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Minnesota Rules: Amendments and Additions
NOTICE: How to Follow State Agency Rulemaking in the State Register
The State Register is the official source, and only complete listing, for all state agency rulemaking in its various stages. State agencies are 

required to publish notice of their rulemaking action in the State Register. Published every Monday, the State Register makes it easy to follow and 
participate in the important rulemaking process. Approximately 80 state agencies have the authority to issue rules. Each agency is assigned specific 
Minnesota Rule chapter numbers. Every odd-numbered year the Minnesota Rules are published.  Supplements are published to update this set of 
rules. Generally speaking, proposed and adopted exempt rules do not appear in this set because of their short-term nature, but are published in the 
State Register.

	An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter of 
a possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101).  It does this  by publishing a notice in 
the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, or within 60 days of the effective date of any new 
statutory grant of required rulemaking.

	When rules are first drafted, state agencies publish them as Proposed Rules, along with a notice of hearing, or a notice of intent to adopt rules 
without a hearing in the case of noncontroversial rules. This notice asks for comment on the rules as proposed.  Proposed emergency rules, and with-
drawn proposed rules, are also published in the State Register. After proposed rules have gone through the comment period, and have been rewritten 
into their final form, they again appear in the State Register as Adopted Rules.  These final adopted rules are not printed in their entirety, but only the 
changes made since their publication as Proposed Rules. To see the full rule, as adopted and in effect, a person simply needs two issues of the State 
Register, the issue the rule appeared in as proposed, and later as adopted. 

	The State Register features partial and cumulative listings of rules in this section on the following schedule: issues #1-13 inclusive; issues #14-
25 inclusive (issue #26 cumulative for issues #1-26); issues #27-38 inclusive (issue #39, cumulative for issues #1-39); issues #40-52 inclusive, with 
final index (#1-52, or 53 in some years). An annual subject matter index for rules was separately printed usually in August, but starting with Volume 
19 now appears in the final issue of each volume. For copies or subscriptions to the State Register, contact Minnesota’s Bookstore, 660 Olive Street 
(one block east of I-35E and one block north of University Ave), St. Paul, MN 55155, phone:  (612) 297-3000, or toll-free 1-800-657-3757. TTY relay 
service phone number: (800) 627-3529.

Volume 43 - Minnesota Rules
(Rules Appearing in Vol. 42 Issues #27-52  are  

          in Vol 42, #52 - Monday 25 June 2018)
Volume 43, #9

Monday 2 July - Monday 27 August

Office of Administrative Hearings 
1420.1850(proposed) .......................................................................   177

Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape  
Architecture, Geoscience, and Interior Design 

1800 (adopted)..................................................................................     89

Board of Dentistry
3100.1160; .3600; .8500; .8700; .9600 (proposed)..........................   197

Environmental Quality Board
4410.2550 (adopted).........................................................................   162

Department of Health
4717.7860 (adopted).........................................................................   262

Office of Higher Education 
4830.0150; 4850.0011; .0012; .0013; .0017 (proposed)...................  207

Department of Natural Resources
6232.0200; .0300; .0400; .0800; .0900; .1000; .1300; .1600; .1750; 

.1800; .1970; .1980; .2100; .2500; .4700(adopted expedited)..................   117
6230.0200; .0295; .0400; 6234.0600; .1400; .1700; .2600;  

6236.0700 (adopted expedited) ..............................................................    153
6232.2550; .2560 (adopted expedited) ...........................................    157
6234.0300; 6237.0400; .0550 (adopted expedited).........................    160

Board of Optometry
6500.0100; .2000; .2900; .3000 (adopted)........................................      5

Pollution Control Agency
7150 (proposed)................................................................................   212
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Proposed Rules
Comments on Planned Rules or Rule Amendments. An agency must first solicit Comments on Planned 

Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public on the subject matter of a possible rulemaking 
proposal under active consideration within the agency (Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101). It does this by publishing a 
notice in the State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 
60 days of the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.

Rules to be Adopted After a Hearing. After receiving comments and deciding to hold a public hearing on the 
rule, an agency drafts its rule. It then publishes its rules with a notice of hearing. All persons wishing to make a 
statement must register at the hearing. Anyone who wishes to submit written comments may do so at the hearing, 
or within five working days of the close of the hearing. Administrative law judges may, during the hearing, extend 
the period for receiving comments up to 20 calendar days. For five business days after the submission period the 
agency and interested persons may respond to any new information submitted during the written submission period 
and the record then is closed. The administrative law judge prepares a report within 30 days, stating findings of fact, 
conclusions and recommendations. After receiving the report, the agency decides whether to adopt, withdraw or 
modify the proposed rule based on consideration of the comments made during the rule hearing procedure and the 
report of the administrative law judge. The agency must wait five days after receiving the report before taking any 
action.

Rules to be Adopted Without a Hearing. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 14.22, an agency may propose 
to adopt, amend, suspend or repeal rules without first holding a public hearing. An agency must first solicit Com-
ments on Planned Rules or Comments on Planned Rule Amendments from the public. The agency then publish-
es a notice of intent to adopt rules without a public hearing, together with the proposed rules, in the State Register. 
If, during the 30-day comment period, 25 or more persons submit to the agency a written request for a hearing of 
the proposed rules, the agency must proceed under the provisions of §§ 14.1414.20, which state that if an agency 
decides to hold a public hearing, it must publish a notice of intent in the State Register.

KEY: Proposed Rules - Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strikeouts indicate dele-
tions from existing rule language. If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.” Adopted 
Rules - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language. Strikeout indicates deletions from proposed rule 
language.

Board of Dentistry
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Dentists, Dental Therapists, Licensed Dental  
Assistants, and Dental Hygienists; DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules  
without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of 
Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing are Received; Revisor’s ID Number 4507; 
OAH Docket No. 82-9033-35427

	Proposed Amendments to Permanent Rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry Relating to Dentists, Dental 
Therapists, Dental Hygienists, and Licensed Dental Assistants, Minnesota Rules 3100.1160, 3100.3600, 3100.8500, 
3100.8700, and 3100.9600

Introduction.  The Minnesota Board of Dentistry intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following the 
procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and 
the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28.  If, however, 25 or more persons submit a 
written request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 26, 2018, the Board will hold a public 
hearing in the 4th Floor Conference Room A, University Park Plaza, 2829 University Avenue SE, Minneapolis, Min-
nesota 55414, starting at 1:00 p.m. on Thursday, October 18, 2018.  To find out whether the Board will adopt the rules 
without a hearing or if the hearing will be held, you should contact the agency contact person after September 26, 2018, 
and before October 18, 2018.

Agency Contact Person.  Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written requests for a public hearing to 
the agency contact person.  The agency contact person is:  Kathy Johnson at Minnesota Board of Dentistry, 2829 Uni-
versity Avenue SE, Suite 450, Minneapolis, MN 55414-3249, kathy.t.johnson@state.mn.us, phone: (612) 548-2134 or 
(888) 240-4762 (outside metro), fax: (612) 617-2260.  TTY users may call the Board of Dentistry at (800) 627-3529.

You may also review the proposed rules and submit written comments via the Office of Administrative Hearings 

mailto:kathy.t.johnson@state.mn.us
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Proposed Rules
Rulemaking e-comments website at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions.

	Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority.  The Board proposes to amend its rules regarding the following:  
simplify the documentation requirements for education regarding nitrous oxide and for CPR certification; modify some 
delegated procedures for licensed dental assistants, including impressions, ligature ties and arch wires, topical fluoride, 
and managing medications; restructure into different categories all of the delegated procedures for dental hygienists; and 
supplement the recordkeeping requirements for a dental/medical history and nitrous oxide in the progress notes.

The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.04, subdivision 5.  A copy of the pro-
posed rules is published in the State Register.  The proposed rules are also available on the Board’s website at  
www.mn.gov/boards/dentistry or a free copy of the entire proposed rules is available upon request from the agency con-
tact person listed above.

Comments.  You have until 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 26, 2018, to submit written comments in support of 
or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules.  Your comment must be in writing and received 
by the agency contact person by the due date.  Comment is encouraged.  Your comments should identify the portion of 
the proposed rules addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed.  You are encouraged to propose any 
change that you desire.  Any comments that you have about the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during 
this comment period.

Request for a Hearing.  In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that the Board hold a hearing 
on the rules.  You must make your request for a public hearing in writing, which the agency contact person must receive 
by 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 26, 2018.  You must include your name and address in your written request.  In 
addition, you must identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set of 
rules.  Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the Board cannot count it when deter-
mining whether the Board must hold a public hearing.  You are also encouraged to state the reason for the request and 
any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests.  If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a hearing, the Board will hold a 
public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw their requests in writing.  If enough requests for hearing 
are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the Board must give written notice of this to all persons who requested 
a hearing, explain the actions the Board took to affect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this action.  If a 
public hearing is required, the Board will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.

Alternative Format/Accommodation.  Upon request, the Board can make this Notice available in an alternative 
format, such as large print, braille, or audio.  To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hear-
ing accessible, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

Modifications.  The Board may modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public comment or as a result of the 
rule hearing process.  Modifications must be supported by data and views submitted to the Board or presented at the 
hearing.  The adopted rules may not be substantially different than these proposed rules unless the Board follows the pro-
cedure under Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110.  If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the Board encourages you to 
participate in the rulemaking process.

Cancellation of Hearing.  The Board will cancel the hearing scheduled for Thursday, October 18, 2018, if the Board 
does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons.  If you requested a public hearing, the Board will notify 
you before the scheduled hearing whether the hearing will be held.  You may also call the agency contact person at (612) 
548-2134 after September 26, 2018, to find out whether the hearing will be held.

Notice of Hearing.  If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public hearing on the rules, the Board 
will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  The Board will hold the 
hearing on the date and at the time and place listed above.  The hearing will continue until all interested persons have 
been heard.  Administrative Law Judge Barbara Case is assigned to conduct the hearing.  Judge Case’s Legal Assistant 
Katie Lin can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, St. Paul, 
MN  55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7900, FAX (651) 539-0310, or katie.lin@state.mn.us.

https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com
http://www.mn.gov/boards/dentistry
mailto:katie.lin@state.mn.us
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Proposed Rules
Hearing Procedure.  If the Board holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected persons, including represen-

tatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate.  You may present your views 
either orally at the hearing or in writing at any time before the hearing record closes.  All evidence presented should 
relate to the proposed rules.  You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the 
hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends.  At the hearing, the Administrative Law Judge may 
order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer period but not more than 20 calendar days.  Following 
the comment period, there is a five-working-day rebuttal period when the Board and any interested person may respond 
in writing to any new information submitted.  No one may submit new evidence during the five-day rebuttal period.  The 
Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge 
via the Office of Administrative Hearings Rulemaking e-comments website at  
https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date.  All comments or respons-
es received will be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings.  This rule hearing procedure is gov-
erned by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20.  You may 
direct questions about the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge.

The Board requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge before the 
hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact 
person at the address stated above.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness.  The statement of need and reasonableness summarizes the justification for 
the proposed rules, including a description of who will be affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the probable 
cost of the proposed rules.  A free copy of the statement is now available from the agency contact person, if requested, or 
available on the Board’s website at www.mn.gov/boards/dentistry.

A copy of the Dual Notice and proposed rules shall be mailed by sending an electronic mailing to everyone who has 
registered to be on the Board of Dentistry’s rulemaking mailing list under Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 
1a; and

A copy of the Dual Notice, proposed rules, and the Statement of Need and Reasonableness shall be mailed to the 
Legislature according to Minnesota Statutes, section 14.116.

Lobbyist Registration.  Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign 
Finance and Public Disclosure Board.  Ask any questions about this requirement of the Campaign Finance and Public 
Disclosure Board at: Suite 190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 539-
1180 or 1-800-657-3889.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing.  If no hearing is required, the Board may adopt the rules after the end of the 
comment period.  The Board will submit the rules and supporting documents to the Office of Administrative Hearings for 
a legal review.  You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office.  If you want either to receive 
notice of this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the Board to receive notice of future rule pro-
ceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above.

Adoption Procedure After a Hearing.  If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Administrative 
Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules.  You may ask to be notified of the date that the Administrative Law 
Judge’s report will become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law 
Judge.  You may also ask to be notified of the date that the Board adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the Secre-
tary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person stated above.

Order.  I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.
							    
Date:  August 9, 2018	

Bridgett Anderson, L.D.A., M.B.A.
Executive Director
Minnesota Board of Dentistry

https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com
http://www.mn.gov/boards/dentistry
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Proposed Rules
3100.1160  LICENSE TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY AS A RESIDENT DENTIST.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2. Termination of licensure.

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]
 
          C.  A person who fails to inform the board as required in item B is deemed to have committed fraud or deception 
within the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 150.08 150A.08, subdivision 1, clause (1). 
 
3100.3600  ADMINISTRATION OF GENERAL ANESTHESIA, DEEP SEDATION, MODERATE SEDATION, 
MINIMAL SEDATION, AND NITROUS OXIDE INHALATION ANALGESIA.

[For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 4. Nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia; educational training requirements. A dentist may administer nitrous 
oxide inhalation analgesia only according to items A to D and subpart 5, items A and C. A dental therapist may admin-
ister nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia only according to items C to F. A dental hygienist may administer nitrous oxide 
inhalation analgesia only according to items C to F and subpart 5, item D. A licensed dental assistant may administer 
nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia only after a maximum dosage has been prescribed by a dentist for a specific patient, 
and it is administered according to items C to F and subpart 5, item D. 
 
          A.  Prior to January 1, 1993, A licensed dentist who is currently was administering nitrous oxide inhalation anal-
gesia on or before January 1, 1993, may register that fact with the board according to subpart 5, item A. Such registered 
dentists may continue to administer nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia and need not comply with item B. 

[For text of items B to F, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 5. Notice to board.

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]
 
          C.  A dentist not previously registered with the board according to item A or who graduated from an institution in 
Minnesota accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation prior to April 15, 2008, may administer nitrous oxide 
inhalation analgesia only after the dentist has submitted the information in subitems (1) and (2) to the board on forms 
provided by the board: 
 
               (1)   the name, address, and telephone number of the institution at which the dentist took the course that com-
plies with subpart 4, item B, or the dentist’s written attestation that the dentist has successfully completed the education 
to administer nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia through an institution accredited by the Commission on Dental Accredi-
tation; and 
 
               (2)   a certified copy of the dentist’s transcript and other official record from the institution verifying that the 
dentist has successfully completed documentation of current CPR certification as required by subpart 4, item C. 

     After the initial submission, a dentist must attest to maintaining consecutive and current CPR certification at the time 
of each license renewal. 

 
          D.  A dental hygienist or licensed dental assistant who graduated from an institution in Minnesota accredited by the 
Commission on Dental Accreditation or received licensure by credentials prior to September 2, 2004, may administer ni-
trous oxide inhalation analgesia only after the dental hygienist or licensed dental assistant has submitted the information 
in subitems (1) and (2) to the board on forms provided by the board: 

[For text of subitem (1), see M.R.]
 
               (2)   a certified copy of the dental hygienist’s or licensed dental assistant’s transcript and other official record 
from the institution verifying that the dental hygienist or licensed dental assistant has successfully completed documenta-
tion of current CPR certification as required by subpart 4, item C. 

     After the initial submission, a dental hygienist or licensed dental assistant must attest to maintaining consecutive and 
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current CPR certification at the time of each license renewal. 

 
          E.   A dental therapist who graduated from a board-approved dental therapy program in Minnesota prior to August 
1, 2013, may administer nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia only after the dental therapist has submitted the information 
in subitems (1) and (2) to the board on forms provided by the board: 

[For text of subitem (1), see M.R.]
 
 
               (2)   a certified copy of the dental therapist’s transcript and other official records from the institution verifying 
that the dental therapist has successfully completed documentation of current CPR certification as required by subpart 4, 
item C. 

     After the initial submission, a dental therapist must attest to maintaining consecutive and current CPR certification at 
the time of each license renewal. 

[For text of subps 6 to 11, see M.R.]
 
3100.8500  LICENSED DENTAL ASSISTANTS. 
 
     Subpart 1. Duties Procedures under general supervision. A licensed dental assistant may perform the following 
procedures without the dentist being present in the dental office or on the premises if the procedures being performed are 
with prior knowledge and consent of the dentist: 

[For text of items A to F, see M.R.]
 
          G.  take impressions for casts and appropriate bite registration, not to include impressions and bite registrations for 
final construction of fixed and removable prostheses; 

[For text of items H to K, see M.R.]
 
          L.   take vital signs such as pulse rate and blood pressure as directed by a dentist; and 
 
          M.   obtain informed consent, according to part 3100.9600, subpart 9, for treatments authorized by the supervising 
dentist pursuant to the licensed dental assistant’s scope of practice.; 
 
          N.   remove and place ligature ties and remove and replace existing arch wires on orthodontic appliances; and 
 
          O.   apply topical fluoride, including foam, gel, or varnish. 
 
     Subp. 1a. Duties Procedures under indirect supervision. A licensed dental assistant, in addition to the services 
performed by an assistant described in part 3100.8400, subpart 1, may perform the following services if a dentist is in the 
office, authorizes the procedures, and remains in the office while the procedures are being performed: 
 
          A.  apply topical medications such as, but not limited to, topical fluoride, including bleaching agents, and cavity 
varnishes in appropriate dosages or quantities as prescribed by a dentist; 

[For text of items B to H, see M.R.]
 
          I.  remove and place ligature ties and initial arch wires on orthodontic appliances. A dentist must select and, if 
necessary, adjust arch wires prior to placement; 

[For text of items J to O, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 1b. Duties Procedures under direct supervision. A licensed dental assistant may perform the following 
services if a dentist is in the dental office, personally diagnoses the condition to be treated, personally authorizes the 
procedure, and evaluates the performance of the licensed dental assistant before dismissing the patient: 

[For text of items A to I, see M.R.]
 
          J.   initiate and place an intravenous infusion line in preparation for intravenous medications and sedation while 
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under direct supervision of a dentist who holds a valid general anesthesia or moderate sedation certificate. Before initi-
ating and placing an intravenous infusion line, a licensed dental assistant must have successfully completed board-ap-
proved allied dental personnel courses comprised of intravenous access and general anesthesia and moderate sedation 
training; and 

[For text of item K, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 1c. Duties Procedures under personal supervision. A licensed dental assistant may concurrently perform 
supportive services if the dentist holds a valid general anesthesia or moderate sedation certificate, is personally treating a 
patient, and authorizes the licensed dental assistant to aid in treatment the physical management of medications, includ-
ing the preparation and administration of medications into an existing intravenous line, an enteral agent, or emergency 
medications in an emergent situation. Before administering any medications or agents, a licensed dental assistant must 
have successfully completed board-approved allied dental personnel courses comprised of general anesthesia and moder-
ate sedation training. 
 
     Subp. 2. Other duties procedures prohibited. A licensed dental assistant may not perform any dental treatment or 
procedure on patients not otherwise authorized by this chapter. 

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.]
 
3100.8700  DENTAL HYGIENISTS. 
 
     Subpart 1. Duties Principal procedures under general supervision. A dental hygienist may perform the following 
procedures without the dentist being present in the dental office or on the premises if the procedures being performed are 
with prior knowledge and consent of the dentist under general supervision, as defined in part 3100.0100, subpart 21, item 
D: 
 
          A.  all services permitted under parts 3100.8400 and 3100.8500, subparts 1 and 1a, items A to L preliminary chart-
ing of the oral cavity and surrounding structures, including case histories; initial and periodic examinations and assess-
ments to determine periodontal status; and creation of a dental hygiene treatment plan in coordination with a dentist’s 
treatment plan; 
 
          B.  complete prophylaxis to include scaling, root planing, and polishing of restorations obtain informed consent, 
according to part 3100.9600, subpart 9, for treatments authorized by the supervising dentist pursuant to the dental hy-
gienist’s scope of practice; 
 
          C.  preliminary charting of the oral cavity and surrounding structures to include case histories, perform initial and 
periodic examinations and assessments to determine periodontal status, and formulate a dental hygiene treatment plan in 
coordination with a dentist’s treatment plan take photographs extraorally or intraorally; 
 
          D.  dietary analysis, salivary analysis, and preparation of smears for dental health purposes take vital signs, includ-
ing pulse rate and blood pressure; 
 
          E.   make referrals to dentists, physicians, and other practitioners in consultation with a dentist; 
 
          F.   complete debridement, prophylaxis, and nonsurgical periodontal therapy; 
 
          E. G.  etch appropriate enamel surfaces, application and adjustment of pit and fissure sealants; 
 
          F.  removal of excess bond material from orthodontic appliances; 
 
          G.  replacement, cementation, and adjustment of intact temporary restorations extraorally or intraorally; 
 
          H.  removal of marginal overhangs; 
 
          I.  make referrals to dentists, physicians, and other practitioners in consultation with a dentist; 
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          J. H.  administer local anesthesia. Before administering local anesthesia, a dental hygienist must have successfully 
completed a didactic and clinical program sponsored by a dental or dental hygiene school accredited by the Commission 
on Dental Accreditation, resulting in the dental hygienist becoming clinically competent in the administration of local 
anesthesia;  
 
          K. I.  administer nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia according to part 3100.3600, subparts 4 and 5; and 
 
          J.   take radiographs; 
 
          K.   apply topical medications, including topical fluoride, bleaching agents, cavity varnishes, and desensitizing 
agents; 
 
          L.   obtain informed consent, according to part 3100.9600, subpart 9, for treatments authorized by the supervising 
dentist pursuant to the dental hygienist’s scope of practice. place subgingival medicaments; 
 
          M.   take impressions and bite registration; 
 
          N.   fabrication and delivery of custom fitted trays; 
 
          O.   nutritional counseling; 
 
          P.   salivary analysis; 
 
          Q.   remove marginal overhangs; 
 
          R.   remove sutures; 
 
          S.   place and remove periodontal dressings; 
 
          T.   place and remove isolation devices or materials for restorative purposes; 
 
          U.   polish restorations; 
 
          V.   remove excess cement from inlays, crowns, bridges, or orthodontic appliances; 
 
          W.   fabrication, placement, replacement, cementation, and adjustment of temporary crowns or restorations; 
 
          X.   remove temporary crowns or restorations with hand instruments only; 
 
          Y.   place and remove matrix systems and wedges; and 
 
          Z.   place nonsurgical retraction material for gingival displacement. Before placing nonsurgical retraction material, 
a dental hygienist must have successfully completed a course in nonsurgical retraction material for gingival displacement 
at a dental, dental hygiene, or dental assisting school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. 
 
     Subp. 2. Duties under indirect supervision. Restorative procedures under indirect supervision. A dental hygien-
ist may perform the following procedures if a dentist is in the office, authorizes the procedures, and remains in the office 
while the procedures are being performed: 
 
          A.   restorative procedures permitted under Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.10, subdivision 4; 
 
          B.   maintain and remove intravenous lines while under indirect supervision of a dentist who holds a valid general 
anesthesia or moderate sedation certificate. Before managing and removing intravenous lines, a dental hygienist must 
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have successfully completed board-approved allied dental personnel courses comprised of intravenous access and gener-
al anesthesia and moderate sedation training; and 
 
          C.   monitor a patient during preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative phases of general anesthesia or mod-
erate sedation using noninvasive instrumentation such as pulse oximeters, electrocardiograms, blood pressure monitors, 
and capnography while under indirect supervision of a dentist who holds a valid general anesthesia or moderate sedation 
certificate. Before monitoring a sedated patient, a dental hygienist must have successfully completed board-approved 
allied dental personnel courses comprised of intravenous access and general anesthesia and moderate sedation training. 

     A dental hygienist may perform restorative procedures pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 150A.10, subdivision 
4, and under indirect supervision, as defined in part 3100.0100, subpart 21, item C, if the dental hygienist has fulfilled 
either item A or B: 

 
          A.   successfully graduated from a Minnesota dental hygiene program accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation that included training for restorative procedures and received a restorative procedures certificate from the 
program; or 
 
          B.   successfully completed a board-approved course on restorative procedures and received a restorative proce-
dures certificate from the course sponsor. 
 
     Subp. 2a. Duties under direct supervision. Orthodontic procedures under general, indirect, or direct super-
vision. A dental hygienist may perform the following procedures if a dentist is in the office, personally diagnoses the 
condition to be treated, personally authorizes the procedure, and evaluates the performance of the dental hygienist before 
dismissing the patient: 
 
          A.  etch appropriate enamel surfaces before bonding of orthodontic appliances by a dentist; 
 
          B.  remove temporary crowns with hand instruments only; 
 
          C.  fabricate, cement, and adjust temporary restorations; 
 
          D.  place and remove matrix bands; 
 
          E.  remove bond material from teeth with rotary instruments after removal of orthodontic appliances. Before utiliz-
ing rotary instruments for the removal of bond material, a dental hygienist must have successfully completed a course in 
the use of rotary instruments for the express purpose of the removal of bond material from teeth. The course must be one 
that is presented by a dental, dental hygiene, or dental assisting school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accredi-
tation; 
 
          F.  attach prefit and preadjusted orthodontic appliances;  
 
          G.  remove fixed orthodontic bands and brackets;  
 
          H.  initiate and place an intravenous infusion line in preparation for intravenous medications and sedation while 
under direct supervision of a dentist who holds a valid general anesthesia or moderate sedation certificate. Before initiat-
ing and placing an intravenous infusion line, a dental hygienist must have successfully completed board-approved allied 
dental personnel courses comprised of intravenous access and general anesthesia and moderate sedation training; and 
 
          I.   place nonsurgical retraction material for gingival displacement. Before placing nonsurgical retraction material, 
a dental hygienist must have successfully completed a course in nonsurgical retraction material for gingival displacement 
at a dental, dental hygiene, or dental assisting school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. 

     If a dental hygienist has fulfilled the requirements of item A, subitems (1), (2), or (3), the dental hygienist may per-
form the procedures listed in item B under the level of supervision indicated, as defined in part 3100.0100, subpart 21, 
items B, C, and D. 
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          A.   A dental hygienist must have: 
 
               (1)   been granted a Minnesota dental hygiene license from the board prior to September 1, 2019; 
 
               (2)   successfully graduated from a Minnesota dental hygiene program accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation after September 1, 2019, that included training for orthodontic procedures and received an orthodontic 
procedures certificate from the program; or 
 
               (3)   successfully completed a board-approved course comprised of orthodontic procedures and received an 
orthodontic procedures certificate from the course sponsor. 
 
          B.   The dental hygienist may perform the following procedures under: 
 
               (1)   general supervision: 
 
                    (a)   cut arch wires on orthodontic appliances; 
 
                    (b)   remove loose bands on orthodontic appliances; 
 
                    (c)   remove loose brackets on orthodontic appliances; 
 
                    (d)   remove excess bond material from orthodontic appliances; 
 
                    (e)   preselect orthodontic bands; 
 
                    (f)   place and remove elastic orthodontic separators; 
 
                    (g)   remove and place ligature ties and remove and replace existing arch wires on orthodontic appliances; 
and 
 
                    (h)   deliver vacuum-formed orthodontic retainers; 
 
               (2)   indirect supervision: place initial arch wires on orthodontic appliances. A dentist must select and, if neces-
sary, adjust arch wires prior to placement; 
 
               (3)   direct supervision: 
 
                    (a)   etch enamel surfaces before bonding of orthodontic appliances by a dentist; 
 
                    (b)   remove bond material from teeth with rotary instruments after removal of orthodontic appliances; 
 
                    (c)   attach prefit and preadjusted orthodontic appliances; and 
 
                    (d)   remove fixed orthodontic bands and brackets. 
 
     Subp. 2b. Duties under personal supervision. Sedation monitoring and intravenous procedures under indirect, 
direct, or personal supervision. A dental hygienist may concurrently perform supportive services if the dentist holds a 
valid general anesthesia or moderate sedation certificate and is personally treating a patient and authorizes the dental hy-
gienist to aid in treatment including the administration of medications into an existing intravenous line, an enteral agent, 
or emergency medications in an emergent situation. Before administering any medications or agents, a dental hygienist 
must have successfully completed board-approved allied dental personnel courses comprised of general anesthesia and 
moderate sedation training. 

     If a dental hygienist has successfully completed board-approved allied dental personnel courses comprised of intrave-
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nous access and general anesthesia and moderate sedation training and submitted to the board documentation of com-
pletion to receive a certificate from the board, the dental hygienist may perform the following procedures under either 
indirect, direct, or personal supervision, as defined in part 3100.0100, subpart 21, items A, B, and C, for a dentist who 
holds a valid general anesthesia or moderate sedation certificate: 

 
          A.   indirect supervision: 
 
               (1)   maintain and remove intravenous lines; 
 
               (2)   monitor a patient during preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative phases of general anesthesia or 
moderate sedation using noninvasive instrumentation, including pulse oximeters, electrocardiograms, blood pressures 
monitors, and capnography; 
 
          B.   direct supervision: initiate and place an intravenous line in preparation for intravenous medications and seda-
tion; 
 
          C.   personal supervision: aid in the physical management of medications, including the preparation and adminis-
tration of medications into an existing intravenous line. 
 
     Subp. 3. Other duties procedures prohibited. A dental hygienist may not perform any dental treatment or procedure 
on patients not authorized by this chapter. 
 
3100.9600  RECORD KEEPING.

[For text of subps 1 to 4, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 5. Dental and medical history. Dental records must include information from the patient or the patient’s parent 
or guardian on the patient’s dental and medical history. The information must include a sufficient amount of data to 
support the recommended treatment plan. The dental and medical history must be updated to reflect the current status of 
the patient. 

[For text of subps 6 to 9, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 10. Progress notes. Dental records must be legible and include a chronology of the patient’s progress through-
out the course of all treatment and postoperative visits. The chronology must include: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]
 
          C.   the treatment provider by license number, name, or initials; and 
 
          D.   when applicable, the identity of the collaborating dentist authorizing treatment by license number.; and 
 
          E.   administration information for nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia, including indication for use, dosage, dura-
tion of administration, posttreatment oxygenation period prior to discharge, and patient status at discharge. 

[For text of subps 11 to 14, see M.R.]



