

An Equal Opportunity Employer

- Protecting the Public

APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY LICENSE

INFORMATION & INSTRUCTIONS

- **REVIEW BOARD STATUTE:** Review temporary license requirements, under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 148E, and fingerprintbased criminal background check (CBC), under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075, at the Board of Social Work website.
- VOID APPLICATION: Complete the application form. *Incomplete applications or applications not accompanied by the correct fee are void and will be returned to you, and will result in delayed processing.*
- **CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK:** All applicants for *initial licensure* must submit to a fingerprint-based criminal background check under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075. (1) If you have a current application for licensure in process with the Board, and have previously submitted the CBC fee and fingerprints, you do <u>not</u> need to complete another fingerprint-based criminal background check. (2) If you <u>do not</u> hold a current license, including a Temporary License, with the Board, you must submit the required fee specified in the "Fees" section of this form and comply with fingerprint-based criminal background check requirements.
- FEES: Submit a check or money order, made payable to the Minnesota Board of Social work, with this application. *All fees submitted to the Board are nonrefundable.*

TEMPORARY LICENSE TYPES & REQUIREMENTS

There are three temporary licenses under Minnesota Statutes, Section **148E.060**, which allow a qualified candidate to begin authorized social work practice for a time-limited period:

(1) Students and applicants not licensed to practice social work in any jurisdiction:

- Attention BSW and MSW students: Do not apply too soon as a temporary license can only be approved when you complete 1) all degree requirements, and 2) obtain a passing score on required ASWB exam
- Applied for a permanent license
- Taken and passed ASWB examination
- Completed all degree requirements for a social work degree accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) or Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work (CASSW)
- Expires 6 months after date issued

(2) Current licensees authorized to practice social work in another jurisdiction:

- Currently licensed in another jurisdiction
- Submitted required fees and documentation for a criminal background check (CBC) under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075 (*if application for permanent license submitted prior to applying for temporary license, CBC fee is submitted with permanent license application*)
- Expires 6 months after date issued; cannot be issued more than one time in a 12-month period
- (3) Students who have completed requirements for a baccalaureate or graduate degree in social work from a program in candidacy status (degree programs working toward Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accreditation):
 - Applied for a permanent license
 - Taken and passed ASWB examination
 - Completed all degree requirements for a social work degree program pending accreditation by the CSWE or CASSW
 - Expires 12 months after date issued; may be extended if program remains in candidacy status



APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY LICENSE

APPLICANT STATUS				
I am applying for the following temporary license (check of	one, see previous page for information):			
(1) Students; unlicensed persons (2) Currently licensed in another jurisdiction (3) Students graduating from a program in candidacy status				
Type (check one):				
Baccalaureate	Masters			
If applying for LSW permanent license or licensed as a bachelor level social worker in another jurisdiction If applying for LGSW, LISW, LICSW permanent license or lice				
TEN	NESSEN WARNING			
The Board is seeking data from you which may be considered private or confidential under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act. Minn. Stat. sec. 13.04, subd. 2 requires the Board to notify you of the following four matters before you are asked to supply such information: (1) This data is being collected to determine whether you have violated any statutes or rules the Board is empowered to enforce and/or to determine whether you meet the requirements for licensure or renewal; (2) You are not legally required to provide the information requested, but failure to do so may result in the denial of the licensure application, and/or disciplinary or other action by the Board; (3) If you supply the data requested and it shows a violation of any of the statutes or rules enforced by the Board, you may be subject to disciplinary or other action by the Board. In addition, falsification or omission of information may be used by the Board as a basis for disciplinary action. (4) The data which you supply will be accessible to Board staff and may also be released to other persons or governmental entities that have statutory authority to review the data, investigate specific conduct, or take appropriate legal action, such as Board members and the Attorney General. If the Board institutes a formal disciplinary action against you, the information you supply could become public.				
Δ	PPLICANT DATA			
FULL LEGAL NAME (required)				
	ou may be contacted by the Board if additional information is needed.			
LAST NAME: FIRST NAME:	MIDDLE NAME:			
ALL PREVIOUS NAMES: (maiden, alias, former)				
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:				
(required, non-public data)				

SOCIAL SECURITY N	IUMBER:				
(required, non-public	data)				
DATE OF BIRTH (mr	n/dd/yyyy):		GENDER:	—	
(optional)			(optional)		
ETHNIC GROUP:	African American	Asian/Pacific Islander		Hispanic	Other
(optional)	Caucasian	Native American/Alaskan Native		Multi-Racial	

CONTACT INFORMATION

You **MUST** provide a **PUBLIC** address and a **MAILING** address, and a **PUBLIC** phone number and a **PRIMARY** phone number, which can be the same or different.

