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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register
The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are 

required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and 
participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specific 
Minnesota Rule chapter numbers. Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published.  Supplements are published to update this set of 
rules. Generally speaking, proposed and adopted exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the 
State Register.

	An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter of 
a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101).  It does this by publishing a notice in 
the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new 
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

	When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules 
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules, and 
withdrawn proposed rules, are also published in the State Register. After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been 
rewritten into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules. These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety, but 
only the changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person simply needs two issues of the 
State Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted. 

	The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: issues #1-26 inclusive (issue #26 
cumulative for issues #1-26); issues #27-52 inclusive (issue #52, cumulative for issues #27-52 or #53 in some years). A subject matter index is 
updated weekly and is available upon request from the editor. For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact the editor at 651-201-3204 or 
email at sean.plemmons@state.mn.us

Volume 50 - Minnesota Rules
(Rules Appearing in Vol. 49 Issues #28-53 are  

          in Vol. 49, #53 - Monday 30 June 2025)
Volume 50, #7

Monday 7 July - Monday 18 August

Board of Accountancy 
1105.1500, .2600, .2900, .3800, .7900 (proposed expedited)................53

Office of Emergency Medical Services
4690.8300 (adopted expedited)............................................................165

Department of Human Services
9543; 9555 (adopted repealer).................................................................5

Department of Natural Resources
6230; 6234; 6240 (expedited emergency)................................................5
6230; 6234 (expedited emergency)........................................................45
6230; 6234; 6236; 6237;6240 (expedited emergency)..........................75
6230; 6232 (expedited emergency)......................................................101
6232.2550 (expedited emergency).......................................................148
6262.0576, .0577 (adopted exempt)....................................................175
6262.0100 (adopted expedited)............................................................176
6262.0300 (adopted expedited)............................................................176

Pollution Control Agency
7035.2655 (adopted exempt)...............................................................152
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Exempt Rules
Exempt rules are excluded from the normal rulemaking procedures (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.386 and 

14.388).  They are most often of two kinds.  One kind is specifically exempted by the Legislature from rulemaking 
procedures, but approved for form by the Revisor of Statutes, reviewed for legality by the Office of Administrative 
Hearings, and then published in the State Register.  These exempt rules are effective for two years only.

The second kind of exempt rule is one adopted where an agency for good cause finds that the rulemaking 
provisions of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14 are unnecessary, impracticable, or contrary to the public interest.  
This exemption can be used only where the rules:

(1)  address a serious and immediate threat to the public health, safety, or welfare, or
(2)  comply with a court order or a requirement in federal law in a manner that does not allow for compliance 

with Minnesota Statutes Sections 14.14-14.28, or
(3)  incorporate specific changes set forth in applicable statutes when no interpretation of law is required, or
(4)  make changes that do not alter the sense, meaning, or effect of the rules.
These exempt rules are also reviewed for form by the Revisor of Statutes, for legality by the Office of 

Administrative Hearings and then published in the State Register.  In addition, the Office of Administrative 
Hearings must determine whether the agency has provided adequate justification for the use of this exemption.  
Rules adopted under clauses (1) or (2) above are effective for two years only.  The Legislature may also exempt 
an agency from the normal rulemaking procedures and establish other procedural and substantive requirements  
unique to that exemption.

KEY:  Proposed Rules  -  Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language.  Strikeouts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language.  If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.”  
Adopted Rules  - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language.  Strikeout indicates deletions from 
proposed rule language.     

6262.0576  BAIT RESTRICTIONS. 
 
     Subpart 1. Definitions. For purposes of this part:

[For text of items A to C, see Minnesota Rules]
 
          D.   “VHS susceptible species” means all species on the official list of viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) 
susceptible species published by the United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection 
Services on the VHS-susceptible-species list as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 17.4982, subdivision 21b.

[For text of subpart 2, see Minnesota Rules]
 
     Subp. 3. Labeling requirements.

[For text of item A, see Minnesota Rules]
 
          B.   Restricted bait harvested by a person for personal use as dead or frozen bait must be labeled with:

[For text of subitems (1) to (3), see Minnesota Rules]
 
               (4)   the disease-free certification date for the source water body or declarative VHS-free zone date as provided 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 97C.342, subdivision 2.

[For text of items C to E, see Minnesota Rules]
[For text of subparts 4 and 5, see Minnesota Rules]

 
6262.0577  BAIT PRESERVATION. 
 
     Subpart 1. Permit required to preserve bait.

