

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

S / Q 

   

 

 

 

Total Clinical Credits (24 semester credits 
 or 36 quarter clinical credits are required) = 

  

 
 
 


