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Domestic License Transfer Application 

The following must be submitted for your application to be processed: 

 Completed Application

 Fee: $195 (processing within 15 business days) or $345 (expedited processing within 5 business days)
Checks or money orders may be made payable to Board of Cosmetology. Fees are deposited the first business day after receipt. 
Processing time begins when your application and payment are received in the Board office. 
Business days do not include weekends or state determined holidays.  
Incomplete applications will be returned and subject to additional processing upon receipt back in the Board office. 

 Certification(s) of Licensure from each state in which you have ever been licensed
Contact each state’s Board to have a Certification of Licensure mailed directly to the Board office. Certifications are only valid for 90 
days from date of receipt and should certify each license, training hours, exams passed, and so on.  
• If you are or were licensed in a state that does not issue license certifications, complete and attach the Supplemental Verification 

Form (available at mn.gov/boards/cosmetology) along with a photocopy of your license in that state.
• If your certifications do not verify at least one active license, you will need to complete a Skills Course at a licensed Minnesota 

cosmetology school. See page 3 for instructions.
• If your certifications do not verify completion of the minimum training hours listed above, you will need to provide evidence of an 

active license for at least three years OR complete the remaining training hours and the Practical Skills Test at a licensed
Minnesota cosmetology school. See page 3 for instructions.

 Original passing results from the Minnesota State Laws & Rules Examination
All applicants* are required to take and pass the State Exam, including applicants who were previously licensed 
in Minnesota. Your original score report must be attached to this application. Exam results are valid for one year. 
*If you currently hold an active operator or salon manager license in Minnesota, you do not need to retake this exam.

 Proof of passing a General Theory Examination
If your license certifications do not verify completion of a general theory exam, you must take and pass the 
Board-approved General Theory Examination for your license type (Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Nail Technician, or  
Eyelash Technician). Your original score report must be attached to this application. Exam results are valid for one year. 

 Proof of passing a Practical Examination
If your license certifications do not verify completion of a practical exam, you must take and pass the Board- 
approved Written Practical Examination for your license type (Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Nail Technician, or Eyelash 
Technician). Your original score report must be attached to this application. Exam results are valid for one year. 

1. Applicant Information
12/2024 

Complete this application if you are or have been licensed in one or more U.S. states. 
Submit a complete application and payment by mail or in person to the address listed above. 

Incomplete applications are returned for corrections, which will delay licensure. 
Please allow for the full processing time. 

For Board Office Use Only  

Amount: C/MO/R#: Application Number: 

Date Processed: Staff Initials: License Number: 

Full Name 
First, Middle, Last 

 

SSN or ITIN 
(required) 

Date of Birth 
mm/dd/yyyy 

Street Address City, State, Zip Code 

Phone Number Email Address 

First Name Middle Name Last Name 

Which license are you applying for? (Select only one.) 

 Cosmetologist 
Training (1550 hours) and practice in the 

cosmetic care of hair, skin, and nails. 

 Esthetician 
Cosmetic skin care training  

(600 hours) and practice only. 

 Nail Technician
Cosmetic nail care training 

(350 hours) and practice only. 

 Eyelash Technician
Eyelash extensions training 

(14 hours) and practice only. 

To schedule written 
exams, contact PSI at 
1-855-834-8746 or 
www.psiexams.com. 

Can I get a license just for nails and waxing? 
No, not in Minnesota. If you’re trained in nails 
and skin (waxing) but not in hair care, you 
must obtain an Esthetician license and a Nail 
Technician license. The only way to do both 
with one license is to become a Cosmetologist. 

You may be wondering ... If I get a Cosmetologist or 
Esthetician license, will I need an 
Eyelash Technician license? 
No, not in Minnesota. Eyelash 
extension services are included in 
your scope of practice. 

Can I transfer my manager/master license? 
No, not in Minnesota. Once you obtain an 
Operator license, you may apply for a Salon 
Manager license by submitting a complete 
Salon Manager License Application and fee 
payment to the Board. 

IMPORTANT: To apply for a Hair Technician license use the Domestic or Foreign Hair Technician Operator License Application. 
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3. Cosmetology Education Information 

Name of Cosmetology 
School Attended 

 School Location 
City, State 

 

School Phone Number, 
Email, Website 

 Course Completion Date 
mm/yyyy 

 

2. Additional Applicant Information 

 for information.
1. List all states or countries in which you have ever held a cosmetology license. For each state, list the license type. If you were trained  

or licensed in another country, you may need to apply by Foreign Transfer. Visit  mn.gov/boards/cosmetology
 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. Have you ever been the subject of any inquiry or investigation by any division of the Board of Cosmetology, or Office of the 
Attorney General? If yes, attach a detailed and signed explanation with copies of all letters of inquiry and resolution. 

 Yes 
 No 

3. Have you ever held a cosmetology license which has been censured, suspended, revoked, canceled, terminated or been 
subject to any type of administrative or disciplinary action in any state including Minnesota? If yes, you must attach the 
following: 
 A detailed and signed explanation identifying the type of license and the circumstances of each incident. 
 A copy of the Notice of Hearing or other document that states the charges and allegations. 
 A copy of the official document which establishes the resolution of the charges or any final judgment. 

 Yes 
 No 

4. Have you been notified by the Commissioner of Revenue, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Section 270C.72, that you 
currently owe the State of Minnesota any delinquent taxes? If yes, attach a detailed and signed explanation with 
documentation from the Department of Revenue showing the debt has been paid in full or an approved payment plan is in 
process. 

 Yes 
 No 

Select type(s) of 
license(s) held: 

 

Select all 
disciplines 
covered in your 
training: 

 

Current State(s) of 
Licensure  

License Type 
 

Current License Number 
 

Original License Date 
 

License Expiration Date 
 

 Cosmetologist 

 Esthetician 
 Nail Technician 

 Eyelash Technician 

 Hair Care 

 Skin Care 
 Nail Care 

 Eyelash Extensions 

IMPORTANT: Training in hair, skin 
AND nail care is required for a 
Minnesota Cosmetologist license. 

IMPORTANT: To apply for a Hair 
Technician license there is a 
separate application/process. 

4. Current License Information 

You, as a licensee, will be responsible for the following: 

 License Renewal 

. 

 Your license will expire on the last day of your birth month in the third year of your license cycle. If you fail to renew on or 
before that date, your license will expire and you will not be eligible to work. Late fees will be applied to any license that is 
not renewed on time. Current renewal requirements and applications are available at mn.gov/boards/cosmetology

 Verification of Salon License 
 If you are working in a salon, it is your duty to ensure it has a current license.  

 Compliance with Laws and Rules 
 As a licensee, you are responsible for ensuring compliance with all applicable laws and rules. Civil penalties of up to $2,000 

per violation can be assessed to you, to your Designated Licensed Salon Manager, and/or to the salon for not following laws 
and rules established by the Board. 

 Notice of Changes 

. Name changes must be reported by completing a Name Change Form 
and submitting it to the Board office by mail or in person with proper documentation and fee payment required by 
Minnesota Statutes Section 155A.25. Per Minnesota Rule 2105.0190, subpart 2, a cosmetology license in your former name 
is invalid as of the 31st day of your new legal name. 

 If you change your legal name or address, you must notify the Board within 30 days of the change. Address changes may be 
completed online at mn.gov/boards/cosmetology

Licensee Responsibility 
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6. Application Certification 

I certify that I am at least 17 years of age and that the information submitted within this application is true and correct. I 
also certify that this document has not been altered or changed in any manner from the form adopted by the Board of 
Cosmetology. Further, I have read and acknowledge receiving the Tennessen Warning. 
 
 

 
Applicant Signature: ___________________________________________________     Date: ___________________ 

TENNESSEN WARNING: The information you as an individual provide on this application will be used by the Board to assess your qualifications for licensure. It may also be used to determine whether you have violated  
any statutes or rules the Board is empowered to enforce. You are not legally required to complete this application; however, if you fail to do so, the Board will be unable to process this application or issue a license.  If the 
information provided shows a violation of any statutes or rules enforced by the Board, you may be subject to disciplinary action by the Board including the assessment of civil penalties. Using fraud or deception to obtain  
a license may be used as a basis for disciplinary action. Further, if you choose to apply, Minnesota Statutes § 270C.72, subd. 4 requires that you provide your social security number or individual taxpayer identification 
number for the purpose of identifying individuals owing delinquent taxes. Upon the Minnesota Department of Revenue’s request, the Board must provide it with a list of all applicants, including their name, address, 
business name and address, and social security number or individual taxpayer identification number. 
 
Except for your name and address, application information on individuals is private data while the application is pending and generally will not be disclosed outside of the Board and its staff. In circumstances authorized or 
required by law, however, the information may be disclosed to others, including the Attorney General’s Office, the Minnesota Department of Revenue, the state or legislative auditor, persons contacted for purpose of 
verification or investigation, and persons who obtain a court order to receive the information.  After issuance of a license, the information provided, except your social security number and any nondesignated addresses 
becomes public data and may be released to anyone upon request. 

5. Determine Additional Requirements 

The following flowchart is offered to help you determine what, if any, additional training hours or coursework you may need to complete before 
you submit your application. If the requirements you determine are not confirmed by your Certification(s) of Licensure, your application will be 
returned as incomplete and you will be required to complete any and all remaining training hours and/or additional coursework determined 
by the Board Licensing Division upon its formal review of your application and certification(s). This will delay your licensure and possibly result 
in additional requirements if your other licenses, exam results, and/or Certification(s) of Licensure expire during the application process. 

Lists of licensed Minnesota cosmetology schools and Skills Course providers are available 
at mn.gov/boards/cosmetology. Click on “Find a School.” 

 

IMPORTANT: Skills Course Certificates and License Transfer Course Completion Certificates 
are valid for one year from date of course completion. 

No 

Apply to a licensed Minnesota cosmetology 
school as a transfer student and complete 
all remaining training hours and 
requirements determined by the school, 
which includes passing the Practical Skills 
Test. Attach your License Transfer Course 
Completion Certificate to this application. 

Do your training hours meet or exceed training hours required for licensure in Minnesota? 

Cosmetologist: 1550 hours | Esthetician: 600 hours | Nail Technician: 350 hours | Eyelash Technician: 14 hours 

Have you held an active license for at least three years? 

Yes No 

Yes 

Is your most recent license 
active and unexpired? 

Yes No 

You will not need 
additional training 
or coursework in 
order to obtain a 
Minnesota license. 

Complete a Skills 
Course through a 
licensed Minnesota 
cosmetology school 
or Board-accepted 
Skills Course 
provider. Attach 
your Skills Course 
Certificate to this 
application.  

Is your most recent license 
active and unexpired? 

Yes No 

You will not need 
additional training 
or coursework in 
order to obtain a 
Minnesota license. 

Complete a Skills 
Course through a 
licensed Minnesota 
cosmetology school 
or Board-accepted 
Skills Course 
provider. Attach 
your Skills Course 
Certificate to this 
application.  
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