If you can answer yes to either of the following criteria, you may be eligible for some level of teacher licensure in Minnesota.
- I have a four-year degree from an accredited institution.
- I have completed a Teacher Education Program approved by another state.
Which agency issues teaching licenses?
The Board of Teaching has oversight of teacher licensure policies, though Minnesota Statute 122A.18 Subd. 1(c)
requires that all licenses be issued through the licensing section of the Minnesota Department of Education, a separate agency. For types of licenses available, definitions and respective issuing agency, click here
How do I apply for a teaching license?
Complete the online licensing application on the Minnesota Department of Education website
. Follow instructions to submit all supporting documentation. Upon receiving all requested materials and a completed application, Educator Licensing will review your submission and provide a licensure determination. Processing time is dependent on the number of applications in the queue at any given time.
Option 1: A 5 year license is issued.
Option 2: A one year (limited or restricted) license is issued with renewal conditions outlined.
Option 3: A substitute teaching license is issued.
Option 4: A letter requesting additional documentation or explaining a licensure denial is provided.
If you feel that a determination was made in error, or that you may possess information that was not submitted for consideration, contact Educator Licensing within 30 calendar days of the issuance of your Minnesota teaching license.
How do I submit additional information?
Follow instructions sent by Educator Licensing to provide further information within 30 calendar days of the issuance of your Minnesota teaching license.
What is required to submit an appeal of my licensure determination?
MN Rule 8710.0900
provides that all persons denied issuance or renewal of licenses granted by the Board of Teaching are entitled to a hearing pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, on such denial. A person or an institution entitled to a hearing under the provisions of this part shall file a written request for such hearing with the executive secretary of the Board of Teaching within 30 days from the date of the denial. Failure to file a written request for a hearing within 30 days constitutes a waiver of the individual's right to a hearing.
To begin this process, submit a written letter of appeal to the Board of Teaching within 30 calendar days of the issuance of your Minnesota teaching license to: Minnesota Board of Teaching, Attn: Licensure Appeal, 1500 Highway 36 W, Roseville, MN 55113 or send the letter via e-mail to email@example.com
The Board of Teaching Licensure Committee meets on a monthly basis and will review all appeals. If the Committee confirms the determination made by educator licensing, further appeal will require a contested case hearing at the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings.
What steps do I take to request a contested case hearing?
A written request for a contested case hearing must be submitted to the Board of Teaching within 30 calendar days of any notification of the committees decision. More information regarding these procedures can be found via the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings