

335 RANDOLPH AVE., STE 210-B ST. PAUL, MN 55102

PHONE: 651-201-2730 | FAX: 651-201-2763

EMAIL: beltss.hlb@state.mn.us **WEB:** https://mn.gov/boards/nursing-home/

MINNESOTA STATE HSE EXAM INFORMATION

APPLICANT STATE EXAM CHECKLIST:

	CHECK YOUR APPLICATION PORTAL: Are you an ACTIVE Applicant YES: ☐ NO: ☐
	CHOOSE A PROCTOR: A Proctor must be licensed as an LHSE.
	TO REGISTER FOR THE EXAM : The fee for the State Exam must be made payable to BELTSS. The exam fee is \$100 payable by check or money order. Mail the state exam application and fee to the BELTSS office.
	(ALDIR and HSE Applicants have already paid for the state exam).
	TIMEFRAME TO TEST: You must take the exam within 14 days of receiving the "Authorization to Test"
	email, or you forfeit the exam fee and may be required to reapply with a new exam application and fee.
	INSTRUCTIONS WILL BE SENT TO PROCTOR : A username and password with access instructions will be sent via email to the proctor. You will use this information to log in and complete your state exam online
	under the supervision of your chosen proctor.
	DAY OF THE EXAM : Print and sign the Confidentiality and Attestation forms on the day of the exam. The confidentiality and attestation form is included in the 'authorization to test email'. U
	will email to BELTSS.HLB@state.
Ш	COMPLETE THE EXAM: Listen to instructions carefully before beginning the exam online. DO NOT hit the submit button until you are ready to have your exam scored.
	SCORE RELEASE IN PORTAL: Your scores will be available on your account within 5 business days.
	NATIONAL EXAMINATIONS (NAB Core, NHA, RC/AL, HCBS), please refer to the original email you received
	after applying, with instructions on how to register for the national exams. This is called 000-NAB-Candidate
	Instructions

STATE EXAM APPLICATION PROCESS: (This exam application will be required each time you attempt the examination).

- 1. The state examination application should be submitted 21 days prior to reserving an exam test slot. The reserved test slot will be in the range of days 7-21 of your request. Candidates may sit for this exam remotely with oversight from another licensed individual or proctor, selected by the candidate, who verifies a secured test environment. See Proctor requirements below.
- 2. A pass rate of above 74% is required.
- 3. If you should fail, an exam application and fee will be required for each exam attempt. Send the exam application and fee when ready to retest.
- 4. After the 3rd unsuccessful attempt, a study plan may be required before a 4th attempt. This will be noted in the comment section or will have a HOLD FOR STUDY PLAN REVIEW.

FEE: \$100.00 PER EXAM (This fee will be required each time you attempt the examination).



335 RANDOLPH AVE., STE 210-B ST. PAUL, MN 55102

PHONE: 651-201-2730 FAX: 651-201-2763

EMAIL: beltss.hlb@state.mn.us WEB: mn.gov/boards/beltss/

MINNESOTA STATE ALD/NHA AND HSE EXAM INFORMATION

STATE EXAM APPLICATION

Minnesota requires all applicants for licensure in both Nursing Home Administrator and Assisted Living Director, or who wish to be a Licensed Health Services Executive, pass a 2-hour, 50 multiple choice questions using an "open book" exam method testing the candidate's ability to research and interpret Minnesota Statutes and Rules pertaining to operation of a Minnesota nursing home and assisted living. All items are found in the bibliography resources unless a notation is written in the question.

- 1. You must have an active application with BELTSS to 'sit' for the state exam. A state exam application will be sent when your license application is received. (Due to multiple licensees within BELTSS may need to specify which exam you are testing for).
- 2. The state examination application should be submitted 21 days prior to reserving an exam time test slot. The reserved test slot will be in the range of 14 days from the "Authorization to Test" email. Candidates will sit for the virtual exam with oversight from a proctor, selected by the candidate, who verifies a secured test environment. Proctor requirements for test day are sent with the "Authorization to Test" Email.
- 3. A pass rate above 74% is required.
- 4. After the 3rd unsuccessful attempt, a study plan may be required before a 4th attempt can be completed.

