



PHONE 651.201.2742 EFAX 651.649.5702 EMAIL cosmetology@state.mn.us
1000 University Ave W, Ste 100 | St. Paul, Minnesota 55104

mn.gov/boards/cosmetology

Advanced Practice Esthetician Initial Operator License Application

Complete this application if you are a recent graduate of the Advanced Practice (AP) Esthetician training program.

Submit a complete application and payment by mail or in person to the address listed above.

Incomplete applications are returned for corrections, which will delay licensure.

Please allow for the full processing time.

An applicant for an AP esthetician license who holds an active esthetician or cosmetologist license must submit the following:

- Completed Application
- O Fee: \$195 (processing within 15 business days) or \$345 (expedited processing within 5 business days)

Checks or money orders may be made payable to Board of Cosmetology. Fees are deposited the first business day after receipt. Processing time begins when your application and payment are received in the Board office. Business days do not include weekends or state determined holidays.

Incomplete applications will be returned and subject to additional processing upon receipt back in the Board office.

- Original AP Esthetician Course Completion Certificate
 - This certificate includes your Practical Skills Test results. It must be complete, accurate, and properly notarized.
- Original passing results from the AP Esthetician General Theory Exam
- O Original passing results from the AP Esthetician Written Practical Exam

All original score reports must be attached to this application. Exam results are valid for one year.

To schedule written exams, contact PSI at 1-855-834-8746 or www.psiexams.com.

An applicant for an AP esthetician license who completed training for both an esthetician or cosmetologist license and an AP esthetician license but does not hold an active esthetician or cosmetologist license must submit everything listed above AND:

- O Original Esthetician or Cosmetologist Course Completion Certificate
 - This certificate includes your Practical Skills Test results. It must be complete, accurate, and properly notarized.
- $\circ\;$ Original passing results from the Minnesota State Laws & Rules Exam
 - If you currently hold an active operator or salon manager license in Minnesota, you do not need to retake this exam.
- O Original passing results from the Esthetician or Cosmetologist General Theory Exam
- O Original passing results from the Esthetician or Cosmetologist Written Practical Exam

All original score reports must be attached to this application. Exam results are valid for one year.

To schedule written exams, contact PSI at 1-855-834-8746 or www.psiexams.com.

Attention	Licensed	Salon	Managers:

If you hold an active salon manager license in another field, you may obtain an AP esthetician salon manager license <u>now</u> without having to go through a separate application and payment process later.

If you are an actively licensed salon manager, please enter your

Yes, I want to obtain an AP esthtetician salon manager license
immediately. Please issue a salon manager license with this
application.

No, I do not want another salon manager license right now. Please
issue an operator license with this application

Attention: If you have recently graduated and would like to obtain a Salon Manager License without first obtaining an Operator License, you may obtain a salon manager license in your field without having to go through a separate application and payment process.

- ☐ To do so, check here and complete the following in addition to all applicable steps listed above:
 - $\ensuremath{\circ}$ Take and pass the Salon Manager Exam.
 - Attach the Original passing results from the Salon Manager Exam to this application.

Important:

response here:

→ Initial training is valid for only five years.

If you do not become licensed within five years of completing training, a Skills Course Completion Certificate(s) no more than one year old must also be submitted with this application. Skills Course provider lists are available at mn.gov/boards/cosmetology.

- → An AP Esthetician Operator License will supersede an Esthetician Operator License.
- → If you completed the cosmetology training program and would also like a Cosmetologist Operator License, you must apply for that license separately with the Initial Operator License Application.

1. Applicant Information		

Full Name First, Middle, Last	First Name	Middle Name		Last Name
SSN or ITIN (full number required)			Date of Birth mm/dd/yyyy	
Street Address			City, State, Zip Code	
Phone Number			Email Address	

For Board Office Use Only

Amount:	C/MO/R#:	Application Number:
Date Processed:	Staff Initials:	License Number:

3/2020

Advanced Practice Esthetician Training	School Name	
School Location (City)	Total Hours Completed	
Program Start Date	Program Completion Date	
nm/dd/yyyy	mm/dd/yyyy	
Additional Program Type	School Name	
if not already licensed)	SCHOOL NAME	
School Location (City)	Total Hours Completed	
Program Start Date	Program Completion Date	
mm/dd/yyyy	mm/dd/yyyy	
. Additional Applicant Information		
1. Other than Minnesota, list all states and/or countries in which another state or country, you may need to apply by Transfer. Co		<u>licensed</u> in
2. Have you ever been the subject of any inquiry or investigation the Attorney General? If yes, attach a detailed and signed explain.		O Yes
 3. Have you ever held a cosmetology license which has been census subject to any type of administrative or disciplinary action in an following: A detailed and signed explanation identifying the type of A copy of the Notice of Hearing or other document that so A copy of the official document which establishes the res 	y state including Minnesota? <i>If yes, you must attach the</i> license and the circumstances of each incident. states the charges and allegations.	O Yes O No
4. Have you been notified by the Commissioner of Revenue, pursicurrently owe the State of Minnesota any delinquent taxes? If y documentation from the Department of Revenue showing the d in process.	uant to Minnesota Statutes Section 270C.72, that you yes, attach a detailed and signed explanation with ebt has been paid in full or an approved payment plan is	O Yes
icensee Responsibility You, as a licensee, will be responsible for the following:		
O License Renewal:		
Your license will expire on the last day of your birth month in date, your license will expire and you will not be eligible to w Current renewal requirements and applications are available	ork. Late fees will be applied to any license that is not renew	r before tha ved on time.
O Verification of Salon License		
If you are working in a salon, it is your duty to ensure it has a	current license.	
O Compliance with Laws and Rules		
As a licensee, you are responsible for ensuring compliance w violation can be assessed to you, to your Designated Licensed established by the Board.		
O Notice of Changes		
If you change your legal name or address, you must notify th online at mn.gov/boards/cosmetology. Name changes must Board office by mail or in person with proper documentation Minnesota Rule 2105.0190, subpart 2, a cosmetology license	be reported by completing a Name Change Form and submit and fee payment required by Minnesota Statutes Section 1.	ting it to the 55A.25. Per
. Application Certification		
I certify that I am at least 17 years of age and that the informa	ation submitted within this application is true and co	

Cosmetology. Further, I have read and acknowledge receiving the Tennessen Warning.

Applicant Signature: _ Date: _

TENNESSEN WARNING: The information you as an individual provide on this application will be used by the Board to assess your qualifications for licensure. It may also be used to determine whether you have violated any statutes or rules the Board is empowered to enforce. You are not legally required to complete this application, however, if you fail to do so, the Board will be unable to process this application or issue a license. If the information provided shows a violation of any statutes or rules fraid or deception to obtain a license may be subject to disciplinary action. Further, if you choose to apply, Minnesota Statutes 5 270C.72, subd. 4 requires that you provide your social security number or individual taxpayer identification number for the purpose of identifying individuals owing delinquent taxes. Upon the Minnesota Department of Revenue's request, the Board must provide it with a list of all applicants, including their name, address, business name and address, and social security number or individual taxpayer identification number.

Except for your name and address, application information on individuals is private data while the application is pending and generally will not be disclosed outside of the Board and its staff. In circumstances authorized or required by law, however, the information may be disclosed to others, including the Attorney General's Office, the Minnesota Department of Revenue, the state or legislative auditor, persons contacted for purpose of verification or investigation, and persons who obtain a court order to receive the information. After issuance of a license, the information provided, except your social security number and any nondesignated addresses becomes public data and may be released to anyone upon request.