
I}EFORE TI.IE MINNESOTA

BOARD OF DENTISTRY

In the Matter of
Shannon M. Wollman, L.D,A.
License No. Al l583

STIPULATION AND ORDER
FOR CONDITIONAL LICENSE

STIPULATION

Shannon M. Wolhnan, L.D.A. ("Licensee") and the Minnesota Board of Dentistry's

Licensure and Credentials Cornmittee ("Committee") agree the above-referenced matter may be

resolved without trial of any issue or fact as follows:

L

JURISDICTION

l. The Minnesota Board of Dentistry ("Board') is authorized pursuant to Minnesota

Statutes chapter 1504., section 2l4.IA, and section2l4.l}3 to license and regulate dental

assistants and to take disciplinary action when appropriate.

2. Licensee holds a license fiom the Board to practice dental assisting in the State of

Minnesota and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board with respect to the matters refened to in

this Stipulation and Order.

n.

CONFERENCE

3. On September 20, 2013, Licensee appeared befbre the Committee, composed of

Board mernberc Joan Sheppard, D.D.S. and Allen Rasmussen, to discuss allegations made in a

Notice of Conference clated September 4, 2013. Jennifer C, Middleton, Assistant Attorney

General, rcpresented the Committee at the conftrence.



4. Although Licensee was informed at the conference that she could be represented

by legal counsel, Licensee has knowingly and voluntarily waived that opportunity.

ilI.

FACTS

5.. The parties agree this Stipulation and Order is based upon the following facts:

a. Licensee failed to properly subn'rit to and verify with the Board her corrcct

and currcnt mailing acldress pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 150A.09, subdivision. 3.

Accordingly, Licensee failed to receive the renewal notice sent by the Board prior to the

expiration of her license. Licensee's license to pmctice clental assisting was terminated on

July 1,2013, due to failure to renew,

b. Licensee continued to practice as a licensed dental assistaut from July I,

2013, to August 26,2013, without authorization. Licensee performed dclegated cluties on

patients beyond the scope ofpractice for an unlicensed dental assistant.

c. Licensee must complete the application requirements for reinstatement of

her dental assistant license pursuant to Minnesota Rules 3 100.1 850.

ry.

LAWS

6. Lioensee acknowledges the concluct described in section [II. above constitutes a

violation of Mimesota Statr.rtes sectio¡r 1504.08, subdivision l(6), Minnesota Rules

3100.6200A. and 3100.6200F, and justifies the disciplinary action described in section V,

below.



V,

DISCMLINARV ACTION

The parties agree the Board rnay take the following disciplinaty action and requile

compliance with the following terms:

7. The Board shall reinstate Licensee's license to practice dental assisting in the

State of Minnesota at such time as l.icensee has completed all applicable requirements outlined

within Minnesota Rules part 3100.1850.

CONDITIONS

8. The Boatd places the following CONDITIONS on Licensee's license:

a. Jurisprudence ExAurination. Within 90 days fi'om the effective date of this

Order, Licensee shall take and pass the Minnesota jurisprudence examination. I-icensee may

take the jurisprudence examination as many times as necessary to pass the examination within

the 90-day period, however, Licensee may take the examination only once each day. At the e¡rd

of the examination session, Licensee will receive a plinted score report from Prometric.

l,icensee must submit to the Board either an original printed scol'e report or a notarized copy of

the scorp report as proof of having passed the julispnrdence examination. Lioensee is

responsible fbr locating a testing center, registering for the jurisprudence examination, and

paying for the examination fbe through the Board's contracted testing agency, Promett'ic

lncorporated, [A lini( for Prometric can be for¡nd on the Board's website uncler Licensing.]

b, Cjvit Penalty. Within nine months from the effective date of this Otder,

Liccnsee shall pay to the Board a civil penalty in the amount of $300. The civil penalty shall be

paid by cashier's check or money order made payable to the Mimesota Board of Dentistry and

shall be delivered personally or by rnail to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry, c/o Marshall



Shragg, Executive Director, 2829 University Avenue S.8., Suite 450, Minneapolis' Minnesota

5s414.

c, Co{.nmunity^ Ser.vice. Within nine months of the effective date of this

Order, Licensee shall complete thifty (30) hours of unpaid community service at any voluntary

dental access clinic, e.g. Neighborhood Involvement Program (NIP) Conrmunity Clinic, Union

Gospel Dental cliuic, or other voluntary dental access clinic located in Licensee's community'

Licensee shallsubmit to the Comrnittee evidence of successfully completing 30 hours of service'

For this Order, Licensee shall arrange with the organization for forfeiture of all

recog'ition for these dental sewices, including any letters Of commendation, plaques, ancl

advertising or marketing related to the individual provider or the practice' Violation of the

recognition provision, whether intentional or not, will result in that treatment not being

recognized by the Committee as meeting the requirement for community service. MoreoY-çr.

Removal of Conditions

g. 'Ihe conditions upon Licensee's license shall be administlatively removed r"tpon

Licensee's satisfactory completion of the disciplinary action contained within this Stipulation

arrd Order.. 'the Board's Executive Dircctor will send written notification to the l-icensee

regarding the removal of the conditions fiom Licensee's license to practice dental assisting'



VI.

CONSEQUENCES FOR NONCOMPLIANCE OR ADDITIONAL VIOLATIONS

10, Licensee shall comply with the laws or rules of thc Board of Dentistry' Licensee

agrees that failure to cornply with the Board's laws or rules shall be a violation of this Stipulation

and Order.

11. In Licensee's pmctice of dentistry, Licensee shall comply witlt the most current

infection contr.ol requirements of Mimesota Rules 3100.6300 and 6950.1000 to 6950, 1080, and

with the Centers for Disease Contlol and Prevention, Public Flealth Service, and the United

States Department of Health and l-luman Services.

12. Licensee shall fully and promptly cooperate with the Board's reasonable requests

conceuring compliance with this Stipulation and Order, including requests fur explanations,

documents, office inspections, or appearances at conferences, Minnesota Rules 3100.6350 shall

be applicable to such requests.

13. It is Licensee's responsibility to ensure all payments, teports, evaluations, and

documentarion required to be filecl with the Board pursuant to this Stipulation and Orcler are

tirnely frled by those preparing the payment, teport, evaluation, or documentation' Failute to file

payments, reports, evaluations, ancl documentation on or before their due date is a violation of

this Stipulation and Order.

Imposition of Fine

14. If information or a report required by this Stipulation and Older is not submitted

to the Board by the due date, or if Licensee otherwise violates this Stipulation and Otder, the

Col¡mittee may fine Licensee $100 per late report or other violation. l.icensee shall pay the fine

and corrcct the violation within five days after service on Licensee of a demaud for payrnent arrd



correction. If Licensee fails to do so, the Committee may impose additional fines not to exceed

$500 per violation. The total of all fines may not exceed $5,000. l,icensee waives the right to

seek review of the irnposition of these fines under the Administlative Procedure Act, by writ of

certiorari under Miruresota Statutes section 4804.06, by application to the Board, or otherwise.

Neither the imposition of fines nor coüection of the violation will deprive the Boald of the right

to impose additional discipline based on ths violation.

NoncompliânceorViolationWithstipulationandorder

15. If Licensee faits to comply with or violates this Stipulation and Ordet ol it is

determinsd Licensee has further violated Miunesota Statutes chapter 150/\ ot Minnesota Rules

chapter 3100, the Committee nray, in its discretion, seek additional discipline either by initiating

a sontested case proceeding pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14 or by bringing the matter

dilectly to the Board pursuant to the following procedure:

a. The Comrnittee shall schedule a hearing before the lloard' At least terr

days prior to the hearing, the Cornrnittee shall mail Licensee a notice of the violation(s) alleged

by the Comrnittee. In addition, the notice shatt desigrrate the time and place of the hearing.

Within seven days after the notice is mailecl, Licensee shall subrnit a writte¡r response to the

allegations, If Licensee does not submit a timely response to the Boatd, the allegations tnay be

cleemed admitted.

b. The Committee, in its disuetion, may schedule a confercnce with the

l,icensee prior to the hearing before the Boæd to discuss the allegations and to attempt to resolve

the allegations tluough the procedures of Minnesota Statutes section 214.103, subdivision 6.

c. Prior to the hearing before the Board, the Comrnittee and Licensee may

suburit affidavits ancl written argument in sr.rpport of their positions. At the hearing, the



Committee and Licensee may present oral argument. Argument shall not refer to matters outside

the recor.d, The evidentiary record shall be limited to the affîdavits submitted prior to the

hearing and this Stipulation and Order. The Committee shalt have the burden of proving by a

preponderance of the evidence that a violation has occurred. ff Licensee has läiled to submit a

timely response to the allegations, Licensee may not contest the allegations, but may presettt

argument conceming the appropriateness of additional discipline. Licensee waives a hearing

befor.e a¡ administrative law judge, discovery, cross-examination of adverse witnesses, and other

procedures governing þearings pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter l4'

d. Licensee,s corrcction of a violation ptior to the conference, hearing or

meeting of the Board rnay be taken into account by the Board but shall not limit the Board's

authority to irnpose discipline for the violation. A decision by the Committee not to seelc

discipline when it first learns of a violation will not waive the Committee's right to later seek

discipline for. that violation, either alone or in combination with other violations, at any tirne

while this order is in effect.

