Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission

Possible Re-Ranking of Child Neglect or Endangerment
September 28, 2016

Issue: In August of 2016, the Sherburne County Attorney’s Office contacted MSGC and
requested that the Commission review the Severity Level 1 ranking of felony neglect or
endangerment of child under Minn. Stat. § 609.378.

Background: A person is guilty of gross misdemeanor child neglect who “willfully deprives
a child of necessary food, clothing, shelter, health care, or supervision appropriate to the
child’s age, when the parent, guardian, or caretaker is reasonably able to make the
necessary provisions and the deprivation harms or is likely to substantially harm the
child’s physical, mental, or emotional health ....” Subdivision 1(a)(1).

A person is guilty of gross misdemeanor child endangerment who “endangers [a] child’s
person or health by ... intentionally or recklessly causing or permitting [the] child to be
placed in a situation likely to substantially harm the child’s physical, mental, or emotional
health or cause the child’s death ....” Subd. 1(b)(1). Alternatively, a person commits the
offense who endangers a child’s person or health by knowingly causing or permitting the
child to be present where controlled substance crime 1st through 4th Degree, or
possession of substances with intent to manufacture methamphetamine, is being
committed. Subd. 1(b)(2).

A person is guilty of gross misdemeanor child endangerment by firearm access who
“intentionally or recklessly causes a child under 14 years of age to be placed in a situation
likely to substantially harm the child’s physical health or cause the child’s death as a result
of the child's access to a loaded firearm ....” Subd. 1(c).

Each of these gross misdemeanors is enhanced to a felony, with a maximum 5-year prison
sentence and $10,000 fine, if the neglect or endangerment “results in substantial harm to
the child’s physical, mental, or emotional health.” Subds. 1(a)(1) & 1(b)(2). In the case of
child endangerment by firearm access, substantial harm to the child’s physical health

only—not mental nor emotional health—is sufficient to enhance the offense to a felony.
Subd. 1(c).

“Substantial harm to the child’s physical, mental, or emotional health,” a term unique in
Minnesota Statutes to § 609.378, is not statutorily defined.! A similar term is found in Minn.

1 Arelated term, “substantial child endangerment,” is defined in the context of reporting maltreatment of
minors, and that definition includes the phrase “neglect ... that substantially endangers the child’s physical or
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.378

Stat. § 609.02, subd. 7a: “ ‘Substantial bodily harm’ means bodily injury which involves a
temporary but substantial disfigurement, or which causes a temporary but substantial loss
or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ, or which causes a fracture of
any bodily member.” “Substantial bodily harm” is used in various contexts within the
criminal code; for example, its infliction will elevate an assault from the fifth degree (Minn.
Stat. § 609.224) to the third degree (Minn. Stat. § 609.223). Unlike the term used in Minn.
Stat. § 609.378, however, “substantial bodily harm” has no mental or emotional component,
and does not use the term “health.”

Guidelines Considerations: Felony child neglect is currently ranked at Severity Level 1.
The presumptive disposition is “stayed” at a Criminal History Score 5 or less, and
“commitment” at Criminal History Score 6 or more. The presumptive duration ranges from
12 months and one day at Criminal History Score 0, 1, and 2, to 19 months (with a prison
range from 17 to 22) at Criminal History Score 6. Felony child neglect under Minn. Stat.

§ 609.378, is on the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive sentences in
Guidelines § 6.

The Commission may wish to consider a severity level no higher than Severity Level 5
because the presumptive sentence duration exceeds the statutory maximum of five years
(60 months) at Criminal History Score 6. If an offender also had a Custody Status Point, a
three-month enhancement would be applied, bringing the presumptive duration up to 51
months (with a prison range from 44 to 60).

Possible Comparison Offenses: Although no other offenses are enhanced to a felony due
to the presence of “substantial harm to [the victim’s] physical, mental, or emotional health,”
a limited basis for comparison may be found in those offenses that are enhanced due to the
presence of “substantial bodily harm,” as discussed above.

Table 1, below, lists all offenses that are enhanced from a less severe crime to a more
severe crime due to the presence of substantial bodily harm.2 Several of the offenses would
be, like Child Neglect/Endangerment, gross misdemeanors if not enhanced due to the harm.
Each offense listed in Table 1 carries a statutory maximum penalty equal to, or less than,
the statutory maximum penalty for Child Neglect/Endangerment (5 years imprisonment
and a $10,000 fine).

mental health ....” An example of such endangerment (failure to thrive) is given. Minn. Stat. § 626.556, subd.
2(0)(3).

2 Minn. Stat. § 609.222, subd. 2 (assault with a dangerous weapon resulting in substantial bodily harm) is
omitted from Table 1. Although subd. 2 has a greater statutory maximum penalty than subd. 1 (assault with a
dangerous weapon) due to the presence of substantial bodily harm, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines
assign severity level 6 equally to both offenses.
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Each offense listed in Table 1 is ranked at Severity Level 5, 4, 3, or 1.

At Severity Level 5, the presumptive disposition is “commitment” at Criminal History Score
3. The presumptive duration ranges from 18 months at Criminal History Score 0, to 48
months (with a prison range from 41 to 57) at Criminal History Score 6.

At Severity Level 4, the presumptive disposition is “commitment” at Criminal History Score
4. The presumptive duration ranges from 12 months and one day at Criminal History Score
0, to 30 months (with a prison range from 26 to 36) at Criminal History Score 6.

At Severity Level 3, the presumptive disposition is “commitment” at Criminal History Score
4. The presumptive duration ranges from 12 months and one day at Criminal History Score
0, to 23 months (with a prison range from 20 to 27) at Criminal History Score 6.

At Severity Level 1, the presumptive disposition is “commitment” at Criminal History Score
6. The presumptive duration ranges from 12 months and one day at Criminal History Score
0, to 19 months (with a prison range from 17 to 22) at Criminal History Score 6.

Table 1. Offenses with Elevated Severity Due to Substantial Bodily Harm
Severity Statutory

Crime Minn. Stat. section . Elevated From
Level Maximum
Deprivation of 609.233, subd. 3(2) 5 5yrs. & Gross misdemeanor
Vulnerable Adult $5,000
False Imprisonment 609.255, subd. 3(c) 4 Syrs. & Felony;
(child restraint) $10,000 Severity Level 3
Fleeing Peace Officer 609.487, subd. 4(c) 4 5yrs. & Felony;
$10,000 Severity Level 1
Criminal Abuse of 609.2325, subd. 4 5yrs. & Gross misdemeanor
Vulnerable Adult 3(a)(3) $10,000
Malicious Punishment of 609.377, subd. 5 4 5yrs. & Gross misdemeanor
Child $10,000
Assault 3rd Degree 609.223, subd. 1 4 Syrs. & Misdemeanor
$10,000
Assault of an Unborn 609.2671 4 5yrs. & Misdemeanor
Child 2nd Degree $10,000
Obstructing Legal 609.50, subd. 2(1)(ii) 3 5yrs. & Misdemeanor
Process, Arrest, etc. $10,000
Depriving Another of 609.26, subd. 3 4 yrs. & Felony;
Cust. or Parental Rights = 6(a)(2)(i) $8,000 Severity Level 1
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Severity Statutory

Minn. Stat. section Elevated From

Level Maximum
Criminal Vehicular 609.2113, subd. 2 3 3yrs. & Gross misdemeanor
Operation $10,000
Duty to Render Aid 609.662, subd. 2(b)(2) 1 1yr,1day, Gross misdemeanor
& $3,000

Number of Child Neglect/Endangerment Cases: From 2010 through 2015, 46 offenders
were sentenced for child neglect under Minn. Stat. § 609.378, all of whom had a
presumptive “stayed” disposition. Of the 46 offenders sentenced, 3 (7%) received an
aggravated dispositional departure. Two of the three offenders who received
“commitment” sentences requested them. Of the 43 offenders who received a pronounced
stayed sentence, six (14%) received a non-felony sentence. Of the 3 offenders who received
prison, 2 (67%) received an aggravated durational departure and no one received a
mitigated durational departure (Table 2).

