Minnesota's Assistive Technology Act Program
Device Demos Device Loan Device Exchange Reutilization Funding

STAR Awards for Excellence in Assistive Technology


Announcing the 2011 Annual STAR Award Recipients!

Five Minnesotans were recognized on April 5 in a ceremony at the State Capitol Rotunda. The Minnesota STAR Program’s “Awards for Excellence in Assistive Technology” honors individuals for their efforts in championing the removal of barriers to independence through the use of assistive technology (AT). AT is any device that maintains, improves or increases function at home, school, work and in the community. This year’s recipients included pioneers in the field of assistive technology, educators, professionals, and consumers who promote the use of assistive technology. This year's five recipients by category are:

Richard Brown, Saint Louis Park (Advocate)

Tana Vogele, Cottage Grove (Consumer)

Debbie Bock, Bloomington (Educator)

Erika Kluge Frake, Delano (Educator)

Auditory Sciences, Northfield (Innovator)

Watch the 2011 STAR Award ceremony plus interviews with our five recipients.


STAR Awards 2011 from CTV North Suburbs on Vimeo.