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Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission 
 

Non-Controlled Substance Modifications to the  
Sentencing Guidelines – 

2016 Legislative Bills Passed into Law;  
Creating or Amending Crime Laws 
Presented to MSGC on June 8, 2016 

 
 
The following are Legislative crime bills contained within 2016 Minnesota Session Laws. 
All were passed into law, or were pending executive action, as of May 31, 2016. Such new 
laws must be considered by the Commission for possible modifications to the Sentencing 
Guidelines.   
 
A. Amended Crime Laws Affecting the Guidelines. The following existing offenses were 

amended by a law passed during the 2016 Legislative Session, and must be reviewed by 
the Commission.  

 
Commission Action: For the offenses listed below, taking the amendments into 
consideration, the Commission must decide if the offense should be re-ranked, if there 
should be any amendments to the permissive consecutive offense list, or another other 
amendments to the Guidelines. 

 
1. Damage or Theft to Energy Transmission or Telecommunications Equipment  

(Chapter 152 – S.F. 2649-1E – PAGE 1) 
 
Description:  

Minn. Stat. § 609.593, subd. 1, expands the damage to energy transmissions or 
telecommunications equipment crime to include damage to, or removal of, any 
component used in the generation, transmission, or distribution of electricity, 
including equipment used for grounding, system protection, or personal protection. 
 
The penalty is contained in subd. 2. The crime is a felony and the statutory 
maximum remains at five years. 
 
The law is effective August 1, 2016, and applies to crimes committed on or after that 
date. 

 
Effective Date:  August 1, 2016. 
 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 152;  
2015 Minn. Stat. § 609.593. 

Est. Bed Impact: Minimal. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
Guidelines Considerations: The offense is ranked at Severity Level 3.  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=152
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=SF2649&version=1&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.593
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=152
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.593
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According to MSGC monitoring data; in the five years from 2010 to 2014, 13 
offenders have been sentenced for the existing felony offense, approximately two to 
three each year. Although one received a prison sentence of 17 months, all had 
presumptive stayed sentences. The prison sentence was the result of a request for 
prison by the defendant. Given the small number of offenders sentenced for this 
offense in the past, it is assumed that the expansion of the crime will result in only 
one or two additional offenders a year being sentenced for this offense and none 
will have presumptive prison sentences. 
 
MSGC Staff Recommendation: Maintain the Severity Level 3 ranking in Guidelines 
§ 5 because the statutory maximum remains the same (5 years). No modifications to 
the Guidelines are necessary. 
 
 

2. Gambling Regulations (Raffle Boards)  
(Chapter 138 – H.F. 3281 – PAGES 2-4) 
 
Description: Minn. Stat. § 297E.02 regulates the imposition of tax on all lawful 
gambling. Minn. Stat. § 349.2125 defines gambling contraband. Both statutes were 
amended to include raffle boards, in addition to pull-tabs, tip boards, paddle ticket 
cards, that are not bar coded in accordance with State regulations. The law was 
expanded so that contraband would include raffle boards not bar coded by 
amending Minn. Stat. § 349.2127.  
 
Under subdivision 2, it is a felony to possess or sell more than ten pull-tabs, tip-
boards or raffle boards. Under subdivision 3, it is a felony to alter pull-tabs, tip-
boards or raffle boards where the total face value exceeds $200, or knowingly 
submit false information or place false information on a pull-tab, tip-board or raffle 
board. Under subdivision 4, it is a felony to transport unstamped deals on more than 
ten pull-tabs, tip-boards or raffle boards. The statutory maximum is five years for 
any of these offenses. 

 
Effective Date:  Not indicated. 
 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 138;  
2015 Minn. Stat. § 297E.02;  
§§ 349.2125; 2127. 

Est. Bed Impact: Not requested. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
 
Guidelines Considerations: The offense is ranked at Severity Level 2.  
 