Department of Natural Resources
Adopted Exempt Permanent Rules Related to Bait Restrictions



176Page Minnesota State Register, Monday 18 August 2025 (Cite 50 SR 176)

Exempt Rules
[For text of item A, see Minnesota Rules]

 
          B.   A person must obtain a bait preservation permit to preserve bait for use in waters of the state if the bait is:

[For text of subitems (1) to (3), see Minnesota Rules]
 
               (4)   a species on the viral hemorrhagic septicemia-susceptible species VHS-susceptible-species list published 
by the United States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, and has not been harvested 
from certified disease-free sources, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 17.4982, subdivision 21b.

[For text of item C, see Minnesota Rules]
[For text of subparts 2 to 5, see Minnesota Rules]

Expedited Rules
Provisions exist for the Commissioners of some state agencies to adopt expedited rules when conditions exist 

that do not allow the Commissioner to comply with the requirements for normal rules.  The Commissioner must 
submit the rule to the attorney general for review and must publish a notice of adoption that includes a copy of the 
rule and the conditions. Expedited rules are effective upon publication in the State Register, and may be effective 
up to seven days before  
publication under certain conditions.  

Expedited  rules are effective for the period stated or up to 18 months.  Specific Minnesota Statute citations  
accompanying these expedited rules detail the agency's rulemaking authority.

KEY:  Proposed Rules  -  Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language.  Strikeouts indicate 
deletions from existing rule language.  If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.”   
Adopted Rules  - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language.  Strikeout indicates deletions from 
proposed rule language.

Department of Natural Resources
Adopted Expedited Permanent Game and Fish Rules: Lake Superior Fishing Regulations

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 49, Number 39, pages 1078-1082, March 24, 2025 (49 SR 
1078), are adopted with the following modifications: 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE. The amendments to Minnesota Rules, part 6262.0300, subpart 6, are effective March 1, 2026.

Department of Natural Resources
Adopted Expedited Game and Fish Rule: Restrictions on Taking Fish

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 49, Number 33, pages 963-965, February 10, 2025 (49 SR 
963), are adopted as proposed.
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Commissioner’s Orders
Various agency commissioners are authorized to issue "commissioner's orders" on specified activities governed 

by their agency's enabling laws.  See the Minnesota Statutes governing each agency to determine the specific 
applicable statutes. Commissioners' orders are approved by assistant attorneys general as to form and execution and 
published in the State Register. These commissioners orders are compiled in the year-end subject matter index for 
each volume of the State Register.

Department of Natural Resources
Commissioner’s Order #2 ML 2025: Amend Walleye Regulations for Open Water Angling 
on Lake Mille Lacs 

Date: August 13, 2025

Statutory authority: Minnesota Statutes, section 97C.005, subd. 3

Amends Expedited Emergency Game and Fish Rule 6264.0400, subpart 4, item F, referring to the angling seasons 
and possession restrictions for multiple fish species: Mille Lacs Fishing Regulations as published in the 28 April 2025 
State Register (49 SR 1193) 

BACKGROUND
Each year a harvestable surplus is set for walleye in Lake Mille Lacs by a joint management process between the 

state and the eight Ojibwe Bands that are signatories to the Treaty of 1837. The harvestable surplus is the pounds of fish 
that can be taken from Lake Mille Lacs while ensuring sufficient walleye remain in the lake for a healthy population. 
The state’s allocation of the harvestable surplus for the 2025 season was set at 113,600 pounds. The state then set the 
walleye harvest and possession limit for the 2025 season for state anglers by Expedited Emergency Rule on April 28, 
2025. Walleye regulations were set to a possession limit of two walleye 17 inches or greater, only one of which could be 
over 20 inches. While the prediction was that anglers would take around 80,000 pounds of walleye under this regulation, 
uncertainty about key modeling assumptions, including angler catch rates and the number of anglers choosing to fish the 
lake, meant the state recognized potential harvests could be lower or higher than that amount. 

Angler hours and angler catch rates thus far in the 2025 season have been much lower than expected. Actual harvest 
data gathered to date and modeling for the remainder of the walleye season indicate that under the current regulation 
state anglers will harvest 40,000 pounds of walleye, or about 35% of the state’s allocation, by the end of the 2025 season 
on November 30.

To enhance angler opportunity to harvest walleye on Mille Lacs while remaining within the state’s walleye 
allocation, the state is modifying the walleye angling regulation beginning 12:01 a.m. on August 23, 2025, when the 
daily and possession limit will become three walleye 17 inches or greater, only one of which may be over 20 inches in 
length. All other walleye must be immediately returned to the water. Modeling indicates this regulation modification 
will increase the state harvest by less than 5,000 pounds, leading to a total harvest of about 40% or less of the state’s 
allocation.

This regulation will remain effective until 11:59 p.m. on November 30, 2025. Beginning at 12:01 a.m. on December 
1, 2025, the daily and possession limit for walleye on Lake Mille Lacs will revert to two walleye 17 inches or greater, 
only one of which can be over 20 inches. If the DNR’s fall assessment netting indicates a change to winter regulations is 
needed, another regulation change starting on December 1, 2025, may be made. 

For all other species, the Expedited Emergency Rule adopted on April 28, 2025, remains the same.

ORDER
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, pursuant to authority vested in me by law, including 

Minnesota Statutes, section 97C.005, subdivision 3, that:
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Commissioner’s Orders
1.	 Beginning at 12:01 a.m. on August 23, 2025, and continuing until 11:59 p.m. on November 30, 2025, while a 

person is on or fishing in Lake Mille Lacs or its associated tributaries to the posted boundaries, the daily and 
possession limit is three walleye 17 inches or greater, only one of which may be over 20 inches in length. All 
other walleye must be immediately returned to the water.

2.	 Beginning at 12:01 a.m. on December 1, 2025, while a person is on or fishing in Lake Mille Lacs or its 
associated tributaries to the posted boundaries, the daily and possession limit is two walleye 17 inches or 
greater, only one of which can be over 20 inches. All other walleye must be returned immediately to the water.

Fishing regulations for all other species, including northern pike, largemouth and smallmouth bass, muskellunge, 
cisco, perch and panfish, are unaffected by this order.

Sarah Strommen, Commissioner	 	 	 Date: 8/13/2025

AGENCY CONTACT. For additional information or to receive this document in an alternative format please 
contact: Brian Nerbonne, Division of Fish and Wildlife, Department of Natural Resources, 1200 Warner Rd., St. Paul, 
MN 55106, Phone: 651-259-5789, Email: brian.nerbonne@state.mn.us.

Official Notices
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject 

matter of a  possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the 
State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of 
the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.  

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including 
notices of meetings and matters of public interest.

Minnesota Board of Electricity and the Minnesota Department of 
Labor and Industry
Request for Comments for Possible Amendment to Rules Governing Licensing, Minnesota 
Rules, Chapter 3800; Revisor’s ID Number R-04949

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Board of Electricity (“Board”) requests comments on its possible amendments to 
Minnesota Rules, chapter 3800, Licensing. The main purpose of this possible rulemaking is to adopt several amendments 
that regulate requirements for approval of electrical training programs that fulfill the experience credit requirements for 
electrical licensure applicants and are currently located in Minnesota Rules, chapter 3801. Those existing rules governing 
training requirements found in chapter 3801 are being repealed as a part of a contemporaneous rulemaking effort 
with the Department of Labor and Industry. While the present board rulemaking will relocate those existing training 
program requirements into chapter 3800, no substantive changes to those requirements are proposed.  The possible 
rule amendments also update requirements related to the minimum acceptable experience requirements for electrical 
licensure.

Persons Affected. The proposed amendment to the rules would likely affect:  administrators and department heads 
of educational training programs; electrical contractors; master and journeymen electricians; electrical installers; 
maintenance electricians; electrical equipment suppliers; elevator contractors and constructors; power limited 
technicians; code enforcement authorities; employers of persons who perform electrical work; and persons who wish to 
perform electrical work.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.32, establishes the Minnesota Board of Electricity and the 
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Official Notices
powers and duties of the board, among other things. Specifically, Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.32, subdivision 
2(a), authorizes the Board to adopt rules regulating the licensure and registration of electrical businesses, electrical 
contractors, master electricians, journeyworker electricians, Class A installers, Class B installers, power limited 
technicians, and other persons who perform electrical work, except for those individuals licensed under Minnesota 
Statutes, section 326.02, subdivisions 2 and 3.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to Amanda Spuckler at Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN 
55155, telephone (651) 284-5006, and email: dli.rules@state.mn.us.

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in 
writing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Board intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 

The Board will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date of 
this request for comments. 

The Board does not plan to appoint an advisory committee to comment on the possible rules.