e. Fo¡owing the hearing, the Board will deliberate confidentially. If the

allegatio¡s are not p¡oved, the Board will dismiss the allegations. If a violation is proved, the

Board may irnpose actditional discipline, including additional conditions or lirnitations on

Licensee's practice, suspensi6n, or revocation Of Licensee's license.

f. Nothipg herein shall limit the Committee's or the Board's right to

ternporarily suspencl Licensee's license pursuant to Minnesota Statutes sectiorr i50A'08,

subdivision g, based on a violation of this Stipulation and Order or based on condltct of Licensee

not specifically refened to herein.



vII.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

16. Within ten days of execution of this Stipulation and Order, Licensee shall provide

the Boar.cl with the names of all states in which Licensee is licensed to practice as a dental

professional or holcls any other professional or occupational license or registration.

17. If while residing or practicing in Minnesota, Licensee should become employed at

any other dental clinic or facility or move, Licensee shall notify the Board in writing of the new

address arrd telephone number within ten days.

18. In the event Licensee should leave Minnesota to reside or to ¡rractice outside of

the state, Licensee shall uotify the Board in writing of the new address and telephone number

within ten days. Periods of residency or practice outside of Minnesota will not apply to the

reduction of any period of Licensee's discipline in Minnesota unless Licensee demonstrates tlrat

practice in another state conforms completely to this Stipulation and Order. If Licensee leaves

the state, the terms of this order continue to apply unless waived in writing.

lg. Licensee waives the contested case hearing and all other ptocedures before the

Boarcl to which Lice¡see may be entitlecl under the Minnesota and United States constitutions,

statutes, or rules.

20. Licensee waives any claims against the Board, the Minnesota Attorney General,

the State of Minrresota, and their agents, employees, and representatives related to the

i¡vestigatio¡ of thc conduct herein, or the negotiation or execution of this Stipulation and Order,

which may otherwise be available to Licensee.



Zl. This Stipulation and Order, the files, records, and proceedings associated with

this matter shall constitute the entire record and may be reviewed by the Board in its

consideration of this tnatteÌ.

22. Either party may seek enforcement of this Stipulation and Older in any

appropriate civil court.

23. l,icelrsee has read, understands, and agrces to this Stipulation and Order and has

voluntarily sig¡ed this Stipulation and Order. l,icensee is awate this Stipulation and Order must

be approved by the Board befole it goes into effect. The Board may approve the Stipulation and

Order as proposed, approve it subject to specifred change, or reject it. If the changes are

acceptable to Licensee, the Stipulation and Order witl take effect and the otdet as modifred will

be issued, If the changes ate unacceptable to Licensee or the Board rejects the Stipulation and

Order, it will be of no effect except as specified in the following paragraph.

24. Licensee agrees that if the Board rejects this Stipulation and Order or a lesser

rernedy than indicated in this settlenrent, and this case comes again before the Board, Licensee

will assert no claim that the Board was prejudiced by its review and discussion of this

Stipulation and Order or of any records relating to it'

25. This Stipulatiol and Ordcr shall rrot limit the Board's authority to proceed against

Licensee by initiating a contested case hearing or by oüher appropriate means on the basis of arry

act, conduct, or admission of Licensee which constitutes grounds for disciplinary action and

which is not clirectly related to the specific facts and circumstances sr)t forth in this docume¡rt.



VIII.

DATA PRACTICES NOTICES

26. ,fhis Stipulation and Or.der constitutes disciplinary action by the Board and is

classified as public data pursuarrt to Minnesota Statutes section 13'41, subdivision 5' Data

regarding this action will bê provided to data banks as required by Federal law or consistent with

Board policy. While this Stipularion ancl Order is in effect, information obtained by the Board

pursuant to this order is considered active investigative data on a license¿ nìatttr professional'

and as such, is ctassified as confidential data pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 13'41'

subdivisio¡r 4.

27, This Stipulation contains the entire agreement bctween the parties' there being no

other agreement of any kild, ve¡bal or otherwise, which varies this Stipulation'

Dated: Se{d Z,sfh - ,2073

LICENST'E

ON M. WOI,LMAN, L.D.A. RSITATI SI-IRAGG, MPI{

r0



ORDER

upon consideration of the foregoing stipulation and based upon all the fïles' records' and

proceedings herein,

The ærms of the stipulation are approved and adopted, and the recommended

disciplinary action set forth in the stipulation is hereby issued as an order of this Board efredive

,hhAfl øv or ,Å ,#,,.v,beu:-zott'

MINNESOTA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

President

l1