MSGC Staff Recommendation: Maintain the Severity Level 2 ranking in Guidelines 
§ 5 because the statutory maximum remains the same (5 years). No modifications to 
the Guidelines are necessary. 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=138
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF3281&version=0&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297E.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=349.2125
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=349.2127
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=138
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=297E.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=349.2125
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=349.2127
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3. Assault in the Fourth Degree Against a Peace Officer Clarified  

(Chapter 93 – S.F. 2227-1E – PAGE 5) 
 
Description: The law clarifies that a person who intentionally throws or otherwise 
transfers bodily fluids or feces at a peace officer is guilty of a felony under Minn. 
Stat. § 609.2231, subd. 1, regardless of whether that person otherwise physically 
assaults the peace officer. The law abrogates State v. Struzyk, 869 N.W. 2d 280 
(Minn. 2015), which interpreted the statute as requiring a separate physical-assault 
element, overruling State v. Kelley, 734 N.W. 2d 689 (Minn. App. 2007), which did 
not. 
 
The statute is separated into paragraphs. Paragraph (a) defines a peace officer for 
purposes of the statute. Paragraph (b) indicates that whoever physically assaults a 
peace officer is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. Paragraph (c) describes the felony as 
either an act of (1) physically assaulting an officer and inflicting demonstrable 
bodily harm; or (2) intentionally throwing or transferring bodily fluids or feces at an 
officer (no physical assault required). The felony continues to have a three-year 
statutory maximum. 
 
This law is effective August 1, 2016, and applies to crimes committed on or after 
that date. 
 

 
Effective Date:  August 1, 2016. 
 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 93; 
2015 Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2231  

Est. Bed Impact: None. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
 
Guidelines Considerations: Assault in the fourth degree is ranked at Severity Level 
1. According to Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission monitoring data, in 
2014, there were 149 convictions for felony fourth-degree assaults against a peace 
officer. According to Minnesota Offense Codes (MOCs) collected by law enforcement 
and prosecuting attorneys, 83 of the 149 (56%) were a result of a person who 
intentionally threw or otherwise transferred bodily fluids or feces at the peace 
officer. Six of the 83 offenders were sentenced to an executed prison sentence. This 
law affects only those cases involving transfer of bodily fluids at a peace officer that 
did not also involve physically assaulting the peace officer. It is unknown how many 
cases would have fit into that narrow category. 
 
MSGC Staff Recommendation: Maintain the Severity Level 1 ranking in Guidelines 
§ 5 because the statutory maximum remains the same (3 years). Keep the offense on 
the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive sentences in Guidelines § 6. 
No modifications to the Guidelines are necessary. 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=93
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=SF2227&version=1&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2231
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=93
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2231
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4. Attempting to Hire a Minor for Prostitution  

(Chapter 189, Art. 4, Sections 11 & 15 – S.F. 2862-1E – PAGES 8 & 10-11) 
 
Description: This law increases penalties for attempting to hire a minor for 

prostitution by amending Minnesota Statutes 2015 Supplement, section 609.324, 

subdivision 1. 

 

Minn. Stat. § 609.324, subd. 1(a)(3)  expands the crime of engaging in prostitution 

with an individual under the age of 13 to include intentionally hiring or offering or 

agreeing to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes to be under the age 

of 13 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact.  The statutory 

maximum is 20 years. Like other offenses under paragraph 1(a), violators of this 

new provision of the law will be required to register as predatory offenders.  

 

Minn. Stat. § 609.324, subd. 1(b)(3)  expands the crime of engaging in prostitution 

with an individual under the age of 16 but at least 13 to include intentionally hiring 

or offering or agreeing to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes to be 

under the age of 16 but at least 13 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual 

contact.  The statutory maximum is 10 years. 

 

Minn. Stat. § 609.324, subd. 1(c)(3) is amended to limit the offense of intentionally 

hiring or offering or agreeing to hire an individual who the actor reasonably 

believes to be under the age of 18 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual 

contact to those who are believed to be at least 16 years. The statutory maximum is 

five years. 

 

This bill is effective August 1, 2016, and applies to crimes committed on or after that 

date. 