The Board is also interested in whether local governments might be required to adopt or amend an ordinance or other 
regulation to implement these rules and therefore requests that local governments provide us with relevant information 
about their ordinances. Additionally, the Board request any information pertaining to the cumulative effect of this rule 
with other federal and state regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. Cumulative effect means the impact 
that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to other rules, regardless of what state or federal 
agency has adopted the other rules.

The Board is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after the rule 
takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.127, 
subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a small 
business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees.

This public comment opportunity is associated with the development of possible rules. Comments received in 
response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking record submitted to the Administrative 
Law Judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The Board is required to submit to the judge only those 
written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed in the Notice for Hearing. If you submit 
comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews your 
comments, you must resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Rules Drafts. The Board does not anticipate that a draft of the rule amendments will be available before the 
publication of the proposed rules in the Notice for Hearing. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as 
large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make any possible hearing 
accessible, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Date: 8/11/2025	 	 	 	 Trevor Turek	 	 	 	 	 	 	
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 Chair

		 	 	 	 	 	 Minnesota Board of Electricity 

mailto:dli.rules@state.mn.us
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Official Notices
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) 

Division of Health Policy
Notice of Limited Exception from Minnesota’s Requirements for the Standard, Electronic 
Exchange of Eligibility (270/271) Transactions for Payers Not Subject to HIPAA 
Transactions and Code Sets Regulations is Continued Through July 31, 2026

Minnesota Statutes, section 621.536 requires that health care providers, clearinghouses, and group purchasers 
(payers) exchange specified administrative transactions electronically, using a standard data content and format adopted 
in rule. The statute also authorizes the Commissioner of Health to exempt group purchasers not subject to federal HIPAA 
administrative transactions and code sets regulations from one or more of the state’s data exchange requirements on a 
year- to-year basis if the Commissioner determines that:

i.	 a transaction is incapable of exchanging data that are currently being exchanged on paper and is necessary to 
accomplish the purpose of the transaction; or

ii.	 another national electronic transaction standard would be more appropriate and effective to accomplish the 
purpose of the transaction.

Group purchasers not subject to HIPAA administrative transactions and code sets regulations include workers’ 
compensation, auto, and property and casualty carriers.

MDH consults annually with the Minnesota Administrative Uniformity Committee (AUC) to determine whether to 
grant the year-to-year exception described above. Based on these consultations, MDH previously granted very narrowly 
targeted, annually renewable exceptions to the rules adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §621.536 as described 
above for the years 2009 through 2019. The exceptions were limited to only group purchasers not subject to HIPAA 
transactions and code sets regulations, who were exempted from the data exchange requirements for only the ASC 
X12/005010X279A1 Health Care Eligibility Benefit Inquiry and Response (270/271) transaction because it did not meet 
their business needs (i.e., statutory criterion “i” above was met).

Note: As a result of the competing demands of the COVID-19 pandemic response, the annual cycle of exception 
reviews and renewals above was suspended from 2020-2023. During that time, the previously approved exception 
from 2019 continued to remain in force unchanged. The annual exception review process was restarted in 2023 and the 
exception was renewed for the period June 2023 – July 2024 and again for the period July 2024 – July 2025

MDH consulted with the AUC in June 2025 regarding the continued need for the targeted exemption described 
above. MDH determined through the review and consultation process that the current limited exception to Minnesota’ 
s health care administrative data exchange rules will continue through July 31, 2026. This exception applies only to 
exchanges of the ASC X12/005010X279A1 Health Care Eligibility Benefit Inquiry and Response (270/271) transaction 
with health care group purchasers that are not subject to federal HIPAA transactions and code sets regulations, and only 
through July 31, 2026.

The next annual review of this exception to rules adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §62J.536 is tentatively 
scheduled for June 2026, to determine whether the exception will be continued through July 2027.

For questions or additional information, please contact: 

David K. Haugen
Administrative Simplification Program Director

Center for Health Information Policy and Transformation
Phone: (651) 201-3573

E-mail: david.haugen@state.mn.us

mailto:david.haugen@state.mn.us
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Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry and the Minnesota 
Board of Electricity
Request for Comments for Possible Amendment to Rules Governing Electrical Procedures 
and Training, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 3801; Revisor’s ID Number R-04950

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (“Department”) requests comments on its 
possible rule amendments to Minnesota Rules, chapter 3801, Electrical Procedures and Training. The main purpose of 
this possible rulemaking is to repeal several amendments in Minnesota Rules, chapter 3801, that regulate requirements 
for approval of electrical training programs. The Minnesota Board of Electricity is proposing to adopt these requirements 
as amendments to chapter 3800, Licensing without substantive change, as a part of a contemporaneous rulemaking. The 
possible rule amendments to chapter 3801 also update requirements related to the approval of electrical equipment and 
requests for electrical permits.