207PageMinnesota State Register, Monday 27 August 2018(Cite 43 SR 207)

Proposed Rules
Office of Higher Education
Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Higher Education Financial Assistance and  
Supplemental Student Loans; DUAL NOTICE: Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a 
Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or 
More Requests for Hearing Are Received; Revisor’s ID Number 4425

Proposed Amendment to Rules Relating to the Higher Education Financial Assistance and Supplemental Stu-
dent Loans., Minnesota Rules, 4830.0150 to 4850.0017

Introduction. The Minnesota Office of Higher Education intends to adopt rules without a public hearing following 
the procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 to 1400.2310, and 
the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or more persons submit 
a written request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, September 25, 2018, the Office of Higher Educa-
tion will hold a public hearing in room 10, State Office Building, 100 Rev Dr Martin Luther King Boulevard, St. Paul, 
Minnesota 55155, starting at 9:30 am on Monday, October 29, 2018. To find out whether the Office of Higher Education 
will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will hold the hearing, you should contact the agency contact person after 
September 25, 2018 and before October 29, 2018.

Agency Contact Person. Submit any comments or questions on the rules or written requests for a public hearing to 
the agency contact person. The agency contact person is:

Marilyn Kosir
Minnesota Office of Higher Education

1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350
St. Paul Minnesota 55108

651 355-0600
marilyn.kosir@state.mn.us 

You may also review the proposed rule and submit written comments via the Office of Administrative Hear-
ings Rulemaking eComments website at https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions. Any questions about 
submitting comments via the Rulemaking eComments website should be directed to Katie Lin, Office of Administrative 
Hearings, at 651-361-7911 or katie.lin@state.mn.us.

Subject of Rules and Statutory Authority. The proposed rules amendments are about the SELF Loan Program 
which is a state program of supplemental loans to postsecondary students. The SELF Loan is a long-term, low-interest 
student loan to Minnesota residents and non-residents attending participating SELF postsecondary educational institu-
tions. Students are required to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) before applying for the 
SELF Loan in order to ensure the student receives federal and state grant funds before taking on loan debt. As part of the 
student’s overall financial aid package, the SELF Loan is intended to supplement other student loan options—particularly 
federal loans. 

The SELF Loan provides a low-cost option for students to finance their education. The interest rate is not based on a 
person’s credit history, as is the case for many private student loans. This is an advantage to borrowers in that they know 
the interest rate before applying. Minnesota Statutes 136A.1701, subdivision 10 prohibits the use of state money to fund 
student loans. As a result, it is imperative the SELF Loan program operate in a manner that allows students to benefit 
from the program while at the same time ensuring losses, especially those due to default, are minimized. The program 
needs to be self-sustaining with all expenses, including the cost of defaulted loans, covered by program earnings. Earn-
ings are primarily interest paid by borrowers and cosigners.

https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions
mailto:katie.lin@state.mn.us
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The proposed rules amendments are intended to:

•	 reduce default risks,
•	 align statute and rule language, and
•	 provide more flexibility to respond to the needs of borrowers and cosigners. 

The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.16. A copy of the proposed rules is 
published in the State Register and attached to this notice as mailed.

	Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, September 25, 2018, to submit written comment in support of or 
in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Your comment must be in writing and received by 
the agency contact person by the due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the 
proposed rules addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to propose any 
change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during 
this comment period.

	Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that the Office of Higher Educa-
tion hold a hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in writing, which the agency contact 
person must receive by 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, September 25, 2018. You must include your name and address in your 
written request. In addition, you must identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose 
the entire set of rules. Any request that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the agency cannot count 
it when determining whether it must hold a public hearing. You are also encouraged to state the reason for the request 
and any changes you want made to the proposed rules.

	Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a hearing, the Office of High-
er Education will hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw their requests in writing. If 
enough requests for hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the agency must give written notice of this 
to all persons who requested a hearing, explain the actions the agency took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written 
comments on this action. If a public hearing is required, the agency will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 14.131 to 14.20.

	Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative for-
mat, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hearing 
accessible, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone number listed above.

	Modifications. The Office of Higher Education might modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public com-
ment or as a result of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and views submitted to the agency 
or presented at the hearing. The adopted rules may not be substantially different than these proposed rules unless the 
Office of Higher Education follows the procedure under Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect 
you in any way, the Office of Higher Education encourages you to participate in the rulemaking process.

	Cancellation of Hearing. The Office of Higher Education will cancel the hearing scheduled for October 29, 2018 if 
the agency does not receive requests for a hearing from 25 or more persons. If you requested a public hearing, the agency 
will notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the hearing will be held. You may also call the agency contact 
person at 651 355-0600 after Tuesday, September 25, 2018 to find out whether the hearing will be held. On the scheduled 
day, you may check for whether the hearing will be held by calling 651 355-0600 or going on-line at  
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=2261.

	Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public hearing on the rules, the Office 
of Higher Education will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The 
Office of Higher Education will hold the hearing on the date and at the time and place listed above. The hearing will con-
tinue until all interested persons have been heard. Administrative Law Judge Jeanne M. Cochran is assigned to conduct 

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=2261


209PageMinnesota State Register, Monday 27 August 2018(Cite 43 SR 209)

Proposed Rules
the hearing. Judge Cochran’s Legal Assistant Katie Lin can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 
North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone 651-361-7900 and FAX 651-539-
0310 or katie.lin@state.mn.us.

	Hearing Procedure. If the Office of Higher Education holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected persons, 
including representatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate. You may 
present your views either orally at the hearing or in writing at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence 
presented should relate to the proposed rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to 
be recorded in the hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the Administrative 
Law Judge may order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer period but not more than 20 calendar 
days. Following the comment period, there is a five-working-day rebuttal period when the agency and any interested 
person may respond in writing to any new information submitted. No one may submit new evidence during the five-day 
rebuttal period. The Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses submitted to the Admin-
istrative Law Judge via the Office of Administrative Hearings Rulemaking eComments website at  
https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or responses 
received will be available for review at the on the agency’s website at  
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=2261. This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, 
parts 1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. You may direct questions about the 
procedure to the Administrative Law Judge.

	The agency requests that any person submitting written views or data to the Administrative Law Judge before the 
hearing or during the comment or rebuttal period also submit a copy of the written views or data to the agency contact 
person at the address stated above.

	Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness summarizes the justification for 
the proposed rules, including a description of who will be affected by the proposed rules and an estimate of the proba-
ble cost of the proposed rules. It is now available from the agency contact person. You may review or obtain copies for 
the cost of reproduction by contacting the agency contact person. Or you can view and download this document free at 
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=2261

	Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State Campaign 
Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about this requirement of the Campaign Finance and Public 
Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone (651) 539-
1180 or 1-800-657-3889.

	Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the agency may adopt the rules after the end of the 
comment period. The Office of Higher Education will submit the rules and supporting documents to the Office of Admin-
istrative Hearings for a legal review. You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you 
want either to receive notice of this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the agency to receive notice 
of future rule proceedings, submit your request to the agency contact person listed above.

	Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Administrative 
Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to be notified of the date that the Administrative Law 
Judge’s report will become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative Law 
Judge. You may also ask to be notified of the date that the agency adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the Secre-
tary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the agency contact person stated above.

	Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.

Date: August 6, 2018

	Larry J. Pogemiller
Commissioner

mailto:katie.lin@state.mn.us
https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=2261
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=2261


210Page Minnesota State Register, Monday 27 August 2018 (Cite 43 SR 210)

Proposed Rules
4830.0150  TERMINATION PROCEDURE.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2. Notification. The office shall send the institution written notification of the termination of the institution’s 
eligibility to participate in a program. Termination shall be effective 90 days from the date of the written notification or 
after appeal proceedings are complete, whichever is later. 
 
4850.0011  DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subps 1 to 8, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 9. Creditworthy cosigner. “Creditworthy cosigner” means one who, based on either information provided by a 
national credit bureau or information available to the office, has: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]
 
          C.  no more than $300 combined total in unsatisfied credit or unsatisfied payment obligations including, but not 
limited to, charged-off loans, credit, medical, utility accounts, collection items, and tax or mechanics liens; and 
 
          D.  no more than five percent of total credit bureau balances past due, unless the amount past due is $300 or less.; 
 
          E.   no current delinquency on any loan payments to the office; 
 
          F.   no defaulted loan with the office which has not been paid in full in accordance with the requirements of the 
office; and 
 
          G.   a required credit score, if established, under part 4850.0013. 

[For text of subps 10 to 11a, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 12. Delinquency. “Delinquency” means the condition that exists when a borrower’s scheduled payment of prin-
cipal or interest or both is not received by the commissioner after or the office’s agent by the due date. 

[For text of subps 12a and 13, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 14. Eligible school. “Eligible school” means a school that meets the requirements for an eligible institution as 
defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.155, and either: 
 
          A.  meets the requirements for an eligible institution as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.15, subdivi-
sion 6; and 
 
          B. A.  signs an institutional loan participation agreement with the commissioner that lists the duties and responsi-
bilities of both the school and the commissioner.; or 
 
          B.   is designated by the office as a maintenance-only school. The office shall designate a school as a mainte-
nance-only school if the school participates in the National Student Clearinghouse and the school is not certifying new 
SELF loans. Maintenance-only schools allow eligible students, as reported by the National Student Clearinghouse, to 
continue in the in-school period. 
 
     Subp. 15. Eligible student. “Eligible student” means a student who: 
 
          A.  is enrolled in an eligible school in Minnesota, or is a Minnesota resident enrolled in an eligible school in 
another state, or United States territory, or province as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.002, subdivision 4 
136A.155; 

[For text of item B, see M.R.]
 
          C.  is making satisfactory academic progress as defined by the school in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.101, 
subdivision 10; 
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[For text of items D to H, see M.R.]

[For text of subps 16 to 23, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 24. Late charge. “Late charge” means a charge, not to exceed $20, that is assessed against borrowers each time 
a payment of principal and/or interest is received by not paid to the commissioner more than within 15 days after the due 
date. 

[For text of subps 24a to 26, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 26a. Office. “Office” means the Minnesota Office of Higher Education or its predecessors or successors. 

[For text of subps 27 to 30, see M.R.]
 
4850.0012  SCHOOL AGREEMENTS AND STUDENT APPLICATIONS. 
 
     Subpart 1. Institutional loan participation agreement. For an eligible school to certify new SELF loans, the eligible 
school and the commissioner must sign a loan participation agreement that will: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2. Termination. The commissioner may terminate the agreement for participation in the SELF program with an 
eligible school upon determining: 
 
          A.   that the school is not complying with the rules in parts 4850.0010 to 4850.0024; or 
 
          B.   loans originated at the school that go into default exceed the guidelines established in the SELF Loan Opera-
tions Manual. 

Termination can also occur in accordance with the terms of the Institutional Loan Participation Agreement. 

     All obligations of the school under the agreement shall continue in full force and effect with respect to all SELF loans 
then outstanding to students of the school. The termination of an agreement with a school shall be made pursuant to part 
parts 4830.0140 and 4830.0150. 

[For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R.]
 
4850.0013  CREDIT SCORE. 

     The commissioner may establish credit score requirements if the financial strength of the loan program, or the office’s 
ability to obtain cost-effective financing options, has been affected or is anticipated to be affected by factors including 
current or projected market conditions, loan defaults, bond rating agency requirements, and credit-scoring definitions. 
The commissioner must review and adjust the credit score requirements at least every 12 months using current and pro-
jected market conditions. The required credit scores must be available to prospective borrowers on the Web site. 

 
4850.0017  REPAYMENT PROCEDURES. 

     Borrowers or cosigners shall make payments of principal and interest according to the following schedule. 

[For text of items A to E, see M.R.]
 
          F.  The commissioner shall grant forbearances in those instances when the borrower experiences hardship in 
making payments of principal and/or interest, and when the cosigner has either died, become temporarily or permanently 
disabled, or for some other reason, such as unemployment or limited fixed income, demonstrated an inability to make 
payment. Such a forbearance shall be granted upon receipt of written documentation from the borrower and the cosigner 
relating to the unemployment or similar financial hardship case and is limited to 120 days, renewable upon further docu-
mentation for another 120 days. is unable to make payment and has not exhausted the permitted number of occurrences. 
The forbearance shall be granted upon receipt of a written request from the borrower and the cosigner. The commissioner 
shall grant exceptions for obtaining signatures from both the borrower and the cosigner in certain situations, such as 
when there is no current contact information for one of the parties or there is an adversarial relationship between the 
parties. The commissioner shall set policies for the length of a permitted forbearance and the maximum number of  
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occurrences in a given loan repayment period. In setting policies, the commissioner shall take into consideration the 
financial strength of the loan program, the impact of policy changes on the office’s ability to obtain cost-effective financ-
ing options, current or projected market conditions, loan defaults, and bond rating agency requirements. 

[For text of item G, see M.R.]

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA)
Industrial Division

Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Underground Storage Tanks; DUAL NOTICE:  
Notice of Intent to Adopt Rules Without a Public Hearing Unless 25 or More Persons Request 
a Hearing, and Notice of Hearing if 25 or More Requests for Hearing Are Received; Docket 
No. 68-9003-35384; Revisor’s ID Number 4360

Proposed Amendment to Rules Governing Underground Storage Tanks, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 
7150 Underground Storage Tanks (parts 7150.0010; 7150.0030; 7150.0090; 7150.0100; 7150.0205; 7150.0215; 
7150.0216; 7150.0250; 7150.0300; 7150.0330; 7150.0340; 7150.0345; 7150.0400; 7150.0410; 7150.0430; 7150.0445; 
7150.0450; 7150.0451; and 7150.0500), and 

Repeal of Minnesota Rules, parts 7150.0010, subpart 4; 7150.0030, subparts 8, 23, 25a, 44a, and 49; 
7150.0100, subparts 10 and 12; 7150.0211; 7150.0300, subparts 2 and 7; 7150.0330, subpart 2; 7150.0410, subparts 
2 and 6; and 7150.0420 

 Plain English Summary. This notice is the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency’s (MPCA) legal notice of its 
intent to adopt amended underground storage tank rules. The purpose of these rules, known as the “UST update rules,” is 
to amend existing underground storage tank (UST) requirements to (1) align state rules with federal requirements, (2) es-
tablish stricter requirements for certain requirements outlined in the Subject of Rules section of this notice, (3) reorganize 
the requirements for improved information grouping, (4) clarify language, and (5) update requirements to reflect current 
industry standards. 

This notice provides an opportunity for public comment and input on the proposed rules. Anyone who would 
like to comment on the proposed rule language must submit written comment or a written request for a hearing on 
the proposed rules by the deadline identified below. The Subject of Rules section provides further description of these 
proposed rules. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the MPCA encourages you to participate in the rulemaking 
process.

Introduction. The Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) intends to adopt rules without a public hear-
ing following the procedures in the rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings, Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2300 
to 1400.2310, and the Administrative Procedure Act, Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.22 to 14.28. If, however, 25 or 
more persons submit a written request for a hearing on the rules by 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, October 11, 2018, one public 
hearing will be convened at 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, October 25, 2018. The hearing will continue until all parties have 
been heard or until the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) adjourns it. The public hearing will be held at the following 
locations: 

•	 MPCA Brainerd Office, 7678 College Road, Suite 105, Baxter, MN 56425
•	 MPCA Duluth Office, 525 Lake Avenue South, Suite 400, Duluth, MN 55802
•	 Marshall, 504 Fairgrounds Road, Suite 200, Marshall, MN 56258
•	 MPCA St. Paul Office, 520 Lafayette Road North, Saint Paul, MN 55155 

The MPCA will hold the hearing simultaneously at the four locations listed above via videoconference. The ALJ 
will conduct the hearing from the Saint Paul location. MPCA staff will be present at all four locations to facilitate the 
process and to ensure that all persons attending will be able to see, hear, and speak during the hearing. Directions to these 
offices can be found on the MPCA webpage at: http://www.pca.state.mn.us/iryp3e4.

To find out whether the MPCA will adopt the rules without a hearing or if it will hold the hearing, you should 

http://www.pca.state.mn.us/iryp3e4
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contact the MPCA contact person listed below after October 11, 2018, and before October 25, 2018.

Availability of Rules. A copy of the proposed rules is published in the State Register after this notice, or they 
can be viewed on the MPCA public notice webpage: https://www.pca.state.mn.us/public-notices, and on the under-
ground storage tanks rulemaking webpage:  
https://www.pca.state.mn.us/waste/underground-storage-tanks-ust-update-rulemaking. A free copy of the proposed 
rules is also available upon request by contacting Mary Blackstock  
at 651-757-2207. Only one copy will be sent per request. 

Subject of Rules. The United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) published final revisions to 
underground storage tank regulations on July 15, 2015, at Federal Register, volume 80, pages 41566-41683. Regulations 
are codified in title 40, Code of Federal Regulations, part 280 (40 CFR pt. 280). This federal action resulted in the need 
for the MPCA to revise state underground storage tank regulations to retain authority for implementing Minnesota’s 
regulatory program and to avoid the need for regulated parties to comply with separate federal and state regulations. The 
MPCA may establish requirements that are equivalent to, or more stringent than, federal requirements. Some proposed 
revisions conform to federal requirements, while others establish stricter requirements to protect human health and the 
environment. 

The MPCA is including three types of amendments in this rule revision:

1.	 Requirements equivalent to federal rules; 

2.	 Requirements exceeding federal rules; and 

3.	 Requirements that only relocate rules within the chapter, reformat rules for ease of reading, or provide simple clarifi-
cation to the content. 

The proposed amendments affect Minn. R. ch. 7150, and include requirements resulting from the final 2015 
amendment of 40 CFR pt. 280 that address:

•	 Adding periodic operation and maintenance requirements for UST systems;
•	 Removing past deferrals for emergency generator tanks, airport hydrant systems, and field constructed tanks;
•	 Adding new release prevention and detection technologies;
•	 Updating codes of practice; and
•	 Editorial and technical corrections.

The proposed amendments will also clarify how new tank technologies apply to the regulations. The MPCA is 
proposing requirements that exceed federal rules in the following parts:

•	 Part 7150.0010, subp. 7. The proposed revision is a state-only requirement to require other potentially harmful 
substances to meet the compatibility requirements under proposed part 7150.0100, subp. 9. No other Minn. R. 
ch. 7150 requirements apply to tanks storing other potentially harmful substances. 

•	 Part 7150.0090, subp. 9. The proposed revision establishes the requirement that the commissioner notify owners 
and operators of other regulated substances identified in the future that require a notice of compatibility.

•	 Part 7150.0100 subp. 9. The proposed amendments establish that if retrofit tanks are installed to meet current 
state and federal compatibility requirements, the retrofit tank must also have secondary containment. 

•	 Part 7150.0100, subp. 13. The proposed rule language now requires shear valves of double-poppet construction 
to be used for newly installed shear valves. This is more restrictive than federal requirements. 

•	 Part 7150.0205, subp. 1(C)(3)(b). The proposed revisions require that if a tank is new, replaced or retrofitted and 
is secondarily contained, the piping must also be secondarily contained. This requirement is already in effect 
under existing part 7150.0205, subp. 1(D)(3). The only addition to the existing rule is to include retrofit tanks 
because these types of systems are becoming more popular and requirements must be clarified. 

•	 Part 7150.0205, subp. 6. Establishes that submersible pump sumps installed after December 22, 2007, must be 
integrity tested upon installation. The EPA rules do not address sump testing upon installation except for sumps 
installed that are part of a double-wall piping system required to conduct interstitial monitoring. This require-
ment was added to clarify that all sumps must be integrity tested upon installation regardless of whether they 
are part of a double-wall piping system. The requirements follow industry standards referenced in the rule and 

https://www.pca.state.mn.us/public-notices
https://www.pca.state.mn.us/waste/underground-storage-tanks-ust-update-rulemaking
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manufacturers’ instructions. 

•	 The proposed amendments also indicate submersible pumps installed prior to December 22, 2007, be accessible 
for inspection and shall not be covered in soil or other obstacles that prevent visual inspections. This amend-
ment is needed to conduct appropriate visual inspections to identify substandard equipment before leaks occur. 
This amendment also follows industry standards referenced in the rule and manufacturers’ instructions.

•	 Part 7150.0205 subp. 7. This subpart previously described when underdispenser containment sumps must be 
installed. New language proposed in this section now provides clarification and the additional requirement that 
if concrete or base material under the dispenser is replaced or modified, underdispenser containment is required. 

•	 Part 7150.0205, subp. 8. The MPCA proposes to add emergency stop requirements for consistency with applica-
ble Minnesota State Fire Code requirements. 

•	 Part 7150.0215, subp. 2(C) and 3(D). Proposed amendments clarify that repairs to cathodic protection systems 
must be completed within 60 days of a failing test. New proposed language also provides clarification for ca-
thodic protection (CP) system repairs, and allowable design standards. The EPA rules do not specify CP repair 
requirements other than testing after a CP repair. The MPCA believes it is important to specify repair criteria in 
the proposed rule to ensure repairs are done consistently and to meet industry standards. The proposed amend-
ments provide clarification only and do not add any additional requirements

•	 Part 7150.0216, subp. 1(B). The MPCA is establishing the requirement that testing wastes must be disposed of 
properly and documented. 40 CFR pt. 280 does not address the issue of proper disposal of testing material, but 
the topic is addressed in applicable federal and state hazardous waste regulations. 

•	 Part 7150.0216, subp. 6. The MPCA is proposing to list the criteria of an “agency-approved tester” for the pur-
pose of determining qualifications to test and/or inspect certain tank system components regulated under Minn. 
R. ch. 7150. EPA rules reference manufacturer specifications and PEI RP 1200 as acceptable methods to con-
duct the new testing/inspections. The specifications or methods require “qualified” people to perform the work. 
EPA rules do not address “qualified” people. Thus, the MPCA added “agency-approved tester” qualifications to 
assure testing is done correctly and consistently by qualified people. 

•	 Part 7150.0250, subps. 1 and 4. The MPCA is proposing to create a new subpart under part 7150.0250 to 
address restoration and corrective actions. The MPCA has always required tank system repairs to function 
properly. This new section provides clarification and will ensure malfunctioning equipment will be addressed in 
a timely and consistent manner. 

•	 Part 7150.0300, subp. 6, items A and B. The MPCA is proposing to require antisiphoning devices on piping that 
is positioned lower than the top of the tank. 

•	 Part 7150.0340, subps. 2 and 3. The MPCA is proposing revisions that distinguish the line-leak detection re-
quirements between unattended card-lock facilities and other facilities. Proposed amendments require line-leak 
detectors at unattended card-lock facilities to alert the operator to the presence of a leak by shutting off the flow 
of regulated substance. However, line-leak detectors at other facilities can be notified by restricting or shutting 
off the flow of a regulated substance or by trigging an alarm. EPA rules do not make the same distinction in the 
rule. The MPCA determined it was important to make this clarification because unattended card-lock facilities 
can be unattended for days before an alarm or restricted product flow would be noticed. However, stopping the 
product flow can be done immediately by an automatic line-leak detector when operating properly.

•	 Part 7150.0345, subp. 1. The MPCA is proposing amendments that require investigation of suspected releases 
within 24 hours. The EPA rules allow seven days to begin an investigation or another timeframe specified by the 
implementing agency. The EPA reviewed this proposed amendment and has indicated that the 24-hour investi-
gation timeline appears acceptable.

•	 Part 7150.0410, subp. 3(D). The MPCA is proposing that when a tank is lined or retrofitted according to pro-
posed part 7150.0205, subp. 1, the original tank upon which the lining is secured is considered permanently 
closed and a site assessment must be done according to proposed part 7150.0345, subp. 3. EPA does not address 
such systems in the permanent closure section of their rules. The MPCA determined it was important to include 
retrofit tanks in the proposed rules as these types of systems are becoming more popular.

•	 Part 7150.0450. The MPCA is proposing that retention records must be kept for five years, instead of the shorter 
one or three year retention periods required by EPA for monthly walkthrough inspection records; spill, overfill, 
and containment sump testing and inspection records; tank and piping leak detection testing results; and annual 
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leak detection equipment testing and inspections.
The MPCA is repealing obsolete Minnesota Rules, parts 7150.0010, subp. 4; 7150.0030, subps. 8, 23, 25a, 44a, 

and 49; 7150.0100, subp. 10 and 12; 7150.0211; 7150.0300, subps. 2 and 7; 7150.0330, subp. 2; 7150.0410, subps. 2 and 
6; and 7150.0420. 

Statutory Authority. The statutory authority to adopt the rules is Minnesota Statutes, section 116.49, Subdivi-
sion 1.

Comments. You have until 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, October 11, 2018, to submit written comment in support 
of or in opposition to the proposed rules or any part or subpart of the rules. Your comment must be in writing and submit-
ted via the Office of Administrative Hearings Rulemaking eComments website at  
https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions or directly to the Administrative Law Judge listed in the Notice 
of Hearing section below by the due date. Comment is encouraged. Your comments should identify the portion of the 
proposed rules addressed, the reason for the comment, and any change proposed. You are encouraged to propose any 
change that you desire. Any comments that you have about the legality of the proposed rules must also be made during 
this comment period. Any questions about submitting comments via the Rulemaking eComments website should be 
directed to Katie Lin, Office of Administrative Hearings, at 651-361-7911 or katie.lin@state.mn.us. All comments re-
ceived are public and will be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings.

Request for a Hearing. In addition to submitting comments, you may also request that the MPCA hold a 
hearing on the rules. You must make your request for a public hearing in writing by 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, October 11, 
2018. Your written request must be submitted via https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions or directly to 
the Administrative Law Judge. You must include your name and address in your written request. In addition, you must 
identify the portion of the proposed rules that you object to or state that you oppose the entire set of rules. Any request 
that does not comply with these requirements is not valid and the MPCA cannot count it when determining whether it 
must hold a public hearing. You are also encouraged to state the reason for the request and any changes you want made 
to the proposed rules.

Withdrawal of Requests. If 25 or more persons submit a valid written request for a hearing, the MPCA will 
hold a public hearing unless a sufficient number of persons withdraw their requests in writing. If enough requests for 
hearing are withdrawn to reduce the number below 25, the MPCA must give written notice of this to all persons who 
requested a hearing, explain the actions the MPCA took to effect the withdrawal, and ask for written comments on this 
action. If a public hearing is required, the MPCA will follow the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 
to 14.20.

Alternative Format/Accommodation. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative 
format, such as large print, braille, or audio. To make such a request or if you need an accommodation to make this hear-
ing accessible, please contact the MPCA contact person at the address or telephone number listed below.

Modifications. The MPCA may modify the proposed rules, either as a result of public comment or as a result 
of the rule hearing process. It must support modifications by data and views submitted to the MPCA or presented at the 
hearing. The adopted rules may not be substantially different than these proposed rules unless the MPCA follows the pro-
cedure under Minnesota Rules, part 1400.2110. If the proposed rules affect you in any way, the MPCA encourages you to 
participate in the rulemaking process.

Cancellation of Hearing. The MPCA will cancel the hearing scheduled for October 25, 2018, if 25 or more 
persons do not submit a request for a hearing as required under the Request for a Hearing section above. If you request-
ed a public hearing, the MPCA will notify you before the scheduled hearing whether the hearing will be held. You may 
also call the MPCA contact person at 651-757-2527 after October 11, 2018, to find out whether the hearing will be held. 
On the scheduled day, you may check for whether the hearing will be held by calling 651-757-2527 or going on-line at 
https://www.pca.state.mn.us/waste/underground-storage-tanks-ust-update-rulemaking.

Notice of Hearing. If 25 or more persons submit valid written requests for a public hearing on the rules, the 
MPCA will hold a hearing following the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.131 to 14.20. The MPCA will 
hold the hearing on the date and at the time and place listed above. The hearing will continue until all interested persons 
have been heard. Administrative Law Judge Jeanne Cochran is assigned to conduct the hearing. Judge Cochran’s Legal 
Assistant Katie Lin  can be reached at the Office of Administrative Hearings, 600 North Robert Street, P.O. Box 64620, 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55164-0620, telephone (651) 361-7900, and fax (651) 539-0310 or katie.lin@state.mn.us.

https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions
mailto:katie.lin@state.mn.us
file:///\\pca.state.mn.us\home\SP\Letnes_Yolanda.YL\Typing\Yolanda%20Letnes\UST%20ALJ%20request%20for%20dn%20edit%20approval\%20by%204:30
https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions
https://www.pca.state.mn.us/waste/underground-storage-tanks-ust-update-rulemaking
https://www.pca.state.mn.us/waste/underground-storage-tanks-ust-update-rulemaking
mailto:katie.lin@state.mn.us
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Hearing Procedure. If the MPCA holds a hearing, you and all interested or affected persons, including repre-

sentatives of associations or other interested groups, will have an opportunity to participate. You may present your views 
either orally at the hearing or in writing at any time before the hearing record closes. All evidence presented should 
relate to the proposed rules. You may also submit written material to the Administrative Law Judge to be recorded in the 
hearing record for five working days after the public hearing ends. At the hearing the Administrative Law Judge may 
order that this five-day comment period is extended for a longer period but not more than 20 calendar days. Following 
the comment period, there is a five-working-day rebuttal period when the MPCA and any interested person may respond 
in writing to any new information submitted. No one may submit new evidence during the five-day rebuttal period. The 
Office of Administrative Hearings must receive all comments and responses submitted to the Administrative Law Judge 
or via the Office of Administrative Hearings Rulemaking eComments website at  
https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions  no later than 4:30 p.m. on the due date. All comments or respons-
es received will be available for review at the Office of Administrative Hearings Rulemaking eComments website. 
This rule hearing procedure is governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 1400.2000 to 1400.2240, and Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 14.131 to 14.20. You may direct questions about the procedure to the Administrative Law Judge.

Statement of Need and Reasonableness. The statement of need and reasonableness (SONAR) contains a sum-
mary of the justification for the proposed rules, including a description of who will be affected by the proposed rules and 
an estimate of the probable cost of the proposed rules. A print copy is available for the cost of reproduction by contacting 
the MPCA contact person identified below. The MPCA posted the SONAR on its public notice webpage at:  
https://www.pca.state.mn.us/public-notices, and the underground storage tanks rulemaking webpage at:  
https://www.pca.state.mn.us/waste/underground-storage-tanks-ust-update-rulemaking.