 
Effective Date:  August 1, 2016. 
 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 189, Art. 
4, § 15; 2015 Minn. Stat. § 609.324. 

Est. Bed Impact: Minimal. Racial Disparity Impact: Not Estimated. 
 
 
Guidelines Considerations: Prison is the recommended disposition for all of the 

severity level nine offenses, but both offenders sentenced for that offense received 

mitigated dispositional departures. Prison is the recommended disposition for the 

severity level five offenses with a criminal history score of 3 or more and for the 

severity level three offenses (the most frequently occurring offense) for offenders 

with a criminal history score of four or more.  In the last five years, only one severity 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=189
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=SF2862&version=1&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=189
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.324
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level five offender and one severity level 3 offender has had a criminal history score 

high enough to trigger a presumptive prison sentence and both received a prison 

sentence. 

 

Because there has been an average of only three cases a year sentenced for these 

prostitution offenses over the last five years, it is assumed that the expansion of the 

offenses will not result in a significant increase in the number of cases. Furthermore, 

there may not be a case with a presumptive prison sentence in every year. The 

offense in § 609.324, subd. 1(c)(3) was amended to include victims believed to be 

under the age of 18 in 2015.  It may be too soon to evaluate the effect of that change, 

but to date, MSGC has no record of any cases being sentenced under that provision. 

 

It is assumed that a person who presently hires a person--reasonably but incorrectly 

believed to be a child of a specified age--to engage in prostitution could, in most 

cases, be charged with an attempt to hire a child of that age to engage in 

prostitution. A review of sentencing data discloses no cases in which an offender 

was sentenced for an attempt to commit a violation of Minn. Stat. sec. 609.324, subd. 

1, which suggests that the impact of the act’s changes to that subdivision would be 

minimal. 

 
MSGC Staff Recommendation: Maintain the existing rankings for these amended 
offenses. Table 1 displays the severity levels, number of cases sentenced from 2010-
2014, imprisonment rates, and average sentences for the existing offenses.   

 
Table 1. 
Statute Offense Severity 

Level 
# of cases-last 5 
years 

Prison 
Rate 

Av. 
Sentence 

609.324.1(a)(3) Under 13   9   2 0 (10%) --- 
609.324.1(b)(3) 13-under 

16 
5 3 1 (33%) 33 months 

609.324.1(c)(3) 16-under 
18 

3 10 1 (10%) 21 months 

 
 
 
 

 
B. New Offenses. The following new felony offenses were enacted by the Legislature 

during the 2016 Legislative Session and must be reviewed and acted on by the 
Commission. 

 
Commission Action: One of the responsibilities of the Commission is to assign 
severity-level rankings to new crimes and to consider whether they should be added to 
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the list of offenses eligible for permissive consecutive sentences. The Commission bases 
its decisions, in part, on the level of harm caused by the offense and the culpability of 
the offender. Statutory maximums are also considered.   
 
For the new offense listed below, the Commission must decide:  
 What severity level should be assigned? 
 Are there other amendments that must be made to the Guidelines? 

 
1. Felony Assault Motivated by Bias 

(Chapter 189, Art. 4, Sec. 14 – H.F. 2749-3E – PAGE 10) 
 
Description: The law creates a new felony that increases the statutory maximum 
penalty for felony-level assaults motivated by bias. The new law, Minn. Stat.  
§ 609.2233, subjects a person who commits first-, second-, or third-degree assault 
because of the victim’s or another person’s actual or perceived race, color, religion, 
sex, sexual orientation, disability as defined in section 363A.03, age, or national 
origin, to a statutory maximum penalty of 25 percent longer than the maximum 
penalty otherwise applicable. 
 
This law is effective August 1, 2016, and applies to crimes committed on or after 
that date. 

 
Effective Date:  August 1, 2016. 
 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 189, Sec. 
14; H.F. 2749-3E. 

