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ACUPUNCTURIST 

Application Instructions and Requirements 
 
Please thoroughly review these materials before submitting your application.  Any processing fees 
incurred are your responsibility.  The Board reserves the right to reject any outdated applications 
submitted; therefore, it is recommended that you complete the application in a timely manner.  
Incomplete applicant files will be destroyed after six months of inactivity.   
 
Methods of Licensure 
 

The statute establishes eligibility for licensure by general or reciprocity, and applicants must select 
one on the application.  All applicants must submit a completed application and appropriate fees 
online at MN Health Board or by paper to the Medical Board. 
 
General Licensure Requirements   
 

• Verification of a valid and current NCCAOM certification. 
 

Licensure by Reciprocity Requirements 
 

• Verification of current and unrestricted license from another state requiring a current and valid 
NCCAOM certificate. 
 

• Verification of a valid and current NCCAOM certification.  
 
The following requirements must be sent directly to the Minnesota Board from the 
facility/person completing the form: 
 

• Direct Verification of Active/Expired Licensure/Registration/Certification:  The 
Verification of Licensure/Registration/Certification Form or the state generated verification of 
licensure letter can be sent from the state to the Medical Board by email or mail.  Verification 
letters can also be requested through VeriDoc Inc. to the Medical Board.   Go to 
http://www.veridoc.org to have a verification letter sent from another participating state board 
to the Medical Board.  If the state does not do verifications, please forward the email response 
from state stating they do not do verifications or email the link to the state website showing the 
verbiage the state does not do verifications and attach the pdf verification from the state 
website.  The Board must receive a separate verification form completed by each state board 
where you have ever held a healthcare professional license/registration/certification.  
 

• NCCAOM certification:  NCCAOM offers Exam Results and Certification Verification through 
an online portal.  Visit https://www.nccaom.org/state-licensure/state-verification/ to login.  
Paper requests are no longer being accepted.   

 
In addition to the documentation requirements set forth under the general or reciprocity 
registration requirements, all of the following requirements must be met: 
 

• Non-refundable $332.00 fee paid online by credit/debit card or submit paper application with 
check, money order, or cashier’s check payable to the Minnesota Board of Medical 
Practice. 
 

• The name on the application and the name on the certificate must be the same.  If there has 
been a name change, submit a copy of the supporting documentation, e.g., marriage license. 

 

• Notarized copy of NCCAOM certificate. 

https://bmp.hlb.state.mn.us/#/Login
https://mn.gov/boards/assets/AP%20Application%20Verification%20of%20Licesnure%20Form_tcm21-577794.pdf
http://www.veridoc.org/
https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.nccaom.org%2Fstate-licensure%2Fstate-verification%2F&data=02%7C01%7Cmark.chu%40state.mn.us%7Cb4bc3b4d227c413f087308d6c978a415%7Ceb14b04624c445198f26b89c2159828c%7C0%7C0%7C636917917309920879&sdata=%2Bwft9SROb4ikQGCWrTfEplNMYFikmQQA6vrjO8vF3kg%3D&reserved=0
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• Affidavit of Applicant Form  A recent, full-face, 2” X 2” color photograph must be affixed as 
indicated on the form and notarized as a true likeness.  Please ensure to fill in and sign all 
required areas of the form.  

 

• Copy of driver’s license or other government issued photo ID. 
 

• Criminal Background Check: applicant will receive emailed instructions once the application is 
processed.  Use ORI number for Board of Medical Practice: MN920158Z on CBC forms. 

 

• Any other information requested by the Board. 
 
Application Fees 
 
Please be aware that all fees are non-refundable.  Fees submitted will not be refunded if it is 
determined that you are not eligible for licensure. 
 
Applicants are required to submit written notification to the Board within 30 days of any name 
or address change.  The law takes precedence over any conflicts between these instructions 
and the law. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
  

https://mn.gov/boards/assets/BMP-APP_ALLIE_Affidavit_Form-Dec-2022_tcm21-529107.pdf