Adoption Procedure if No Hearing. If no hearing is required, the MPCA may adopt the rules after the end of 
the comment period. The MPCA will submit the rules and supporting documents to the Office of Administrative Hear-
ings for a legal review. You may ask to be notified of the date the rules are submitted to the office. If you want either to 
receive notice of this, to receive a copy of the adopted rules, or to register with the MPCA to receive notice of future rule 
proceedings, submit your request to the MPCA contact person listed below.

MPCA Contact Person. The MPCA contact person is Yolanda Letnes at 520 Lafayette Road North, St. Paul, 
Minnesota 55155, telephone 651-757-2527, toll free 1-800-657-3864 or email yolanda.letnes@state.mn.us. TTY users 
may use their preferred telecommunications relay service. 

Adoption Procedure after a Hearing. If a hearing is held, after the close of the hearing record, the Adminis-
trative Law Judge will issue a report on the proposed rules. You may ask to be notified of the date that the Administrative 
Law Judge’s report will become available, and can make this request at the hearing or in writing to the Administrative 
Law Judge. You may also ask to be notified of the date that the MPCA adopts the rules and the rules are filed with the 
Secretary of State by requesting this at the hearing or by writing to the MPCA contact person stated above.

Lobbyist Registration. Minnesota Statutes, chapter 10A, requires each lobbyist to register with the State 
Campaign Finance and Public Disclosure Board. Ask any questions about this requirement of the Campaign Finance and 
Public Disclosure Board at: Suite #190, Centennial Building, 658 Cedar Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55155, telephone 
(651) 539-1180 or 1-800-657-3889.

Order. I order that the rulemaking hearing be held at the date, time, and location listed above.

Date: 8/9/18

John Linc Stine, Commissioner
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

https://minnesotaoah.granicusideas.com/discussions
https://www.pca.state.mn.us/public-notices
https://www.pca.state.mn.us/waste/underground-storage-tanks-ust-update-rulemaking
mailto:yolanda.letnes@state.mn.us
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7150.0010  APPLICABILITY.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2. Exclusions. The following underground storage tank UST systems are excluded from the requirements of 
this chapter: 
 
          A.  an underground storage tank a UST system holding:  
 
               (1)   hazardous wastes listed or identified under:  
 
                    (a)   chapter 7045 or;  
 
                    (b)   Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 261,; or 
 
                    (c) subtitle C of the Solid Waste Disposal Act, United States Code, title 42, section 6921 et seq.; or  
 
               (2)   a mixture of such hazardous waste and other regulated substances; 
 
          B.  a wastewater treatment tank system that is part of a wastewater treatment facility regulated under United States 
Code, title 33, section 1317 or 1342 section 307(b) or 402 of the federal Clean Water Act; 

[For text of items C to J, see M.R.]
 
          K.  a surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon used for storing storm water, wastewater, or animal waste; 

[For text of items L and M, see M.R.]
 
          N.  a storage tank situated in an underground area such as a basement, cellar, mineworking, drift, shaft, or tunnel if 
the storage tank is located upon or above the surface of the floor; and 
 
          O.  an oil-water separator;. 
 
          P.  underground storage tank systems containing radioactive material that are regulated under the Atomic Energy 
Act of 1954, United States Code, title 42, sections 2011 to 2296; 
 
          Q.  an underground storage tank system that is part of an emergency generator system at nuclear power generation 
facilities regulated by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission under Code of Federal Regulations, title 10, part 50, Appen-
dix A; and 
 
          R.  airport hydrant fuel distribution systems. 
 
     Subp. 3.  [Repealed, 32 SR 1751] 
 
     Subp. 4.  [See repealer.] 
 
     Subp. 5. Heating oil tanks. Parts 7150.0010; 7150.0030; 7150.0090, subparts 1, 2, 4, and 6, and 7; 7150.0100, 
subparts 7, and 9, and 10; and 7150.0205, subparts 1 to 4,; 7150.0250, subpart 2; and 7150.0345, subpart 2, apply to an 
underground storage tank a UST system of over 1,100 gallons capacity used exclusively for storing heating oil for con-
sumptive use on the premises where stored. 
 
     Subp. 6. Partially excluded tank systems. Parts 7150.0010, 7150.0030, and 7150.0090, subpart 2, apply to items A 
to D. Parts 7150.0100, subpart 9, and 7150.0205, subparts 1, item B; 2; 3, item B; and 4, apply to items A, C, and D: 
 
          A.   wastewater treatment tanks not regulated under section 307(b) or 402 of the federal Clean Water Act; 
 
          B.   aboveground storage tanks associated with: 
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               (1)   airport hydrant fuel distribution systems regulated under part 7150.0451; and 
 
               (2)   underground storage tanks with field-constructed tanks regulated under part 7150.0451; 
 
          C.   UST systems containing radioactive material regulated under the federal Atomic Energy Act of 1954, United 
States Code, title 42, sections 2011 to 2296; and 
 
          D.   a UST system that is part of an emergency-generator system at facilities that generate nuclear power and are 
licensed by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission and subject to Nuclear Regulatory Commission requirements regarding 
design and quality criteria under Code of Federal Regulations, title 10, part 50. 
 
     Subp. 7. Other potentially harmful substances. Part 7150.0100, subpart 9, applies to underground storage tanks 
storing other potentially harmful substances. 
 
7150.0030  DEFINITIONS. 
 
     Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter, the following terms and abbreviations in this part have the mean-
ings given them. Terms that are not specifically defined have the meanings given them in Minnesota Statutes, sections 
115.01, 115C.02, and 116.46. 
 
     Subp. 2. Agency. “Agency” means the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency or, if a regulated substance is released or 
spilled, the Minnesota duty officer pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 115E.09. 
 
     Subp. 2a. Agency-approved tester. “Agency-approved tester” means a person approved by the commissioner to 
inspect and test components of a UST system according to part 7150.0216, subpart 6, item A. 
 
     Subp. 2b. Airport hydrant fuel distribution system. “Airport hydrant fuel distribution system,” also called an air-
port hydrant system, means a UST system that fuels aircraft and operates under high pressure with large diameter piping 
that typically terminates into one or more hydrants or fill stands with fueling points. 
 
     Subp. 3. Appurtenances. “Appurtenances” means devices components of a UST system such as piping, fittings, 
flanges, valves, dispensers, and pumps used to distribute, meter, or control the flow of regulated substances to or from an 
underground storage tank. 
 
     Subp. 4. Beneath the surface of the ground. “Beneath the surface of the ground” means beneath the ground below 
the surface of the ground, concrete, or asphalt or otherwise covered with earthen materials. 
 
     Subp. 4a. Business hours. “Business hours” means a minimum of six hours each day, Monday through Friday, ex-
cluding holidays, during which business is conducted. 
 
     Subp. 5. Cathodic protection. “Cathodic protection” means using a technique to prevent corrosion of a metal surface 
by making that surface the cathode of an electrochemical cell. For example, a tank UST system can be cathodically pro-
tected through the application of either galvanic sacrificial anodes or impressed current. 
 
     Subp. 6. Cathodic protection Cathodic-protection tester. “Cathodic protection Cathodic-protection tester” means 
a person who has demonstrated an understanding of the principles and measurements of all common types of cathodic 
protection cathodic-protection systems as applied to buried or submerged metal piping and tank UST systems, by passing 
a test on cathodic protection test given by the National Association of Corrosion Engineers NACE International or the 
Steel Tank Institute. Such persons The person must also have education and experience in soil resistivity, stray current, 
structure-to-soil potential, and component electrical isolation measurements of buried metal piping and tank UST sys-
tems. 

[For text of subp 7, see M.R.]
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     Subp. 8.  [See repealer.] 
 
     Subp. 8a. Class A operator. “Class A operator” means an individual who has primary responsibility to operate and 
maintain the UST system. 
 
     Subp. 8b. Class B operator. “Class B operator” means an individual who has daily responsibility to operate and 
maintain the UST system. 
 
     Subp. 8c. Class C operator. “Class C operator” means an individual who has daily on-site presence and responsibili-
ty to handle emergencies and alarms pertaining to a spill or release from the UST system. 

[For text of subps 9 and 10, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 11. Connected piping. “Connected piping” means underground piping including valves, elbows, joints, flang-
es, and flexible connectors attached to a tank UST system through which regulated substances flow. For the purpose of 
determining how much piping is connected to an individual underground storage tank UST system, the piping that joins 
two underground storage tank UST systems is allocated equally between them. 

[For text of subp 12, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 12a. Containment sump. “Containment sump” means a single- or double-walled liquid-tight container that: 
 
          A.   protects the environment by containing leaks and spills of regulated substances from piping, dispensers, 
pumps, and related components in the containment area; and 
 
          B.   is located at the top of the tank, such as tank top or submersible turbine pump sumps; underneath the dispens-
er, such as underdispenser containment sumps; or at other points in the piping run, such as transition or intermediate 
sumps. 

[For text of subps 13 to 15, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 16. Excavation zone. “Excavation zone” means the volume containing the tank UST system and backfill mate-
rial bounded by the ground surface, walls, and floor of the pit and trenches into which the underground storage tank UST 
system is placed at the time of installation. 

[For text of subps 17 and 18, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 18a. Field-constructed tank. “Field-constructed tank” means a tank that is built or assembled at the tank site, 
but does not include a tank with a lining. 

[For text of subps 19 to 21, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 22. Hazardous material substance.  
 
          A.   “Hazardous material substance” means: 
 
          A.   
 
               (1)   a substance listed in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 302, including petroleum constituents 
under subpart 36, item C, but not including: 
 
               (1)  
 
                    (a)   a hazardous waste listed or identified under chapter 7045 or Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 
261, and subtitle C of the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA); or 
 
               (2)  
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                    (b)   petroleum under subpart 36, item A, B, or D; or 
 
               (3)  a substance that is not liquid at a temperature of 60 degrees Fahrenheit and pressure of 14.7 pounds per 
square inch absolute; or 
 
          B.   
 
               (2)   any mixture of substances identified in item A subitem (1) and petroleum, unless the amount of the sub-
stance identified in item A subitem (1) is de minimis. 
 
          B.   Substances identified in items item A and B which that also meet the definition of petroleum are considered 
hazardous materials substances. 
 
     Subp. 23.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subps 24 and 25, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 25a.  [See repealer.] 
 
     Subp. 25b. Impressed current or impressed-current system. “Impressed current” or “impressed-current system” 
means a method of corrosion protection that generates a cathodic current from a power source, such as a rectifier that 
converts alternating current to direct current, where the cathodic current flows from the anodes through the soil to the 
UST system and returns to the power source through an insulated wire attached to the UST system. 
 
     Subp. 25c. Leak. “Leak” means discharge of a regulated substance or any other potentially harmful substance from a 
point in a UST system that is not intended to be a discharge or dispensing point. A leak that reaches the environment is a 
release. 
 
     Subp. 25d. Leak detection. “Leak detection” has the meaning given under subpart 42. 
 
     Subp. 25e. Lessee. “Lessee” means a person that leases a UST system. A lessee is also an operator if the lessee is in 
control of the daily operation of the UST system. 
 
     Subp. 25f. Lining or internal lining. “Lining” or “internal lining” means a coating of noncorrosive material bonded 
to the interior surface of a tank. 
 
     Subp. 25g. Liquid tight. “Liquid tight” means that liquid is not able to leak from a component of a UST system and 
that subsurface water is not able to infiltrate a tank, pipe, or secondary-containment area. 

[For text of subp 26, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 27. Motor fuel. “Motor fuel” means petroleum or a petroleum-based substance that is motor gasoline, avia-
tion gasoline, No. 1 or 2 diesel fuel, biodiesel, or any grade of gasohol, and is typically used in the operation of a motor 
engine a complex blend of hydrocarbons used to operate a motor engine, such as motor gasoline, aviation gasoline, No. 1 
or No. 2 diesel fuel, or a blend containing one or more of these substances. 

[For text of subps 28 and 29, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 29a. Noncorrodible material. “Noncorrodible material” means a synthetic or processed material that is 
certified for use in UST systems and compatible with the substance being stored in a UST system and the surrounding 
environment. 

[For text of subp 30, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 31. Operational life. “Operational life” means the period beginning when installation of the tank UST system 
has begun until the time the tank UST system is permanently closed under part 7150.0410. 
 
     Subp. 32. Operator.  
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          A.   “Operator” means a person who: 
 
               (1)   a person in has control of or having responsibility for the daily operation of the underground storage tank 
UST system or a person who was in; 
 
               (2)   had control of or had responsibility for the daily operation of the tank immediately before discontinuation 
of its the tank’s use. Operator also means; 
 
               (3)   a person who is responsible under Minnesota Statutes, section 115C.021, for a release from an under-
ground storage tank containing petroleum,; or 
 
               (4)   a person who is responsible under Minnesota Statutes, section 115B.03, for a release from an underground 
storage tank containing a hazardous material substance. 
 
          B.   Operator does not include a person who operates a tank if the tank is not regulated by this chapter. 
 
     Subp. 32a. Other potentially harmful substances. “Other potentially harmful substances” means substances that are 
not regulated substances when used as intended by the manufacturer but that may cause harm to human health and the 
environment if released from a leaking UST system because of the volume and nature of the release. Other potentially 
harmful substances does not include: 
 
          A.   petroleum substances under standard temperature and pressure; or 
 
          B.   hazardous substances. 
 
     Subp. 32b. Out of service. “Out of service” means the status of a UST system from which a regulated substance is 
not or has not been introduced or dispensed, pending a decision or action to close the UST system or begin reusing the 
UST system. 

[For text of subp 33, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 34. Owner.  
 
          A.   “Owner” means a person who: 
 
               (1)   holds title to, controls, or possesses an interest in an underground storage tank, and a person who;  
 
               (2)   held title to, controlled, or possessed an interest in the tank immediately before discontinuation of its the 
tank’s use. Owner also means a person who; 
 
               (3)   is responsible under Minnesota Statutes, section 115C.021, for a release from an underground storage tank 
containing petroleum, or a person who; or  
 
               (4)   is responsible under Minnesota Statutes, section 115B.03, for a release from an underground storage tank 
containing a hazardous material substance. 
 
          B.   Owner does not include a person who: 
 
               (1)   owns a tank if the tank is not regulated by this chapter and does not include a person who; or  
 
               (2)   holds an interest in a tank solely for financial security, unless through foreclosure or other related actions 
the holder of a security interest has taken possession of the tank. 
 
     Subp. 34a. Permanent closure. “Permanent closure” means permanently taking a UST system out of service by 
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either closing it in place or removing it from the ground. 

[For text of subp 35, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 36. Petroleum. “Petroleum” means one of the following substances: 

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]
 
          D.  petroleum-based substances that are comprised of a complex blend of hydrocarbons derived from crude oil 
through processes of separation, conversion, upgrading, and finishing, such as motor fuels, jet fuels, distillate fuel oils, 
residual fuel oils, lubricants, and used oils. 
 
     Subp. 37. Petroleum underground storage tank UST system. “Petroleum underground storage tank UST system” 
means an underground storage tank a UST system that is used to contain petroleum or a mixture of petroleum with de 
minimis quantities of hazardous materials substances. 
 
     Subp. 38. Pipe or piping. “Pipe” or “piping” means a hollow cylinder or tubular conduit for conveying a regulated 
substance from one point to another within an underground storage tank a UST system that is made of nonearthen mate-
rials. 
 
     Subp. 38a. Piping system. “Piping system” means piping, secondary containment, leak-detection devices, tubing, 
flanges, gaskets, valves, fittings, flexible connectors, and other pipe appurtenances that mix, separate, distribute, meter, 
or control flow and any core components that allow the piping system to function as intended and in accordance with 
installation requirements. Piping system includes: 
 
          A.   a pipe run, which is the portion of the pipe from the submersible pump to the furthest dispenser, or in the case 
of suction piping, from the top of the tank to the furthest dispenser, or in cases where piping enters a building, the first 
pipe joint inside the building. UST systems may have multiple pipe runs; 
 
          B.   a pipe segment, which is the portion of pipe between components in a pipe run, such as from the pump to a 
dispenser or between two dispensers; and 
 
          C.   a pipe section, which is the portion of a pipe segment that is limited to ten feet in length. 

[For text of subp 39, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 39a. Product. “Product” means a regulated substance. 
 
     Subp. 40. Regulated substance. “Regulated substance” means a hazardous material substance or petroleum. 
 
     Subp. 41. Release. “Release” means a spilling, leaking, emitting, discharging, escaping, leaching, or disposing from 
an underground storage tank a UST system into the environment including spills associated with overfills and transfer 
operations as the regulated substance moves to or from an underground storage tank a UST system. “Release” does not 
include discharges or designed venting allowed under agency rules. 
 
     Subp. 42. Release detection or leak detection. “Release detection” or “leak detection” means determining whether a 
release of a regulated substance has occurred from the underground storage tank UST system:  
 
          A.   into the environment; or  
 
          B.   into the interstitial space between the underground storage tank UST system and its secondary barrier or be-
tween the UST system and its secondary containment around it. 
 
     Subp. 43. Repair. “Repair” means the correction or restoration to operating condition of an underground storage 
tank or appurtenance to correct or restore a component of a UST system to the component’s original design function or 
operating condition.  
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          A.   “Piping repair” includes installation of installing a single run section of up to ten feet of new piping to replace 
existing piping. Piping repair involving installation of a single run of more than ten feet of new piping to replace existing 
piping constitutes replacement.  
 
          B.   “Dispenser repair” includes installation of installing a new dispenser to replace an existing dispenser so long 
as if work is performed entirely on or above any shear valves and check valves. Installation of a new dispenser to replace 
an existing dispenser constitutes replacement if the work is performed beneath any shear valves or check valves or on 
any flexible connectors or unburied risers. 
 
          C.   “Tank repair” includes repairing a tank lining, patching or coating damaged areas, and repairing or replacing 
corrosion protection. 
 
     Subp. 43a. Replace or replacement. “Replace” or “replacement” means the installation of to install a new under-
ground storage tank or appurtenance component for a UST system in substantially the same location as another tank or 
appurtenance component of a UST system in lieu of that tank or appurtenance, not including installation of new piping in 
connection with certain repairs as described in subpart 43. component. Replacement includes: 
 
          A.   piping repair to install a single piping segment or an accumulation of piping segments of more than ten feet of 
new piping to replace existing piping; 
 
          B.   installing a new dispenser if work is performed beneath any shear valve or check valve or on any flexible 
connector or unburied riser; and 
 
          C.   installing a replacement submersible pump that involves removing the pump head from the riser. 
 
     Subp. 43b. Retrofit tank. “Retrofit tank” means a new tank installed in an existing host tank as an internal lining 
according to part 7150.0205, subpart 1. 

[For text of subp 44, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 44a.  [See repealer.] 
 
     Subp. 44b. Sacrificial-anode system. “Sacrificial-anode system” means a cathodic-protection system that uses zinc, 
magnesium, or other anodic metals buried near and connected to the metal surface that is being protected. 
 
     Subp. 44c. Secondary containment or secondarily contained. “Secondary containment” or “secondarily contained” 
means a release-prevention and release-detection system that is used for a UST system and that has an inner and outer 
barrier with an interstitial space that is monitored for leaks. 

[For text of subp 45, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 45a. Spill bucket. “Spill bucket” means a containment structure designed to capture releases that may occur in 
the UST fill port when a regulated substance is transferred. “Spill containment,” “spill container,” and “spill catchment 
basin” have the same meaning as spill bucket. 

[For text of subp 46, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 46a. Sump. “Sump” means an area belowground that is designed to provide access to components of a UST 
system such as pumps, valves, piping, and fittings. Sump includes a dirt sump, an uncontained sump, and a containment 
sump. 

[For text of subps 47 and 48, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 49.  [See repealer.] 
 
     Subp. 49a. Unattended card-lock facility. “Unattended card-lock facility” means a facility where dispensing a regu-
lated substance during business hours is mechanically or electronically controlled without the constant on-site presence 
of a class A, B, or C operator. 



224Page Minnesota State Register, Monday 27 August 2018 (Cite 43 SR 224)

Proposed Rules
 
     Subp. 50. Underground area. “Underground area” means an underground room such as a basement, cellar, shaft, or 
vault providing enough space for physical inspection of the entire exterior of the tank or the tank’s secondary contain-
ment, situated on or above the surface of the floor. 
 
     Subp. 50a. Underground storage tank or UST. “Underground storage tank” or “UST” means any one or combina-
tion of tanks, vessels, enclosures, structures, or internal linings that is used to contain an accumulation of regulated sub-
stances or other potentially harmful substances when the combined volume, including the volume of connected pipes, is 
ten percent or more beneath the surface of the ground. An underground storage tank does not include any tank described 
in part 7150.0010, subpart 2. 
 
     Subp. 51. Underground storage tank or underground storage tank storage-tank system or UST system.  
 
          A.   “Underground storage tank” or “underground storage tank storage-tank system” or “UST system” means any 
one or combination of containers including tanks, vessels, enclosures, or structures and underground appurtenances 
connected to them that is used to contain or dispense an accumulation of regulated substances, and the volume of which, 
including the volume of underground pipes connected to them, is ten percent or more beneath the surface of the ground. 
This term an underground storage tank and any underground piping or equipment connected to an underground storage 
tank that is used to: 
 
               (1)   dispense a regulated substance or other potentially harmful substance; 
 
               (2)   provide for safe operation of the tank, piping, or appurtenances; or 
 
               (3)   detect and prevent a release to the environment. 
 
          B.   UST system does not include any tank or tanks, pipes, or appurtenances connected to a tank described in part 
7150.0010, subpart 2. 
 
     Subp. 51a. Unusual operating condition. “Unusual operating condition” means: 
 
          A.   a condition, equipment deficiency, or occurrence that: 
 
               (1)   results in a release of a regulated substance; 
 
               (2)   indicates the possibility of a leak from a UST system; 
 
               (3)   creates a reasonable expectation that a leak from a UST system is probable; or 
 
               (4)   may cause an undetected leak; 
 
          B.   an unexplained presence of water in the tank; or 
 
          C.   liquid in the interstitial space of secondary-containment systems. 

[For text of subps 52 and 53, see M.R.]
 
7150.0090  NOTIFICATION AND CERTIFICATION. 
 
     Subpart 1. Prenotification. At least ten days before beginning any of the following activities, owners and operators 
must notify the commissioner agency in the manner prescribed by the commissioner of their intent to perform the activi-
ty: 
 
          A.  installation or, replacement, or repair of an underground storage tank a UST system, including tanks, piping, or 
dispensers linings, containment sumps, and corrosion protection systems, but excluding dispensers and exposed  
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components below grade that can be visually inspected; 

[For text of items B and C, see M.R.]
 
          D.  inspection of a lining on an internally lined tank. 
 
     Subp. 2. Notification of installation, replacement, or change in status. An owner or operator Owners and operators 
who brings an underground storage tank bring a UST system, including tanks, piping, or dispensers, or components such 
as tanks, retrofit tanks, piping, or dispensers into use or makes make a change in status must, within 30 days of bringing 
such tank the UST system into use or making a change in status, submit to the agency, in the manner prescribed by the 
commissioner, a notice of the existence of such tank the UST system or type of change in status, including the informa-
tion required by Minnesota Statutes, section 116.48, subdivisions 1 and 3. 
 
     Subp. 3. Certification by owners and operators. Owners and operators of new and replacement underground storage 
tank UST systems, including tanks, retrofit tanks, piping, and dispensers, must sign and certify in the notification form 
compliance with the following requirements: 

[For text of item A, see M.R.]
 
          B.  financial responsibility under Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 280, subpart H; and 
 
          C.  release detection according to parts 7150.0300 to 7150.0340.; and 
 
          D.   corrosion protection according to part 7150.0215. 
 
     Subp. 4. Certification by installers. Owners and operators of new and replacement underground storage tank UST 
systems, including tanks, retrofit tanks, piping, or dispensers, must ensure that the installer signs and certifies in the 
notification form that: 
 
          A.  all work was performed as specified by the manufacturer’s instructions; 
 
          B.  all work was performed according to the applicable codes of practice in part parts 7150.0205 and 7150.0500; 

[For text of items C and D, see M.R.]
[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M.R.]

 
     Subp. 7. Notification of tank purchase. A person who purchases property that the purchaser knows contains an un-
derground storage tank a UST system must notify the commissioner agency within 30 days after closing the transaction, 
pursuant to subpart 2. The notification shall must include the change in ownership and verify that all operators, including 
lessees, have read this chapter and have sufficient knowledge in the operation and maintenance of underground storage 
tank UST systems. 
 
     Subp. 8. Notification of compatibility. Owners and operators of a UST system must notify the agency at least 30 
days before storing a regulated substance containing more than ten percent ethanol, more than 20 percent biodiesel, or 
any other regulated substance identified by the commissioner as a substance that could degrade components of a UST 
system. Owners and operators must demonstrate to the commissioner that the components of the UST system are com-
patible with the product being stored in accordance with part 7150.0100, subpart 9. 
 
     Subp. 9. Notification of other regulated substances. The commissioner must notify owners and operators in writing 
or electronically if the commissioner identifies any other regulated substances that require notice of compatibility under 
subpart 8. 
 
7150.0100  PERFORMANCE STANDARDS FOR UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK UST SYSTEMS.

[For text of subps 1 to 6, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 7. Installation. Owners and operators must ensure that the person installing UST systems or components has 
been certified under chapter 7105. All underground storage tank UST systems must be properly installed according to the 
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manufacturer’s instructions and one of the following codes of practice developed by a nationally recognized association 
or independent testing laboratory. The codes are incorporated by reference under part 7150.0500: 
 
          A.  American Petroleum Institute, Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage Systems, API 1615 (1996); 
 
          B.  Petroleum Equipment Institute, Recommended Practices for Installation of Underground Liquid Storage 
Systems, RP100 (2005); 
 
          C.  American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Process Piping, B31.3 (2005); or 
 
          D.  American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Pipeline Transportation Systems for Liquid Hydrocarbons and 
Other Liquids, B31.4 (2006). 
 
          A.   American Petroleum Institute, Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage Systems, API RP 1615; 
 
          B.   National Fire Protection Association: 
 
               (1)   Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code, NFPA 30; and 
 
               (2)   Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities and Repair Garages, NFPA 30A; and 
 
          C.   Petroleum Equipment Institute: 
 
               (1)   Recommended Practices for the Installation of Marina Fueling Systems, PEI/RP1000-14; and 
 
               (2)   Recommended Practices for Installation of Underground Liquid Storage Systems, PEI/RP100-11. 
 
     Subp. 8.  [Repealed, 32 SR 1751] 
 
     Subp. 9. Compatibility.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators must use underground storage tank UST systems, spill catchment basins, submersible 
pump sumps, and dispenser sumps made of or lined with materials that are compatible with the substance stored in the 
underground storage tank UST system. Owners and operators storing alcohol blends may use the following guidance to 
comply with the requirements of this part: American Petroleum Institute, Storing and Handling Ethanol and Gaso-
line-Ethanol Blends at Distribution Terminals and Service Stations, API 1626 (1985). The document is incorporated by 
reference under part 7150.0500. Owners and operators storing a regulated substance containing more than ten percent 
ethanol, more than 20 percent biodiesel, or any other substance identified by the commissioner that could degrade 
components of a UST system must also comply with item B, if applicable, and item C or D. 
 
          B.   Owners and operators must provide secondary containment for tanks retrofitted after the effective date of this 
part according to part 7150.0205, subpart 1. 
 
          C.   Owners and operators must demonstrate compatibility of the UST system by showing: 
 
               (1)   the equipment or component used in the UST system is certified or listed by an independent testing 
laboratory for use with the regulated substance; or 
 
               (2)   the equipment’s or component’s manufacturer has issued a written affirmative statement of compatibility, 
specifying the range of biofuel blends the equipment or component is compatible with. 
 
          D.   Owners and operators may demonstrate compatibility other than as specified in item C if they: 
 
               (1)   provide information to the commissioner demonstrating the alternative option is no less protective of 
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human health and the environment than the options in item C to ensure that the UST system is not degrading and will not 
degrade; and 
 
               (2)   obtain the commissioner’s prior written approval of the alternative option. 
 
          E.   When considering an alternative option under item D, the commissioner must consider the type of substance 
and concentration of the substance that can be safely stored as part of the alternative option. If the commissioner ap-
proves the alternative option, owners and operators must comply with any conditions imposed by the commissioner to 
ensure human health and the environment are protected. 
 
     Subp. 10.  [See repealer.] 
 
     Subp. 11. Spill and overfill release prevention. 
 
          A.  Owners and operators must ensure that releases due to spilling or overfilling do not occur. The owner or 
operator must ensure that the volume available in the tank is greater than the volume of product to be transferred to the 
tank before the transfer is made and that the transfer operation is monitored constantly to prevent overfilling and spilling. 
One of the following codes of practice developed by a nationally recognized association or independent testing laborato-
ry must be used to comply with this subpart. The codes are incorporated by reference under part 7150.0500: 
 
               (1)  National Fire Protection Association, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code, NFPA 30 (2003); 
 
               (2)  National Fire Protection Association, Standard for Tank Vehicles for Flammable and Combustible Liquids, 
NFPA 385 (2007); or 
 
               (3)  American Petroleum Institute, Bulk Liquid Stock Control at Retail Outlets, API 1621 (1987). 
 
               (1)   American Petroleum Institute, Bulk Liquid Stock Control at Retail Outlets, API RP 1621; 
 
               (2)   American Petroleum Institute, Loading and Unloading of MC 306/DOT 406 Cargo Tank Motor Vehicles, 
API RP 1007; and 
 
               (3)   National Fire Protection Association, Standard for Tank Vehicles for Flammable and Combustible Liquids, 
NFPA 385. 
 
          B.  The owner and operator Owners and operators must report, investigate, and clean up any spills and overfills 
according to Minnesota Statutes, section 115.061. 
 
     Subp. 12.  [See repealer.] 
 
     Subp. 12a. Containment sumps and spill buckets. Owners and operators must ensure that containment sumps used 
for interstitial monitoring and spill buckets are liquid tight to prevent releases of regulated substances to the environment. 
 
     Subp. 13. Shear valves. Owners and operators must ensure all shear valves shall be are securely anchored and 
installed according to manufacturer recommendations and industry standards. Shear valves installed or repaired after the 
effective date of this part must be of a double-poppet design that prevents release of fuel from both sides of the shear 
valve if the shear valve breaks at the shear point. 
 