Est. Bed Impact: Minimal. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
 
Guidelines Considerations: There is currently a felony offense for which bias is an 
element of the offense: subsequent fourth degree assault motivated by bias  
(§ 609.2231 subd. 4(b)). This is an assault that involves what would otherwise be a 
misdemeanor-level assault, but is elevated to a felony because the offender commits 
a subsequent assault motivated by bias within five years. According to MSGC 
monitoring data, since 2001, there have been two offenders sentenced for this 
offense, and neither received an executed prison sentence. 
 
MSGC Staff Recommendation: Maintain the current severity levels for first-, 
second-, and third-degree assault; provide that the presumptive sentence durations 
should be increased by 25 percent; and prohibit the use of the aggravating factor 
involving bias motivation under Guidelines § 2.D.3.b(11), when the statutory 
maximum was increased, as described below. 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=189
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF2749&version=3&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.221
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.222
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.223
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=363a.03
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=189
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF2749&version=3&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
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Section 2.D. Departures from the Guidelines 
 
* * * 
2.D.307.  The aggravating factor involving bias motivation under section 2.D.3.b(11) 

cannot be used when an offender has been convicted under a statute that sentencing an 

offender for a crime with an increased statutory maximum penalty under Minn. Stat. 

§ 609.2233 (felony assault motivated by bias), or for a crime that was elevated the crime 

to a felony offense because of bias motivation (e.g., Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2231, subd. 4 

(fourth-degree assault); 609.595, subd. 1a(a) (criminal damage to property); 609.749, 

subd. 3(a)(1) (stalking)). The Commission intends that a penalty for a bias-motivated 

offense be subject to enhancement only once. * * * 

 

Section 2.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers 

 
* * * 

 
13.  Felony Assault Motivated by Bias.  When an offender is sentenced for a crime for 

which the maximum penalty has been increased under Minn. Stat. § 609.2233, the 

presumptive duration found in the appropriate cell on the applicable Grid for the 

underlying offense must be increased by twenty-five percent. * * *  

 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

1 Assaults 4th Degree Motivated by Bias 609.2231, subd. 4(b) 

 
* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.2231, subd. 4(b) Assaults 4th Degree Motivated by Bias 1 ** 

  
** See section 2.C.2 and Appendix 3 to determine the presumptive duration. Depending on the 
offender’s criminal history score, the presumptive duration may exceed the statutory maximum. 
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* * * 

 

2. Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Qualified Prior Driving Offense Conviction)  
(Chapter 109 – H.F. 71 – PAGES 12-14) 
 
Description: Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2111; 2112, subd.1; and 2114, are amended by 
creating an enhanced penalty for criminal vehicular homicide occurring within ten 
years of a qualified prior driving offense. The statutory maximum for criminal 
vehicular homicide (CVH) under Minn. Stat. § 609.2112, subd. 1 (death), and 
criminal vehicular operation (CVO) under Minn. Stat. § 609.2114, subd. 1 (death to 
an unborn child), is increased from ten years to 15 years if a person commits an 
offense under clauses (2) to (6) within ten years of a qualified prior driving offense. 
The offenses included in clauses 2 through 6 are all “substance-related”; that is, they 
all involve the use of alcohol or some other chemical substance. A definition for 
“qualified prior driving offense” is added to Minn. Stat. § 609.2111, and includes a 
prior conviction for 1st Degree DWI, 2nd Degree DWI, substance-related CVH 
(including death to an unborn child), substance-related felony CVO (including harm 
to an unborn child), and past versions of these offenses. 
 
The law is effective August 1, 2016, and applies to crimes committed on or after that 
date.  

 
Effective Date:  August 1, 2016. 
 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 109; 
2015 Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2111; 2112, 
subd.1; and 2114; § 169A.20; 24; 25; 
Minn. Stat. 2012, § 609.21; Minn. Stat. 
2006, § 609.21. 

Est. Bed Impact: 5 beds. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
 
Guidelines Considerations: CVH is ranked at Severity Level 8, a severity level at 
which all offenders are recommended a prison sentence with presumptive 
durations ranging from 48 months (at a Criminal History Score of 0) to 108 months 
(at a Criminal History Score of 6).  The Commission must decide how to rank the 
enhanced offense or otherwise provide for an enhanced sentence. 
 
There are also two Guidelines policies related to criminal history calculation that 
may need consideration because of the enhanced CVH offense. The first relates to 
how criminal history is accumulated if the current offense is a CVH. Generally, there 
is a one-point limit for a misdemeanor/gross misdemeanor point. However, that 
limit is removed when the current offense is CVH (or CVO or felony DWI) and the 
person has DWI priors; and units assigned are increased from one unit to two units 
under the same circumstances. The policy reads: 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=109
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF71&version=1&session=ls89&session_year=2015&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2111
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2112
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2114
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=109
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2111
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2112
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2114
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=169A.20
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=169A.24
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=169A.25
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.21&year=2012
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.21&year=2006
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g. Assignment of Units for Criminal Vehicular Homicide or Operation or Felony 

Driving While Impaired (DWI): If the current conviction is for criminal vehicular 

homicide or operation or felony DWI, assign previous violations of Minn. Stat.  

§§ 169A.20, 169A.31, 169.121, 169.1211, 169.129, 360.0752, 609.2112, 609.2113, 

or 609.2114 two units each. There is no limit to the total number of misdemeanor 

points that can be included in the offender’s criminal history score due to 

criminal vehicular homicide or operation or DWI offenses. For DWI offenses, see 

section 2.B.6 for exceptions to this policy relating to predicate offenses used for 

enhancement purposes. Guidelines § 2.B.3.g. 

 
The second policy relates to “enhanced” felonies. It excludes the use of non-felony 
priors from the criminal history calculation when they were used to enhance the 
current offense to a felony. In general, the excluded priors can be used again in 
future non-enhanced felony cases (as outlined in Guidelines § 2.B.6.b). The general 
policy reads: 

 
[Guidelines § 2.B.6.]a.  Enhanced Felonies. When the current offense is a felony solely 

because the offender has previous convictions for misdemeanor and gross 

misdemeanor offenses, the prior misdemeanor conviction(s) on the targeted 

misdemeanor list provided in Minn. Stat. § 299C.10, subd. 1(e) or gross 

misdemeanor conviction(s) upon which the enhancement is based may be used 

in determining custody status, but cannot be used in calculating the remaining 

components of the offender’s criminal history score. 

 

Guidelines § 2.B.6.c contains the policy for counting non-felony DWIs when the 
current offense is a second felony DWI. Here, the prior non-felony DWIs used to 
enhance the first felony DWI cannot be used in calculating the criminal history 
score. 

 
[Guidelines § 2.B.6.]c.  Counting Prior Misdemeanors and Gross Misdemeanors; 

Felony Driving While Impaired (DWI). If the current offense is a felony DWI 

offense and the offender has a prior felony DWI offense, the prior felony DWI 

must be used in computing the criminal history score. The prior misdemeanor 

and gross misdemeanor offenses used to enhance the first prior felony DWI 

cannot be used in the offender’s criminal history. Any other misdemeanor or 

gross misdemeanor DWI offenses may be included as provided in section 2.B.3.g.  
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Prison Bed Impact: It was assumed that five offenders sentenced from 2012 to 
2014 would qualify for enhanced sentences under the new law. Three of those five 
had custody status points, one had a misd./GM point because of the two-unit rule for 
prior DWIs, and one had two misd./GM points because of the two-unit rule and the 
no-limit rule. The average criminal history score was 2 points. Four of the five 
offenders received executed prison sentences.  
 
It is assumed that, in the future, one or two offenders each year would receive 
enhanced prison sentences at durations corresponding to those found at Severity 
Level 9 for their criminal history scores. The average increased time to serve for the 
four offenders who received prison sentences would be 30 months. In order to 
avoid underestimating the impact, it is assumed that two offenders a year will 
receive the enhanced sentences. Based on these assumptions, it is estimated that the 
new law will result in the need for 5 additional prison beds per year. It is estimated 
that one bed will be needed in FY2019, three beds in FY2020, and five beds in 
FY2021, and every year after. 
 
MSGC Staff Recommendation: Staff recommends that the Commission adopt one of 
two alternate proposals for ranking, and outlines sections of the Guidelines affected 
if the Commission modified the criminal history policies. In addition, staff offers a 
recommendation on permissive consecutive sentencing. 
 
1. Alternate Proposal 1: Rank the enhanced offense one severity level higher, at 

Severity Level 9. At Severity Level 9, the presumptive durations range from 86 
months (at a Criminal History Score of 0) to 158 months (at a Criminal History 
Score of 6).  
 

2. Alternate Proposal 2: Address the enhanced offense as a sentence modifier in 
Guidelines Section 2.G, like with crimes committed for the benefit of a gang 
under Minn. Stat. § 609.229. The statutory maximum for a crime committed for a 
benefit of a gang is five years longer than the statutory maximum for the 
underlying crime. In response, the Guidelines presumptive sentence is 12 
months longer than the underlying crime. Or six months longer if the offense 
was an attempt or conspiracy.   

 
The alternate “ranking” proposals are outlined below for the Commission’s 
consideration. 
 
(Alternate Proposal 1: Rank Enhanced Criminal Vehicular Homicide) 
 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.229
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Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

9 Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death, and 
Qualified Prior Conviction)  

609.2112, subd. 1(b) 

Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to 
an Unborn Child, and Qualified Prior 
Conviction) 

609.2114, subd. 1(b) 

8 Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death)  609.2112, subd. 1(a) 

Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to 
an Unborn Child) 

609.2114, subd. 1(a) 

 
* * * 
 

 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.2112, subd. 1(a)  
 

Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death)  8  

609.2112, subd. 1(b)  Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death, and 
Qualified Prior Conviction)  

9 

609.2113, subd. 1  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Great Bodily 
Harm)  

5  

609.2113, subd. 2  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Substantial 
Bodily Harm)  

3  

609.2114, subd. 1(a)  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to an 
Unborn Child)  

8  

609.2114, subd. 1(b)  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Death to an 
Unborn Child, and Qualified Prior 
Conviction)  

9  

609.2114, subd. 2  Criminal Vehicular Operation (Injury to an 
Unborn Child)  

5  

 
 * * * 

 
(Alternate Proposal 2: Sentence Modifier) 
 
Section 2.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers 

 
* * * 

 
12.  Criminal Vehicular Homicide (Death or Death to an Unborn Child, Qualified Prior 

Conviction).  When an offender is sentenced for a criminal vehicular homicide under 

Minn. Stat. § 609.2112, subd. 1(b) (death, qualified prior conviction), or 609.2114, 
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subd. 1(b) (death to an unborn child, qualified prior conviction), the presumptive 

duration found in the appropriate cell on the Standard Grid for the offense must be 

increased by 12 months.  * * *  

 

3. Criminal History Policy Considerations/Affected Guidelines Language: Per 
Guidelines § 2.C.3.d, the presumptive disposition for a felony DWI offense is 
always commitment if the offender had a previous conviction for a felony DWI or 
for a criminal vehicular homicide or operation offense listed in Minn. Stat. 
§ 169A.24, subd. 1(3). Guidelines Appendix 1 contains a table restating this 
policy, and other similar policies, in a convenient format. Although the list in 
Minn. Stat. § 169A.24, subd. 1(3), includes Minn. Stat. § 609.2114 (criminal 
vehicular operation involving death or injury to an unborn child), that offense 
has been omitted from the list in Appendix 1. Staff recommends that Appendix 1 
be updated to rectify this oversight, as shown below. 

 
Appendix 1.  Mandatory and Presumptive Sentences Reference Table 

 

This table is for convenience when applying mandatory sentences (section 2.E) and 

presumptive sentences (section 2.C).  It is not exhaustive. 

 

 Presumptive disposition.  Commitment. 

 Presumptive duration.  Mandatory minimum or the duration in the appropriate cell 

on the applicable Grid, whichever is longer.  

 Attempts and Conspiracies.  Mandatory sentences generally apply to attempted 

offenses under Minn. Stat. § 609.17 and conspiracies under Minn. Stat. § 609.175. 

Mandatory minimums are not divided in half. The presumptive duration is the 

mandatory minimum duration found in statute or one-half of the duration in the 

appropriate cell on the applicable Grid, whichever is longer. (See section 2.G for more 

information on convictions for attempts, conspiracies and offenses with other 

sentence modifiers.) 

 

Statute Offense Prerequisite or Conditions Minimum 
Duration 

169A.24, subd. 1(2) Driving while 
Intoxicated 

Prior Felony DWI Grid Time 

169A.24, subd. 1(3) Driving while 
Intoxicated 

Prior Criminal Vehicular 
Homicide or Operation under 
Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.2112.1(2) thru (6);                    
§ 609.2113.1(2) thru (6);                    

Grid Time 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=169a.24
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=169a.24
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2114
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Statute Offense Prerequisite or Conditions Minimum 
Duration 

§ 609.2113.2(2) thru (6); 
§ 609.2114.1(2) thru (6); 
§ 609.2114.2(2) thru (6) 

  

* * * 

 
3. Interfering with a Body or Scene of Death (Laura’s Law) 

(Chapter 175 – H.F. 3469-3E – PAGE 15) 
 
Description: This law modifies interfering with a body or scene of death under 
Minn. Stat. § 609.502, subd. 1, by elevating the crime from a gross misdemeanor to a 
felony if done with intent to conceal the body. A new subdivision 1a establishes the 
maximum penalty at 3 years in prison, a $5,000 fine, or both. 
 
This law is effective August 1, 2016, and applies to crimes committed on or after 
that date. 

 
Effective Date:  August 1, 2016. 
 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 175;  
H.F. 3469-3E;  
2015 Minn. Stat. §§ 609.502; 495. 

Est. Bed Impact: 3 beds. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
Guidelines Considerations: This new offense most closely resembles aiding an 
offender-obstructing an investigation under Minn. Stat. § 609.495, subd. 3. That 
offense can have a variable statutory maximum because it is based on one-half of the 
statutory maximum for the underlying offense. That offense is unranked, which 
means that the Court must assign a severity level before sentencing.  
 
During the last five years, 118 offenders have been sentenced for aiding an offender-
obstructing an investigation and 33 percent have received prison sentences. The 
severity-level rankings have ranged from Severity Level 1 to Severity Level 9.  
 
MSGC Staff Recommendation: Because this new felony, like aiding an offender, 
could involve the obstruction of an investigation in a wide variety of situations and 
is expected to occur infrequently, place this offense on the unranked offense list, as 
described below. If the Commission chooses to rank this offense, staff recommends 
that the offense be ranked no higher than Severity Level 4, as many presumptive 
sentences would, at higher severity levels, exceed the statutory maximum. 
 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=175
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF3469&version=3&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.502
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=175
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF3469&version=3&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.502
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.495
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.495
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Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

UNRANKED 
Interference with a Dead Body or Scene 
of Death 

609.502 subd. 1(1) 

 
* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.502 subd. 1(1) 
Interference with a Dead Body or Scene of 
Death 

UNRANKED 

 
* * * 

 
4. Use of Automated Sales Suppression Device 

(Chapter 188, Art. 11, Sec. 6, 9 & 10 – H.F. 848-4E – PAGES 17-19) 
 
Description: A felony is established under new Minn. Stat. § 609.858 that prohibits 

the sale, purchase, installation, transfer, possession, development, manufacture, 

access, or use of an automated sales suppression device, zapper, phantom-ware, or 

similar device knowing that the device or phantom-ware is capable of being used to 

commit tax fraud or suppress sales. Subdivision 2 establishes the maximum penalty 

at five years in prison, a $10,000 fine, or both. 

 

The purported effective date is August 1, 2015; the bill was presented to the 

Governor May 24, 2016. 

 

Effective Date:  August 1, 2015. 
Presented to the Governor  
May 24, 2016 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 188, Art. 
11, Sec. 10. 

