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1st through 3rd Degree Controlled 
Substance Crimes  (Cocaine, Heroin, 

Meth) – History and Analysis 

Sale Crimes – 1980s
2

 1980 – 1986:  Minnesota proscribes sale w/o 
regard to quantity;

 1987 – Federal sentencing guidelines – drug 
amounts are proxy for hierarchy in distribution 
chain;

 1989 – Minnesota adopts 1st – 5th degree structure –
drug amounts are proxy for hierarchy in distribution 
chain.  
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1989 – 1st Degree – Major Wholesaler
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 Possession – 500 grams (presume intent to sell), 
Sale – 50 grams (requires actual sale);

 Rationale – both describe offender selling 50 gram 
quantities;

 Minnesota Guidelines – 81-91 months;

 U.S. Guidelines (500 grams) – 63-78 months 
(cocaine), 78-97 months (heroin and meth).

1989 – 2nd Degree – Mid-level Wholesaler
4

 Possession – 50 grams (presume intent to sell), 
Sale – 10 grams (requires actual sale);

 Rationale – both describe offender selling 10 gram 
quantities;

 Minnesota Guidelines – 44-52 months;

 U.S. Guidelines (50 grams) – 21-27 months 
(cocaine), 33-41 months (heroin and meth).
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1989 – 3rd Degree – Low-level Dealer
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 Possession – 10 grams (presume intent to sell), 
Sale – any amount (requires actual sale);

 Rationale –both describe offender selling small 
quantities;

 Minnesota Guidelines – 21 months stay;

 U.S. Guidelines (10 grams) – 10-16* months 
(cocaine), 21-27 months (heroin and meth).

State v. Russell (1991)
6

 Holding: Crack/powder cocaine distinction violates 
state equal protection clause;

 E.g., 25/10 grams crack cocaine punished same as 500/50 
grams powder;

 1988: 97% crack defendants black, 80% cocaine defendants 
white;

 Dictum: Mandatory presumption of intent to sell 
based on quantity seized may be unconstitutional. 
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Post-Russell Amendments to Statutes
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 Quantity thresholds for cocaine, heroin and meth 
reduced to crack level;

 “Sell” includes possession with intent to sell.

Post-Russell – 1st Degree
8

 Possession – 25 grams (intent to sell presumed),    
Sale – 10 grams (possession 10 grams w/ intent to sell);

 Effect – 1st degree offense now includes pre-Russell 3rd 
degree conduct;

 Minnesota Guidelines – 74-103 months;

 U.S. Guidelines (10 grams) – 10-16* months (cocaine), 
15-21 months (heroin), 21-27 months (meth).
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Post-Russell – 2nd Degree 
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 Possession – 6 grams (intent to sell presumed), 
Sale – 3 grams (possession 3 grams w/ intent to 
sell);

 Effect – 2nd degree now limited to pre-Russell 3rd

degree conduct;

 Minnesota Guidelines – 41-57 months;

 U.S. Guidelines (3 grams) – 10-16* months (cocaine, 
heroin, meth).

Post-Russell – 3rd Degree
10

 Sale or possession with intent to sell any amount;

 Effect – offense still limited to low-level dealer; 

 Minnesota Guidelines – 21 months stay;

 U.S. Guidelines – 10-16* months (cocaine, heroin, 
meth).
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Summary Graph
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Pre-Russell Post-Russell

1st Degree 500 gram inventory 
intending 
(presumably) to sell 50 
gram quantities

10 gram or more 
inventory intending to 
sell smaller quantities

2nd Degree 50 gram inventory 
intending
(presumably) to sell 10 
gram quantities

3-10 gram inventory 
intending to sell 
smaller quantities

3rd Degree 10 gram inventory 
intending
(presumably) to sell 
smaller quantities

1-3 gram inventory 
intending to sell 
smaller quantities