     Subp. 14. Drop tubes. Owners and operators must ensure that all underground storage tanks shall have a drop tube 
that extends to within six inches of the tank bottom. 
 
7150.0205  DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION. 
 
     Subpart 1. Tanks. Each tank must be properly designed and constructed and any part underground that routinely 
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contains product must be protected from corrosion using one of the following methods, except that all hazardous 
materials tanks and all tanks, other than heating oil tanks, installed or replaced after December 22, 2007, must comply 
with item D. The corrosion protection methods must be in accordance with one of the codes of practice in subpart 2 
developed by a nationally recognized association or independent testing laboratory. 
 
          A.   Tanks that do not meet the requirements of this subpart must be permanently closed according to part 
7150.0410. 
 
          A.  The tank is constructed of fiberglass-reinforced plastic. 
 
          B.  The tank is constructed of steel and cathodically protected in the following manner: 
 
               (1)  the tank is coated with a suitable dielectric material; 
 
               (2)  field-installed cathodic protection systems are designed by a corrosion expert; 
 
               (3)  impressed current systems are designed to allow determination of current operating status as required in 
part 7150.0215, subpart 3, item A; and 
 
               (4)  cathodic protection systems are operated and maintained according to part 7150.0215. 
 
          C.  The tank is constructed of a steel and fiberglass-reinforced plastic composite. 
 
          D.  The tank is secondarily contained.  
 
               (1)  Secondary containment tanks shall use one of the following designs: 
 
                    (a)  the tank is of double-walled fiberglass-reinforced plastic construction; 
 
                    (b)  the tank is of double-walled steel construction, with cathodic protection of the outer wall meeting the 
requirements of item B; 
 
                    (c)  the tank is of double-walled steel construction with a fiberglass-reinforced plastic jacket; or 
 
                    (d)  the tank is of single-walled steel construction with a fiberglass-reinforced plastic jacket, which is 
designed to contain and detect a leak through the steel wall. 
 
               (2)  All secondary containment tanks shall be capable of containing a release from the inner wall of the tank and 
shall be designed with release detection according to part 7150.0330, subpart 6. 
 
               (3)  If a tank is replaced in accordance with this item, all piping appurtenant to the tank shall comply with 
subpart 3, item D. 
 
          E.  The tank is internally lined. 
 
               (1)  A tank with an internal lining as the sole method of corrosion protection shall be internally inspected and 
evaluated within ten years after lining, and every five years thereafter, and found to be structurally sound with the lining 
still performing according to original design specifications, as follows: 
 
                    (a)  internal inspections and evaluations shall be conducted in accordance with American Petroleum Insti-
tute, Interior Lining and Periodic Inspection of Underground Storage Tanks, API 1631 (2001), incorporated by reference 
under part 7150.0500; 
 
                    (b)  lining inspectors shall be approved by the manufacturer of the lining, if an approval process exists, or 
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shall be qualified by reason of training and experience in the application and inspection of type of internal lining to be 
inspected; 
 
                    (c)  the owner, operator, or lining inspector shall notify the commissioner at least ten days prior to perform-
ing an inspection according to part 7150.0090, subpart 1; 
 
                    (d)  inspections shall include thorough cleaning of the lining; visual inspection of the lining for cracking, 
blistering, perforation, disbonding, and excessive wear; ultrasonic thickness testing (steel tanks only); holiday (spark) 
testing for lining continuity; lining thickness measurement; lining hardness testing; and representative photographs of 
internal surfaces; 
 
                    (e)  inspections shall be primarily by manned entry. Video camera observation alone is not allowed; 
 
                    (f)  minor abnormal conditions of the lining, such as short cracks or localized disbonding, may be repaired, 
so long as the conditions do not constitute more than five percent of the lining surface area and the repairs will return the 
lining to substantially the original design specifications; 
 
                    (g)  if a repair to the tank or to the internal lining as allowed under unit (f) is performed, the tank must pass a 
tightness test at a 0.1 gallon per hour leak rate using equipment for automatic tank gauging or another test method, prior 
to or within 30 days after returning the tank to service; 
 
                    (h)  a written inspection report shall be produced that describes the results of all tests and evaluations 
required by unit (d), and the results of tightness testing under unit (g). The report shall identify any abnormal conditions 
found during the inspection and the measures taken to correct the conditions. The inspector shall certify in the report that, 
in the professional judgment of the inspector, the tank is structurally sound, the lining is performing according to original 
design specifications, and the tank and lining will maintain their integrity for at least five years under the anticipated 
conditions of use; and 
 
                    (i)  the inspection report under unit (h) shall be submitted to the commissioner within 60 days of the internal 
inspection. 
 
               (2)  A tank with an internal lining as the sole method of corrosion protection shall be permanently closed and 
site assessment completed according to parts 7150.0410 and 7150.0420 if at any time the lining is found to have failed. 
Lining failure is defined as any abnormal conditions other than minor abnormal conditions described in subitem (1), unit 
(f). The lining may not be replaced, nor may such a tank be upgraded with cathodic protection or another corrosion 
protection method to meet the requirements of this subpart. 
 
          F.  The tank construction and corrosion protection are determined by the commissioner to be designed to prevent 
the release or threatened release of a stored, regulated substance in a manner that is no less protective of human health 
and the environment than items A to E. The commissioner’s determination under this item must be obtained in writing 
and the owners and operators must keep the determination for the life of the tank. 
 
          B.   Owners and operators must ensure that any underground part of a tank that routinely contains product is 
properly designed, constructed, and protected from corrosion using one of the methods under this item. The tank must 
be: 
 
               (1)   constructed of fiber-reinforced plastic, including: 
 
                    (a)   a costructural retrofit tank, with cathodic protection on corrodible structural supports; or 
 
                    (b)   a self-structural retrofit tank; 
 
               (2)   constructed of steel and cathodically protected according to this subitem. All cathodic-protection systems 
under this subitem must be operated and maintained according to part 7150.0215. The tank must: 
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                    (a)   be coated with a suitable dielectric material and a factory-installed sacrificial-anode system; 
 
                    (b)   have a field-installed cathodic-protection system designed and certified by a corrosion expert; or 
 
                    (c)   have an impressed-current system designed and certified by a corrosion expert that allows determination 
of current operating status as required under part 7150.0215, subpart 3; 
 
               (3)   constructed of steel with a noncorrodible jacket of a design and thickness so that additional corrosion 
protection is not required; 
 
               (4)   internally lined, provided that the tank is lined on or before December 22, 2007, according to part 
7150.0215, subpart 4; or 
 
               (5)   constructed and protected from corrosion using a method that prevents the release or threatened release of 
a stored, regulated substance and is no less protective of human health and the environment than the methods under 
subitems (1) to (4), as determined by the commissioner. The commissioner’s determination under this subitem must be 
obtained in writing, and the owners and operators must keep the determination for the life of the tank. 
 
          C.   Except for heating-oil tanks, owners and operators must: 
 
               (1)   secondarily contain all hazardous-substance tanks; 
 
               (2)   secondarily contain all tanks containing regulated substances, including retrofit tanks, installed or replaced 
after December 22, 2007; and 
 
               (3)   ensure that: 
 
                    (a)   the secondary containment is capable of containing a release from the inner wall of a tank and designed 
with release detection according to part 7150.0330, subpart 6; and 
 
                    (b)   if a tank is replaced or retrofitted in accordance with this item, all piping appurtenant to the tank is 
secondarily contained and complies with subpart 3. 
 
     Subp. 2. Codes of practice for tanks. Codes of practice for subpart 1 are described in items A to E. The codes of 
practice in this subpart must be used to comply with subpart 1, as applicable. The codes are incorporated by reference 
under part 7150.0500. 
 
          A.  The following codes of practice apply to subpart 1, item A: 
 
               (1)  Underwriters Laboratories, Standard for Glass-Fiber-Reinforced Plastic Underground Storage Tanks for 
Petroleum Products, Alcohols, and Alcohol-Gasoline Mixtures, UL 1316 (2006); or 
 
               (2)  Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Standard for Reinforced Plastic Underground Tanks for Flammable 
and Combustible Liquids, ULC-S615-98 (1998). 
 
          B.  The following codes of practice apply to subpart 1, item B: 
 
               (1)  Steel Tank Institute, Specification and Manual for External Corrosion Protection of Underground Steel 
Storage Tanks, STI-P3 (2006); 
 
               (2)  Underwriters Laboratories, Standard for Safety for External Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel 
Underground Storage Tanks, UL 1746 (2007); 
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               (3)  Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, External Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel Underground Tanks 
for Flammable and Combustible Liquids, CAN/ULC-S603.1-03 (2003); 
 
               (4)  Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable and Combus-
tible Liquids, CAN/ULC-S603-00 (2000); 
 
               (5)  Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Isolating Bushings for Steel Underground Tanks Protected with 
External Corrosion Protection Systems, ULC-S631-05 (2005); 
 
               (6)  National Association of Corrosion Engineers, Corrosion Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems by 
Cathodic Protection, RP0285-2002 (2002); or 
 
               (7)  Underwriters Laboratories, Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable and Combustible 
Liquids, UL 58 (1996). 
 
          C.  The following codes of practice apply to subpart 1, item C: 
 
               (1)  Underwriters Laboratories, Standard for Safety for External Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel 
Underground Storage Tanks, UL 1746 (2007); or 
 
               (2)  Steel Tank Institute, ACT-100 Specification for External Corrosion Protection of Composite Steel Under-
ground Storage Tanks, STI F894 (2006). 
 
          D.  The following codes of practice apply to subpart 1, item D: 
 
               (1)  Underwriters Laboratories, Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable and Combustible 
Liquids, UL 58 (1996); 
 
               (2)  Underwriters Laboratories, Standard for Safety for External Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel 
Underground Storage Tanks, UL 1746 (2007); 
 
               (3)  Steel Tank Institute, Recommended Practice for Interstitial Tightness Testing of Existing Underground 
Double Wall Steel Tanks, RP012 (2006); and 
 
               (4)  Steel Tank Institute, Standard for Dual Wall Underground Steel Storage Tanks, STI F841 (2006). 
 
          E.  The following code of practice applies to subpart 1, item E: American Petroleum Institute, Interior Lining and 
Periodic Inspection of Underground Storage Tanks, API 1631 (2001). 
 
          A.   American Petroleum Institute, Interior Lining and Periodic Inspection of Underground Storage Tanks, API 
STD 1631. 
 
          B.   NACE International, Corrosion Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems by Cathodic Protection, 
SP0285-2011. 
 
          C.   Steel Tank Institute, Recommended Practice for Interstitial Tightness Testing of Existing Underground Double 
Wall Steel Tanks, R012. 
 
          D.   Steel Tank Institute, ACT-100® Specification for External Corrosion Protection of FRP Composite Steel USTs, 
F894. 
 
          E.   Steel Tank Institute, Specification and Manual for External Corrosion Protection of Underground Steel Storage 
Tanks, STI-P3®. 
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          F.   Steel Tank Institute, Standard for Dual Wall Underground Steel Storage Tanks, F841. 
 
          G.   Steel Tank Institute, ACT-100-U® Specification for External Corrosion Protection of Composite Steel Under-
ground Storage Tanks, F961. 
 
          H.   Steel Tank Institute, Specification for Permatank®, F922. 
 
          I.   Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, External Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel Underground Tanks for 
Flammable and Combustible Liquids, CAN/ULC-S603.1-11. 
 
          J.   Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable and Combustible 
Liquids, CAN/ULC-S603-14. 
 
          K.   Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Standard for Isolating Bushings for Steel Underground Tanks Protected 
with External Corrosion Protection Systems, ULC-S631-05. 
 
          L.   Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Standard for Fibre Reinforced Plastic Underground Tanks for Flamma-
ble and Combustible Liquids, CAN/ULC-S615-14. 
 
          M.   Underwriters Laboratories, Outline of Investigation for Underground Fuel Tank Internal Retrofit Systems, UL 
1856. 
 
          N.   Underwriters Laboratories, Glass-Fiber-Reinforced Plastic Underground Storage Tanks for Petroleum Prod-
ucts, Alcohols, and Alcohol-Gasoline Mixtures, UL 1316. 
 
          O.   Underwriters Laboratories, Standard for External Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel Underground 
Storage Tanks, UL 1746. 
 
          P.   Underwriters Laboratories, Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable and Combustible Liquids, 
UL 58. 
 
     Subp. 3. Piping. The piping that routinely contains regulated substances and is in contact with the ground must be 
properly designed, constructed, and protected from corrosion using one of the following methods, except that all hazard-
ous materials piping and all piping, other than heating oil piping, installed or replaced after December 22, 2007, other 
than piping that conveys regulated substances under safe suction meeting the design requirements of part 7150.0300, 
subpart 6, item B, subitem (2), shall comply with item D. The corrosion protection methods in items A to D must be in 
accordance with one of the codes of practice in subpart 4 developed by a nationally recognized association or indepen-
dent testing laboratory. 
 
          A.  The piping is constructed of fiberglass-reinforced plastic. 
 
          B.  The piping is constructed of steel and cathodically protected in the following manner: 
 
               (1)  the piping is coated with a suitable dielectric material; 
 
               (2)  field-installed cathodic protection systems are designed by a corrosion expert; 
 
               (3)  impressed current systems are designed to allow determination of current operating status as required in 
part 7150.0215, subpart 3, item A; and 
 
               (4)  cathodic protection systems are operated and maintained according to part 7150.0215. 
 
          C.  The piping is constructed of a steel and fiberglass-reinforced plastic composite. 
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          D.  The piping is secondarily contained. 
 
               (1)  Secondary containment piping shall use one of the following designs: 
 
                    (a)  the piping is of double-walled fiberglass-reinforced plastic construction; 
 
                    (b)  the piping is of double-walled steel construction, with cathodic protection of the outer wall meeting the 
requirements of item B; 
 
                    (c)  the piping is of double-walled steel construction with a fiberglass-reinforced plastic jacket; 
 
                    (d)  the piping is of single-walled steel construction with a fiberglass-reinforced plastic jacket, which is 
designed to contain and detect a leak through the steel wall; or 
 
                    (e)  the piping is of double-walled nonmetallic flexible construction. 
 
               (2)  All secondary containment piping shall be capable of containing a release from the inner wall of the piping 
and shall be designed with release detection according to part 7150.0340, subpart 4. 
 
          E.  The piping is of single-walled nonmetallic flexible construction. 
 
          F.  The piping construction and corrosion protection are determined by the commissioner to be designed to prevent 
the release or threatened release of a stored regulated substance in a manner that is no less protective of human health 
and the environment than the requirements of items A to D. The commissioner’s determination under this item must be 
obtained in writing and the tank owners and operators must keep the determination for the life of the tank. 
 
          A.   Piping that does not meet the requirements of this subpart must be permanently closed according to part 
7150.0410. 
 
          B.   Owners and operators must ensure that piping that routinely contains product is properly designed, construct-
ed, and protected from corrosion using one of the methods under this item. The piping must be: 
 
               (1)   constructed of a noncorrodible material; 
 
               (2)   constructed of steel and cathodically protected according to this subitem. All cathodic-protection systems 
under this subitem must be operated and maintained according to part 7150.0215. The piping must: 
 
                    (a)   be coated with a suitable dielectric material and a sacrificial-anode system designed and installed 
according to industry standards or under the control of a corrosion expert; 
 
                    (b)   have a field-installed cathodic-protection system designed and certified by a corrosion expert; or 
 
                    (c)   have an impressed-current system designed by a corrosion expert that allows determination of current 
operating status as required under part 7150.0215, subpart 3; or 
 
               (3)   constructed and protected from corrosion using a method that prevents release or threatened release of a 
stored, regulated substance and is no less protective of human health and the environment than the methods under 
subitems (1) and (2), as determined by the commissioner. The commissioner’s determination under this subitem must be 
obtained in writing, and the owners and operators must keep the determination for the life of the tank. 
 
          C.   Except for heating-oil piping and piping that conveys product under suction and meets the design requirements 
of part 7150.0300, subpart 6, item B, subitem (2), owners and operators must: 
 
               (1)   secondarily contain hazardous substance piping; 
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               (2)   secondarily contain all piping containing regulated substances installed or replaced after December 22, 
2007; and 
 
               (3)   ensure that: 
 
                    (a)   the secondary containment is capable of containing a release from the inner wall of the piping and is 
designed with release detection according to part 7150.0340, subpart 4; and 
 
                    (b)   all secondarily contained piping installed after December 22, 2007, has secondary containment meeting 
the requirements of subparts 6 and 7 at each end of the piping segment, except for: 
 
                         i.   secondarily contained piping entering a building, provided that the building will contain a release until 
it can be detected and remedied; or 
 
                         ii.   transition joints approved for direct burial by the manufacturer when connecting secondarily con-
tained piping to a single-wall pipe. 
 
     Subp. 4. Codes of practice for piping. Codes of practice for subpart 3 are described in items A and B The codes of 
practice under this subpart must be used to comply with subpart 3, as applicable. The codes are incorporated by reference 
under part 7150.0500. 
 
          A.  The following codes of practice apply to subpart 3, item A: 
 
               (1)  Underwriters Laboratories, Emergency Breakaway Fittings, Swivel Connectors and Pipe-Connection 
Fittings for Petroleum Products and LP-Gas, UL 567 (2004); 
 
               (2)  Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Standard for Flexible Underground Hose Connectors for Flammable 
and Combustible Liquids, CAN/ULC-S633-99 (1999); or 
 
               (3)  Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Guide for Glass-Fiber-Reinforced Plastic Pipe and Fittings for Flam-
mable Liquids, ULC Subject C107C-M1984 (1984). 
 
          B.  The following codes of practice apply to subpart 3, item B: 
 
               (1)  National Fire Protection Association, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code, NFPA 30 (2003); 
 
               (2)  American Petroleum Institute, Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage Systems, API 1615 (1996); 
 
               (3)  American Petroleum Institute, Cathodic Protection of Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks and Piping 
Systems, API 1632 (1996); or 
 
               (4)  National Association of Corrosion Engineers, Control of External Corrosion on Underground or Submerged 
Metallic Piping Systems, SP0169-2007 (2007). 
 
          A.   American Petroleum Institute, Cathodic Protection of Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks and Piping 
Systems, API RP 1632. 
 
          B.   NACE International, Control of External Corrosion on Underground or Submerged Metallic Piping Systems, 
SP0169-2013. 
 
          C.   NACE International, Corrosion Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems by Cathodic Protection, 
SP0285-2011. 
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          D.   Steel Tank Institute, Recommended Practice for Corrosion Protection of Underground Piping Networks 
Associated with Liquid Storage and Dispensing Systems, R892. 
 
          E.   Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Standard for Nonmetallic Underground Piping for Flammable and 
Combustible Liquids, CAN/ULC S660-08. 
 
          F.   Underwriters Laboratories, Standard for Nonmetallic Underground Piping for Flammable Liquids, UL 971. 
 
          G.   Underwriters Laboratories, Outline of Investigation for Metallic Underground Fuel Pipe, UL 971A. 
 
     Subp. 5. Spill and overfill prevention Spill-prevention and overfill-prevention equipment. 
 
          A.  Except as provided in item B, to prevent spilling and overfilling associated with product transfer to the under-
ground storage tank UST system, owners and operators must use the following spill and overfill prevention equipment: 
 
               (1)  spill prevention spill-prevention equipment that will prevent prevents release of product to the environment 
when the transfer hose is detached from the fill pipe,; for example, a spill catchment basin bucket; and 
 
               (2)  overfill prevention one of the following types of overfill-prevention equipment that will: 
 
                    (a)  equipment that automatically shut shuts off flow into the tank when the tank is no more than 95 percent 
full; or. Any flow-restricting overfill device in a vent line must be entirely removed when an automatic shutoff device is 
used to prevent releases from the tank; 
 
                    (b)  alert equipment that alerts the transfer operator when the tank is no more than 90 percent full by 
restricting the flow into the tank or triggering a high-level alarm audible to the transfer operator., provided that: 
 
                         i.   all tank openings are liquid tight when used in conjunction with flow-restricting devices in vent lines 
and high-level alarms; 
 
                         ii.   flow-restricting devices used in vent lines are not installed on UST systems after the effective date of 
this part; 
 
                         iii.   flow-restricting devices in vent lines are not allowed on suction systems with air eliminators; 
 
                         iv.   flow-restricting devices used in vent lines are not used in conjunction with overfill devices installed 
in the drop tube; and 
 
                         v.   flow-restricting devices in vent lines are not used in conjunction with coaxial stage 1 vapor-recovery 
systems; and 
 
                    (c)   vent-restriction devices in vent lines or auto-shutoff devices must not be used on tanks equipped with 
remote fill pipes or on UST systems where product is delivered under pressure. 
 
          B.  Owners and operators are not required to use the spill and overfill prevention spill-prevention and overfill-pre-
vention equipment specified in item A if: 

[For text of subitem (1), see M.R.]
 
               (2)  the underground storage tank UST system is filled by transfers of no more than 25 gallons at one time. 

The commissioner’s determination under subitem (1) must be obtained in writing, and the tank owners and operators 
must keep the determination for the life of the tank.

 
          C.   Before placing a UST system into service, the owners and operators must: 
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               (1)   test spill buckets for liquid tightness according to part 7150.0216, subparts 1 and 4; and 
 
               (2)   test overfill devices for proper function according to part 7150.0216, subparts 1 and 5. 
 
     Subp. 6. Submersible pumps pump sumps. 
 
          A.  After December 22, 2007, owners and operators must provide any new or replacement submersible pump, 
including replacement pump head, shall be provided with secondary containment around and beneath the pump head. 
Secondary containment shall must be: 
 
               (1)  designed to contain a release leak from the pump head and any connectors, fittings, and valves beneath the 
pump head appurtenance or leak-detection device until the release can be detected and removed; 
 
               (2)  designed with liquid-tight sides, bottom, cover, and points of penetration; 
 
               (3)  constructed of fiberglass-reinforced plastic or other synthetic material of comparable thickness and durabil-
ity; and 
 
               (4)  compatible with the stored substance.; and 
 
               (5)   tested liquid tight before backfilling the secondary containment and placing the UST system into service 
according to part 7150.0216, subparts 1 and 4. 
 
          B.  Any submersible pump installed before December 22, 2007, and not in a secondarily contained sump used for 
interstitial monitoring must be accessible for visual inspection and must not be covered by soil, water, or other obstacles 
that prevent visual inspections. 
 
          C.   The following code codes of practice may are incorporated by reference under part 7150.0500 and must be 
used to meet the requirements of this subpart, as applicable:  
 
               (1)   Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Under-Dispenser Sumps, ULC/ORD-C107.21-1992 (1992). The 
code is incorporated by reference under part 7150.0500. ULC/ORD-C107.21; and 
 
               (2)   Underwriters Laboratories, Outline of Investigation for Containment Sumps, Fittings and Accessories for 
Fuels, UL 2447. 
 
     Subp. 7. Dispensers Dispenser sumps. 
 
          A.  After December 22, 2007, any new dispenser, and any replacement dispenser where work is performed beneath 
any shear valves or check valves or on any flexible connectors or unburied risers, shall be provided with secondary 
containment beneath the dispenser. Secondary containment shall be: Owners and operators must install secondary 
containment under a dispenser if: 
 
               (1)  designed to contain a release from the dispenser and any connectors, fittings, and valves beneath the 
dispenser until the release can be detected and removed the dispenser is part of a new UST system; 
 
               (2)  designed with liquid-tight sides, bottom, and points of penetration new or replacement piping is connected 
to the dispenser; 
 
               (3)  constructed of fiberglass-reinforced plastic or other synthetic material of comparable thickness and durabil-
ity; and a dispenser is replaced with work performed below the shear valves; or 
 
               (4)  compatible with the stored substance the concrete or base material under the dispenser is replaced, repaired, 
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or modified. 
 
          B.  Secondary containment must be: 
 
               (1)   designed to contain a leak from the dispenser and any components of a UST system in or under the 
dispenser until the leak can be detected and remedied; 
 
               (2)   designed with liquid-tight sides, bottom, and points of penetration; 
 
               (3)   constructed of fiberglass-reinforced plastic or other synthetic material of comparable thickness and 
durability; 
 
               (4)   compatible with the stored substance; and 
 
               (5)   tested liquid tight before backfilling the secondary containment and placing the dispenser into service 
according to part 7150.0216, subparts 1 and 4. 
 
          C.   Owners and operators must ensure that underdispenser containment installed after the effective date of this 
part allows for visual inspection and access to the components in the containment system. 
 
          D.   Owners and operators performing dispenser repair are not required to install secondary containment. 
 
          E.   The following code codes of practice shall are incorporated by reference under part 7150.0500 and must be 
used to meet the requirements of this subpart, as applicable: 
 
               (1)  Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, Under-Dispenser Sumps, ULC/ORD-C107.21-1992 (1992). The 
code is incorporated by reference under part 7150.0500. ULC/ORD-C107.21; and 
 
               (2)   Underwriters Laboratories, Outline of Investigation for Containment Sumps, Fittings and Accessories for 
Fuels, UL 2447. 
 
     Subp. 8. Emergency stops. Owners and operators must have an emergency disconnect switch that is readily available 
to persons dispensing a regulated substance to disconnect electric power to pumps and dispensers, in accordance with the 
Minnesota State Fire Code, in the event of an emergency. 
 
7150.0215  OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE OF CATHODIC OPERATING AND MAINTAINING CORRO-
SION PROTECTION. 
 
     Subpart 1. General Operating and maintaining cathodic protection. Cathodic protection Owners and operators of 
a UST system must operate and maintain cathodic-protection systems must be operated and maintained to continuously 
provide cathodic protection to the metal components of the parts of the tank and piping that routinely contain regulated 
substances and are in contact with the ground. 
 
     Subp. 2. Sacrificial anode Sacrificial-anode systems. Sacrificial anode cathodic protection systems Owners and 
operators with a sacrificial-anode system for cathodic protection must be tested test for proper operation according to the 
following requirements: 
 
          A.  systems must be tested by a cathodic protection cathodic-protection tester:  
 
               (1)   within six months of installation and at least every three years thereafter,; and 
 
               (2)   within six months after any repairs and at least every three years thereafter; 
 
          B.  the criteria that are one of the codes of practice under subpart 5 must be used to determine that cathodic 
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protection is adequate as required by this subpart must be according to National Association of Corrosion Engineers, 
Corrosion Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems by Cathodic Protection, RP0285-2002 (2002), incorporated by 
reference under part 7150.0500; and 
 
          C.  systems designed with external testing stations must be tested using a voltmeter according to this subpart, but 
do not require testing by a cathodic protection tester. repairs to sacrificial-anode systems must be conducted within 60 
days of failing test results and must be: 
 
               (1)   conducted according to one of the industry standards under subpart 5 by a certified tank contractor under 
chapter 7105, a cathodic-protection tester, or a corrosion expert; or 
 
               (2)   conducted according to the design and recommendations of a corrosion-protection expert by a certified 
tank contractor under chapter 7105, a cathodic-protection tester, or a corrosion expert. 
 
     Subp. 3. Impressed current Impressed-current systems. Impressed current cathodic protection systems Owners and 
operators with an impressed-current system for cathodic protection must be tested test for proper operation according to 
the following requirements: 
 
          A.  the rectifier must be read every 60 days to ensure that current is being delivered to the system, and the voltage 
and amperage readings shall must be recorded; 
 
          B.  systems must be tested by a corrosion expert or a cathodic protection cathodic-protection tester: 
 
               (1)   within six months of installation and at least annually thereafter,; and  
 
               (2)   within six months after any repairs and at least annually thereafter; and 
 
          C.  the criteria that are one of the codes of practice under subpart 5 must be used to determine that cathodic 
protection is adequate as required by this subpart must be according to National Association of Corrosion Engineers, 
Corrosion Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems by Cathodic Protection, RP0285-2002 (2002), incorporated by 
reference under part 7150.0500.; and 
 
          D.   repairs to the impressed-current system must be conducted: 
 
               (1)   within 60 days of a failing test result; 
 
               (2)   by a certified tank contractor under chapter 7105, a cathodic-protection tester, or a corrosion expert; and 
 
               (3)   in accordance with the design and written approval of a corrosion expert. 
 
     Subp. 4. Internally lined tanks.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators must ensure that a tank with an internal lining for corrosion protection is internally 
inspected and evaluated within ten years after lining and every five years thereafter and found to be structurally sound 
with the lining performing according to original design specifications as follows: 
 
               (1)   internal inspection and evaluation must be conducted according to American Petroleum Institute, Interior 
Lining and Periodic Inspection of Underground Storage Tanks, API 1631, incorporated by reference under part 
7150.0500; 
 
               (2)   the lining inspector must be approved by the manufacturer of the lining, if an approval process exists, or 
must be qualified by training and experience in the application and inspection of the type of internal lining to be inspect-
ed; 
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               (3)   the owners, operators, or lining inspector must notify the agency at least ten days before performing an 
inspection according to part 7150.0090, subpart 1; 
 
               (4)   inspections must include a thorough cleaning of the lining; visual inspection of the lining for cracking, 
blistering, perforation, disbonding, and excessive wear; ultrasonic thickness testing; holiday (spark) testing for lining 
continuity; lining thickness measurement; lining hardness testing; and representative photographs of internal surfaces; 
 
               (5)   inspections must be primarily by manned entry. Video-camera observation alone is not allowed; 
 
               (6)   minor abnormal conditions of the lining, such as short cracks or localized disbonding, may be repaired if 
the conditions do not constitute more than five percent of the lining surface area and the repairs will return the lining to 
substantially the original design specifications; and 
 
               (7)   if a repair to the tank or to the internal lining as allowed under subitem (6) is performed, the tank must pass 
a tightness test according to part 7150.0330, subpart 4, before or within 30 days after returning the tank to service. 
 
          B.   A written inspection report must be produced that describes the results of all tests and evaluations required by 
item A, subitem (4), and the results of tightness testing under item A, subitem (7). The report must identify any abnormal 
conditions found during the inspection and the measures taken to correct the conditions. The inspector must certify in the 
report that, in the professional judgment of the inspector, the tank is structurally sound, the lining is performing accord-
ing to original design specifications, and the tank and lining will maintain their integrity for at least five years under the 
anticipated conditions of use. The inspection report must be submitted to the agency within 60 days after the internal 
inspection. 
 
