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BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE

ATHLETIC TRAINER
Application Instructions and Requirements

Please thoroughly review these materials before submitting your application. Any processing fees
incurred are your responsibility. The Board reserves the right to reject any outdated applications
submitted; therefore, it is recommended that you complete the application in a timely manner.
Incomplete applicant files will be destroyed after six months of inactivity.

Methods of Licensure

All applicants must submit a completed application and appropriate fees online at BMP_Online
Services or by paper to the Medical Board.

Licensure Requirements

Non-refundable $182.00 fee paid online by credit/debit card or submit paper application with
check, money order, or cashier’s check payable to the Minnesota Board of Medical
Practice. Cash will not be accepted. Any cash received will be returned, and processing of
your application may be delayed.

The name on the application and your BOC certificate must be the same. If there has been a
name change, submit a copy of the documentation, e.g., marriage certificate.

Affidavit of Applicant Form A recent, full-face, 2” X 2” color photograph must be affixed as
indicated on the form and notarized as a true likeness. Please ensure to fill in and sign all
required areas of the form.

Copy of driver’s license or other government issued photo ID.

Criminal Background Check: applicant will receive emailed instructions once the application is
processed. Use ORI number for Board of Medical Practice: MN920158Z on CBC forms.

Any other information requested by the Board.

The following requirements must be sent directly to the Minnesota Board from the
facility/person completing the form:

Verification of BOC certification: BOC offers a credential verification service on their
website at https://at.bocatc.org/atcs

Direct Verification of Active/Expired Licensure/Registration/Certification: The Verification
of Licensure/Reqistration/Certification Form or the state generated verification of licensure
letter can be sent from the state to the Medical Board by email or mail. Verification letters can
also be requested through VeriDoc Inc. to the Medical Board. Go to http://www.veridoc.org to
have a verification letter sent from another participating state board to the Medical Board. If the
state does not do verifications, please forward the email response from state stating they do
not do verifications or email the link to the state website showing the verbiage the state does
not do verifications and attach the pdf verification from the state website. The Board must
receive a separate verification form completed by each state board where you have ever held
a healthcare professional license/registration/certification.

The Protocol Form must be completed and kept on file at your workplace:
Have your primary physician complete the Protocol Form establishing evaluation and treatment
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protocols and maintain on file to be updated annually at your renewal time.
Application Fees

Please be aware that all fees are non-refundable. Fees submitted will not be refunded if it is
determined that you are not eligible for licensure.

Applicants are required to submit written notification to the Board within 30 days of any name

or address change. The law takes precedence over any conflicts between these instructions
and the law.
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