- **PUBLIC** address and **PUBLIC** phone: Classified as public data and available to any person upon request. If this information is not provided, your application is void and will be returned to you.
- MAILING address: Used to send all Board correspondence. If a mailing address <u>different</u> than the public address is not designated, all correspondence will be sent to the public address.

• **PRIMARY** phone: If not specified, the public phone will be designated as the primary phone.

PUBLIC ADDRESS (required)	:				TYPE (check one):
CITY:	COUNTY:		STATE:	ZIP CODE:	☐ Business ☐ Other
MAILING ADDRESS (provide if DIFFERENT than public address):				TYPE (check one):	
CITY:	COUNTY:		STATE:	ZIP CODE:	BusinessOther
PUBLIC PHONE (required):		ТҮРЕ	E (check one): 🗖 B	usiness 🛛 Home 🗖 Mobile	e 🛛 Fax 🗖 Other
PRIMARY PHONE (provide if DIFFERENT than public phone):		ТҮРЕ	E (check one): 🗖 B	usiness 🗖 Home 🗖 Mobile	e 🗖 Fax 🗖 Other
EMAIL ADDRESS (classified as public data; provide to receive license renewal notice):					

EDUCATIONAL INFORMATION					
• An official transcript is <u>not required</u> with a temporary license application but is required for a permanent license application.					
UNDERGR	ADUATE PROGRAM	GRADUAT	GRADUATE PROGRAM		
SCHOOL: SCHOOL:		SCHOOL:			
CITY:	STATE:	CITY:	STATE:		
DEGREE:	MAJOR:	DEGREE:	MAJOR:		
COMPLETION DATE (mm/da (Date degree conferred or antic		COMPLETION DATE (mm/dd/yy (Date degree conferred or anticipation)			

EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION					
Report all current employn					
If currently unemployed, in					
 If more than two current e requested below and attac 	mployers, list additional employer ch.	rs on separate shee	t of paper inclu	uding the sa	ame information as
CURRENT EMPLOYER #1					
EMPLOYER NAME (no acronyms)):				
POSITION:		START DATE: (mm/	dd/yyyy)	END DATE	: (mm/dd/yyyy)
STREET ADDRESS:		I		<u> </u>	TYPE (check one):
CITY:	COUNTY:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:		☐ Business ☐ Other
CURRENT EMPLOYER #2					
EMPLOYER NAME (no acronyms)):				
POSITION:		START DATE: (mm/	′dd/yyyy)	END DATE	: (mm/dd/yyyy)
STREET ADDRESS:					TYPE <i>(check one)</i> :
CITY:	COUNTY:	STATE:	ZIP CODE:		BusinessOther
EMPLOYER NAME (no acronyms) POSITION: STREET ADDRESS:					TYPE <i>(check one)</i> : Home Business

• APPLICANTS CURRENTLY LICENSED IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION ONLY •

If not licensed in another jurisdiction, skip this section and proceed to page 4 of the application.

VERIFICATION OF LICENSE

• List all current social work credentials below.

• In addition to completing this page, each licensing/credentialing agency must submit verification of your license directly to the Minnesota Board of Social Work, using the <u>Verification of Licensure</u> form, available on the 'Downloadable Forms' page of the Board's website (if verification of your license submitted with application for permanent license, do not resubmit).