          C.   A tank with an internal lining as the sole method of corrosion protection must be permanently closed and site 
assessment completed according to parts 7150.0345 and 7150.0410 if at any time abnormal conditions other than minor 
abnormal conditions described in item A, subitem (6), are found to exist. The lining may not be replaced, nor may the 
tank be upgraded with cathodic protection or another corrosion-protection method to meet the requirements of this 
subpart. 
 
     Subp. 5. Codes of practice. The following codes of practice for operating and maintaining cathodic protection must 
be used to comply with this part, as applicable, and the codes are incorporated by reference under part 7150.0500: 
 
          A.   NACE International, Control of External Corrosion on Underground or Submerged Metallic Piping Systems, 
SP0169-2013; 
 
          B.   NACE International, Corrosion Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems by Cathodic Protection, 
SP0285-2011; 
 
          C.   NACE International, Measurement Techniques Related to Criteria for Cathodic Protection of Underground 
Storage Tank Systems, TM101-2012; 
 
          D.   NACE International, Measurement Techniques Related to Criteria for Cathodic Protection on Underground or 
Submerged Metallic Piping Systems, TM0497-2012; 
 
          E.   Petroleum Equipment Institute, Recommended Practices for Installation of Underground Liquid Storage 
Systems, PEI/RP100-11; 
 
          F.   Steel Tank Institute, Cathodic Protection Testing Procedures for sti-P3® UST’s, R051; 
 
          G.   Steel Tank Institute, Recommended Practice for Corrosion Protection of Underground Piping Networks 
Associated with Liquid Storage and Dispensing Systems, R892; and 
 
          H.   Steel Tank Institute, Recommended Practice for the Addition of Supplemental Anodes to sti-P3® UST’s, R972. 



240Page Minnesota State Register, Monday 27 August 2018 (Cite 43 SR 240)

Proposed Rules
 
7150.0216  OPERATING, MAINTAINING, AND TESTING UST SYSTEMS. 
 
     Subpart 1. General.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators must maintain, test, operate, and inspect tanks, piping, and associated components of a 
UST system as described in this part and in accordance with: 
 
               (1)   requirements of the manufacturer; 
 
               (2)   the following codes of practice developed by a nationally recognized association and incorporated by 
reference under part 7150.0500: 
 
                    (a)   Petroleum Equipment Institute, Recommended Practices for the Testing and Verification of Spill, 
Overfill, Leak Detection and Secondary Containment Equipment at UST Facilities, PEI/RP1200; and 
 
                    (b)   Petroleum Equipment Institute, Recommended Practices for the Inspection and Maintenance of UST 
Systems, PEI/RP900; or 
 
               (3)   requirements determined by the commissioner to be equivalent and no less protective of human health and 
the environment than subitems (1) and (2). 
 
          B.   Wastes from testing, such as hydrostatic testing water, must be properly disposed of according to state and 
local regulations. Documentation demonstrating that testing wastes were properly disposed of according to state and 
local regulations must be maintained according to part 7150.0450. 
 
     Subp. 2. Periodic operation and maintenance inspections.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators of a UST system must ensure the proper maintenance and operation of the UST system. 
At a minimum, owners and operators must conduct a monthly walk-through inspection of the UST system. During the 
inspection, the owners and operators must: 
 
               (1)   visually check dispenser sumps, spill buckets, transition sumps, and submersible pump sumps for leaks 
and equipment defects; 
 
               (2)   investigate and remedy the source of any spill, drip, or leak from the UST system; 
 
               (3)   remove any liquid or debris from containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring and spill buckets; 
 
               (4)   remove any liquid or debris from sumps to allow the piping, pump head, and other appurtenances in the 
sump to be inspected; 
 
               (5)   ensure that release-detection equipment is operating with no alarms or other unusual operating conditions 
present and that records of release detection are reviewed and current; 
 
               (6)   ensure that riser caps are tight and that there are no obstructions in the fill risers that would prevent an 
overfill device from functioning properly; and 
 
               (7)   ensure that the bottom of the tank is monitored for water to the nearest one-eighth of an inch through 
electronic or manual gauging at least once a month. 
 
          B.   Submersible pump sumps are exempt from inspections under item A if the sump is secondarily contained and 
equipped with a leak-sensing device that alerts the operator of a regulated substance or water in the sump and the sump 
sensor is tested annually for proper function. 
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          C.   Spill buckets are exempt from inspections under item A if the UST system receives deliveries at intervals 
greater than 30 days and the spill bucket is inspected before and immediately after each delivery. Owners and operators 
must maintain delivery records to verify infrequent deliveries. 
 
          D.   Owners and operators must maintain records of inspections under this subpart. Records must include a list of 
each area checked, whether each area checked was compliant or needed action taken, and a description of any compli-
ance actions taken. 
 
     Subp. 3. Release-detection equipment.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators must test and maintain release-detection equipment to ensure that the equipment can 
detect a release from any part of the UST system that routinely contains product. 
 
          B.   Owners and operators must annually test electronic, mechanical, and handheld components of release-detec-
tion equipment for serviceability and proper operation. Beginning no later than October 13, 2020, owners and operators 
must annually inspect components listed under item C using an agency-approved tester. 
 
          C.   As applicable to the facility, testing under this subpart must, at a minimum, include the following components 
and criteria: 
 
               (1)   for automatic tank gauges and other controllers, test alarms, verify system configuration, and test battery 
backup. 
 
               (2)   for probes and sensors, inspect for residual buildup, ensure floats move freely, ensure the shaft is not 
damaged, ensure cables are free of kinks and breaks, and test alarm operability and communication with controller; 
 
               (3)   for automatic line-leak detectors, test the operation to meet the criteria under part 7150.0340, subpart 2, 
item D; 
 
               (4)   for vacuum pumps and pressure gauges, ensure proper communication with sensors and controllers; 
 
               (5)   for spill buckets and containment sumps, visually inspect spill buckets and containment sumps used for 
interstitial monitoring, including seals at piping, electrical, and other penetration points, for deficiencies; and 
 
               (6)   for handheld leak-detection materials, ensure that any measuring sticks, fuel-finding pastes, or other 
handheld items used for leak detection are in a functional condition. 
 
     Subp. 4. Spill buckets and containment sumps.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators must ensure spill buckets and containment sumps used for interstitial monitoring of 
piping prevent releases to the environment by: 
 
               (1)   testing spill buckets and containment sumps at least once every three years to ensure the equipment is 
liquid tight; or 
 
               (2)   monitoring spill buckets and containment sumps that are double walled monthly to ensure the integrity of 
both walls, checking for leaks into the interstitial area or equipment. 
 
          B.   Any automatic leak-sensing device used to monitor spill bucket or containment sump interstitial areas must be 
tested annually for proper function. 
 
          C.   Beginning no later than October 13, 2020, testing under items A, subitem (1), and B must be performed by an 
agency-approved tester. 



242Page Minnesota State Register, Monday 27 August 2018 (Cite 43 SR 242)

Proposed Rules
 
     Subp. 5. Overfill-prevention equipment. Owners and operators must ensure overfill-prevention equipment is 
inspected at least every three years. The inspection must ensure that the overfill-prevention equipment is set to activate at 
the correct level and will activate when a regulated substance reaches that level. Beginning no later than October 13, 
2020, inspections under this subpart must be performed by an agency-approved tester. 
 
     Subp. 6. Agency-approved testers.  
 
          A.   To become agency-approved testers, individuals must: 
 
               (1)   apply to the commissioner for approval every four years in a format prescribed by the commissioner. The 
application must include the applicant name, mailing address, telephone number, and information demonstrating compli-
ance with subitems (2) and (3); 
 
               (2)   be certified by the manufacturers of components of a UST system being tested and the manufacturers of 
equipment used to test UST systems, if the manufacturers offer certification; and 
 
               (3)   meet one of the following criteria: 
 
                    (a)   be an employee of an agency-certified tank contractor under chapter 7105; or 
 
                    (b)   be an employee of an independent company that specializes in testing UST systems, is not affiliated 
with the owner or operator of the UST system being tested, and has comprehensive general liability insurance with 
pollution liability coverage no less than $1,000,000. 
 
          B.   The commissioner must deny an application for an agency-approved tester or suspend, restrict, or revoke 
approval of an agency-approved tester if the commissioner finds the applicant or tester: 
 
               (1)   failed to meet the approval requirements in item A; 
 
               (2)   failed to comply with inspection and testing requirements in this chapter; 
 
               (3)   submitted false or misleading information to obtain or renew agency approval under this part or certifica-
tion under chapter 7105; or 
 
               (4)   engaged in fraudulent activities related to records, test results, or repairs while performing duties as an 
agency-approved tester. 
 
          C.   The commissioner must provide written notice by mail to the subject of the action under item B describing, as 
applicable, the effective date of the action, the basis for the action under item B, the facts supporting the action, and the 
specific steps necessary to become an approved tester. The notice must contain a statement that any request for a contest-
ed case hearing must, within ten calendar days exclusive of the day of service, be filed as a written request with the 
commissioner. If a contested case hearing is requested, the action is stayed pending the outcome of the hearing. If the 
individual does not request a hearing, the subject of the action forfeits any opportunity for a hearing. An agency-ap-
proved tester or applicant whose approval is revoked or denied may not apply for approval for one year after the effec-
tive date of revocation or denial. 
 
7150.0250  RESTORATION, CORRECTIVE ACTIONS, AND REQUIRED PERMANENT CLOSURE. 
 
     Subpart 1. Unusual operating conditions.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators must immediately investigate and remedy all unusual operating conditions in a UST 
system. The owner or operator must take the UST system out of service unless: 
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               (1)   the unusual operating condition is investigated and resolved in accordance with this chapter; 
 
               (2)   any defective components are isolated from the UST system to prevent a leak; or 
 
               (3)   any defective components or equipment are repaired by a person certified under chapter 7105. 
 
          B.   The owner or operator must report unresolved unusual operating conditions that may have resulted in a leak or 
that indicate a release has occurred according to part 7150.0345, subpart 2. 
 
     Subp. 2. Repairs.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators must maintain a UST system according to the manufacturer’s instructions. If instruc-
tions are not available, owners and operators must maintain the functions of a UST system as intended by the manufac-
turer or according to industry standards. Repairs must ensure that releases due to structural failures, equipment failures, 
or corrosion do not occur while storing regulated substances in a UST system or while operating the UST system. 
 
          B.   Within 30 days after completing a repair, owners and operators must ensure that: 
 
               (1)   a repaired tank passes a tightness test according to part 7150.0330, subpart 4; 
 
               (2)   repaired piping passes a tightness test according to part 7150.0340, subpart 3, item A; and 
 
               (3)   repaired secondary-containment areas of tanks, piping used for interstitial monitoring, and containment 
sumps used for interstitial monitoring or piping passes an integrity test according to part 7150.0216, subpart 4. 
 
          C.   Subitems (1) to (3) are codes of practice for repaired secondary-containment areas of tanks, piping, or contain-
ment sumps used for interstitial monitoring. The codes are incorporated by reference under part 7150.0500 and must be 
used to comply with this part: 
 
               (1)   Fiberglass Tank and Pipe Institute, Field Test Protocol for Testing the Annular Space of Installed Under-
ground Fiberglass Double and Triple-Wall Tanks with Dry Annular Space, RP 2007-2; 
 
               (2)   Steel Tank Institute, Recommended Practice for Interstitial Tightness Testing of Existing Underground 
Double Wall Steel Tanks, R012; and 
 
               (3)   Petroleum Equipment Institute, Recommended Practices for the Testing and Verification of Spill, Overfill, 
Leak Detection and Secondary Containment Equipment at UST Facilities, PEI/RP1200. 
 
          D.   Within six months after a cathodic-protection system is repaired, the cathodic-protection system must be tested 
according to part 7150.0215 to ensure that it is operating properly. Impressed-current systems must be repaired according 
to part 7150.0215, subpart 3, item D. Sacrificial-anode systems must be repaired according to part 7150.0215, subpart 2, 
item C. 
 
          E.   Within 30 days of any repair to spill-prevention or overfill-prevention equipment, the repaired spill-prevention 
or overfill-prevention equipment must be tested or inspected to ensure it is operating properly according to part 
7150.0216. 
 
          F.   Within 30 days of any repair to components of a UST system that are used for leak detection, the repaired or 
replaced component must be tested or inspected to ensure it is operating properly according to part 7150.0216. 
 
          G.   Owners and operators must ensure repairs to UST systems are properly conducted according to one of the 
codes of practice in this item developed by a nationally recognized association or independent testing laboratory and 
incorporated by reference under part 7150.0500, except that repairs to fiber-reinforced plastic tanks may be made by the 
manufacturer’s authorized representative. 
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               (1)   American Petroleum Institute, Cathodic Protection of Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks and Piping 
Systems, API RP 1632. 
 
               (2)   American Petroleum Institute, Repairing Hazardous Liquid Pipelines, API RP 2200. 
 
               (3)   American Petroleum Institute, Interior Lining and Periodic Inspection of Underground Storage Tanks, API 
STD 1631. 
 
               (4)   Fiberglass Tank and Pipe Institute, Remanufacturing of Fiberglass Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Underground 
Storage Tanks, RP T-95-1. 
 
               (5)   NACE International, Corrosion Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems by Cathodic Protection, 
SP0285-2011. 
 
               (6)   National Fire Protection Association, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code, NFPA 30. 
 
               (7)   National Fire Protection Association, Standard for the Safeguarding of Tanks and Containers for Entry, 
Cleaning, or Repair, NFPA 326. 
 
               (8)   National Leak Prevention Association, Entry, Cleaning, Interior Inspection, Repair, and Lining of Under-
ground Storage Tanks, NLPA 631, Chapter A. 
 
               (9)   Steel Tank Institute, Recommended Practice for the Addition of Supplemental Anodes to sti-P3® UST’s, 
R972. 
 
     Subp. 3. Replacement.  
 
          A.   Components of a UST system that do not meet the performance standards in part 7150.0100 must be repaired 
or replaced. Owners and operators must replace: 
 
               (1)   any component that has corrosion that may cause the component to not function as intended by the 
manufacturer or that may cause a release of a regulated substance; and 
 
               (2)   any component not functioning properly according to this chapter. 
 
          B.   The entire piping run, not including a submersible pump or any dispenser, must be replaced with second-
ary-containment piping according to part 7150.0205, subpart 3, if: 
 
               (1)   metal segments are found to have pitting-type corrosion damage; 
 
               (2)   metal or noncorrodible piping segments have released a regulated substance; 
 
               (3)   pipe segments are found to have degraded because of age, incompatibility, or poor installation practices; or 
 
               (4)   50 percent or more of the piping run is replaced. 
 
          C.   Piping may be repaired and the entire piping run need not be replaced if: 
 
               (1)   the piping is secondarily contained according to part 7150.0205, subpart 3; 
 
               (2)   a release is due to an external, onetime cause, such as damage during excavation; or 
 
               (3)   a release occurring on a piping appurtenance, such as a flex connector, shear valve, or check valve, did not 
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occur as a result of corrosion. 
 
     Subp. 4. Required permanent closure. Owners and operators must ensure that a tank system or pipe system is 
permanently closed according to part 7150.0410 and a site assessment is completed according to part 7150.0345, subpart 
3, if: 
 
          A.   a tank has shifted upward from its original burial position to the extent that the UST has caused a bulge in the 
concrete or cover material over the tank or components secured to the top of the UST are contacting access covers, 
unless repairs can be made to the UST system to prevent the tank from shifting and ensure that the UST system has not 
been, nor will be, damaged; 
 
          B.   a UST that is not secondarily contained has released a regulated product to the environment, unless the UST 
can be retrofitted according to part 7150.0205, subpart 1; or 
 
          C.   the inner or outer shell of a secondarily contained UST, including retrofit tanks, or pipe is not liquid tight, 
unless the tank or pipe can be repaired according to subpart 2. 
 
7150.0300  RELEASE DETECTION. 
 
     Subpart 1. General. With the exception of emergency generator tanks that must comply with parts 7150.0300 to 
7150.0340 by October 13, 2020, owners and operators of underground storage tank UST systems must provide a method, 
or combination of methods, of release detection for tanks, piping, dispensers, and submersible pumps that: 
 
          A.  can detect a release leak from any part of the tank and the connected underground piping, dispensers, and 
submersible pumps that routinely contains product; 

[For text of item B, see M.R.]
 
          C.  meets the performance standards in part 7150.0330 or 7150.0340. The performance of release detection equip-
ment, as certified by an independent testing laboratory or a nationally recognized association, must be documented with 
written specifications supplied by the equipment manufacturer or installer. Methods of release detection for tanks and 
piping must be capable of detecting the leak rate or quantity specified for that method in parts 7150.0330 and 7150.0340. 
 
     Subp. 2.  [See repealer.] 

[For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 5. Tanks. Tanks must be monitored at least every 30 days for releases leaks using one of the following methods 
or combination of methods, except that hazardous materials substance tanks and tanks installed on or after December 22, 
2007, must comply with item B: 
 
          A.  automatic tank gauging according to part 7150.0330, subpart 5, combined with inventory control in accordance 
with part 7150.0330, subpart 2; 
 
          B.  interstitial monitoring according to part 7150.0330, subpart 6; 
 
          C.  inventory control according to part 7150.0330, subpart 2, subject to the following conditions: statistical inven-
tory reconciliation according to part 7150.0330, subpart 6a; 
 
               (1)  tank tightness testing shall be performed according to part 7150.0330, subpart 4, within five years after 
installation; and 
 
               (2)  inventory control shall be discontinued within ten years after tank installation and another method of re-
lease detection shall be substituted; 
 
          D.  for tanks with capacities of greater than 1,000 gallons and less than 2,000 gallons, manual tank gauging ac-
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cording to part 7150.0330, subpart 3, subject to the following conditions: 
 
               (1)  tank tightness testing shall be performed according to part 7150.0330, subpart 4, within five years after 
installation; and 
 
               (2)  manual tank gauging shall be discontinued within ten years after tank installation and another method of 
release detection shall be substituted; 
 
          E. D.  for tanks with capacities of 1,000 gallons or less, manual tank gauging according to part 7150.0330, subpart 
3; or 
 
          F. E.  another method of release detection according to part 7150.0330, subpart 7. 
 
     Subp. 6.  Piping. Underground Piping that routinely contains regulated substances must be monitored for releases us-
ing one of the following methods or combination of methods, except that piping installed on or after December 22, 2007, 
must comply with item A, subitem (3) or (4) under items A to C: 
 
          A.  This item applies to pressure piping. Underground piping that conveys regulated substances under pressure 
must use one of the following methods: under this item, except that piping installed on or after December 22, 2007, must 
comply with subitem (3). Piping that is positioned lower than the top of the tank must be equipped with an antisiphon 
device and use one of the methods under this item: 

[For text of subitem (1), see M.R.]
 
               (2)  line leak detection conducted according to part 7150.0340, subpart 2, and monthly line tightness testing 
conducted according to part 7150.0340, subpart 3, item B; or 
 
               (3)  line leak detection conducted according to part 7150.0340, subpart 2, and monthly interstitial monitoring 
conducted according to part 7150.0340, subpart 4, item A, subitem (2); or. 
 
               (4)  continuous interstitial monitoring conducted according to part 7150.0340, subpart 4, item A, subitem (1). 
 
          B.  This item applies to suction piping. 
 
               (1)  Except as described in subitem (2), underground piping that conveys regulated substances under suction 
must be equipped with an antisiphon device if piping is positioned lower than the top of the tank and: 
 
                    (a)   have a line tightness test conducted at least every three years if it can detect a 0.1 gallon per hour leak 
rate at one and one-half times the operating pressure 50 pounds per square inch; or 

[For text of unit (b), see M.R.]
[For text of subitem (2), see M.R.]

 
          C.  Other methods. Another method of release detection may be used according to part 7150.0340, subpart 5. 
 
     Subp. 7.  [See repealer.] 
 
7150.0330  METHODS OF RELEASE DETECTION FOR TANKS.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2.  [See repealer.] 
 
     Subp. 3.  Manual tank gauging.  
 
          A.   Manual tank gauging must be conducted in the following manner comply with this subpart: 
 



247PageMinnesota State Register, Monday 27 August 2018(Cite 43 SR 247)

Proposed Rules
          A.  
 
               (1)   tank liquid level measurements are of the level of liquid in a tank must be taken at the beginning and end-
ing of a period of at least 36 hours during which no liquid is added to or removed from the tank; 
 
          B.  
 
               (2)   level measurements are must be based on an average of two consecutive stick readings at both the begin-
ning and ending of the period; and 
 
          C.  
 
               (3)   the equipment used is must be capable of measuring the level of product over the full range of the tank’s 
height to the nearest one-eighth of an inch. 
 
          B.   A leak is suspected and subject to the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 115.061, if the variation be-
tween beginning and ending measurements under item A exceeds the weekly or monthly standards in the following table:
 

Tank Capacity Weekly Standard 
(one-test)

Monthly Standard (four-
test avg.)

Minimum Duration 
of Test

If manual tank gauging is the ONLY leak detection method used:
up to 550 gallons 10 gallons 5 gallons 36 hours
551-1,000 gallons (when largest tank 
is 64” x 73”) 9 gallons 4 gallons 44 hours

1,000 gallons (if tank is 48” x 128”) 12 gallons 6 gallons 58 hours
If manual tank gauging is combined with Tank Tightness Testing:
1,001-2,000 gallons 26 gallons 13 gallons 36 hours

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 5. Automatic tank gauging. Equipment for Use of automatic tank gauging that tests for the loss of product and 
conducts inventory control must meet the following requirements comply with this subpart: 
 
          A.  the automatic product level monitor test can must be able to detect a 0.2 gallon per hour leak rate from any part 
of the tank that routinely contains product; and 
 
          B.  inventory control is conducted according to the requirements of subpart 2. owners and operators must ensure 
testing is performed with the system operating in one of the following modes: 
 
               (1)   in-tank static testing conducted at least once every 30 days; or 
 
               (2)   continuous in-tank leak detection operating without interruption or operating to allow the system to gather 
incremental measurements to determine the leak status of the tank at least once every 30 days. 
 
     Subp. 6. Interstitial monitoring. 
 
          A.  Interstitial monitoring of secondary containment secondary-containment tanks shall must be conducted: 
 
               (1)  continuously, by means of an automatic leak-sensing device that signals the operator of the presence of any 
liquid in the interstitial space; or 
 
               (2)  monthly, by means of a procedure capable of detecting the presence of any liquid in the interstitial space. 



248Page Minnesota State Register, Monday 27 August 2018 (Cite 43 SR 248)

Proposed Rules
 
          B.  The interstitial space shall must be maintained free of water, debris, or anything that could interfere with leak 
detection capabilities. 
 
          C.  On an annual basis, Any automatic leak-sensing device shall must be annually tested for proper function. 
 
     Subp. 6a. Statistical inventory reconciliation.  
 
          A.   A release-detection method based on applying statistical principles to inventory data must: 
 
               (1)   report a quantitative result with a calculated leak rate; 
 
               (2)   report a test result of pass, fail, or inconclusive; 
 
               (3)   be capable of detecting a leak rate of 0.2 gallons per hour or a release of 150 gallons within 30 days; and 
 
               (4)   use a threshold that does not exceed one-half the minimum detectable leak rate. 
 
          B.   An inconclusive test result under item A, subitem (2), means the requirements of part 7150.0300, subpart 5, 
have not been met and the test results must be investigated according to part 7150.0345, subpart 1, item B. 
 
     Subp. 7. Other methods. Any other type of release detection release-detection method, or combination of methods, 
can be used if: 

[For text of item A, see M.R.]
 
          B.  the owner owners and operator operators can demonstrate to the commissioner that the method can detect a re-
lease as effectively as any of the methods allowed in this part and obtain the commissioner’s prior written approval of the 
method. In comparing methods, the commissioner shall must consider the size of release that the method can detect and 
the frequency and reliability with which it a release can be detected. If the method is approved by the commissioner, the 
owner owners and operator operators must comply with any conditions imposed by the commissioner on its the method’s 
use to ensure the protection of human health and the environment. 
 
7150.0340  METHODS OF RELEASE DETECTION FOR PIPING.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2. Automatic line leak line-leak detectors. Methods that continuously alert the operator to the presence of a 
leak by restricting or shutting off the flow of regulated substances through piping, or by triggering an audible or visual 
alarm, may be used only if they 
 
          A.   An automatic line-leak detector must be able to detect leaks of three gallons per hour at ten pounds per square 
inch ten-pounds-per-square-inch line pressure within one hour. An annual test of the operation of any line leak detector 
must be conducted. Testing shall: 
 
          A.  be conducted by a person: 
 
               (1)  certified under chapter 7105; 
 
               (2)  approved by the manufacturer of the equipment to test the detector; or 
 
               (3)  qualified by reason of training or experience to test the detector; 
 
          B.  comply with the manufacturer’s testing requirements; 
 
          C.  involve creation of a physical leak in a piping segment; and 
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          D.  verify the leak detection threshold of three gallons per hour at ten pounds per square inch line pressure within 
one hour. 
 
          B.   At facilities where an operator is present during business hours, the leak-detection system must alert the oper-
ator of a leak by restricting or shutting off the flow of a regulated substance through piping or by triggering an audible or 
visual alarm. 
 
          C.   At unattended card-lock facilities, the leak-detection system must alert the operator of a leak by shutting off 
the flow of a regulated substance. 
 
          D.   The operation of any line-leak detector must be tested annually according to part 7150.0216. Testing must: 
 
               (1)   be conducted by an agency-approved tester; 
 
               (2)   create a physical leak or simulate a leak in the pipe system; and 
 
               (3)   verify the leak-detection threshold of three gallons per hour at ten-pounds-per-square-inch line pressure 
within one hour. 
 
     Subp. 3. Line tightness testing. A periodic test of piping may must be conducted: 
 
          A.  annually by an agency-approved tester, if it can detect a 0.1 gallon per hour leak rate at one and one-half times 
the operating pressure; or 

[For text of item B, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 4. Interstitial and sump monitoring. 
 
          A.  Interstitial monitoring of secondary containment secondary-containment piping shall must be conducted: 
 
               (1)  continuously, by means of an automatic leak-sensing device that signals the operator of the presence of any 
regulated substance in the interstitial space or sump; or 
 
               (2)  monthly, by means of a procedure, such as visual monitoring, capable of detecting the presence of any 
regulated substance in the interstitial space or sump. 
 
          B.  The interstitial space or sump shall must be maintained free of water, debris, or anything that could interfere 
with leak detection capabilities. 
 
          C.  On an annual basis, any sump shall be visually inspected for integrity of sides and floor and tightness of piping 
penetration seals. Any automatic Sumps and leak-sensing device shall devices must be inspected and tested for proper 
function annually according to part 7150.0216, subpart 3. 
 
     Subp. 5. Other methods. Any other type of release detection release-detection method, or combination of methods, 
may be used if: 

[For text of item A, see M.R.]
 
          B.  the owner and operator owners and operators can demonstrate to the commissioner that the method can detect 
a release as effectively as any of the methods allowed in subparts 2 to 4 and obtain the commissioner’s prior written 
approval of the method. In comparing methods, the commissioner shall must consider the size of release that the meth-
od can detect and the frequency and reliability with which it a release can be detected. If the method is approved by the 
commissioner, the owner owners and operator operators must comply with any conditions imposed by the commissioner 
on the method’s use to ensure the protection of human health and the environment. 
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REPORTING, INVESTIGATING, AND CONFIRMING RELEASES

 
7150.0345  REPORTING, INVESTIGATING, AND CONFIRMING RELEASES. 
 
     Subpart 1. Investigating and confirming.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators must immediately investigate, confirm, and remedy all suspected releases. 
 
          B.   Within 24 hours of discovering an unusual operating condition while conducting leak detection according to 
part 7150.0330 or 7150.0340, owners and operators must investigate the condition by: 
 
               (1)   conducting a visual inspection of aboveground and exposed below-grade components of a UST system for 
leaks and deficiencies; and 
 
               (2)   if applicable, repeating any leak test that indicated an unusual operating condition, conducted according to 
part 7150.0330, subpart 5, 6, or 6a, or 7150.0340, subpart 2, item A; 3, item B; or 4, item A. 
 
          C.   Within 24 hours of discovering an unusual operating condition or confirming an unusual operating condition 
according to item B, subitem (2), the owners and operators must initiate: 
 
               (1)   tightness testing according to part 7150.0330, subpart 4, or 7150.0340, subpart 3, item A, on the compo-
nent suspected of leaking; and 
 
               (2)   if applicable, integrity testing, using an agency-approved tester, of interstitial and secondary-containment 
areas used for leak detection. 
 
          D.   If the investigation under item B or the testing under item C indicates that the UST system is not leaking, own-
ers and operators may resume leak testing the UST system according to part 7150.0300. 
 
          E.   If testing confirms a leak, owners and operators must immediately remove the regulated substance from the 
leaking component to prevent further releases and must repair, replace, upgrade, or permanently close the UST system. 
 
     Subp. 2. Reporting releases or suspected releases. A person who has knowledge of a release from a UST system 
must immediately notify the Minnesota duty officer upon discovering the release by calling 1-800-422-0798 and must 
begin recovering the substance according to Minnesota Statutes, section 115.061. Notice under this subpart is also re-
quired if: 
 
          A.   the owners and operators discover a release of a regulated substance at the underground tank site or in the 
surrounding area; 
 
          B.   an unusual operating condition exists, unless: 
 
               (1)   the system component is immediately repaired or replaced; and 
 
               (2)   for secondarily contained systems, any liquid in the interstitial space not used for monitoring is immediate-
ly removed; or 
 
          C.   monitoring results from a release-detection method or alarm indicates a release may have occurred, unless: 
 
               (1)   the monitoring device or alarm is found to be defective and is immediately repaired, recalibrated, or re-
placed, and additional monitoring does not confirm the initial results; 
 
               (2)   the leak is contained in a secondary-containment space and: 
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                    (a)   any liquid in the secondary-containment space not used for monitoring is immediately removed; and 
 
                    (b)   any defective system equipment or component is immediately repaired or replaced; or 
 
               (3)   the alarm is investigated and determined to be a nonrelease event. 
 
     Subp. 3. Assessing site; permanent closure or status change.  
 
          A.   Before completing a tank or piping system closure according to part 7150.0410 or changing the status of stor-
ing a nonregulated substance, owners and operators must measure, by laboratory analysis, for the presence of a release. 
 
          B.   Sampling under item A must be according to the commissioner’s requirements. The requirements must be 
based upon where contamination is most likely to be present, taking into consideration the method of closure, nature of 
the stored substance, type of backfill, depth to groundwater, and other factors relevant to identifying the presence of a 
release. 
 
          C.   If contaminated soils, contaminated groundwater, or free product as a liquid or vapor is discovered by mea-
surement under this subpart or by any other means, the Minnesota duty officer must be immediately notified by calling 
1-800-422-0798 and corrective action must be started according to Minnesota Statutes, section 115.061. 

OUT-OF-SERVICE UNDERGROUND STORAGETANK SYSTEMS AND UST SYSTEM CLOSURE
 
 
7150.0400  TEMPORARY CLOSURE.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2. Tanks out of service less than 90 days. When an underground storage tank a UST system is out of service 
for less than 90 days, owners and operators must continue operation and maintenance of corrosion protection accord-
ing to part 7150.0215, and any release detection according to parts 7150.0300 to 7150.0340. Release detection is not 
required as long as the underground storage tank UST system is empty. The underground storage tank UST system is 
empty when all materials have been removed using commonly employed practices so that no more than 2.5 centimeters, 
or one inch, of residue remains in the system as measured through any part of the tank UST system. 

[For text of subp 3, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 4. Tanks out of service one year. When an underground storage tank a UST system is out of service for one 
year or more, owners and operators must permanently close the underground storage tank UST system according to part 
7150.0410, unless the owner or operator requests an extension of the closure period by submitting an application for 
an extension on a form approved by the commissioner and the commissioner approves the extension in writing based 
on compliance with this part. Conditions of extension shall must include record keeping requirements according to part 
7150.0450 and the continued operation and maintenance of cathodic corrosion protection according to part 7150.0215. 
The underground storage tank UST system may not be returned to service without the written approval of the commis-
sioner, based on compliance with the applicable requirements of this chapter. 
 
     Subp. 5. Tanks out of service five years. All underground storage tank UST systems must be permanently closed if 
the tank UST system is out of service for five years or more. 
 
7150.0410  PERMANENT CLOSURE AND CHANGE IN STATUS TO STORAGE OF NONREGULATED SUB-
STANCES. 
 
     Subpart 1. Requirements. In addition to the requirements of the most current Minnesota Fire Code, owners and oper-
ators must comply with the provisions in subparts 2 3 to 7 relating to permanent closure or change in status to storage of 
nonregulated substances. 
 
     Subp. 2.  [See repealer.] 
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     Subp. 3. Permanent closure.  
 
          A.   To permanently close a tank piping system, owners and operators must empty and clean it the piping by re-
moving all liquids. To permanently close a UST system, owners and operators must empty and clean the tank and piping 
by removing all liquids and accumulated sludges from the tank and piping.  
 
          B.   All tanks and piping taken out of service permanently closed must also be either:  
 
               (1)   removed from the ground; or  
 
               (2)   completely filled in with an inert solid material and free of voids that could allow flammable or hazardous 
vapors or liquids to accumulate in the voids. 
 
          C.  A site assessment must be conducted according to part 7150.0345, subpart 3, for all tanks and piping perma-
nently closed. 
 
          D.   When a tank is retrofitted according to part 7150.0205, subpart 1, the original tank upon which the retrofitted 
tank is secured is considered permanently closed and a site assessment must be conducted according to part 7150.0345, 
subpart 3. 
 
     Subp. 4. Storage of Storing nonregulated substances. Continued use of an underground storage tank a UST system 
to store a nonregulated substance is considered a change in status. Before a change in status to storage of a nonregulat-
ed substance, owners and operators must empty and clean the tank and piping by removing all liquid and accumulated 
sludge and conduct a site assessment according to part 7150.0420 7150.0345, subpart 3. 
 
     Subp. 5. Certification of closers closure. Owners and operators must ensure that persons performing permanent 
closures under subpart 3 or changes in status under subpart 4: 
 
          A.   are in compliance with certification requirements imposed by chapter 7105. Such persons must; 
 
          B.   furnish copies of current certificates issued by the agency commissioner to the owner and operator before 
beginning a permanent closure under subpart 3 or a change in status under subpart 4.; and 
 
          C.   certify on the notification form required under part 7150.0090, subpart 2, that the methods used to perform the 
permanent closure or change in status complied with this part. 
 
     Subp. 6.  [See repealer.] 
 
     Subp. 7. Cleaning and closure procedures. The cleaning and closure procedures listed in one of the following doc-
uments must be used as guidance for complying to comply with this part. The documents are incorporated by reference 
under part 7150.0500: 
 
          A.  American Petroleum Institute, Closure of Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks, API RP 1604 (1996); 
 
          B.  American Petroleum Institute, Interior Lining and Periodic Inspection of Underground Storage Tanks, API STD 
1631 (2001); or 
 
          C.  American Petroleum Institute, Requirements for Safe Entry and Cleaning of Petroleum Storage Tanks, API 
STD 2015 (2001).; 
 
          D.   American Petroleum Institute, Guidelines and Procedures for Entering and Cleaning Petroleum Storage Tanks, 
API RP 2016; 
 
          E.   National Fire Protection Association, Standard for the Safeguarding of Tanks and Containers for Entry, Clean-
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ing, or Repair, NFPA 326; and 
 
          F.   National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Criteria for a Recommended Standard: Working in Con-
fined Spaces, DHEW (NIOSH) Publication No. 80-106. 
 
7150.0430  PREVIOUSLY CLOSED UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK UST SYSTEMS. 

     When directed by the commissioner, the owner owners and operator operators of an underground storage tank a UST 
system permanently closed before December 22, 1988, must assess the excavation zone according to part 7150.0420 
7150.0345, subpart 3, and close the underground storage tank UST system according to part 7150.0410 if releases from 
the underground storage tank may, in the judgment of the commissioner, pose a current or potential threat to human 
health and the environment. 

OPERATOR REQUIREMENTS, REPORTING, AND RECORD KEEPING
 
7150.0445  CLASS A, B, AND C OPERATOR REQUIREMENTS. 
 
     Subpart 1. General.  
 
          A.   Owners and operators of a UST system are responsible for ensuring that class A, B, and C operators fulfill 
their responsibilities under this chapter. 
 
          B.   Class A, B, and C operators must be the owner or operator of the UST system or a designated employee of the 
owner or operator. 
 
          C.   Owners or operators of a UST system must designate a class A, B, and C operator for the UST system, except 
that owners or operators are not required to designate a class C operator for unattended card-lock facilities. 
 
          D.   During business hours, a class A, B, or C operator must be on site during operation of the UST system except 
at unattended card-lock facilities. Unattended card-lock facilities must post a legible sign in a conspicuous location with 
the facility name, facility address, telephone numbers for the facility owner and operator, and telephone number for local 
emergency response. 
 
          E.   Each individual that meets the definition of a class C operator must be designated as a class C operator. 
 
     Subp. 2. Class A operator responsibilities. The class A operator is responsible for managing resources and personnel 
to achieve and maintain compliance with this chapter. At a minimum, a class A operator must be knowledgeable about 
the purpose, methods, and function of: 
 
          A.   spill and overfill prevention; 
 
          B.   release detection; 
 
          C.   corrosion protection; 
 
          D.   emergency response; 
 
          E.   product and equipment compatibility; 
 
          F.   notification under part 7150.0090, subpart 2; 
 
          G.   temporary and permanent closure; 
 
          H.   testing, reporting, and record keeping for UST systems; 
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          I.   environmental and regulatory consequences of releases; 
 
          J.   financial responsibility; and 
 
          K.   training. 
 
     Subp. 3. Class B operator responsibilities.  
 
          A.   The class B operator is responsible for daily operation and maintenance of the UST system. The class B 
operator must be on site at least once each month to ensure proper operation and maintenance of the UST systems, 
except that the class B operator of an unattended card-lock facility must be on site at least once each week. 
 
          B.   Each month, the class B operator must validate that: 
 
               (1)   release-detection monitoring is being performed according to parts 7150.0300 to 7150.0340; 
 
               (2)   reporting is being performed and records are being maintained according to part 7150.0450; 
 
               (3)   spill-, overfill-, and corrosion-protection systems are in place and operating according to part 7150.0205; 
 
               (4)   cathodic-protection testing is being performed according to part 7150.0215; 
 
               (5)   unusual operating conditions or release-detection system indications are being reported and investigated 
according to Minnesota Statutes, section 115.061; and 
 
               (6)   routine operation and maintenance activities are being done according to part 7150.0216. 
 
          C.   At a minimum, a class B operator must be knowledgeable about the purpose, methods, and function of: 
 
               (1)   operating and maintaining the UST system; 
 
               (2)   spill and overfill prevention; 
 
               (3)   release detection and related reporting; 
 
               (4)   corrosion protection; 
 
               (5)   emergency response; 
 
               (6)   product and equipment compatibility; 
 
               (7)   testing, inspection, and record keeping for UST systems; 
 
               (8)   environmental and regulatory consequences of a release; and 
 
               (9)   training requirements for class C operators. 
 
     Subp. 4. Class C operator responsibilities. The class C operator must be: 
 
          A.   on site daily and responsible for handling emergencies and alarms pertaining to a spill or release from a UST 
system, including reporting spills and releases; 
 
          B.   trained by a class A or B operator before assuming responsibility for the tank system; and 
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          C.   trained to take action according to this chapter in response to emergencies or alarms caused by spills or 
releases resulting from operating the UST system or from dispensing activities. 
 
     Subp. 5. Class A and B operator examinations.  
 
          A.   Class A and B operators must pass an agency-administered examination with a score of 75 percent or higher to 
verify knowledge of the UST system. Class A and B operators must pass the agency-administered examination within 30 
days after being designated by the owner or operator of the UST system. 
 
          B.   A class B operator must retake the examination under item A within 30 days after a change in any of the 
following components of a UST system: 
 
               (1)   tank or piping construction material; 
 
               (2)   tank or piping release-detection method; or 
 
               (3)   type of cathodic-protection system. 
 
          C.   Notwithstanding item A, if a designated class A or B operator is certified in another state as a class A or B 
operator for underground storage tanks, the owner or operator may apply to the commissioner for a waiver of the 
examination requirement in item A. To get approval of a waiver application, the owner or operator must submit to the 
commissioner a copy of the designated class A or B operator’s current certification issued by another state and informa-
tion to demonstrate that the other state’s operator certification examination is equivalent in content to the agency-admin-
istered examination under item A. The commissioner must approve in writing a waiver application that complies with 
this item and demonstrates the required equivalency. Owners and operators are subject to the commissioner’s conditions 
of approval and to the other requirements in this part, including the reexamination requirements in item B and the 
training and reexamination requirements in subpart 6, item B. 
 
     Subp. 6. Class A and B operator training requirements.  
 
          A.   If the class A or B operator does not receive a passing score of 75 percent or higher on the examination under 
subpart 5, the class A or B operator must attend an agency-approved training course and retake and pass an agency-ad-
ministered examination with a score of 75 percent or higher. The class A or B operator must pass the examination within 
60 days after the commissioner notifies the class A or B operator of a failing score on the original examination. 
 
          B.   If the commissioner determines that the owner or operator of a UST system has violated part 7150.0205, 
subpart 5; 7150.0215; 7150.0216; 7150.0300; 7150.0330; 7150.0340; or 7150.0400, the class B operator of the UST 
system must attend an agency-approved training course and retake and pass an agency-administered examination with a 
score of 75 percent or higher. The class B operator must pass the examination within 30 days after the commissioner 
notifies the class B operator of the requirement. 
 
     Subp. 7. Training course approval.  
 
          A.   A person seeking to train class A or B operators must apply for agency approval of the training course accord-
ing to this subpart. 
 
          B.   A training provider must submit to the commissioner an application on a form provided by the commissioner. 
The application must contain: 
 
               (1)   the course sponsor’s name, address, and telephone number; 
 
               (2)   a list of states that approve the training course at the time the application is submitted; 
 
               (3)   the course curriculum, including topics to be covered and length of the training; 
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               (4)   a letter from the course sponsor that explains how the course meets the requirements of this chapter; 
 
               (5)   a copy of all course materials, such as student manuals, instructor notebooks, and handouts; 
 
               (6)   a copy of the certificate that will be issued to students who attend the course; and 
 
               (7)   other information determined relevant by the commissioner for evaluating whether the course will train 
operators to meet the requirements of this chapter. 
 
          C.   Training must provide the knowledge necessary for class A or B operators to monitor and maintain UST 
systems in a manner that complies with this chapter, prevents releases to the environment, minimizes the size of acciden-
tal releases through early detection, and mitigates damage from releases with proper emergency response. 
 
          D.   The commissioner must suspend or revoke approval of a training course if the commissioner finds that the 
course no longer provides training that meets the requirements of this chapter. 
 
          E.   Except as provided in item D, approval of a training course is effective until the commissioner determines that 
the training course does not meet the requirements of this chapter. Upon making the determination, the commissioner 
must notify the approved training provider that changes in the course are required to maintain commissioner approval. 
The training provider must then submit a revised training course to the commissioner for approval. 
 
7150.0450  REPORTING AND RECORD KEEPING.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]
 
     Subp. 2. Reporting. Owners and operators must submit the following information to the commissioner within the 
applicable time frames: 

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]
 
          C.  reports of all releases under part 7150.0345 and Minnesota Statutes, section 115.061, including suspected 
releases, spills and overfills, and confirmed releases; 

[For text of items D and E, see M.R.]
 
          F.  inspection reports for internally lined tanks under part 7150.0205 7150.0215, subpart 1 4, item E, subitem (1) 
items A and B. 
 
     Subp. 3. Record retention. Owners and operators must maintain the following information in a legible manner for 
the specified time frame: 
 
          A.  the commissioner’s determination under part 7150.0205, subpart 1, item F B, subitem (5); subpart 3, item F A, 
subitem (3); or subpart 5, item B, subitem (1), that alternative corrosion protection equipment for corrosion protection or 
spill and overfill prevention equipment may be used, shall must be maintained for the life of the tank UST system; 

[For text of item B, see M.R.]
 
          C.  documentation of underground storage tank system repairs for UST systems, including the nature of each 
repair, and results of required integrity testing, and any commissioner’s written determination under part 7150.0100, 
subpart 10, item C 7150.0250, subpart 2, shall must be maintained for the life of the tank UST system; 
 
          D.  documentation of compliance with release detection requirements under parts 7150.0300 to 7150.0340, as 
follows: 
 
               (1)  all written performance claims pertaining to any release detection system used, and the manner in which 
these claims have been justified or tested by the equipment manufacturer or installer, including documentation of “safe 
suction” design according to suction piping meeting the design requirements of part 7150.0300, subpart 6, item B,  



257PageMinnesota State Register, Monday 27 August 2018(Cite 43 SR 257)

Proposed Rules
subitem (2), must be maintained for as long as the system is being used to comply with the requirements of this chapter; 
 
               (2)  the results of any sampling, testing, or monitoring must be maintained for at least ten five years, including: 
 
                    (a)  monthly tank inventory control according to part 7150.0330, subpart 2 statistical inventory reconcilia-
tion results according to part 7150.0330, subpart 6a; 

[For text of unit (b), see M.R.]
 
                    (c)  monthly or annual tank tightness testing according to part 7150.0330, subpart 4; 

[For text of unit (d), see M.R.]
 
 
                    (e)  monthly interstitial monitoring of secondary containment secondary-containment tanks according to part 
7150.0330, subpart 6, item A, subitem (2); 

[For text of units (f) to (i), see M.R.]
 
                    (j)  monthly interstitial monitoring of secondary containment secondary-containment piping according to 
part 7150.0340, subpart 4; 
 
                    (k)  monthly results of an alternative piping release detection method for detecting releases in piping accord-
ing to part 7150.0340, subpart 5; and 
 
                    (l)  monthly sump and basin monitoring according to part 7150.0300, subpart 7; and 
 
                    (m) (l)  annual testing of any automatic leak-sensing device in any secondarily contained tank according to 
part 7150.0330, subpart 6, item C, or submersible pump sump according to part 7150.0340, subpart 4, item C; 
 
               (3)  written documentation of all calibration, maintenance, and repair of release detection equipment perma-
nently located on site must be maintained for at least ten five years after the servicing work is completed. Any schedules 
of required calibration and maintenance provided by the release detection equipment manufacturer must be retained as 
long as the system is being used to comply with the requirements of this chapter; and 

[For text of subitem (4), see M.R.]
 
          E.   documentation that shows that testing wastes generated during sump and spill-bucket testing have been 
disposed of properly in accordance with state and local regulations must be maintained for at least five years after the 
testing; 
 
          E. F.  results of the site assessment conducted at permanent closure or change in status to a nonregulated sub-
stance under part 7150.0420 7150.0345 and any other records that are capable of demonstrating compliance with closure 
requirements under parts 7150.0400 and 7150.0410. The results of the site assessment required in part 7150.0420 must 
be maintained for at least three years after completion of permanent closure or change in status in one of the following 
ways: 
 
               (1)  at the facility by the owners and operators who took the underground storage tank UST system out of ser-
vice; 
 
               (2)  at the facility by the current owners and operators of the underground storage tank UST system site; or 
 
               (3)  by mailing these records to the commissioner if the records cannot be maintained at the closed facility; 
 
          F. G.   certification that the facility’s class A operator and class B operator have passed the operator examination 
requirements or documentation of current certification in another state if the commissioner has approved a waiver of the 
agency-administered examination. Certifications on current personnel must be kept until closure of the facility. Certifi-
cations on former personnel must be kept for at least three years from the date of the employee’s termination or until the 
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class A or B operator is no longer employed at the facility, whichever occurs first; 
 
          G. H.   records of monthly or weekly on-site presence of the class B operator according to part 7150.0211 
7150.0445, subpart 5 3, must be kept for at least ten five years; and 
 
          H. I.   records that document that the class C operator has received the training required in part 7150.0211 
7150.0445, subpart 6 4, including the date of training, who performed the training, and the contents of the training. 
Training records on current personnel must be kept until closure of the facility. Training records on former personnel 
must be kept for at least three years from the date of the employee’s termination. or until the class C operator is no longer 
employed at the facility, whichever occurs first; 
 
          J.   results of the following testing, inspections, and monitoring must be maintained for at least five years: 
 
               (1)   periodic operation and maintenance inspections according to part 7150.0216, subpart 2; 
 
               (2)   leak-detection equipment inspections and testing according to part 7150.0216, subpart 3; 
 
               (3)   testing or monitoring spill buckets or containment sumps according to part 7150.0216, subpart 4; 
 
               (4)   overfill-prevention equipment inspection and testing according to part 7150.0216, subpart 5; and 
 
               (5)   any other documentation of compliance with part 7150.0216; and 
 
          K.   documentation that the components of the UST system are compatible with the substance stored according to 
part 7150.0100, subpart 9, must be maintained for the life of the UST system. 

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]
 
7150.0451  UST SYSTEMS WITH FIELD-CONSTRUCTED TANKS AND AIRPORT HYDRANT FUEL DIS-
TRIBUTION SYSTEMS. 

     Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 280, subpart K, as amended, entitled “UST Systems with Field-Constructed 
Tanks and Airport Hydrant Fuel Distribution Systems,” is incorporated by reference. 

 
7150.0500  INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE. 
 
     Subpart 1. Scope. For purposes of this chapter 7150, the documents in subpart 2 are incorporated by reference. These 
documents are not subject to frequent change. They can be found at the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Library, 
520 Lafayette Road, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155, at the addresses indicated, or through the Minitex interlibrary loan 
system. If any of the documents are amended, and if the amendments are incorporated by reference or otherwise made a 
part of federal technical rules at Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 280, then the amendments to documents are 
also incorporated by reference in this chapter. 
 
     Subp. 2. Referenced standards. The documents referenced throughout this chapter are listed in items A to H J: 
 
          A.  American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 345 East 47th Street, New York, New York 10017. 
 
               (1)  B31.3, Process Piping (2005); and 
 
               (2)  B31.4, Pipeline Transportation Systems for Liquid Hydrocarbons and Other Liquids (2006). 
 
          B. A.  American Petroleum Institute, 1220 L Street Northwest, Washington, D.C. 20005.: 
 
               (1)  API RP 1007, Loading and Unloading of MC 306/DOT 406 Cargo Tank Motor Vehicles (2001); 
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               (2)   API RP 1604, Closure of Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks (1996); 
 
               (2) (3)  API RP 1615, Installation of Underground Petroleum Storage Systems (1996) (2011); 
 
               (3) (4)  API RP 1621, Bulk Liquid Stock Control at Retail Outlets (1987) (1993); 
 
               (4)  API 1626, Storing and Handling Ethanol and Gasoline-Ethanol Blends at Distribution Terminals and 
Service Stations (1985); 
 
               (5)  API STD 1631, Interior Lining and Periodic Inspection of Underground Storage Tanks (2001); 
 
               (6)  API RP 1632, Cathodic Protection of Underground Petroleum Storage Tanks and Piping Systems (1996); 
 
               (7)  API STD 2015, Requirements for Safe Entry and Cleaning of Petroleum Storage Tanks (2001) (2014); and 
 
               (8)  API RP 2200, Repairing Crude Oil, Liquefied Petroleum Gas, and Product Hazardous Liquid Pipelines 
(1994). (2015); and 
 
               (9)   API RP 2016, Guidelines and Procedures for Entering and Cleaning Petroleum Storage Tanks (2001). 
 
          B.   Fiberglass Tank and Pipe Institute: 
 
               (1)   RP T-95-1, Remanufacturing of Fiberglass Reinforced Plastic (FRP) Underground Storage Tanks (1995); 
and 
 
               (2)   RP 2007-2, Field Test Protocol for Testing the Annular Space of Installed Underground Fiberglass Double 
and Triple-Wall Tanks with Dry Annular Space (2007). 
 
          C.  National Association of Corrosion Engineers, Publications Department, P.O. Box 218340, Houston, Texas 
77218. NACE International: 
 
               (1)  SP0169-2007 SP0169-2013, Control of External Corrosion on Underground or Submerged Metallic Piping 
Systems (2007) (2013); and 
 
               (2)  RP0285-2002 SP0285-2011, Corrosion Control of Underground Storage Tank Systems by Cathodic 
Protection (2002). (2011); 
 
               (3)   TM0101-2012, Measurement Techniques Related to Criteria for Cathodic Protection of Underground Tank 
Systems (2012); and 
 
               (4)   TM0497-2012, Measurement Techniques Related to Criteria for Cathodic Protection on Underground or 
Submerged Metallic Piping Systems (2012). 
 
          D.  National Fire Protection Association, Batterymarch Park, Quincy, Massachusetts 02269.: 
 
               (1)  NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids Code (2003) (2015); and 
 
               (2)  NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing Facilities and Repair Garages (2015); 
 
               (3)   NFPA 385, Standard for Tank Vehicles for Flammable and Combustible Liquids (2007). (2012); and 
 
               (4)   NFPA 326, Standard for the Safeguarding of Tanks and Containers for Entry, Cleaning, or Repair (2015). 
 
          E.   National Leak Prevention Association, NLPA 631, Chapter A, Entry, Cleaning, Interior Inspection, Repair, and 
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Lining of Underground Storage Tanks (1991). 
 
          F.   National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, DHEW (NIOSH) Publication No. 80-106, Criteria for a 
Recommended Standard: Working in Confined Spaces (1979). 
 
          E. G.  Petroleum Equipment Institute, P.O. Box 2380, Tulsa, Oklahoma 74101: 
 
               (1)   RP100 PEI/RP 100-11, Recommended Practices for Installation of Underground Liquid Storage Systems 
(2005). (2011); 
 
               (2)   PEI/RP900, Recommended Practices for the Inspection and Maintenance of UST Systems (2008); 
 
               (3)   PEI/RP1000-14, Recommended Practices for the Installation of Marina Fueling Systems (2014); and 
 
               (4)   PEI/RP1200, Recommended Practices for the Testing and Verification of Spill, Overfill, Leak Detection 
and Secondary Containment Equipment at UST Facilities (2017). 
 
          F. H.  Steel Tank Institute, 570 Oakwood Road, Lake Zurich, Illinois 60047.: 
 
               (1)  STI-P3, Specification and Manual for External Corrosion Protection of Underground Steel Storage Tanks 
(2006); 
 
               (2) (1)  STI F841, Standard for Dual Wall Underground Steel Storage Tanks (2006); 
 
               (3) (2)  STI F894, ACT-100® Specification for External Corrosion Protection of FRP Composite Steel Under-
ground Storage Tanks (2006) USTs (2015); and 
 
               (3)   F922, Specification for Permatank® (2014); 
 
               (4)   F961, ACT-100-U® Specification for External Corrosion Protection of Composite Steel Underground 
Storage Tanks (2015); 
 
                (5)  STI-P3®, Specification and Manual for External Corrosion Protection of Underground Steel Storage Tanks 
(2015); 
 
               (4) (6)  R012, Recommended Practice for Interstitial Tightness Testing of Existing Underground Double Wall 
Steel Tanks (2006). (2007); 
 
               (7)   R051, Cathodic Protection Testing Procedures for sti-P3® UST’s (2006); 
 
               (8)   R892, Recommended Practice for Corrosion Protection of Underground Piping Networks Associated with 
Liquid Storage and Dispensing Systems (2006); and 
 
               (9)   R972, Recommended Practice for the Addition of Supplemental Anodes to sti-P3® UST’s (2010). 
 
          G. I.  Underwriters Laboratories Inc., 333 Pfingsten Road, Northbrook, Illinois 60062.: 
 
               (1)  UL 58, Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable and Combustible Liquids (1996); 
 
               (2)  UL 567, Emergency Breakaway Fittings, Swivel Connectors and Pipe-Connection Fittings for Petroleum 
Products and LP-Gas (2004) UL 971, Standard for Nonmetallic Underground Piping for Flammable Liquids (1995); 
 
               (3)   UL 971A, Outline of Investigation for Metallic Underground Fuel Pipe (2006); 
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               (3) (4)  UL 1316, Standard for Glass-Fiber-Reinforced Plastic Underground Storage Tanks for Petroleum 
Products, Alcohols, and Alcohol-Gasoline Mixtures (2006); and 
 
               (4) (5)  UL 1746, Standard for Safety for External Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel Underground Storage 
Tanks (2007).; 
 
               (6)   UL 1856, Outline of Investigation for Underground Fuel Tank Internal Retrofit Systems (2013); and 
 
               (7)   UL 2447, Outline of Investigation for Containment Sumps, Fittings and Accessories for Fuels (2012). 
 
          H. J.  Underwriters’ Laboratories of Canada, 7 Crouse Road, Scarborough, Ontario, Canada M1R 3A9.: 
 
               (1)  CAN/ULC-S603.1-03, External Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable 
and Combustible Liquids (2003); 
 
               (2) (1)  CAN/ULC-S603-00 CAN/ULC-S603-14, Standard for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable and 
Combustible Liquids (2000) (2014); 
 
               (2)   CAN/ULC-S603.1-11, External Corrosion Protection Systems for Steel Underground Tanks for Flammable 
and Combustible Liquids (2011); 
 
               (3)  ULC-S615-98 CAN/ULC-S615-14, Standard for Fibre Reinforced Plastic Underground Tanks for Flamma-
ble and Combustible Liquids (1998) (2014); 
 
               (4)  ULC-S631-05, Standard for Isolating Bushings for Steel Underground Tanks Protected with External 
Corrosion Protection Systems (2005); 
 
               (5)  CAN/ULC-S633-99, Standard for Flexible Underground Hose Connectors for Flammable and Combustible 
Liquids (1999); CAN/ULC S660-08, Standard for Nonmetallic Underground Piping for Flammable and Combustible 
Liquids (2008); and 
 
               (6)  ULC Subject C107C-M1984, Guide for Glass-Fiber-Reinforced Plastic Pipe and Fittings for Flammable 
Liquids (1984); 
 
               (7) (6)  ULC/ORD-C107.21-1992, Under-Dispenser Sumps (1992); and. 
 
               (8)  ULC/ORD-C971-2005, Nonmetallic Underground Piping for Flammable and Combustible Liquids (2005). 
 
TERM CHANGE. The term “underground storage tank system” is changed to “UST system,” together with any 
necessary grammatical changes, wherever the term appears in Minnesota Rules, chapter 7150. 
 
REPEALER.Minnesota Rules, parts 7150.0010, subpart 4; 7150.0030, subparts 8, 23, 25a, 44a, and 49; 7150.0100, 
subparts 10 and 12; 7150.0211; 7150.0300, subparts 2 and 7; 7150.0330, subpart 2; 7150.0410, subparts 2 and 6; and 
7150.0420, are repealed.
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A rule becomes effective after the requirements of Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.05-14.28 have been met and five 

working days after the rule is published  in the State Register, unless a later date is required by statutes or specified 
in the rule.  If an adopted rule is identical to its proposed form as previously published, a notice of adoption and a 
citation to its previous State Register publication will be printed.  If an adopted rule differs from its proposed form, 
language which has been deleted will be printed with strikeouts and new language will be underlined.  The rule's 
previous State Register publication will be cited.

KEY:  Proposed Rules  -  Underlining indicates additions to existing rule language. Strikeouts indicate dele-
tions from existing rule language.  If a proposed rule is totally new, it is designated “all new material.”  Adopted 
Rules  - Underlining indicates additions to proposed rule language.  Strikeout indicates deletions from proposed 
rule language.

Minnesota Department of Health
Adopted Permanent Rules Relating to Health Risk Limits

The rules proposed and published at State Register, Volume 42, Number 30, pages 823-839, January 22, 2018 (42 SR 
823), are adopted with the following modifications: 
 
4717.7860  HEALTH RISK LIMITS TABLE. 
 
     Subp. 3. Acetochlor.
                          CAS number: 34256-82-1
                          Year Adopted: 2018
                          Volatility: Nonvolatile

Acute Short-term Subchronic Chronic Cancer
HRL (µg/L) ND 30 30 20 NA
RfD (mg/kg-
day)

-- 0.016 0.012 0.0039 --

RSC -- 0.5 0.2 0.2 --
SF (per mg/
kg-day)

-- -- -- -- --

ADAF or 
AFlifetime

-- -- -- -- --

Intake Rate 
(L/kg-day)

-- 0.285 0.070 0.044 --

Endpoints -- developmental, 
hepatic (liver) system, 

thyroid (E)

hepatic (liver) system, 
male reproductive 

system, nervous system, 
renal (kidney) system

hepatic (liver) system, male 
reproductive system, ner-

vous system, renal (kidney) 
system, respiratory system

--

 
 
     Subp. 14b. Perfluorobutyrate Perfluorobutanoate (PFBA).
                         CAS number: 45048-62-2; 375-22-4
                         Year Adopted: 2018
                         Volatility: Nonvolatile
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Acute Short-term Subchronic Chronic Cancer

HRL (µg/L) ND 7 7 (2) 7 (2) NA
RfD (mg/kg-day) -- 0.0038 (2) (2) --
RSC -- 0.5 (2) (2) --
SF (per mg/kg-day) -- -- -- -- --
ADAF or AFlifetime -- -- -- -- --
Intake Rate (L/
kg-day)

-- 0.285 (2) (2) --

Endpoints -- hepatic (liver) system, 
thyroid (E)

hepatic (liver) system, 
thyroid (E)

hepatic (liver) system, 
thyroid (E)

--

 
     Subp. 15. Perfluorooctane sulfonate (PFOS) and salts.
                           CAS number: 45298-90-6; 1763-23-1; 29081-56-9; 2795-39-3; 70225-14-8; and 29457-72-5
                           Year Adopted: 2018 2009
                           Volatility: Nonvolatile

Acute Short-term Subchronic Chronic Can-
cer

HRL (µg/L) ND 0.027 ND 0.027 ND 0.027 0.3 NA
RfD (mg/kg-
day)

-- 0.0000051 -- 0.0000051 -- 0.0000051 0.00008 --

RSC -- 0.5 -- 0.5 -- 0.5 0.2 --
SF (per mg/
kg-day)

-- -- -- -- --

ADAF or 
AFlifetime

-- -- -- -- --

Intake Rate 
(L/kg-day)

-- * -- * -- * 0.049 --

Endpoints -- developmental, hepatic 
(liver) system, immune 
system, thyroid (E) --

developmental, hepatic 
(liver) system, immune 
system, thyroid (E) --

developmental,hepatic (liver) 
system, immune system, 

thyroid (E)

--

* 95th percentile water intake rates (Tables 3-1 and 3-3), or upper percentile breast milk intake rates (Table 15-1), Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency (EPA) Exposure Factors Handbook, 2011. 
 
     Subp. 16. Perfluorooctanoic acid Perfluorooctanoate (PFOA) and salts.
                           CAS number: 45285-51-6; 335-67-1; 335-66-0; 3825-26-1; 2395-00-8; 335-93-3; and 335-95-5
                           Year Adopted: 2018
                           Volatility: Nonvolatile

Acute Short-term Subchronic Chronic Cancer
HRL (µg/L) ND 0.035 0.035 0.035 NA
RfD (mg/kg-
day)

-- 0.000018 0.000018 0.000018 --

RSC -- 0.5 0.5 0.5 --
SF (per mg/
kg-day)

-- -- -- -- --
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Acute Short-term Subchronic Chronic Cancer

ADAF or 
AFlifetime

-- -- -- -- --

Intake Rate 
(L/kg-day)

-- * * * --

Endpoints -- developmental, hepatic 
(liver) system, immune 
system, renal (kidney) 

system

developmental, hepatic 
(liver) system, immune 
system, renal (kidney) 

system

developmental, hepatic 
(liver) system, immune 
system, renal (kidney) 

system

--

* 95th percentile water intake rates (Tables 3-1 and 3-3), or upper percentile breast milk intake rates (Table 15-1), Envi-
ronmental Protection Agency (EPA) Exposure Factors Handbook, 2011. 
 
     Subp. 18b. Thiamethoxam.
                              CAS number: 153719-23-4
                              Year Adopted: 2018
                              Volatility: Nonvolatile

Acute Short-term Subchronic Chronic Cancer
HRL (µg/L) ND 400 200 200 (3) NA
RfD (mg/kg-day) -- 0.25 0.057 (3) --
RSC -- 0.5 0.2 (3) --
SF (per mg/kg-
day)

-- -- -- -- --

ADAF or AFlifetime -- -- -- -- --
Intake Rate (L/
kg-day)

-- 0.285 0.070 (3) --

Endpoints -- developmental, female reproductive 
system, hepatic (liver) system

male reproductive 
system

male reproductive 
system

--
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Executive Orders
The governor has the authority to issue written statements or orders, called Executive Orders. as well as Emer-

gency Executive Orders.  The governor's authority is specified in the Constitution of the State of Minnesota, Article 
V, and in Minnesota Statutes § 4.035.  Emergency Executive Orders, for protection from an imminent threat to 
health and safety, become effective immediately, are filed with the secretary of state, and published in the State Reg-
ister as soon as possible after they are issued.  Other Executive Orders become effective 15 days after publication 
in the State Register and filing with the secretary of state.  Unless otherwise specified, an executive order expires 90 
days after the date the governor who issued the order vacates office.

Office of the Governor
Emergency Executive Order 18-12: Providing for Assistance to the Minnesota Interagency 
Fire Center

I, Mark Dayton, Governor of the State of Minnesota, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution 
and applicable statutes, do hereby issue this Executive Order:

Whereas, a wildfire is actively burning in Beltrami County and ground access to the fire area is very difficult; and

Whereas, with strong winds and low humidity, the fire danger in northwest Minnesota is categorized as “very high” 
and those conditions will persist for the next several days; and

Whereas, these conditions make it imperative to suppress this wildfire as quickly as possible; and

Whereas, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources requires additional wildfire assets, especially aircraft, to 
accomplish this rapid suppression; and 

Whereas, the MIFC has requested wildfire suppression support from the Minnesota National Guard;

Now, Therefore, I hereby order that:

1.	 The Adjutant General of Minnesota order to state active duty on or about August 23, 2018 in the service of the 
State, such personnel and equipment of the military forces of the State as required and for such period of time as neces-
sary to support wildfire suppression in Minnesota. 

2.	 The Adjutant General of Minnesota is authorized to purchase, lease, or contract for goods and services neces-
sary to accomplish the mission.

3.	 The cost of subsistence, transportation, fuel, pay, and allowances of said individuals shall be defrayed from 
the general fund of the State, as provided for in Minnesota Statutes, sections 192.49, subdivisions 1 and 2; 192.52; and 
192.54, and as otherwise permitted by law.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 4.035, subdivision 2, this Emergency Executive Order is effective immedi-
ately and must be filed with the Secretary of State and published in the State Register as soon as possible after its issu-
ance. It remains in effect until such date as elements of the military forces of the State are no longer required.

In Testimony Whereof, I have set my hand on this 23rd day of August 2018.

Mark Dayton
Governor

Filed According to Law:

Steve Simon
Secretary of State
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Commissioner’s Orders
Various agency commissioners are authorized to issue "commissioner's orders" on specified activities gov-

erned by their agency's enabling laws.  See the Minnesota Statutes governing each agency to determine the specific 
applicable statutes. Commissioners' orders are approved by assistant attorneys general as to form and execution and 
published in the State Register. These commissioners orders are compiled in the year-end subject matter index for 
each volume of the State Register.

Department of Natural Resources
Commissioner’s Order: Designation of “No Registration Weekend” for All-Terrain  
Vehicles

Date:  August 6, 2018

Statutory authority:  Minnesota Statutes, section 84.922, subdivision 13

BACKGROUND

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes, section 84.922, subdivision 13, requires the Commissioner of Natural Resources to 
designate one "no registration weekend" each year for all-terrain vehicles.

WHEREAS, during the designated "no registration weekend" an all-terrain vehicle may be operated on state and 
grant-in-aid all-terrain vehicle trails without a registration or a nonresident state trail pass, notwithstanding the require-
ments of Minnesota Statutes, section 84.922, subdivision 1, and Minnesota Statutes, section 84.9275, subdivision 1. 

WHEREAS, the designation must be by written order published in the State Register. 

ORDER

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, pursuant to authority vested in me by law, including but not 
limited to Minnesota Statutes, section 84.922, subdivision 13, that September 7, September 8 and September 9, 2018 
then forthwith the weekend of the second Saturday in the month of June, are designated a "no registration weekend".  
During this time, an all-terrain vehicle may be operated on state and grant-in-aid all-terrain vehicle trails without the reg-
istration required by Minnesota Statutes, section 84.922, subdivision 1.  Nonresidents may operate an all-terrain vehicle 
on state and grant-in-aid all-terrain vehicle trails without possessing a state trail pass issued under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 84.9275.  

Date: August 10, 2018

Tom Landwehr, Commissioner 
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Official Notices
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §§ 14.101, an agency must first solicit comments from the public on the subject 

matter of a  possible rulemaking proposal under active consideration within the agency by publishing a notice in the 
State Register at least 60 days before publication of a notice to adopt or a notice of hearing, and within 60 days of 
the effective date of any new statutory grant of required rulemaking.  

The State Register also publishes other official notices of state agencies and non-state agencies, including notic-
es of meetings and matters of public interest.

Minnesota Department of Health
Division of Health Regulation – Managed Care Systems Section

Notice of Application for Essential Community Provider Status

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that an application for designation as an Essential Community Provider (ECP) has 
been submitted to the Commissioner of Health Lutheran Social Service of Minnesota, 2400 Park Avenue South, Min-
neapolis, Minnesota  55404. Lutheran Social Service offers clinical services at the following Minnesota locations:  507 
22nd Avenue East, Suite 1, Alexandria; 710 South 2nd Street, Mankato; 715 11th Street North, Suite 401, Moorhead; 731 
Western Avenue, Fergus Falls; 211 West Holmes Street, Suite 302, Detroit Lakes; 22 Wilson Avenue North East, Suite 
110, Saint Cloud; 2400 Park Avenue South, Minneapolis; 716 East Street North East, Brainerd; 800 Waconia Parkway 
North, Waconia; 700 South Snelling Saint Paul; 7401 County Road 101, Maple Grove; 1207 South West Prairie Avenue, 
Fairbault; and 401 3rd Avenue NE, Waseca. 

An ECP is a health care provider that serves high-risk, special needs, and underserved individuals.  In order to be 
designated as an ECP, a provider must demonstrate that it meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes Section 62Q.19 
and Minnesota Rules Chapter 4688.  The public is allowed 30 days from the date of the publication of this notice to 
submit written comments on the application.  The commissioner will approve or deny the application once the comment 
period and compliance review is complete. 

For more information contact:
Anne Kukowski

Managed Care Systems Section
Division of Health Regulation

Minnesota Department of Health
P.O. Box 64882

St. Paul, MN  55164-0882
651-201-5173

Department of Human Services
Economic Assistance and Employment Supports Division

MFIP Transitional Standard with Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 
Cost of Living (COLA) Adjustment for October 1, 2018

Minnesota Statute 256J.24, Subd. 5a requires the Commissioner of Human Services to adjust the food portion of the 
Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP) Transitional Standard on October 1 of each year to reflect the COLA to 
the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).  The statute also requires the Commissioner to annually publish 
the adjusted Transitional Standard for assistance unit sizes one to ten.  The Transitional Standard consists of a cash and 
food portion.  The MFIP Transitional Standard and cash and food portions effective October 1, 2018 are listed below.
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Family Size 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Over 

10
Transitional 
Standard $420 $751 $985 $1,200 $1,386 $1,603 $1,749 $1,930 $2,109 $2,283 $172

Cash Portion $250 $437 $532 $621 $697 $773 $850 $916 $980 $1,035 $53

Food Portion $170 $314 $453 $579 $689 $830 $899 $1,014 $1,129 $1,248 $119

Department of Labor and Industry
Construction Codes and Licensing Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendment to Rules Governing the  
Administration of the State Building Code, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1300; Revisor’s ID 
Number R-04508

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requests comments on its possible amendment 
to Minnesota Rules, chapter 1300, the administration chapter of the State Building Code. The Department is considering 
rule amendments to coordinate the administrative rule chapter with the other rule chapters that comprise the Minnesota 
State Building Code, and other amendments necessary to administer the State Building Code in Minnesota.

Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect municipal building officials, building inspectors, 
building contractors, architects, engineers, material suppliers, installers, building owners and managers, homeowners, 
and the general public.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.02, subdivision 5, authorizes, in part, the Commissioner 
of the Department of Labor and Industry (“Commissioner”) to adopt, amend, suspend, and repeal rules relating to the 
Commissioner’s responsibilities under Chapter 326B, except for rules for which the rulemaking authority is expressly 
transferred to the Plumbing Board, the Board of Electricity, or the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems.

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.101 requires, in part, that the Commissioner “administer and amend a state code 
of building construction which will provide basic and uniform performance standards, establish reasonable safeguards 
for health, safety, welfare, comfort, and security of the residents of this state and provide for the use of modern methods, 
devices, materials, and techniques which will in part tend to lower construction costs.”

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106, requires, in part, that the Commissioner “shall by rule and in consultation 
with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, reconstruction, alter-
ation, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire protection, health, 
sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumination, and climate 
control.” That statutory provision also requires that the code “include duties and responsibilities for code administration, 
including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certification.”

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in writ-
ing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 
The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date 
of this request for comments. 

If you believe that the possible rule amendments would require your local unit of government to adopt or amend an 
ordinance or other local regulation to comply with the proposed rules, the Department requests that you provide informa-
tion about the ordinance or regulation to the Agency Contact person listed below.  Additionally, the agency requests any 
information pertaining to the cumulative effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific 
purpose of the rule.  Cumulative effect means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in 
addition to other rules, regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.
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The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 

the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees. 

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments and does not anticipate that a draft 
of the proposed rule amendments will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to: Amanda Spuckler at the Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N. St. Paul, MN 
55155, phone (651) 284-5006, fax: (651) 284-5749, and email to dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you sub-
mitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews 
the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Date: August 10, 2018

Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner
Department of Labor and Industry

Department of Labor and Industry
Construction Codes and Licensing Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendment to Rules Governing the Adoption 
of the International Building Code, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1305; Revisor’s ID Number 
R-04509

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requests comments on its possible amendment 
to Minnesota Rules, chapter 1305, “Adoption of the International Building Code.” The Department is considering rule 
amendments that incorporate by reference the 2018 edition of the International Building Code, with amendments, and 
other amendments necessary to administer and enforce the code requirements for non-residential construction.

Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect municipal building officials, fire officials, building 
inspectors, fire inspectors, building contractors, architects, engineers, current and prospective building owners and man-
agers, and the general public.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.02, subdivision 5, authorizes, in part, the Commissioner 
of the Department of Labor and Industry (“Commissioner”) to adopt, amend, suspend, and repeal rules relating to the 
Commissioner’s responsibilities under Chapter 326B, except for rules for which the rulemaking authority is expressly 
transferred to the Plumbing Board, the Board of Electricity, or the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems.

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.101 requires, in part, that the Commissioner “administer and amend a state code 
of building construction which will provide basic and uniform performance standards, establish reasonable safeguards 
for health, safety, welfare, comfort, and security of the residents of this state and provide for the use of modern methods, 
devices, materials, and techniques which will in part tend to lower construction costs.”
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Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, requires, in part, that the Commissioner “shall by rule and 
in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, re-
construction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire 
protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumi-
nation, and climate control.” That statutory provision also requires that the code “include duties and responsibilities for 
code administration, including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certifica-
tion.”

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in writ-
ing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 
The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date 
of this request for comments. 

If you believe that the possible rule amendments would require your local unit of government to adopt or amend an 
ordinance or other local regulation to comply with the proposed rules, the Department requests that you provide informa-
tion about the ordinance or regulation to the Agency Contact person listed below. Additionally, the agency requests any 
information pertaining to the cumulative effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific 
purpose of the rule. Cumulative effect means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in 
addition to other rules, regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.

The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 
the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees. 

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments and does not anticipate that a draft 
of the proposed rule amendments will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to: Amanda Spuckler at the Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 
55155, phone (651) 284-5006, fax: (651) 284-5749, and email to dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you sub-
mitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews 
the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Date: August 10, 2018

Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner
Department of Labor and Industry

Official Notices
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Department of Labor and Industry
Construction Codes and Licensing Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendment to Rules Governing Elevators and 
Related Devices, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1307; Revisor’s ID Number R-04517

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requests comments on its possible amendment 
to Minnesota Rules, chapter 1307, “Elevators and Related Devices.”  The existing Minnesota Rules chapter 1307 incor-
porates chapter 30 of the 2012 edition of the International Building Code (“IBC”) and incorporates by reference several 
standards published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (“ASME”).  The Department is considering rule 
amendments to repeal Minnesota Rules, part 1307.0095, “Chapter 30 of the International Building Code; Elevators and 
Conveying Systems.”  The Department intends to incorporate Chapter 30 by reference in Minnesota Rules, chapter 1305, 
“Adoption of the International Building Code” during its adoption of the 2018 IBC. The proposed rule amendments also 
add references to standards not previously incorporated in the existing rule, ANSI MH29.1-2012, Safety Requirements 
for Industrial Scissors Lifts and ANSI/ALI ALCTV-2017, Standard for Automotive Lifts –Safety Requirements for 
Construction, Testing and Validation.  The Department is also considering any other amendments that are necessary to 
administer and enforce the Minnesota Elevator Code.

Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect elevator inspectors, elevator contractors, elevator 
manufacturers, building officials, building inspectors, fire officials, fire inspectors, building owners and managers, and 
the general public.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.02, subdivision 5, authorizes, in part, the Commissioner 
of the Department of Labor and Industry (“Commissioner”) to adopt, amend, suspend, and repeal rules relating to the 
Commissioner’s responsibilities under Chapter 326B, except for rules for which the rulemaking authority is expressly 
transferred to the Plumbing Board, the Board of Electricity, or the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems. 

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.101 requires, in part, that the Commissioner “administer and amend a state code 
of building construction which will provide basic and uniform performance standards, establish reasonable safeguards 
for health, safety, welfare, comfort, and security of the residents of this state and provide for the use of modern methods, 
devices, materials, and techniques which will in part tend to lower construction costs.” 

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, requires, in part, that the Commissioner “shall by rule and 
in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, re-
construction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire 
protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumi-
nation, and climate control.” That statutory provision also requires that the code “include duties and responsibilities for 
code administration, including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certifica-
tion.”

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.187, specifically states that the Commissioner may adopt rules for the follow-
ing purposes:

“(1) to establish minimum qualifications for elevator inspectors that must include possession of a current elevator 
constructor electrician’s license issued by the department and proof of successful completion of the national elevator 
industry education program examination or equivalent experience;

(2) to establish minimum qualifications for limited elevator inspectors;	
(3) to establish criteria for the qualifications of elevator contractors;	
(4) to establish elevator standards under sections 326B.106, subdivisions 1 and 3, and 326B.13;
(5) to establish procedures for appeals of decisions of the commissioner under chapter 14 and procedures allowing 

the commissioner, before issuing a decision, to seek advice from the elevator trade, building owners or managers, and 
others knowledgeable in the installation, construction, and repair of elevators; and	

(6) to establish requirements for the registration of all elevators.”

Official Notices
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Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in writ-
ing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 
The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date 
of this request for comments. 

If you believe that the possible rule amendments would require your local unit of government to adopt or amend an 
ordinance or other local regulation to comply with the proposed rules, the Department requests that you provide informa-
tion about the ordinance or regulation to the Agency Contact person listed below. Additionally, the agency requests any 
information pertaining to the cumulative effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific 
purpose of the rule. Cumulative effect means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in 
addition to other rules, regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.

The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 
the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees. 

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments and does not anticipate that a draft 
of the proposed rule amendments will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to: Amanda Spuckler at the Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N. St. Paul, MN  
55155, phone (651) 284-5006, fax: (651) 284-5749, and email to: dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you sub-
mitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews 
the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Date: August 20, 2018

Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner
Department of Labor and Industry

Department of Labor and Industry
Construction Codes and Licensing Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendment to Rules Governing the Adoption 
of the International Residential Code, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1309; Revisor’s ID Number 
R-04510

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requests comments on its possible amendment 
to Minnesota Rules, chapter 1309, International Residential Code. The Department is considering rule amendments that 
incorporate by reference the 2018 edition of the International Residential Code, with amendments, and any other amend-
ments that are necessary to administer and enforce the code for residential construction.

Official Notices
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Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect municipal building officials, building inspectors, 
building contractors, fire protection personnel, architects, engineers, building owners and managers, homeowners, and 
the general public.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.02, subdivision 5, authorizes, in part, the Commissioner 
of the Department of Labor and Industry (“Commissioner”) to adopt, amend, suspend, and repeal rules relating to the 
Commissioner’s responsibilities under Chapter 326B, except for rules for which the rulemaking authority is expressly 
transferred to the Plumbing Board, the Board of Electricity, or the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems.

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.101 requires, in part, that the Commissioner “administer and amend a state code 
of building construction which will provide basic and uniform performance standards, establish reasonable safeguards 
for health, safety, welfare, comfort, and security of the residents of this state and provide for the use of modern methods, 
devices, materials, and techniques which will in part tend to lower construction costs.”

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, requires, in part, that the Commissioner “shall by rule and 
in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, re-
construction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire 
protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumi-
nation, and climate control.” That statutory provision also requires that the code “include duties and responsibilities for 
code administration, including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certifica-
tion.”

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in writ-
ing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 
The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date 
of this request for comments. 

If you believe that the possible rule amendments would require your local unit of government to adopt or amend an 
ordinance or other local regulation to comply with the proposed rules, the Department requests that you provide informa-
tion about the ordinance or regulation to the Agency Contact person listed below. Additionally, the agency requests any 
information pertaining to the cumulative effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific 
purpose of the rule. Cumulative effect means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in 
addition to other rules, regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.

The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 
the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees. 

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments and does not anticipate that a draft 
of the proposed rule amendments will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to: Amanda Spuckler at the Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N. St. Paul, MN 
55155, phone (651) 284-5006, fax: (651) 284-5749, and email to: dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you  

Official Notices
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submitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge 
reviews the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Date: August 10, 2018

Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner
Department of Labor and Industry

Department of Labor and Industry
Construction Codes and Licensing Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendment to Rules Governing the Adoption 
of the International Existing Building Code, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1311; Revisor’s ID 
Number R-04511

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requests comments on its possible amendment 
to Minnesota Rules, chapter 1311, “Rehabilitation of Existing Buildings.” The Department is considering rule amend-
ments that incorporate by reference the 2018 edition of the International Existing Building Code, with amendments, and 
any other amendments necessary to administer and enforce the code for rehabilitation of existing buildings.  

Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect municipal building officials, building inspectors, 
building contractors, architects, engineers, state and local historical societies, building owners and managers, and the 
general public.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.02, subdivision 5, authorizes, in part, the Commissioner 
of the Department of Labor and Industry (“Commissioner”) to adopt, amend, suspend, and repeal rules relating to the 
Commissioner’s responsibilities under Chapter 326B, except for rules for which the rulemaking authority is expressly 
transferred to the Plumbing Board, the Board of Electricity, or the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems.

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.101 requires, in part, that the Commissioner “administer and amend a state code 
of building construction which will provide basic and uniform performance standards, establish reasonable safeguards 
for health, safety, welfare, comfort, and security of the residents of this state and provide for the use of modern methods, 
devices, materials, and techniques which will in part tend to lower construction costs.”

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, requires, in part, that the Commissioner “shall by rule and 
in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, re-
construction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire 
protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumi-
nation, and climate control.” That statutory provision also requires that the code “include duties and responsibilities for 
code administration, including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certifi-
cation. The code must conform insofar as practicable to model buildings codes generally accepted and in use throughout 
the United States, including a code for building conservation.”

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in writ-
ing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 
The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date 
of this request for comments. 

If you believe that the possible rule amendments would require your local unit of government to adopt or amend an 
ordinance or other local regulation to comply with the proposed rules, the Department requests that you provide informa-
tion about the ordinance or regulation to the Agency Contact person listed below. Additionally, the agency requests any 
information pertaining to the cumulative effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific 
purpose of the rule. Cumulative effect means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in 

Official Notices
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addition to other rules, regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.

The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 
the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees. 

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments and does not anticipate that a draft 
of the proposed rule amendments will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to: Amanda Spuckler at the Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N. St. Paul, MN 
55155, phone (651) 284-5006, fax: (651) 284-5749, and email to: dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you sub-
mitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews 
the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Date: August 10, 2018

Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner
Department of Labor and Industry

Department of Labor and Industry
Construction Codes and Licensing Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendment to Rules Governing the Adoption 
of Commercial Provisions of the International Energy Conservation Code, Minnesota Rules, 
Chapter 1323; Revisor’s ID Number R-04513

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requests comments on its possible amendment 
to Minnesota Rules, chapter 1323, “Commercial Energy Code.” The Department is considering rule amendments that 
incorporate by reference the commercial provisions of the 2018 edition of the International Energy Conservation Code, 
with amendments, and any other amendments necessary to administer and enforce the Commercial Energy Code.

Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect building officials, building inspectors, building 
contractors, architects, engineers, installers, building owners and managers, and the general public.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.02, subdivision 5, authorizes, in part, the Commissioner 
of the Department of Labor and Industry (“Commissioner”) to adopt, amend, suspend, and repeal rules relating to the 
Commissioner’s responsibilities under Chapter 326B, except for rules for which the rulemaking authority is expressly 
transferred to the Plumbing Board, the Board of Electricity, or the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems.

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.101 requires, in part, that the Commissioner “administer and amend a state code 
of building construction which will provide basic and uniform performance standards, establish reasonable safeguards 
for health, safety, welfare, comfort, and security of the residents of this state and provide for the use of modern methods, 
devices, materials, and techniques which will in part tend to lower construction costs.”

Official Notices
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Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, requires, in part, that the Commissioner “shall by rule and 
in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, re-
construction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, 
fire protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, 
illumination, and climate control.” That statutory provision also requires that the code “include duties and responsibili-
ties for code administration, including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of 
certification. The code must also conform insofar as practicable to model building codes generally accepted and in use 
throughout the United States, including a code for building conservation.”

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in writ-
ing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 
The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date 
of this request for comments. 

If you believe that the possible rule amendments would require your local unit of government to adopt or amend an 
ordinance or other local regulation to comply with the proposed rules, the Department requests that you provide informa-
tion about the ordinance or regulation to the Agency Contact person listed below. Additionally, the agency requests any 
information pertaining to the cumulative effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific 
purpose of the rule. Cumulative effect means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in 
addition to the other rules, regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.

The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 
the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees. 

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments and does not anticipate that a draft 
of the proposed rule amendments will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to: Amanda Spuckler at the Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 
55155, phone (651) 284-5006, fax: (651) 284-5749, and email to: dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you sub-
mitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews 
the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Date: August 10, 2018

Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner
Department of Labor and Industry
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Department of Labor and Industry
Construction Codes and Licensing Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendment to Rules Governing the Minnesota 
Accessibility Code, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1341; Revisor’s ID Number R-04514

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requests comments on its possible amendment 
to Minnesota Rules, chapter 1341, “Accessibility for Buildings and Facilities.” The Department is considering rule 
amendments that incorporate by reference chapter 11 of the 2018 edition of the International Building Code with amend-
ments and section 305 of the 2018 edition of the International Existing Building Code with amendments.  The Depart-
ment is also considering any other amendments necessary to administer and enforce the Minnesota Accessibility Code.

Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect municipal building officials, building inspectors, 
building contractors, architects, engineers, building owners and managers, and the general public.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.02, subdivision 5, authorizes, in part, the Commissioner 
of the Department of Labor and Industry (“Commissioner”) to adopt, amend, suspend, and repeal rules relating to the 
Commissioner’s responsibilities under Chapter 326B, except for rules for which the rulemaking authority is expressly 
transferred to the Plumbing Board, the Board of Electricity, or the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems.

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.101 requires, in part, that the Commissioner “administer and amend a state code 
of building construction which will provide basic and uniform performance standards, establish reasonable safeguards 
for health, safety, welfare, comfort, and security of the residents of this state and provide for the use of modern methods, 
devices, materials, and techniques which will in part tend to lower construction costs.”

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, requires, in part, that the Commissioner “shall by rule and 
in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, re-
construction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire 
protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumi-
nation, and climate control.” That statutory provision also requires that the code “include duties and responsibilities for 
code administration, including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certifica-
tion.”

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in writ-
ing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 
The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date 
of this request for comments. 

If you believe that the possible rule amendments would require your local unit of government to adopt or amend an 
ordinance or other local regulation to comply with the proposed rules, the Department requests that you provide informa-
tion about the ordinance or regulation to the Agency Contact person listed below. Additionally, the agency requests any 
information pertaining to the cumulative effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific 
purpose of the rule.  Cumulative effect means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in 
addition to other rules, regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.

The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 
the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees. 

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments and does not anticipate that a draft 
of the proposed rule amendments will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
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should be directed to: Amanda Spuckler at the Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 
55155, phone (651) 284-5006, fax: (651) 284-5749, and email to: dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you sub-
mitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews 
the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Date: August 10, 2018

Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner
Department of Labor and Industry

Department of Labor and Industry
Construction Codes and Licensing Division

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendment to Rules Governing the Adoption 
of the International Mechanical and Fuel Gas Codes, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 1346;  
Revisor’s ID Number R-04515

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requests comments on its possible amendment 
to Minnesota Rules, chapter 1346, “Minnesota Mechanical and Fuel Gas Codes.”  The Department is considering rule 
amendments to incorporate by reference the 2018 editions of the International Mechanical Code and the International 
Fuel Gas Code, with amendments, and any other amendments necessary to administer and enforce Minnesota’s mechan-
ical and fuel gas codes.

Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect municipal building officials, building inspectors, 
building and mechanical contractors, architects, engineers, building owners and managers, and the general public.

Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.02, subdivision 5, authorizes, in part, the Commissioner 
of the Department of Labor and Industry (“Commissioner”) to adopt, amend, suspend, and repeal rules relating to the 
Commissioner’s responsibilities under Chapter 326B, except for rules for which the rulemaking authority is expressly 
transferred to the Plumbing Board, the Board of Electricity, or the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems.

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.101 requires, in part, that the Commissioner “administer and amend a state code 
of building construction which will provide basic and uniform performance standards, establish reasonable safeguards 
for health, safety, welfare, comfort, and security of the residents of this state and provide for the use of modern methods, 
devices, materials, and techniques which will in part tend to lower construction costs.”

Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, requires, in part, that the Commissioner “shall by rule and 
in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, re-
construction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire 
protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumi-
nation, and climate control.” That statutory provision also requires that the code “include duties and responsibilities for 
code administration, including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certifica-
tion.”

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in  
writing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the 
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rules. The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the 
date of this request for comments. 

If you believe that the possible rule amendments would require your local unit of government to adopt or amend an 
ordinance or other local regulation to comply with the proposed rules, the Department requests that you provide informa-
tion about the ordinance or regulation to the Agency Contact person listed below. Additionally, the agency requests any 
information pertaining to the cumulative effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific 
purpose of the rule. Cumulative effect means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in 
addition to the other rules, regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.

The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 
the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees. 

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments and does not anticipate that a draft 
of the proposed rule amendments will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to: Amanda Spuckler at the Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 
55155, phone (651) 284-5006, fax: (651) 284-5749, and email to: dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you sub-
mitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews 
the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Date: August 10, 2018

Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner
Department of Labor and Industry

Department of Labor and Industry
Construction Codes and Licensing Division In cooperation with the State Fire 
Marshal Division, Department of Public Safety

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS on Possible Amendment to Rules Governing the  
Adoption of the International Fire Code, Minnesota Rules, Chapter 7511; Revisor’s ID 
Number R-04516

Subject of Rules. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, in cooperation with the State Fire Marshal Di-
vision, requests comments on its possible amendment to Minnesota Rules, chapter 7511, “Fire Code.” The Department is 
considering rule amendments that incorporate by reference the 2018 edition of the International Fire Code, with amend-
ments, and any other amendments necessary to administer and enforce the fire code in Minnesota.

Persons Affected. The amendment to the rules would likely affect fire inspection personnel, building inspection 
personnel, fire protection contractors, building contractors, architects, engineers, building owners and managers,  
homeowners, and the general public.
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Statutory Authority. Minnesota Statutes, section 326B.02, subdivision 6, requires that the Commissioner of Labor 
and Industry, consistent with the recommendations of the State Fire Marshal, “shall adopt a State Fire Code and make 
amendments thereto in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act in chapter 14. The code and its amendments 
shall conform insofar as practicable to model fire codes generally accepted and in use throughout the United States, with 
consideration given to existing statewide specialty codes presently in use in the state of Minnesota. Statewide specialty 
codes and model codes with necessary modifications may be adopted by reference in accordance with section 14.07, 
subdivision 4.”

Minnesota Statutes, section 299F.011, subdivision 3, requires that the Commissioner of Public Safety “shall adopt 
rules as may be necessary to administer and enforce the code, specifically including but not limited to rules for inspec-
tion of buildings and other structures covered by the code and conforming the code to the governmental organization of 
Minnesota state agencies, political subdivisions and local governments.”

Public Comment. Interested persons or groups may submit comments or information on these possible rules in writ-
ing until further notice is published in the State Register that the Department intends to adopt or to withdraw the rules. 
The Department will not publish a notice of intent to adopt the rules until more than 60 days have elapsed from the date 
of this request for comments. 

If you believe that the possible rule amendments would require your local unit of government to adopt or amend 
an ordinance or other local regulation, the Department requests that you provide information about the ordinance or 
regulation to the Agency Contact person listed below. Additionally, the agency requests any information pertaining to the 
cumulative effect of this rule with other federal and state regulations related to the specific purpose of the rule. Cumu-
lative effect means the impact that results from incremental impact of the proposed rule in addition to the other rules, 
regardless of what state or federal agency has adopted the other rules.  

The Department is also interested in determining whether the cost of complying with the rule in the first year after 
the rule takes effect will cost or exceed $25,000 for any small city or small business under Minnesota Statutes, section 
14.127, subdivision 1. A small city is a statutory or home rule charter city that has less than ten full-time employees and a 
small business means a business that has less than 50 full-time employees. 

Rules Drafts. The Department has not yet drafted the possible rule amendments and does not anticipate that a draft 
of the proposed rule amendments will be available before the publication of the proposed rules.

Agency Contact Person. Written comments, questions, and requests for more information on these possible rules 
should be directed to Amanda Spuckler at the Department of Labor and Industry, 443 Lafayette Road N., St. Paul, MN 
55155, phone (651) 284-5006, fax: (651) 284-5749, and email to dli.rules@state.mn.us. 

Alternative Format. Upon request, this information can be made available in an alternative format, such as large 
print, braille, or audio. To make such a request, please contact the agency contact person at the address or telephone 
number listed above.

NOTE: Comments received in response to this notice will not necessarily be included in the formal rulemaking re-
cord submitted to the administrative law judge if and when a proceeding to adopt rules is started. The agency is required 
to submit to the judge only those written comments received in response to the rules after they are proposed. If you sub-
mitted comments during the development of the rules and you want to ensure that the Administrative Law Judge reviews 
the comments, you should resubmit the comments after the rules are formally proposed.

Date: August 10, 2018						     Ken B. Peterson, Commissioner
									        Department of Labor and Industry

Date: August 10, 2018						     Bruce West, State Fire Marshal	
									        Department of Public Safety
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Teachers Retirement Association
Notice of Meeting 

The Board of Trustees, Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association will hold a meeting on Wednesday, September 
19, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. in Suite 400, 60 Empire Drive, St. Paul, MN to consider matters which may properly come before 
the Board.  Board members may participate by telephone.

Official Notices

State Grants & Loans
In addition to requests by state agencies for technical/professional services (published in the State Contracts 

Section), the State Register also publishes notices about grants and loans available through any agency or branch 
of state government.  Although some grant and loan programs specifically require printing in a statewide pub-
lication such as the State Register, there is no requirement for publication in the State Register itself. Agencies 
are encouraged to publish grant and loan notices, and to provide financial estimates as well as sufficient time for 
interested parties to respond.          

SEE ALSO: Office of Grants Management (OGM) at: http://www.grants.state.mn.us/public/

Department of Commerce
Division of Energy Resources

Notice of Grant Availability for Applied Research and Development Projects

The Minnesota Department of Commerce, Division of Energy Resources seeks proposals from organizations or in-
dividuals interested in applied research and development projects that serve to accelerate the development and adoption 
of new energy efficient technologies and innovative program strategies in Minnesota. The information obtained from this 
effort is intended to inform electric and natural gas utility Conservation Improvement Program (CIP) development and 
state energy policy.

The full RFP and required forms will be available for download on the Department’s website  
(https://mn.gov/commerce/industries/rfp/) through Monday, December 10, 2018. Responders may also request a hard 
copy of the RFP by mail from this office. Requests for hard copies must be received by the Department no later than 
12:00 p.m. (Noon) Central Time (CT), on Wednesday, December 5, 2018.

The RFP and forms can be obtained from:

Preferred Method:	 https://mn.gov/commerce/industries/rfp/

U.S. Postal Service:	 Grants Staff
				   Minnesota Department of Commerce
				   Division of Energy Resources
				   85 Seventh Place East, Suite 280
				   Saint Paul, MN 55101

A Notice of Intent to propose in response to this RFP must be submitted by electronic means and received by the 
Department no later than 11:59 p.m. CT, Friday, September 28, 2018. Only a Responders who submits a Notice of Intent 
and whose intended project meets eligibility requirements will be invited to submit a full proposal.
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State Grants & Loans
Full proposals must be submitted by electronic means and received by the Department no later than 11:59 p.m. CT, 

Monday, December 10, 2018. Late proposals will not be considered. Instructions for submitting proposals are detailed 
in the RFP.

This request does not obligate the State to complete the work contemplated in this notice. The State reserves the right 
to cancel this solicitation. All expenses incurred in responding to this notice are solely the responsibility of the Respond-
er.

Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED)
Notice of Grant Opportunity

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development 
(DEED) places notice of any available grant opportunities online at https://mn.gov/deed/about/contracts/

Minnesota Department of Health
Medical Education and Research Costs (MERC) Grant Opportunity

The Minnesota Department of Health is accepting MERC grant applications for clinical training provided in fiscal 
year 2017 though Minnesota sponsoring institution’s with accredited teaching programs providing clinical training for: 
advanced practice nursing, clinical social workers, community health workers, community paramedics, dental students/
residents, dental therapists/advanced dental therapists, chiropractic students, medical students/residents, pharmacy stu-
dents/residents, physician assistants, and psychologists.

Grant application materials and details regarding eligibility are available on the Minnesota Department of Health 
website:  http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hep/merc/mcapinfo.html.

Applications are due no later than October 31, 2018.
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State Contracts
     
Informal Solicitations:  Informal solicitations for professional/technical (consultant) contracts valued at over 

$5,000 through $50,000, may either be published in the State Register or posted on the Department of Administra-
tion, Materials Management Division’s (MMD) Web site.  Interested vendors are encouraged to monitor the P/T 
Contract Section of the MMD Website at www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us for informal solicitation announcements.  

Formal Solicitations:  Department of Administration procedures require that formal solicitations (announce-
ments for contracts with an estimated value over $50,000) for professional/technical contracts must be published in 
the State Register.  Certain quasi-state agency and Minnesota State College and University institutions are exempt 
from these requirements. 

Requirements:   There are no statutes or rules requiring contracts to be advertised for any specific length 
of time, but the  Materials Management Division strongly recommends meeting the following requirements: $0 
- $5000 does not need to be advertised.  Contact the Materials Management Division:  (651) 296-2600 $5,000 - 
$25,000 should be advertised in the State Register for a period of at least seven calendar days; $25,000 - $50,000 
should be advertised in the State Register for a period of at least 14 calendar days; and anything above $50,000 
should be advertised in the State Register for a minimum of at least 21 calendar  days.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State)
Notice of Request for Proposal (RFP) for Property Appraisal Services

The State of Minnesota, acting by and through its Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities 
(“Minnesota State”), on behalf of the System Office, is soliciting proposals from interested, qualified professionals for 
the above referenced project.

A full Request for Proposal (RFP and attachments) is available on the Minnesota State website at: http://www.minn-
state.edu/vendors/index.html (see “Facilities Consultant & Contractor Opportunities”).

Minnesota State will hold a mandatory pre-proposal vendors conference on Tuesday, September 11, 2018 from 1:00-
3:00 p.m. CST via web conference. All potential or interested responders are required to attend the conference in order 
for their proposal to be reviewed. Please register your attendance in advance by sending an email notification to Keswic 
Joiner at Keswic.Joiner@minnstate.edu. Any questions should be directed by email only to Keswic Joiner at  
Keswic.Joiner@minnstate.edu. Sealed proposals must be received at the following address not later than Tuesday,  
October 9, 5:00 p.m. CST; late responses will not be considered:

	Institution: 		  Minnesota State System Office  
	Name:		  Kathy Kirchoff
	E-mail address: 	 Kathy.Kirchoff@minnstate.edu		   
	Mailing Address: 	 30 7th Street East, Suite 350, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

Minnesota State reserves the right to cancel this solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest. All expenses 
incurred in responding to this notice are solely the responsibility of the responder.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State)
Bemidji State University 

Notice of Request for Bid (RFB) for Strength and Conditioning Equipment

Bemidji State University is soliciting bids for strength and conditioning equipment.  The full Request for Bid/Bid 
Form can be downloaded at: https://www.bemidjistate.edu/offices/business-services/procurement/rfps-and-bids/ 

Questions regarding this RFB should be directed to Tracy Dill at Tracy.Dill@bemidjistate.edu by 4:00 p.m. on Tues-
day, September 4, 2018.  Responses to the questions will be posted to the BSU RFP website the following day.  
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State Contracts
Please submit your original, signed, sealed bid to:

Ron Beckstrom 
Director of Business Services

Bemidji State University
Business Services #5

1500 Birchmont Drive
Bemidji, MN   56601

Sealed bids must be received NO later than 2:00 PM, Monday, September 10, 2018; late responses will not be 
considered.  Faxed or e-mailed bids will be rejected.  

Bemidji State University reserves the right to reject any or all bids, to waive any irregularities or informalities, and 
to cancel the solicitation if it is considered to be in its own best interest.  This Request for Bid does not obligate Bemidji 
State University to award a purchase order or contract. 

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State)
Rochester Community and Technical College 

Notice of Request for Proposal (RFP) for the Snow Plowing for the 2018/2019 Season

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that Rochester Community and Technical College is accepting Requests for Propos-
als to provide for the snow plowing/sanding/salting on the Rochester Community and Technical College parking lots 
located at 851 30th Ave SE and 1926 College View Road, Rochester MN.

To receive a copy of the RFP, send an e-mail to june.meitzner@rctc.edu or fax your request to 507-285-7104.

Proposals are due back no later than Thursday September 13, 2018 4:00 P.M. CT and are to be addressed to June 
Meitzner, Rochester Community and Technical College 851 30th Ave SE Rochester, MN  55904; Room SS153.  Late 
responses will not be considered.  Faxes are not acceptable.

Minnesota State is not obligated to complete the proposed project and reserves the right to cancel this solicitation.

Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (Minnesota State)
Winona State University 

Request for Proposals for Faculty-led India Travel Study Program

Notice is hereby given that Winona State University is seeking proposals for Faculty-led India Travel Study Program 
entitled “India Interdisciplinary Community Solutions”.  Proposal specifications are available by contacting Laura Mann, 
Purchasing Director, PO Box 5838, 106 Somsen Hall, Winona, MN 55987 or via email to lmann@winona.edu.  Sealed 
proposals must be received by Laura Mann, Purchasing Director, at Winona State University, PO Box 5838 or 175 West 
Mark Street, Business Office, Somsen Hall 106, Winona, MN 55987, by Sept 18, 2018 at 3:00 pm CST. Winona State 
University reserves the right to reject any or all proposals and to waive any irregularities or informalities in proposals 
received.
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State Contracts
Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority
Advertisement for Proposals for Air Purification Equipment and Installation - U.S. Bank 
Stadium

1.	 Proposals - Submit proposals for Air Purification Equipment and Installation -  U.S. Bank Stadium, Minneap-
olis, Minnesota, to James Farstad, Executive Director, Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority, MSFA office on or before 
5:00pm on September 20, 2018.

     
   2.	 Work Includes – Provide the design services, labor, materials, tools, equipment, transportation, management, 

commissioning, and services including other incidentals necessary for installing air purification equipment/systems for 
U.S. Bank Stadium.

   
3.	 Examining Documents – Documents will be available for review after August 20, 2018, at the office of the 

MSFA, 1005 4th Street South, Minneapolis, MN and on the website, MSFA.com.

   4.	 Affirmative Action - All proposers, applicants, prime contractors and prospective subcontractors will be subject 
to a pre-award compliance review to ensure the employment of minorities, women and disabled person.

The Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority reserves the right to reject any and all proposals and to waive any infor-
malities in any proposals received without explanation.

Michael Vekich, Chair
Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority

Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority
Request for Bids for Sale of Equipment

1. Bids – Submit sealed bids to Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority (MSFA) for the purchase of used/new equip-
ment, Minneapolis, MN, to James Farstad, U.S. Bank Stadium by September 14, 2018 by 12:00 p.m.

2. Phase 1 of the equipment sale includes all-in-one concession carts, cold food station, refrigerator/hand sink 
combination stand, and desert carts. A complete equipment list, photos and bid specifications can be found at  
www.MSFA.com, under the “About” tab’s RFP’s link. 

3. Pre-bid inspection – items will be available for inspection at U.S. Bank Stadium on Wednesday, September 5, 
and Thursday September 6, 2018 by appointment. To schedule an appointment please email: Jenn.Hathaway@msfa.com

4. Items must be claimed by October 5, 2018.

Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT)
Engineering Services Division

Notices Regarding Professional/Technical (P/T) Contracting

P/T Contracting Opportunities: MnDOT is now placing additional public notices for P/T contract opportunities 
on the MnDOT’s Consultant Services website. New public notices may be added to the website on a daily basis and be 
available for the time period as indicated within the public notice.  

Taxpayers’ Transportation Accountability Act (TTAA) Notices: MnDOT is posting notices as required by the 
TTAA on the MnDOT Consultant Services website.
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MnDOT’s Prequalification Program: MnDOT maintains a Pre-Qualification Program in order to streamline the 

process of contracting for highway related P/T services.  Program information, application requirements, application 
forms and contact information can be found on MnDOT’s Consultant Services website. Applications may be submitted 
at any time for this Program.  

MnDOT Consultant Services website: www.dot.state.mn.us/consult

If you have any questions regarding this notice, or are having problems viewing the information on the Consultant 
Services website, please all the Consultant Services Help Line at 651-366-4611, Monday – Friday, 9:00am – 4:00pm.

University of Minnesota/ Department of Administration 
Notice of Availability of Request for Proposal (RFP) for Designer Selection for:  Classroom 
and Lab Improvements: University of Minnesota, Crookston (State Designer Selection 
Board Project No. 18-08) 

The State of Minnesota, acting through its Board of Trustees for the University of Minnesota, through the State 
Designer Selection Board, is soliciting proposals from interested, qualified consultants for architectural and engineering 
design services for the above referenced project.

A full Request for Proposals is available on the Minnesota Department of Administration’s website at  
https://mn.gov/admin/government/construction-projects/sdsb/projects/  (click 18-08).

A mandatory informational meeting is scheduled for Thursday, August 30, 2018 at 11:00am CT at the Selvig 
Hall, Room 308, 2900 University Avenue, Crookston, MN 56716. 

Any questions should be directed by email only, to Amanda Aspenson at aspenson@umn.edu.  Project questions 
will be taken by this individual only.  Questions regarding this RFP must be received by Tuesday, September 4, 2018 no 
later than 12:00 PM Central Time.

Proposals must be delivered to Jennifer Barber, Executive Secretary, State Designer Selection Board, Real Estate and 
Construction Services, Room 309, Administration Building, 50 Sherburne Ave., St. Paul, MN 55155 (651.201.2389) not 
later than 12:00 noon on Monday, September 10, 2018.  Late responses will not be considered. 

The University of Minnesota is not obligated to complete the proposed project and reserves the right to cancel the 
solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

University of Minnesota/ Department of Administration 
Notice of Availability of Request for Proposal (RFP) for Designer Selection for:    
Humanities Instructional and Blakely Hall Classroom Improvements – University of  
Minnesota, Morris (State Designer Selection Board Project No. 18-09) 

The State of Minnesota, acting through its Board of Trustees for the University of Minnesota, through the State 
Designer Selection Board, is soliciting proposals from interested, qualified consultants for architectural and engineering 
design services for the above referenced project.

A full Request for Proposals is available on the Minnesota Department of Administration’s website at  
https://mn.gov/admin/government/construction-projects/sdsb/projects/  (click 18-09).

A mandatory informational meeting is scheduled for Thursday, September 6, 2018 at 10:00am CT at the 600 
East 4th Street Morris, MN, 56267, Camden Hall Room 10. 
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State Contracts
Any questions should be directed by email only, to Amanda Aspenson at aspenson@umn.edu.  Project questions will 

be taken by this individual only.  Questions regarding this RFP must be received by Monday, September 10, 2018 no 
later than 12:00 PM Central Time.

Proposals must be delivered to Jennifer Barber, Executive Secretary, State Designer Selection Board, Real Estate and 
Construction Services, Room 309, Administration Building, 50 Sherburne Ave., St. Paul, MN 55155 (651.201.2389) not 
later than 12:00 noon on Monday, September 17, 2018.  Late responses will not be considered. 

The University of Minnesota is not obligated to complete the proposed project and reserves the right to cancel the 
solicitation if it is considered to be in its best interest.

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
The State Register also serves as a central marketplace for contracts let out on bid by the public sector.  The 

State Register meets state and federal guidelines for statewide circulation of public notices.  Any tax-supported 
institution or government jurisdiction may advertise contracts and requests for proposals from the private sector.  
It is recommended that contracts and RFPs include the following:  1) name of contact person;  2) institution name, 
address, and telephone number;  3) brief description of commodity, project or tasks;  4) cost estimate;  and 5) final 
submission date of completed contract proposal.  Allow at least three weeks from publication date (four weeks 
from the date article is submitted for publication).  Surveys show that subscribers are interested in hearing about 
contracts for estimates as low as $1,000.  Contact editor for further details.

Besides the following listing, readers are advised to check: http://www.mmd.admin.state.mn.us/solicitations.
htm as well as the Office of Grants Management (OGM) at:  http://www.grants.state.mn.us/public/.

Dakota County
Notice of Request for Letters of Interest (LOI) to Identify Home and Community Based 
Service Providers to License and Operate Up to Three Community Residential Settings

Notice is hereby given that Dakota County Community Services is seeking to contract with one or more community 
agencies in providing services up to three (3) licensed community Residential Settigns (CRS) located throughout Dakota 
County. 

The three CRS homes are currently owned by the State of Minnesota and services are provided by Minnesota State 
Operated Community Services (MSOCS). State operated residential programs for people with disabilities are being 
directed to focus on serving individuals whose needs are so complex or behaviors so challenging that they cannot be 
served by other providers. This change in focus has been driven by Minnesota’s Olmstead Plan, the recommendations 
from the Office of the Legislative Auditor (OLA), and in directives from the Minnesota Legislature. The individuals at 
these homes do not require that intensive level of care and can be well supported by other providers. Therefore, MSOCS, 
in partnership with Dakota County, will be transferring operation of the homes to a private sector service provider.

Dakota County’s Social Services Department is seeking to identify qualified HCBS providers interested in leasing 
the properties from the State of Minnesota and providing 245D services to the residents choosing to remain in the homes 
and any future residents. The CRS beds and licensure for each home will transition to the chosen provider(s). The staff 
currently working at each site will remain employees of MSOCS. The new provider(s) will need to hire their own staff 
for each home. Responding providers may express interest in one, two or all three homes. 

Please note this is not a Request for Proposal; rather, Dakota County’s interest is to identify providers who provide 
similar services and are interested in partnering with Dakota County Social Services to implement this transition. Dakota 
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County will not be liable for any expenses incurred by the potential provider in connection with preparation or submittal 
of the LOI.

The selected Respondents will be expected to enter into a contractual agreement with Dakota County.

To access the complete LOI online, or to acquire additional information about Dakota County visit our website at: 
https://www.co.dakota.mn.us/Government/DoingBusiness/BidProposalsInformation/Pages/transition-of-communi-
ty-residential-settings.aspx

Contact:   	 Julia Wallis Holmoe
     		  Dakota County Social Services
			  Dakota County Northern Services Center
			  1 Mendota Road West, Suite 300
			  West St. Paul, MN 55118-4773

			  Email:  Julia.WallisHolmoe@co.dakota.mn.us

On Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 11:00 a.m. CST Dakota County will be hosting a Responder’s Meeting at the 
Dakota County Northern Service Center, Room 110A. RSVP to:  Julia.WallisHolmoe@co.dakota.mn.us

Deadline for proposals is 4:30 p.m. CST on Friday, September 14, 2018.  No late proposal will be considered.

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants

Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)
Notice of Call for Bids for 2018 Concourse G Energy Efficiency Projects P1

Airport Location: Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport
Project Name:  2018 Concourse G Energy Efficiency Projects P1
MAC Contract No: 106-2-877
Bids Close At:  2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Notice to Contractors: Sealed Bid Proposals for the project listed above will be received by the MAC, a public cor-
poration, at the office thereof located at 6040-28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, until the date and hour 
indicated.  The work of this project includes the removal and replacement of light fixtures and the subsequent modifica-
tions to ACT ceilings. Work also includes separating the existing light fixtures from mechanical ductwork and installing 
new separate diffusers tied to this ductwork. Also includes the installation of JACEs, installing lighting controls, and 
painting of diffusers.

Note: You can sign up on our Web site (www.metroairports.org) to receive email notifications of new business op-
portunities or go directly to https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MNORGMAC/subscriber/topics?gsp-CODE_RED 
and choose this and other topics about which you are interested.

Targeted Group Businesses (TGB): The goal of the MAC for the utilization of Targeted Group Businesses on this 
project is 5%.

Bid Security: Each bid shall be accompanied by a "Bid Security" in the form of a certified check made payable to 
the MAC in the amount of not less than five percent (5%) of the total bid, or a surety bond in the same amount, running 
to the MAC, with the surety company thereon duly authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota. 

Availability pf Bidding Documents: Bidding Documents are on file for inspection at the office of Alliiance; at the 
Minnesota Builders Exchange; Dodge Data and Analytics; and NAMC-UM Plan Room. Bidders desiring Bidding Docu-
ments may secure a complete set from: Franz Reprographics; 2781 Freeway Boulevard, Suite 100; Brooklyn Center, MN 
55430; PH: 763.503.3401; FX: 763.503.3409. Make checks payable to: Alliiance. Deposit per set (refundable): $150. 
Requests for mailing sets will be invoiced for mailing charges. Deposit will be refunded upon return of Bidding  
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Documents in good condition within 10 days of opening of bids.

MAC Internet Access of Additional Information: A comprehensive Notice of Call for Bids for this project will be 
available on August 20, 2018, at MAC’s web address of  
http://www.metroairports.org/Airport-Authority/Business-Opportunities/Solicitations.aspx (construction bids).

Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)
Notice of Call for Bids for 2018 IVISN P8

Airport Location: Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport
Project Name:  2018 IVISN P8
MAC Contract No: 106-2-857
Bids Close At:  2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Notice to Contractors: Sealed Bid Proposals for the project listed above will be received by the MAC, a public cor-
poration, at the office thereof located at 6040-28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, until the date and hour 
indicated.  The work of this project includes the removal of existing cameras and installation of new cameras at Terminal 
1-Lindbergh POC Interview Rooms, Concourses E, Concourse F, and Hub Core with associated structural, electrical and 
technology work.  Camera scope also includes Terminal 2-Humphrey Purple Parking Ramp with associated structural, 
elelctrical and technology work. 

Note: You can sign up on our Web site (www.metroairports.org) to receive email notifications of new business op-
portunities or go directly to https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MNORGMAC/subscriber/topics?gsp-CODE_RED 
and choose this and other topics about which you are interested.

Targeted Group Businesses (TGB): The goal of the MAC for the utilization of Targeted Group Businesses on this 
project is 5%.

Bid Security: Each bid shall be accompanied by a "Bid Security" in the form of a certified check made payable to 
the MAC in the amount of not less than five percent (5%) of the total bid, or a surety bond in the same amount, running 
to the MAC, with the surety company thereon duly authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota. 

Availability of Bidding Documents: Bidding Documents are on file for inspection at the office of Alliiance; at the 
Minnesota Builders Exchange; Dodge Data and Analytics; and NAMC-UM Plan Room. Bidders desiring Bidding Docu-
ments may secure a complete set from: Franz Reprographics; 2781 Freeway Boulevard, Suite 100; Brooklyn Center, MN 
55430; PH: 763.503.3401; FX: 763.503.3409. Make checks payable to: Alliiance. Deposit per set (refundable):  $150. 
Requests for mailing sets will be invoiced for mailing charges. Deposit will be refunded upon return of bidding docu-
ments in good condition within 10 days of opening of bids.

MAC Internet Access of Additional Information: A comprehensive Notice of Call for Bids for this project will be 
available on August 20, 2018, at MAC’s web address of  
http://www.metroairports.org/Airport-Authority/Business-Opportunities/Solicitations.aspx (construction bids).

Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)
Notice of Call for Bids for 2018 Telecommunications Room Equipment Continuity  
(TREC) P8

Airport Location:	 Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport
Project Name: 	 2018 Telecommunications Room Equipment Continuity (TREC) P8
MAC Contract No:	 106-2-858
Bids Close At: 	 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
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Notice to Contractors: Sealed Bid Proposals for the project listed above will be received by the MAC, a public 
corporation, at the office thereof located at 6040-28th Avenue South, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55450, until the date and 
hour indicated.  The work conisists of minor demolition, hollow metal doors and frames, interior finishes, and associated 
mechanical, electrical and technology work for remodeling of Telecommunications Rooms.

Note: You can sign up on our Web site (www.metroairports.org) to receive email notifications of new business op-
portunities or go directly to https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/MNORGMAC/subscriber/topics?gsp-CODE_RED 
and choose this and other topics about which you are interested.

Targeted Group Businesses (TGB): The goal of the MAC for the utilization of Targeted Group Businesses on this 
project is 5%.

Bid Security: Each bid shall be accompanied by a "Bid Security" in the form of a certified check made payable to 
the MAC in the amount of not less than five percent (5%) of the total bid, or a surety bond in the same amount, running 
to the MAC, with the surety company thereon duly authorized to do business in the State of Minnesota. 

Availability of Bidding Documents: Bidding Documents are on file for inspection at the office of Alliiance; at the 
Minnesota Builders Exchange; Dodge Data and Analytics; and NAMC-UM Plan Room. Bidders desiring Bidding Docu-
ments may secure a complete set from: Franz Reprographics; 2781 Freeway Boulevard, Suite 100; Brooklyn Center, MN 
55430; PH: 763.503.3401; FX: 763.503.3409. Make checks payable to: Alliiance. Deposit per set (refundable): $150. Re-
quests for mailing sets will be invoiced for mailing charges. Deposit will be refunded upon return of Bidding Documents 
in good condition within 10 days of opening of bids.

MAC Internet Access of Additional Information: A comprehensive Notice of Call for Bids for this project will be 
available on August 20, 2018, at MAC’s web address of  
http://www.metroairports.org/Airport-Authority/Business-Opportunities/Solicitations.aspx (construction bids).

Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC)
Public Notice for Qualifications Statements for Professional Consultant Services for  
Airport Land Assessment at Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport

The Metropolitan Airports Commission (MAC) is requesting qualifications statements from firms interested in pro-
viding service as MAC’s Land Assessment Consultant as set forth in the Request for Qualifications.

To obtain a copy of the Request for Qualifications, please go to the following website  
http://www.metroairports.org/business/solicitations/ and look under Request for Qualifications. The RFQ will be re-
leased on or about August 20, 2018.  MAC contact for the RFQ is Karen Racek at 612-467-0514 or  
karen.racek@mspmac.org.   Questions regarding the RFQ are due to MAC no later than 5:00 p.m. CST on September 
13, 2018.  Submission of qualifications statements is due on or before 5:00 p.m. CST on November 9, 2018.  

Non-State Public Bids, Contracts & Grants
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