Table 2. Departure Rates for Child Neglect/Endangerment;
Sentenced 2010-20153

Dispositional Durational Departure Durational Departure
Total Departure (received prison) (received stayed sentence)
Sentenced Aggra- Aggra-| Mitigated

None Mitigated| None [Aggravated |Mitigated] None

vated vated [(non-felony)

46 |43 (93%) 3 (7%) | 0(0%) [1(33%)| 2(67%) | 0(0%) |37 (86%)|0(0%)| 6 (14%)

Original Ranking Decision: The following is an excerpt of the May 27, 1993, minutes of
the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission:

The Commission meeting was held on May 27, 1993, in the Main Dining Room
of the Commodore Hotel in St. Paul, Minnesota. Chairman Gernes called the
meeting to order at 3:25PM. Members present were [Winona County Attorney]
Julius Gernes, [Chief Deputy Steele County Sheriff] James Dege, [Tenth Judicial
District Chief Public Defender| Jenny Walker, [Ramsey County Probation
Officer] Stan Suchta, [Court of Appeals] Judge R.A. Randall, and [Second
Judicial District] Judge Edward Wilson. Steve Alpert of the Attorney General’s
Office was also present. Public attendance included Mr. Raymond Truelson, Jr.,
private citizen and Paul Scoggin, Hennepin County Attorney’s Office.

3 These data differ from the MSGC Information Response prepared for the Sherburne County Attorney’s Office
on June 15, 2016, in that they have been updated to include six (6) offenders sentenced in 2015.
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The Commission then returned to the consideration of proposed modifications
related to legislation passed in the last session.

CHILD NEGLECT/ENDANGERMENT

[Executive Director] Deb Dailey noted that currently the child neglect/endan-
germent provisions are all gross misdemeanors. The new language creates
felony level neglect and endangerment offenses. The new felony offenses all
carry a maximum sentence of five years/$10,000.

Ms. Dailey explained the amended language which includes the following
changes and additions:

1)

2)

3)

M.S. § 609.378, Subd. 1 (a): A felony level offense when neglect results in
substantial harm to the child’s physical, mental or emotional health. (Ms.
Dailey noted that the substantial harm appears to be different from the
substantial bodily harm that is currently defined in law to mean bodily
injury which Involves a temporary but substantial disfigurement or which
causes a temporary but substantial loss or impairment of the function of
any bodily member or organ or which causes a fracture of any bodily
member. She stated this definition seems to be broader as it includes not
just physical but also mental and emotional health.)

M.S. § 609.378, Subd. 2 (b): The word ‘recklessly’ was added to the endan-
germent statute. Under the new language, endangerment includes
recklessly, as well as intentionally, causing or permitting a child to be
placed in a situation likely to substantially harm the child’s physical, mental
or emotional health or cause the child’s death. Subd. 2(b)(2) also defines
endangerment as knowingly causing or permitting a child to be present
when any person is selling or possessing a controlled substance. The offense

is a felony if the endangerment results in substantial harm to the child’s
physical, mental, or emotional health.

M.S. §609.378, Subd. 2 (c): A new provision covering “A person who
intentionally or recklessly causes a child under 14 years of age to be placed

in a situation likely to substantially harm the child’s physical health or
cause the child’s death as a result of the child's access to a loaded firearm is



guilty of child endangerment...”. If the endangerment results in substantial
harm, the offense is a felony; otherwise it is a gross misdemeanor.

Ms. Dailey noted that all of these offenses would otherwise be gross
misdemeanors but in circumstances where substantial harm results they
become felonies. She noted a similar crime is Malicious Punishment of a Child
Resulting in Substantially Bodily Harm which is currently ranked at severity
level IV. Ms. Dailey suggested the Commission evaluate whether these offenses
are as egregious as malicious punishment offense or, whether, perhaps because
of the different definition of substantial harm, they should be treated less
seriously than malicious punishment.

Judge Wilson noted that the cases he has seen regarding child neglect/endan-
germent have involved crack cocaine and filthy living conditions. Chairman
Gernes noted that solicitation of a child to engage in sexual conduct is severity
level Il and malicious punishment of a child is severity level 1V. He also noted
that injury of an unborn child during the commission of a crime is ranked at IV.
He believed that these offenses have the same culpability as soliciting a child to
engage in sexual conduct.

MOTION was made and seconded to propose ranking M.S. § 609.378; Subd.
1 (a); Subd. 2 (b); and Subd. 2(c) at severity level I.

MOTION carried.
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