Persons Affected. The proposed amendment to the rules would likely affect:  administrators and department heads 
of educational training programs; electrical contractors; master and journeymen electricians; electrical installers; 
maintenance electricians; electrical equipment suppliers; elevator contractors and constructors; power limited 
technicians; code enforcement authorities; employers of persons who perform electrical work; and persons who wish to 
perform electrical work.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, 326B.02, subdivision 5, authorizes, in part, the Commissioner of 
the Department of Labor and Industry (“Commissioner”) to adopt, amend, suspend, and repeal rules relating to 
the Commissioner’s responsibilities under Chapter 326B, except for rules for which the rulemaking authority is 
expressly transferred to the Plumbing Board, the Board of Electricity, or the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems. 
The Legislature has not granted the Board of Electricity expressed authority for the adoption of rules regulating 
electrical procedures, which include the approval of electrical equipment and the issuance of electrical permits. It is 
the Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry who is statutorily responsible under Chapter 326B for the 
adoption and enforcement of rules governing the approval of electrical equipment and the issuance of electrical permits.1

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to Amanda Spuckler at Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, MN 
55155, telephone (651) 284-5006, and email: dli.rules@state.mn.us.

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in 
writing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the 
rules. 

The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the 
date of this request for comments. 

The Department does not plan to appoint an advisory committee to comment on the possible rules.

The Department is also interested in whether local governments might be required to adopt or amend an ordinance 
or other regulation to implement these rules and therefore requests that local governments provide us with relevant 
information about their ordinances. Additionally, the Department requests any information pertaining to the cumulative 
effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. Cumulative effect 
means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to other rules, regardless of what 

1	  See Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.32, subdivision 2 (a).

Date: 8/6/2025	 	 	 Brooke Cunningham, MD, PhD Commissioner
		 	 	 	 	 P.O. Box 64975
		 	 	 	 	 St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
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state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.

The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 
the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees.

This public comment opportunity is associated with the development of possible rules. Comments received in 
response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking record submitted to the Administrative 
Law Judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The Department is required to submit to the judge only 
those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed in the Notice for Hearing. If you submit 
comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews your 
comments, you must resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Rules Drafts. The Department does not anticipate that a draft of the rules amendments will be available before the 
publication of the proposed rules in the Notice for Hearing. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as 
large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make any possible hearing 
accessible, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Date: 8/11/2025	 	 	 	 Nicole Blissenbach
		 	 	 	 	 	 Commissioner 
		 	 	 	 	 	 Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

State Grants & Loans
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts 

Section), the State Register also publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or 
branch of state government.  Although some grant and loan programs specifically require printing in a statewide 
publication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State Register itself. Agencies 
are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for 
interested parties to respond.          

SEE ALSO: Office of Grants Management (OGM) at: https://mn.gov/admin/citizen/grants/

Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED)
Notice of Grant Opportunity

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development 
(DEED) places notice of any available grant opportunities online at https://mn.gov/deed/about/contracts/open-rfp.jsp  

Minnesota Department of Human Services 
Notice of Grant Opportunities

              
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) places notice of any 

available grant opportunities on the DHS Grant Requests for Proposals website: Open grants, RFPs and RFIs.

https://mn.gov/admin/citizen/grants/
https://mn.gov/deed/about/contracts/open-rfp.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/grants-rfps/open-rfps/
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Informal Solicitations:  Informal solicitations for professional/technical (consultant) contracts valued at 

over $5,000 through $50,000, may either be published in the State Register or posted on the Department of 
Administration, Office of State Procurement (OSP) Website.  Interested vendors are encouraged to monitor the P/T 
Contract Section of the OSP Website at https://mn.gov/admin/osp for informal solicitation announcements.  

Formal Solicitations:  Department of Administration procedures require that formal solicitations 
(announcements for contracts with an estimated value over $50,000) for professional/technical contracts must be 
published in the State Register.  Certain quasi-state agency and Minnesota State College and University institutions 
are exempt from these requirements. 

Requirements:  There are no statutes or rules requiring contracts to be advertised for any specific length of 
time, but the Office of State Procurement strongly recommends meeting the following requirements: $0 - $5000 
does not need to be advertised; $5,000 - $25,000 should be advertised in the State Register for a period of at 
least seven calendar days; $25,000 - $50,000 should be advertised in the State Register for a period of at least 14 
calendar days; and anything above $50,000 should be advertised in the State Register for a minimum of at least 21 
calendar  days.

Contact the Office of State Procurement at: (651) 296-2600

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State)
Notice of Bid and Contracting Opportunities

Minnesota State advertises contract opportunities for goods and services on its Vendor and Supplier Opportunities 
website (https://www.minnstate.edu/vendors/index.html). New notices may be added daily and will remain posted for 
the duration specified in each individual notice. For questions or to report any issues viewing the information on the 
website, please email Minnesota State at Sourcing@MinnState.edu.

Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT)
Engineering Services Division

Notices Regarding Professional/Technical (P/T) Contracting

P/T Contracting Opportunities: MnDOT is now placing additional public notices for P/T contract opportunities 
on the MnDOT’s Consultant Services website. New public notices may be added to the website on a daily basis and be 
available for the time period as indicated within the public notice.  

Taxpayers’ Transportation Accountability Act (TTAA) Notices: MnDOT is posting notices as required by the 
TTAA on the MnDOT Consultant Services website.

MnDOT’s Prequalification Program: MnDOT maintains a Pre-Qualification Program in order to streamline the 
process of contracting for highway related P/T services.  Program information, application requirements, application 
forms and contact information can be found on MnDOT’s Consultant Services website. Applications may be submitted at 
any time for this Program.  

MnDOT Consultant Services website: www.dot.state.mn.us/consult

If you have any questions regarding this notice, or are having problems viewing the information on the Consultant 
Services website, please all the Consultant Services Help Line at 651-366-4611, Monday – Friday, 9:00am – 4:00pm.

https://mn.gov/admin/osp/vendors/solicitations-and-contract-opportunities/
https://www.minnstate.edu/vendors/index.html
mailto:Sourcing%40MinnState.edu?subject=
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Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector.  The 

State Register meets state and federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices.  Any tax-supported 
institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts and requests for proposals from the private sector.  
It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following:  1) name of contact person;  2) institution name, 
address, and telephone number;  3) brief description of commodity, project or tasks;  4) cost estimate;  and 5) final 
submission date of completed contract proposal.  Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks 
from the date article is submitted for publication).  Surveys show that subscribers are interested in hearing about 
contracts for estimates as low as $1,000. Contact editor for further details.

Besides the following listing, readers are advised to check: https://mn.gov/admin/osp as well as the Office of 
Grants Management (OGM) at: https://mn.gov/admin/citizen/grants/.

Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)
Notice of Request for Statements of Qualification for General Legal Services

The Metropolitan Airports Commission (“MAC”) is requesting Statements of Qualifications (SOQ) from law firms 
interested in assisting MAC with General Legal Services.  

MAC’s Request for Qualifications for General Legal Services is available on the following website at: https://
metroairports.bonfirehub.com/portal/?tab=openOpportunities 

The SOQs are due on or before 4:00 p.m. on Monday, September 8, 2025.  

Minnesota Home Care Orientation Trust
Request for Proposals for Legal Services

The Minnesota Home Care Orientation Trust (“The Trust”) is requesting bids for contracted legal services. The Trust 
was established by the Minnesota Legislature (MN Statutes 179A.54, subd. 11) and is structured similar to a Taft-Hartley 
labor-management Trust but is not covered by the Taft-Hartley Act. The purpose of this organization is to provide an 
orientation program for Direct Support Workers (also known as Personal Care Attendants or Caregivers) who provide 
home care services to people with disabilities and seniors through the State of Minnesota’s consumer-directed home care 
programs. 

The Trust is issuing a Request for Proposals (RFP) for legal services. The Trust is a new organization. Bidders for 
legal services will be expected to provide legal services needed for starting up and establishing The Trust as well as 
supporting ongoing operations. 

Potential bidders can request a copy of the full RFP by emailing: MNHCOT@gmail.com. Proposals are due 
September 10, 2025. 

Minnesota  
State Register

https://mn.gov/admin/osp
https://mn.gov/admin/citizen/grants/
https://metroairports.bonfirehub.com/portal/?tab=openOpportunities
https://metroairports.bonfirehub.com/portal/?tab=openOpportunities
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