MINNESOTA BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY

Minutes of the 468th Meeting February 20, 2015

Members Present: S. Fischer, D. Fisher, R. Boughton, B. Stawarz, S. Williams, P. Stankovitch,

C. Stiles, R. David.

Members Absent: A. Versland, J. Leichter.

Others Present: A. Barnes, Executive Director; L. Campero, Asst. Executive Director;

Nicholas Lienesch, Assistant Attorney General, Raymond Trybus, Walden

University.

Board Chair, S. Fischer, called the meeting to order at 09:05 a.m., in the conference room of the Minnesota Board of Psychology at 2829 University Ave. SE., Ste. 320, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Robert N. Wilson, Ph.D., LP (LP0869)

The Board reviewed the proposed Stipulation and Consent Order in the Matter of Robert N. Wilson, Ph.D., LP (LP0869).

S. Fischer gave details that led to the CRC's decision to the stipulations in the order. R. Boughton, moved, seconded by D. Fisher to adopt the Stipulation and Consent order. Voting "aye": D. Fisher, R. Boughton, B. Stawarz, S. Williams, P. Stankovitch, C. Stiles, R. David. Voting "nay": none. Abstentions: S. Fischer. There being seven "ayes" and no "nays" the motion carried.

PUBLIC SESSION

1. Adoption of the tentative agenda

Board Chair, S. Fischer, requested the adoption of the tentative agenda by the full board.

R. Boughton moved, seconded by P. Stankovitch, to approve the Agenda of the February 20, 2015 Board meeting. Voting "aye": D. Fisher, R. Boughton, B. Stawarz, S. Williams, P. Stankovitch, C. Stiles, R. David. Voting "nay": none. Abstentions: S. Fischer. There being seven "ayes" and no "nays" the motion carried.

2. Approval of the January 23, 2015 Minutes

S. Williams moved, seconded by R. Boughton, to approve the minutes of the January 23, 2015 Board meeting. Voting "aye": D. Fisher, R. Boughton, B. Stawarz, S. Williams, P.

Stankovitch, C. Stiles. Voting "nay": none. Abstentions: S. Fischer, R. David. There being six "ayes" and no "nays" the motion carried.

3. Consent Agenda

The following items were presented for approval under the consent agenda:

a. Licensure Report

Licensed Psychologists:

Under its delegated authority Board Staff approved the following applicants for Licensure:

LP#	NAME
5870	Ryan Schafer, Psy.D., LP
5871	Tricia Myers, Ph.D., LP
5872	Leland St. Charles, Psy.D., LP
5873	Starlain E. Saldana. Ph.D., LP

Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP):

Under its delegated authority Board Staff approved the following applicants for admission to the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP).

NAME		
Megan Paris, Psy.D.		
Yvette Hummel, Psy.D.		
Oliver Ross, Psy.D.		
Adam Joy, Psy.D.		
Jessica Plonka, Psy.D.		
Leah Witt, Psy.D.		
Katie Kaszynski, Ph.D.		
Megan Spencer, Psy.D		
Bethany Fieblekorn, Ph.D.		
Natahsa Mills, Psy.D.		
Teresa Biehn, Ph.D.		
Sara Vaccarella, Psy.D.		
Lana Ebnet, Psy.D.		

<u>Professional Responsibility Examination (PRE):</u>

Under its delegated authority Board Staff approved the following applicants for admission to the Examination for Professional Responsibility Examination (PRE).

Name		
Jerry Halsten, Ph.D.		
Leland S. St. Charles, Psy.D.		
Jacquelyn Marie-Perry Avery, Ph.D.		
Leah Witt, Psy.D.		
Katie Kaszynski, Ph.D.		
Amy Orecchia, Ph.D.		
Jeffrey Mills, Psy.D.		
Emily Graesser, Psy.D.		
Natasha Mills		

b. CE Variance Report

Under its delegated authority board staff approved three six-month continuing education variances for the following licensees pursuant to Minnesota Rules 7200.3860(D).

LP#	NAME
LP4766	Brandt, Sheila
LP5017	Conlon, Amy

S. Williams moved, seconded by R. Boughton, to approve the consent agenda. Voting "aye": D. Fisher, R. Boughton, B. Stawarz, S. Williams, P. Stankovitch, C. Stiles, R. David. Voting "nay": none. Abstentions: S. Fischer. There being seven "ayes" and no "nays" the motion carried.

4. Rules Committee Report

The Committee met January 23, 2015 to continue review of proposed licensure rules package. Two main items of the proposed rules are: establishing a limit on the number of times an applicant can take the EPPP and requiring applicants submission and approval of supervision plans prior to engaging in post-doc supervised practice.

5. Administrative Committee Report

The Committee met January 23, 2015. During the meeting the Executive Director provided an update on grievances, finances, and an MPA presentation.

6. HPSP

Board member, S. Williams, provided an update to the Board in regards to future vision and strategies for the HPSP.

7. Legislative Update

Executive Director, A. Barnes, provided an update regarding proposed bills at the legislature. The Board discussed a bill that would amend Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625 by adding a subdivision; proposing new coding for a new law that would prohibit the practice of conversion therapy involving minors or vulnerable adults.

S. Williams moved, seconded by D. Fisher, to oppose this language to the extent it seeks to amend the current Minnesota Board of Psychology Practice Act. Voting "aye": D. Fisher, R. Boughton, B. Stawarz, S. Williams, P. Stankovitch, C. Stiles, R. David. Voting "nay": none. Abstentions: S. Fischer. There being seven "ayes" and no "nays" the motion carried.

8. Recognition of Ms. Patricia Orud

Board Chair, S. Fischer, presented a plaque to former Board member Ms. Patricia Orud in recognition of her years of service to the State of Minnesota through her work at the Minnesota Board of Psychology.

9. Executive Director's Report

A. Barnes gave an oral report on the following items:

- Budget.
- Sud-delegation agreements.

10. ASPPB Midyear Meeting

Executive Director, A. Barnes, presented a budget estimate for attendance at the ASPPB Midyear Meeting in April, 2015.

R. David moved, seconded by C. Stiles, to approve sending up to five representatives to the ASPPB Midyear Meeting. Voting "aye": D. Fisher, R. Boughton, B. Stawarz, S. Williams, P. Stankovitch, C. Stiles, R. David. Voting "nay": none. Abstentions: S. Fischer. There being seven "ayes" and no "nays" the motion carried.

11. Licensure Compact (ASPPB)

Executive Director, A. Barnes, introduced ASPPB's Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact (PSYPACT) initiative. The initiative seeks to increase the mobility of psychologists across states' lines for the practice of telepsychology. It also provides a consistent structure across jurisdiction for temporary in-person practice.

12. Brian Stawarz Resignation

Board Member, B. Stawarz, announced his resignation from Board due to increased responsibilities in his professional career.

13. Adjournment

Board Chair, S. Fischer adjourned the meeting at 10:48 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amelia Versland, Ph.D., LP Board Secretary