FEE: \$100.00 PER EXAM

1. Submit the completed state exam application form with the fee to secure a reservation for the state examination. This must be completed via US MAIL only. If the application is complete and approved, you will receive an "Authorization to Test" email notification from BELTSS along with instructions for completing the exam. Examinations must be completed within a 14-day approved window from the date of receiving the Authorization to Test email. The link with supporting documents and the exam will be sent to the Proctor via email only. HSE and ALDIR Applicants have already paid the state exam fee.

Minnesota Approved Bibliography:

- 1. MN Rules 6400.5000 to 6400.7095 BELTSS
- 2. MN Chapter 4658, Nursing Homes
- 3. MN Chapter 4659, Assisted Living
- 4. MN Statutes MDH AL 144G Reference Material
- 5. MN Statutes Reporting of Maltreatment of Vulnerable Adult 626.557 Reference Material
- 6. <u>Minnesota Statutes Ch. 144A MN Statutes</u> 144A.001 144A.38
- 7. Minnesota Statutes Ch. 144:
 - o Clean Indoor Act 144.411 144.417
 - Nursing Home Admission Contracts, Care of Residents 144.6501 144.6503
 - o Electronic Monitoring 144.6502
 - o Bill of Rights 144.651 144.652
- 8. Minnesota Rules 4605.7030 Persons required to report disease
- 9. Minnesota Rules 4638.0200 Pet Animals in Healthcare Facilities
- 10. Minnesota Rules 6800.6100 to 6800.6800 Operations in Long-term Care Facilities
- 11. Supplemental ALD State Exam Bibliography

ADA Exam Accommodations:

If you are a person with a disability, you have certain rights under the Americans with Disabilities Act ("ADA"). If you have any questions about your rights under the ADA, we encourage you to call the United States Department of Justice, which has an ADA Information Line at (202)514-0301 (voice) or (202)514-0381 (TDD). These telephone numbers are not toll-free numbers.

The ADA requires this agency to make "reasonable accommodation" for applicants with disabilities in giving this examination. If you are a person with disability that may affect your ability to take any portion of the examination, the ADA may require the agency to provide alternative examination arrangements. We are not required to do so if we are unaware of your need for alternatives. We ask that you inform us of any alternative arrangements you may require to take this examination. Please notify beltss.hlb@state.mn.us with any questions. If you are requesting accommodations. Please describe in detail using the form below:

ADA Test Accommodations

NATIONAL EXAMINATION						
License Applicant Type:	NAB (CORE of Knowledge) 125 - Questions Duration: 2 hours 30 minutes	NAB (NHA LOS) 75 - Questions Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes	NAB (RC/AL LOS) 75 - Questions Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes	NAB (HCBS LOS) 75 - Questions Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes		
HSE	X	X	X	X		
NHA	X	X				
NHA and ALD	X	X	X			
ALD	X		Х			
ALDIR	X		Х			

 $[\]star$ This exam is available only for Health Service Executive applicants or graduates from a MN NHA Approved Program Applicants (Graduate date of after January 1, 2022 are eligible for licensure as a NHA and ALD).

STATE EXAMINATION								
License Applicant Type:	HSE AND HYBRID NHA/ALD EXAM 50 - Questions Duration: 2 hours	NHA Exam 35 - Questions Duration: 1 hour 25 minutes	ALD Exam 35 - Questions Duration: 1 hour 25 minutes					
HSE	X							
NHA		X						
NHA and ALD*	X							
ALD			X					
ALDIR			X					

Minnesota Applicant: To initiate complete the following page to preregister for the state examination and mail to the board office. Any missing fields may result in a delay to test.

Full Legal Name:
MN Applicant Number:
Application Type:
Date of Birth:
Last 4 Digits of Social Security:
Phone Number:
Email Address:
Proctor: Please complete:
Licensed Proctor Full Legal Name:
City & State:
Phone Number:
Email Address:
Currently Licensed as one of the following: LHSE, Dual Licensed LNHA and LALD,
License Number: