



PHONE 651.201.2742 EFAX 651.649.5702 EMAIL cosmetology@state.mn.us 1000 University Ave W, Ste 100 | St. Paul, Minnesota 55104

mn.gov/boards/cosmetology

Active License Renewal for Practitioners

Use this application to renew an <u>Operator</u> or <u>Salon Manager</u> license that is eligible for renewal or expired.

Submit a complete application to the address listed above with fee payment by check or money order payable to Board of Cosmetology. Incomplete applications are returned for corrections, which will delay renewal and possibly result in a late renewal penalty. A license becomes eligible for renewal 10 weeks before its expiration date. Faxed or emailed applications are not accepted. Applications are processed within <u>15 business days</u> of receipt. Please allow for the full processing time.

Step 1: Determine Your Renewal Requirements

Your license is active, or it was active when it expired.

If you are renewing on time:

o Continuing education completion

If your license expired <u>less</u> than three years ago:

o Continuing education completion

If your license expired more than three years ago:

- Original passing results from the Minnesota State Laws and Rules Examination (for Operators) or the Salon Manager Examination (for Salon Managers), no more than one year old
- Original passing results from the Written Practical Examination for your license type (Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or Nail Technician), no more than one year old

Your license is retired, or it was when it expired.

If your most recent active license cycle ended $\underline{\text{less}}$ than three years ago:

o Continuing education completion

If your most recent active license cycle ended more than three years ago:

- O Original passing results from the Minnesota State Laws and Rules Examination (for Operators) or the Salon Manager Examination (for Salon Managers), no more than one year old
- Original passing results from the Written Practical Examination for your license type (Cosmetologist, Esthetician, or Nail Technician), no more than one year old

Continuing Education: Visit mn.gov/boards/cosmetology for provider lists. Written Examinations: Contact PSI at 1-855-834-8746 or www.psiexams.com to schedule written exams.

Step 2: Determine Your License Fees

Operator Renewal

■ \$115—on-time renewal

■ \$160—expired less than three years

■ \$195—expired more than three years

Salon Manager Renewal

■ \$145—on-time renewal

■ \$190—expired less than three years

■ \$195—expired more than three years

If a complete and accurate application is not received in the Board office by your license expiration date, you owe the \$45 late renewal penalty. (This fee is included in the late renewal amounts printed here.)

You must renew your license as the same license type you hold.

Step 3: Complete This Application

If you are renewing with continuing education:

- o Complete these sections:
 - Licensee Information
 - Continuing Education Verification
 - Application Certification
- o Submit complete application and fees by mail or in person to the Board of Cosmetology office.

If you are renewing with written examinations:

- Attach both original exam score sheets to this application.
 Photocopies will not be accepted.
- o Complete these sections:
 - Licensee Information
 - Application Certification
- o Submit complete application and fees by mail or in person to the Board of Cosmetology office.

Licensee Information	3/2020
First Name, Last Name	
Date of Birth mm/dd/yyyy	
SSN or ITIN (full number required)	
Street Address	
City, State, Zip Code	
Phone Number	
Email Address	
License Number	
License Expiration Date	

Continuing Education Verification

You must have completed your continuing education within the 3 years prior to your license renewal: the 4-hour Core course and a 4-hour Professional Practice course*. All courses must have been pre-approved by the Board. Visit mn.gov/boards/cosmetology and click on Continuing Education to find approved courses.

Core CE Course

	By checking this box, I certify I completed the required 4-hour core continuing
	education course pertaining to health, safety, infection control, and laws and
	rules from an approved provider. I completed this course within the 3 years
prior	to this renewal and after my most recent renewal/activation.

Course Provider:

Professional Practice CE Course

By checking this box, I certify I completed a board-approved 4-hour professional practice course based on any of the following within my licensed scope of practice: (1) product chemistry and chemical interaction; (2) proper use and maintenance of machines and instruments; (3) business management, professional ethics, and human relations; or (4) techniques relevant to the type of license held. I completed this course within the 3 years prior to this renewal and after my most recent renewal/activation.

Course Provider:		
Course Title:		

*Eyelash Technicians must only complete the Core CE course to renew their licenses.

Application Certification

I certify that the information submitted within this application is true and correct. I also certify that this document has not been altered on the form adopted by the Board of Cosmetology. Further, I have read and acknowledge receiving the Tennessen Warning.

Lice	nsee	Sign	ature

Date

TENNESSEN WARNING: The information you as an individual provide on this application will be used by the Board to assess your papinitisations for licensture. It may also be used to determine whether you have violated any statutes or rules the Board is empowered to enforce. You are not legally required to complete this application; however, if you fall to do so, the Board will be unable to proceed this application or issue alicense. If the information provided shows a violation of any statutes or rules enforced by the Board, you may be subject to disciplinary action by the Board including the assessment of civil penalties. Using fraud or deception to obtain a incisen may be used as a basis for disciplinary action. Further, if you choose to apply, Minnescota Statutes § 2702.CT, 28 which are that you provide your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number for the purpose of identifying individuals worm gleinquent taxes. Upon the Minnescota Department of Revenue's request, the Board must provide it with a list papicants.

Except for your name and address, application information on individuals is private data while the application is pending and generally will not be disclosed outside of the Board and its staff, in dircumstances authorized or required by law, however, the information may persons conducted for purpose of verification or investigation, and persons who obtain a court order to receive the information. After issuance of a license, the information provided, except your social security number and any nondesignated addresses becomes public data and may be released to a ruynour puon request.

For Board Office Use Only	Amount:	C/MO/R#:	Processor:	Date: