Minnesota's Telephone Assistance Program
(TAP)

A Refresher

Prepared by:

Lillian A. Brion

Telecommunications Analyst
Minnesota Public Utilities Commission
651-201-2216
lillian.brion@state.mn.us

Updated January 4, 2011




1L
IIL

VIL

Table of Contents

Introduction
History of TAP
Related Assistance Program

A. Federal Lifeline Program

B. Federal Link-Up Program

C. Telecom Access Minnesota

D. Minnesota 9-1-1 Program
TAP Features

A. Eligibility Criteria

B. TAP Application

C. TAP Benefits

D. Funding

E. Complaint Investigation
Obligations of Local Telephone Service Providers
Customer Notice
Certification and Verification
Surcharge Collection and Remittance
Recording and Reporting
Tariff Filing
Annual Reporting
lnstructlons for Filing TAP Form 1

A. General Filing Instructions

B. Required Information
Electronic Copy and Contact Information

FTEESOR>

Attachments

1 - Telephone Discount Application Form
2 - Template for Annual Notice to Customers

3 - TAP Reporting Instructions & Form, January 3, 2011 version

4 - Tariff Template



http://www.puc.state.mn.us/portal/groups/public/documents/puc_pdf_consumers/012226.pdf�
http://puc.state.mn.us/portal/groups/public/documents/puc_pdf_telecom/013132.pdf�
http://www.puc.state.mn.us/puc/telecom/for-utilities/tap-form/index.html�
http://puc.state.mn.us/portal/groups/public/documents/puc_pdf_telecom/013133.pdf�

1. Introduction

The Minnesota Telephone Assistance Plan (TAP) is a state program that provides financial
support through bill credits to eligible telephone customers. TAP has provided more than
$40.6 million of telephone assistance to Minnesota participants since the program's
implementation in 1988.

II. _History of TAP

In 1987, the Legislature created the TAP program to be administered jointly by the
telephone companies, the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) and the Department of
Human Services. The program was initially designed to provide monthly credits to the
telephone bills of low-income customers who are also either at least 65 years old or
disabled. Applications were verified by the Department of Human Services before benefits
were granted to subscribers.

The program underwent significant changes since 2003. Most notable developments include
a) a Minnesota law that took effect on August 1, 2003 that allowed TAP to mirror the
eligibility requirements of the federal Lifeline program'; and b) an Order by the Federal
Communications Commission that expanded the eligibility for Lifeline effective July 22,
2004.” The current state TAP program supplements the federal Lifeline program and allows
for increased benefits to Lifeline participants from Minnesota.

Despite a decrease in the number of access lines, from 2.8 million at the end of 2002 to
about 2.2 million by June of 2010, TAP is experiencing a significant increase in participation
during the same period. Resulting mainly from the change in the state eligibility criteria to
match the federal Lifeline eligibility criteria, TAP participation has increased from 33,098 in
2002 to 63,529 by middle of 2010. Participation rates and other TAP-related data are
available from the Commission.

In lieu of the verification work done by the Minnesota Department of Human Services, a
subscriber now self-certifies his or her eligibility to the local telephone service provider. The
program is now jointly administered by the Public Utilities Commission, the Department of
Commerce, and the local service providers.

' SF 1260/HF 1115 and Minn. Stat. 237.70.

> FCC Report and Order and Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, FCC 04-87 released

on April 29, 2004, and published in the Federal Register on June 22, 2004.




IIl. Related Assistance Programs

An understanding of TAP is not complete without also understanding some related
programs. As earlier mentioned, TAP currently mirrors the eligibility criteria of the federal
Lifeline and Link-Up programs.

At the state level, TAP, Telecommunications Access Minnesota (TAM) and 9-1-1 are all
assistance programs that are paid for by all local telephone service subscribers through a
combined monthly bill surcharge. Pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 403.11, subd. 1(c), the
collections by local service providers related to the surcharges for TAP/TAM/911 are
remitted to the Department of Public Safety. Forms for remitting the surcharge collections
are available by at the Department of Public Safety’s 911 program website.

The features of the related programs are:
A. The Federal Lifeline Program

Lifeline is a component of the federal universal service program designed to provide
low-income individuals with monthly telephone service discounts. Currently, Lifeline
provides up to approximately $9.13 in monthly credits, composed of the following tiers: Tier
1, corresponding to the waiver of the subscriber line charge which averages about $6.50,
Tier 2 which is an additional benefit from the Telecommunications Act of 1996 of $1.75, and
Tier 3 which is capped at 50% of the TAP benefit available to subscribers from states with
matching programs, now amounting to $0.88. Additional benefits are available to
subscribers living on federally-recognized reservations.

B. The Federal Link-Up Program

Link-Up is a component of the federal universal service program designed to provide
low-income individuals with discounts of up to 50% on telephone service installations, not to
exceed $30.00. Additional benefits are available for low-income subscribers living on
reservations.

All telecommunications carriers that provide interstate and international telephone service
pay contributions into the federal universal service fund. Further information on both
Lifeline and Link-Up programs are available at the Federal Communication Commission and
the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC).

C. The Telecommunications Access Minnesota Program (TAM)

The program was formerly known as Telecommunications for Communication-Impaired
Persons (TACIP) and provides telecommunications relay service between
communication-impaired persons and conventional telephone subscribers pursuant to Minn.
Stat. §§ 237.50-.56. TAM also distributes telecommunications equipment to qualified
participants. The Department of Commerce oversees the program. Information about TAM is
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available from Minnesota Relay at the MN Department of Commerce. Questions about the
program may be directed to the TAM Administrator/DOC at rochelle.garrow(@state.mn.us or
651-297-8941 or 1-800-657-3599.

D. The State 9-1-1 Program

9-1-1 is the statewide emergency response system and is governed by Minn. Stat. § 403. The
Department of Public Safety coordinates the program and sets the surcharge level.
Questions related to 9-1-1 may be directed to the 9-1-1 program manager at 651-201-7550.
More information can be accessed at www.91 1.state.mn.us.

IV. TAP Features

TAP provides monthly credits to low-income subscribers who also qualify for Lifeline.
Minn. Stat. §§ 237.69 - .711 govern TAP. Minnesota Rules Chapter 7817 provides guidelines
on the implementation of the program. The major features of TAP are:

A. Eligibility Criteria

A subscriber qualifies for TAP if he or she qualifies for Lifeline. Pursuant to the FCC Order in
WC Docket No. 03-109 effective July 22, 2004, qualification is based on:

1. Income at or below 135 percent of the Federal Poverty Guidelines. Or,
2. Participation in one of the following federal assistance programs.
. Medicaid/Medical Assistance;

Food Stamps/Food Support;
Supplemental Security Income;

. Federal Housing Assistance (Section 8);

. Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP);

o National School Lunch Program’s Free Lunch Program,; or

. Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (also referred to in Minnesota as

MFIP or the Minnesota Family Investment Program).

Subscribers living on federally-recognized reservations may also qualify if they receive
benefits from one of the following programs: Bureau of Indian Affairs’ General Assistance,
Tribally administered Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, and Head Start, and the
National School Lunch Program’s free lunch program.

Under the income eligibility, subscribers should prove that their income is at or below 135%
of the federal poverty guidelines as released in the Federal Register and available online at
www.aspe.hhs.gov/poverty.
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The following table shows 135% of the 2010 federal poverty guidelines®

Household Size Income
1 $ 14,621
2 19,670
3 24,719
4 29,768
5 34,817
Each add’l person 5,049

Any of the following documents should be attached to the application to prove income
eligibility:

o Last year’s State, Federal or Tribal Tax Return

o A current annual income statement from employer

o Three consecutive months of most recent paycheck stubs
o Veterans Administration Benefits Statement

o Unemployment/Workers’ Compensation Statement

o Social Security Benefits Statement

o Retirement/Pension Benefits Statement

o Divorce Decree

. Child Support Document

o Other

Under the program eligibility, subscribers can self-certify that they receive benefits from any
of the qualifying programs listed in the application.

B. TAP Application

An application form must be completed by the subscriber for the purpose of certifying
eligibility for the program.

The local service provider is required to notify each subscriber of the TAP availability
pursuant to Minn. Stat. §237.70, subd. 7, and to mail each prospective applicant a TAP
application form upon request. The Minnesota Telephone Service Discount Application
Form is shown in Attachment 1.

3 Until publication of updated guidelines, the poverty guidelines for 2011 were determined to mirror the 2010

figures. The US Department of Health & Human Services expects to issue the 2011 poverty guidelines during the
second half of January.




C. TAP Benefits

Minn. Stat § 237.70 requires the Commission to set the amount of monthly credit; the credit
is presently at $1.75 per month per eligible household as set in the Commission’s Order
dated April 11, 2001. The law provides that the TAP credit a) be up to the amount available
under the federal matching plan; b) may not exceed more than 50 percent of the local
exchange rate by the local telephone exchange provider; and ¢) may not exceed what can be
funded from the surcharge collections.

The TAP credit is in addition to the Lifeline benefit.

D. Funding
The Commission is authorized to assess a monthly surcharge not to exceed ten cents per
access line. The surcharge is presently set at $0.07 per access line per month based on the
Commission’s April 11, 2001 Order. The surcharge is remitted by the local service providers
to the Department of Public Safety in combination with the surcharges collected for the
Telecommunications Access Minnesota and the 9-1-1 programs.

E. Complaint Investigation
Any complaints against local service providers related to TAP shall be investigated by the

Department of Commerce and results of any investigation shall be reported to the
Commission.

V. Obligations of Local Telephone Service Providers

Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 237 and Minnesota Rules, Chapter 7817 governing the
Telephone Assistance Plan program are available online at the Minnesota Office of the
Revisor of Statutes.

Although federal rules only require Eligible Telecommunications Carriers (ETCs) to provide
Lifeline and Link Up assistance, Minnesota’s state TAP program requires all local telephone
companies, including competitive local exchange carriers, to provide telephone assistance
to qualified customers and to remit TAP contributions for all access lines in the state. The
TAP laws and Commission rules apply to each telephone company defined in Minn. Stat. §
237.01 as “any person, firm, association, or any corporation, private or municipal, owning or
operating any telephone line or telephone exchange for hire, wholly or partly within this
state, or furnishing any telephone service to the public.”
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Among the local telephone service providers’ obligations related to TAP are:
A. Customer Notice

All ETCs are required to give notice of the availability of Lifeline and Link-Up and TAP
programs. In addition, Minn. Stat. §237.70, subd. 7(b) requires each telephone service
provider to annually mail a notice of the availability of the program to each residential
subscriber. A suggested template of the Annual Notice to Residential Customers is shown in
Attachment 2.

B. Certification and Verification

Upon a subscriber’s request, the telephone service provider is required to mail the
application form. For program-based eligibility, an applicant’s self-certification under penalty
of perjury, is deemed sufficient. For income-based eligibility, the provider must require
applicants, in addition to the self-certification, to provide documentation of income eligibility
at enrollment. The credits against monthly charges should be applied in the earliest possible
month following receipt of the application.

The Commission also requires service providers to conform to verification procedures
adopted to ensure that subscribers are eligible for benefits. Upon verification of ineligibility,
a subscriber’s enrollment is discontinued.

In Docket No. P999/CI-10-135, the Commission also required each local service provider
audited by the FCC to submit a copy of the FCC audit report when it becomes available.

C. Surcharge Collection and Remittance

The TAP laws require local service providers to collect the TAP surcharge and to remit such
collections to the Department of Public Safety for deposit in the TAP fund in accordance with
Minn. Stat. § 403.11. The TAP surcharge may be combined with surcharges for 911 and
TAM.

D. Recording and Reporting

The TAP statutes require telephone companies to maintain adequate records of surcharge
revenues, expenses and credits related to TAP.

The statutes also require telephone companies to file either monthly or quarterly reports no
later than 30 days after the end of the selected reporting period. For reporting TAP revenues
and expenses for reimbursement, the Commission has devised the TAP Reimbursement
Reporting Form and Instructions (Attachment 3). For verification of collections remitted to
the Department of Public Safety, and following the procedures suggested by the Legislative
Auditor, a copy of the remittance of collection to the Department of Public Safety should also




be attached to the TAP Reimbursement Reporting Form when eFiled.
E. Tariff Filing
A copy of the suggested tariff template is shown in Attachment 4.
F. Annual Reporting
Each local service provider is required to provide the Commission and the Department of
Commerce, either as part of its annual report or separately, a financial report of its

experience under the plan for the previous year. The report shall be adequate to satisfy any
reporting requirements of the federal matching fund.

VL. Electronic Copy and Contact Information

Telephone Assistance Plan program forms and reimbursement process inquiries may be
directed to Commission staff, Lillian Brion, at lillian.brion@state.mn.us or 651-201-2216.

Telecommunications Access Minnesota program information and compliance forms are
available from the Department of Commerce’s website at www.commerce.state.mn.us (Click
on Minnesola Relay, then “Telecommunications Carriers.”). TAM program inquiries may be
directed to Commerce staff, Rochelle Garrow, at rochelle.garrow@state.mn.us or
651-297-8941.

9-1-1- Program forms and reimbursement process inquiries may be directed to Department
of Public Safety staff, Jackie Mines, at jackie.mines@state.mn.us or 651-201-7550.

Consumers with eligibility inquiries may contact the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission
Consumer Affairs Office at consumer.puc@state.mn.us or 651-296-0406 or 1-800-657-3782.
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Minnesota Telephone Service Discount Application Attachment 1
Use this application to apply for Link-Up, Lifeline& TAP
(Please Print)

Last Name First Name Middle

Street Address City State: MN  Zip

Check Box that best describeswhereyou live: [ 1 liveon areservation [11 do not live on areservation

Tel. #if you have service (MUST bein your name) Tel. # where you can be reached:

( ) - ( ) -

Area code + seven digit number area code + seven digit number
Telephone Company No. of peopleliving in your household
1. I receive benefits from the following program(s): Check all that apply
o Medicaid/Medical Assistance o Food Support (food stamps)
o Federal Public Housing or Section 8 Assistance o Minnesota Family Investment Program (MFIP)
0 Supplemental Security Income (SSI) o Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program
o National School Free Lunch Program (LIEAP)
o Bureau of Indian Affairs General Assistance o Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
o Tribally administered Temporary Assistance o Tribaly Administered Head Start (for those
For Needy Families (TANF) meeting income qualifying standard)

2. Ido not receive benefits from any of the programs listed above BUT my income is at or below 135%
of Federal Poverty Guideline. Please attach one of the documents below if you did not check any boxes

in#1.

O Last year’s State, Federal of Tribal Tax Return o Current annual income statement from employer
o 3 consecutive months of most recent paycheck stub o Social Security Benefits Statement

o Veterans Administration Benefits Statement o Retirement/Pension Benefits Statement

o Unemployment/Workmen’'s Compensation Statement o Divorce Decree

o Child Support document o Other

I agree to notify the telephone company when I no longer participate in any of the above qualifying
programs or my income rises above 135% of the Federal Poverty Guideline. I certify under penalty of
perjury the above information is true. I have read the information on this application and understand I
must meet one of the criteria above to receive telephone service discounts on my home telephone line.

Applicant Signature Social Security Number Date

| am an “ Authorized Representative’ for this applicant and am submitting this form on behalf of this customer. |
am willing to assist this applicant in seeking telephone service discounts.

( )

Print “authorized representative” Name Daytime Phone Number Date

Complete Application ¢ ¢+ Attach Proof of Income Documents

Mail Application & Income Documents to Your Local Telephone Company
7/21/09 PUC



Telephone Company Name/Logo Attachment 2

Sample Customer Notice to Residential Customers

You may be eligible for installation and monthly discounts on your telephone bill under
the federally-funded Link-Up and Lifeline telephone discount programs if you receive
benefits under one or more of the following programs:

Medicaid/Medical Assistance (MA)

Food Stamps/Food Support

Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

Federal Housing Assistance (Section 8)

Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)

National School Lunch Program’s Free Lunch Program

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (also referred to in Minnesota as MFIP
or the Minnesota Family Investment Program)

If you live on a federally-recognized reservation, you may also qualify for these
discounts if you receive benefits from one of the following programs:

Bureau of Indian Affairs General Assistance

Tribally Administered Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
Head Start (only for those meeting the income qualifying standard)
National School Lunch Program's free lunch program

If you do not participate in any of the above programs, you may also qualify if your
income is at or below 135% of the federal poverty guidelines listed below:

Household Size Income
1
2
3
4
5
Each add’l person

If you qualify, the Link-Up program provides a 50%, discount up to $30, on installation
charges. You can receive a monthly credit of $ (insert amount) (depends on the
company’s SLC charge + $1.75 + $0.88) under the Lifeline program and $1.75 under
the Minnesota Telephone Assistance Plan. You may also receive free long-distance call
blocking and additional benefits apply if you live on federally-recognized tribal lands.
The credits apply to your main home telephone line.

For more information and an application, please call (insert telephone company contact
information).

Notice required under Minn. Stat. § 237.70, subd. 7(b) 1/4/2011



Attachment 3

Minnesota Public Utilities Commission
Instructions for Filing Telephone Assistance Plan Form as of January 3, 2011.

Purpose of TAP Form

Minnesota Rules 7817.0900 requires all local service providers to maintain adequate records of surcharge revenues,
expenses, and credits related to the telephone assistance plan, and to report that information on a Commission-
prescribed TAP form. The purpose of the TAP form is to track the revenues and expenses of the TAP program. All

carriers with a local certificate must complete and eFile the TAP form verifying that they are either paying into the
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=7817.0900

Due Date

Complete and eFile the TAP reporting form no later than 30 calendar days after the end of the reporting period which
may be either monthly, quarterly, or in some cases, annually. See Section 2: Reporting Period for detailed reporting
period information.

Completing the Form

Enter numeric responses in all applicable yellow highlighted fields. Do not enter letters or symbols in the yellow fields.
Enter “0” in any field that does not apply. Do Not enter “N/A” or any other words of explanation unless you are filing
Trade Secret data in Section 4. Rose-colored fields will auto-calculate and display the sum of the numbers you report.
Do not enter any responses in the rose-colored fields.

Specific Sections of the Form Details

Section 1: Company Information

Enter full company name. Do NOT abbreviate. Enter 5-digit numeric U-Number. Do not enter the letter “U”; enter
only the 5-digits after the U. The Company name and U-number shall be as reported in the Jurisdictional Annual
Report filed May 1 each year. Enter contact name, email address and 10-digit telephone number including area code of

the person completing this form. This person will be contacted for any clarification or questions.
Find my U-Number

Section 2: Reporting Period

A local service provider with more than 100 subscribers shall elect to file either monthly or quarterly reports. A local
service provider with 100 or fewer subscribers may elect to file annually only. Select the period for which you are
filing this report. All filings are due 30 calendar days after the end of the reporting period your company has chosen.

Section 3: Type of Company
Identify whether you are reporting for an ILEC, CLEC — ETC or CLEC - NonETC. Definitions are found in

Minnesota Rules part 7812.0100.
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=7812.0100
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Section 4: Surcharge Collections

If you have no access lines subject to Minnesota TAP Rules, check the box at the top of Section 4 and skip to Section
11.

4a: Enter number of local access lines at the end of the reporting period. The number in 4a must equal the number of
wired lines reported to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety on the 911 Program Remittance form. Include
inward and outward bound trunks equivalents for T1/DS1, Partial T1, DS3, ISDN basic & ISDN primary rate interface,
Blocked and Unblocked Centrex among others. Please see the Commission’s February 20, 2009 Order assessing
surcharges in Docket No. 07-617 to determine the number of lines you should report. Questions may be directed to
Lillian Brion (Lillian.Brion@state.mn.us), 651-201-2216.

Trade Secret Qualifications

February 2009 Commission Order

4b: Enter dollar amount of TAP surcharge fees collected on all lines reported in 4a. This should equal 4a multiplied by
the $.07 per line TAP surcharge.

4c: Enter dollar amount of TAP surcharges deposited with the 911 Program. Attach a copy of the 911 remittance form
submitted to the Department of Public Safety. If you have multiple remittance forms, please paste one form each into
Tabs 911-1, 911-2 and 911-3. Paste either an Excel worksheet or a PDF document format. Do NOT eFile as separate
4d: Explain any difference between 4b and 4c.

Section 5: TAP Subscriber Credit (reimbursed at $1.75 per TAP subscriber line)

5a: Enter total number of TAP subscribers for this reporting period. For example, if you are filing a quarterly report
and you had 200 subscribers in the first month of the quarter, 205 in the second month, and 210 in the third month, you
would enter 615 in line 5a.

5b: Enter total number of Resold lines for which you already received TAP credit from your underlying carrier(s). For
example, if you had 100 total TAP subscribers, but 25 of those TAP subscribers are provided service through resale
and your underlying carrier already provided you with the TAP credit, enter “100” in line 5a and “25” in line 5b.
Providing the information in both lines will ensure the Commission can: 1) accurately count the total number of TAP
subscribers you have; and 2) make sure it is not reimbursing you for TAP credits that you already received from your
underlying carrier.

Section 6: TAP Subscriber Credit (reimbursed at less than $1.75 per TAP subscriber line)

Complete this section for all TAP subscribers credits issued at less than $1.75 for this reporting period.

If you provided less than a $1.75 credit to any TAP subscribers, enter an "X" in the box in Section 6 and complete
Section 12: TAP Subscriber Credit (reimbursed at less than $1.75 credit).
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Section 7: Administrative Charges

Minnesota Rules 7817.0300, subpart 4, allows a telephone company to claim reimbursement of administrative
expenses for enrolling TAP participants. Reimbursement for a carrier’s expenses of collecting the surcharge is not
allowed.

A local service provider with five or more new TAP participants enrolled during the reporting period for which
reimbursement is sought may seek reimbursement for expenses actually incurred and claimed up to an amount no
greater than the number of NEW participants enrolled during the reporting period times either the provider's tariffed
service order record change charge or the Commission-established TAP enrollment charge.

A local service provider with fewer than five new TAP participants enrolled during the reporting period for which

reimbursement is sought may seek reimbursement for expenses actually incurred and claimed up to an amount no
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules?id=7817.0300

7a: Enter your company’s tariffed service order charge or PUC-approved TAP enrollment charge.

7b: Enter the number of new TAP subscribers added during the reporting period. If less than 5, enter 5.

7c: This field will automatically calculate and enter the result of line 7a x 7b.

7d: Enter actual administrative expenses claimed.

7e: Field will auto calculate and enter the lesser of line 7c or 7d. This is your administrative expenses reimbursement

Section 8: Total Reimbursement Requested

This amount is automatically calculated for you. This amount includes amounts under Section 5 for the credits you
provided to eligible residential households, amounts under Section 7 for administrative charges, amounts under Section
12 for carriers providing less than $1.75 TAP credit and amounts under Section 13 if you provided TAP credits to

Section 9: Eligible Telecommunications Carriers Lifeline Credit
Minnesota Rules 7817.0900, subp. 3 requires all ETCs to provide the information in 9a & 9b. You must complete this
section of the form if you are an ETC. If you are not an ETC, enter "0" in 9a and 9b.