State	License Type	License Number	Issue Date	Expiration Date

STANDARDS OF PRACTICE QUESTIONS		
 If you answer "YES" to any question below, include a detailed explanation (attach additional sheets if necessary). If you are currently licensed by the Board do not report information you have previously reported. 		
 Have you ever pled guilty to, pled no contest to, or been convicted of a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony, or are criminal charges pending against you? Include traffic offenses where the charge involves the use of alcohol or drugs even if the final conviction or plea is not related to the use of alcohol or drugs. 	YES	NO
2. Are you currently unable to practice social work with reasonable skill and safety due to a mental or physical illness, or use of alcohol, drugs, or chemicals? NOTE: If you are currently participating in the Health Professionals Services Program ("HPSP") for this illness, you may answer "NO" to this question.	YES	NO
3. Have you ever violated a social work licensing board or authority's laws or rules related to the practice of social work?	YES	NO
4. Have you ever been denied a license by a licensing board or authority, investigated or disciplined by a licensing board or authority, or relinquished a license due to a violation of the licensing board or authority's laws or rules? NOTE: "Licensing" includes registration, credentialing, certification, or any other form of government regulation of individual practitioners.	YES	NO
5. In any paid or volunteer job, have you ever been terminated, resigned in lieu of termination, or been subjected to disciplinary action, due to conduct that may be grounds for disciplinary action under the Social Work Practice Act?	YES	NO
6. In any paid or volunteer job, have you ever been named as a defendant in a civil litigation, arbitration, or a malpractice action?	YES	NO
7. Have you ever been denied membership in a professional association, investigated or disciplined by a professional association, or relinquished membership in a professional association due to a violation of the professional association's code of ethics?	YES	NO
8. Have you ever been investigated by, or subjected to disciplinary action, by a post-secondary educational institution due to alleged misconduct?	YES	NO

ACKNOWLEDGMENT

Attestation of Applicant:

- 1. I have read Minnesota Statutes Chapters 148E, including the requirements for a temporary license, and Minnesota Statutes section 214.075, fingerprint-based criminal background check.
- 2. I understand that temporary licenses are time-limited and have conditions, which may include scope of practice designations, supervision for practice, and representation requirements.
- 3. I attest all information provided in this application is true and correct. I understand that making a false statement or misrepresentation to the Board is grounds for the Board to take disciplinary action.

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT:	DATE:

FEES

- All applications must include a check or money order for the correct fee. *Incomplete applications or applications not accompanied by the correct fee are void and will be returned to you, and will result in delayed processing.*
- All applicants for initial licensure must submit to a fingerprint-based criminal background check under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075. (1) If you have a current application for licensure in process with the Board, and have previously submitted the required fee and fingerprints, you do <u>not</u> need to complete another fingerprint-based criminal background check. (2) If you <u>do not</u> hold a current license, including a Temporary License, with the Board, you must submit the required fee specified in the "Fees" section of this form and comply with fingerprint-based criminal background check requirements.
- The Criminal Background Check Program Office will email instructions and forms directly to applicants.

Application Type	Without Fingerprint-based Criminal Background Check Fee (see above)	With Fingerprint-based Criminal Background Check (see above)
Temporary License (all types)	\$50	\$82



NEXT STEPS & REQUIREMENTS

- **PROCESSING TIME:** If required, a temporary license application cannot be processed until you submit fingerprints to the Criminal Background Check Program Office. It typically takes between one to two weeks to process a temporary license application from the date fingerprints are received. The Board will notify you via mail if you are approved for a temporary license. *Register to use the Board's online services to check your application status online.*
- **TIME LIMITED TEMPORARY LICENSE:** A temporary license is time-limited and non-renewable. Temporary licenses expire at either 6 or 12 months, or until the permanent license is issued, denied, or revoked.

AUTHORIZED SCOPE OF PRACTICE:

- Baccalaureate temporary licenses authorize the practice of social work but *does not* authorize clinical social work practice.
- Graduate temporary licenses authorize both the practice of social work and clinical social work practice.
- LICENSING SUPERVISION FOR PRACTICE REQUIRED:
 - If not licensed in another jurisdiction, all baccalaureate and graduate temporary license holders must obtain licensing supervision for any social work practice in Minnesota provided by a social worker appropriately licensed and eligible to provide supervision under the Board's Practice Act.
 - Supervision Plan form is required within 60 days after beginning a social work practice position.
 - Supervised practice obtained while the temporary license is effective *will apply* toward the supervised practice requirement after licensure for the LGSW license.

• REPRESENTATION TO THE PUBLIC:

- Baccalaureate temporary license: Must represent yourself as a "temporary license baccalaureate social worker"
- Graduate temporary license: Must represent yourself as a "temporary license graduate social worker"
- Temporary licensees may not use the credentials LSW, LGSW, LISW, or LICSW until a permanent license is issued.