9a: Enter dollar amount of Lifeline reimbursement (reported on FCC Form 497) from the federal matching plan
applied for or received during this reporting period.

9b: Enter dollar amount of Lifeline credit per individual subscriber. See FCC Rule Section 54.403 for the requirement
on Lifeline support amount.

Section 10: Resold Residential Lines with TAP credit
If you provide TAP credits to resellers, place an "X" in the box in Section 10 and complete Section 13.
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Section 11: Certification
Enter the name and title of the person that is responsible for the accuracy and completeness of the TAP data provided.
This may or may not be the Contact Name provided in Section 1. Enter the date (mm/dd/yyyy), electronically sign and
efile the form along with the corresponding 911 Program remittance form to

(MN eFiling home page link)

Section 12: TAP Subscriber Credit (reimbursed at less than $1.75 per TAP subscriber line)

Carriers providing less than $1.75 credit to TAP subscribers must report the TAP credit per line, number of TAP
subscriber lines during this reporting period and an explanation of why the TAP credit is less than $1.75. The total
credit amount to be reimbursed will be automatically calculated for you.

12a: Enter dollar amount of TAP: credit per line

12b: Enter number of TAP subscribers receiving less than $1.75 credit

12c: Skip this field. The amount will be automatically calculate and enter total of 12a minus 12b into this field
12d: Explain why the TAP credit was less than $1.75 per TAP subscriber.

Section 13: Resold Residential TAP Lines
If you placed an “X” in the box in Section 10, you must fill out Section 13: Resold Residential TAP Lines. For resold
lines receiving credit, list the reseller carrier’s name, U-number (number only), number of resold lines receiving credit
and the credit amount provided to the reseller during this reporting period. For example, if you are filing a quarterly
report and you had 20 resold lines receiving TAP credit in the first month that quarter, 25 in the second month and 26
in the third month, you would enter 71 resold lines receiving credit from the reseller.

Look up Carrier U-Number
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Name of Company Attachment 4

Telephone Assistance Plan (TAP)

1.

General

TAP is a state sponsored assistance program under Minnesota Statutes Chapter
237 and is designed to make telephone service accessible to qualifying
low-income residential households. Through this program, eligible households
will receive a monthly discount on their telephone service.

Eligibility Requirements
To be eligible for assistance, an applicant must meet the following requirements:

1.1This discount applies on a single line at the principal place of residence for
the applicant.

1.2 Applicant signs document certifying under penalty of perjury that the
consumer has income at or below 135 percent of the Federal Poverty
Guidelines or receives benefits from at least one of the following programs:

Medicaid/Medical Assistance

Food Support/Food Stamps

Supplemental Security Income

Federal Housing Assistance (Section 8)

Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
National School Lunch Program’s Free Lunch Program
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (also known as
Minnesota Family Investment Program, or MFIP)

Subscribers living on federally-recognized reservations may qualify if the
applicant signs a document certifying under penalty of perjury that the
applicant receives benefits from at least one of the following programs:

Bureau of Indian Affairs General Assistance

Tribally administered Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
Head Start (only for those meeting its income qualifying standard)
National School Lunch Program'’s free lunch program

1.3 Applicant agrees to notify the carrier if that consumer ceases to participate in
any of the above listed federal assistance programs.

Eligibility Revocation

If the Telephone Company discovers that conditions exist that disqualify the
recipient of TAP, the support will be discontinued. The customer will be billed
retroactively to whichever is the most recent of the dates TAP assistance
commenced or the recipient no longer qualified for the service not to exceed 12
months.

State TAP Monthly Surcharge $.07
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