Est. Bed Impact: Minimal. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
 
Guidelines Considerations: Tax evasion under Minn. Stat. § 289A.63 is a felony 
with a five year statutory maximum for knowingly and willfully evading taxes. It is 
ranked at Severity Level 3.  Other analogous offenses also ranked at Severity Level 3 
are possession of burglary tools, possession of code grabbing devices, and 
possessing of shoplifting gear. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=188
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF848&version=4&session=ls89&session_year=2015&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=188


2016 Legislative Laws Passed Presented to MSGC: June 8, 2016    Page 15 

 
When the bill was introduced during the 2015 Legislative Session, MSGC prepared a 
fiscal note. According to the most recent MSGC monitoring data at that time, from 
2009 to 2013, 79 offenders were sentenced for violations of Minn. Stat. § 289A.63 
(16 a year) and three (4%) received a prison sentence. Since Minn. Stat. § 289A.63 
covers evasion of multiple types of taxes (income, property, estate, general sales, 
minerals and mining) it is assumed that convictions for this new felony will be less 
frequent and prison sentences will be rare. 
 
MSGC Staff Recommendation: Rank use of automated sales suppression devices 
under Minn. Stat. § 609.858 at Severity Level 3, and do not add it to the list of 
offenses eligible for consecutive sentences because tax evasion under Minn. Stat.  
§ 289A.63, its most comparable offense, is not on the list. The staff 
recommendations are outlined below.   
 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

3 
Use of Automated Sales Suppression 
Devices 

609.858 

 
* * * 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.858 Use of Automated Sales Suppression Devices 31 

  
1 Effective for crimes committed after May 25, 2016. 

 
 

5. Nonconsensual Dissemination of Images 
(Chapter 126 – S.F. 2713-2E – PAGES 20-27) 
 
Description: The law creates a civil cause of action for the nonconsensual 
dissemination of private sexual images and nonconsensual sexual solicitation under 
the newly enacted Minn. Stat. § 604.31; adds a threat to commit nonconsensual 
dissemination of private sexual images to Minn. Stat. § 609.27 (coercion) and  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=126
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=SF2713&version=2&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.27
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§ 609.275 (attempt to coerce); creates a new crime for nonconsensual 
dissemination of private sexual images under the newly enacted Minn. Stat. 
§ 617.261; amends the crimes of harassment and stalking to include nonconsensual 
sexual solicitation under Minn. Stat. §§ 609.748 and 749; clarifies the justification of 
criminal defamation striking clause (1) (the defamatory matter is true and is 
communication with good motives and for justifiable ends) under Minn. Stat. 
§ 609.765 (criminal defamation); and expands the definition of qualified domestic 
violence-related offense to include nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual 
images under Minn. Stat. § 609.02, subd. 16.  
 
The new offense created under Minn. Stat. § 617.261, subd. 2(a) prohibiting 
nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images is a gross misdemeanor. The 
offense becomes a felony with a three-year statutory maximum under subd. 2(b) if 
an aggravating factor is present. The aggravating factors are: 1) the person depicted 
in the image suffers financial loss due to dissemination of the image; 2) the actor 
disseminates the image with intent to profit from dissemination; 3) the actor 
maintains an Internet Web site, online service, online application, or mobile 
application for the purpose of disseminating the image; 4) the actor posts the image 
on a Web site; 5) the actor disseminates the image with intent to harass the person 
depicted in the image; 6) the actor obtained the image by committing a violation of 
section 609.52 (theft), 609.746 (interference with privacy), 609.89 (computer theft), 
or 609.891 (unauthorized computer access); or 7) the actor has previously been 
convicted under this chapter. 
 
Gross misdemeanor stalking crimes under 609.749, subdivision 2 are expanded to 
include in a new clause (8), the use of another’s personal information, without 
consent, to invite, encourage, or solicit a third party to engage in a sexual act with 
the person.      
 
This law is effective August 1, 2016, and applies to crimes committed on or after 
that date. 
 

 
Effective Date:  August 1, 2016. 
 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 126; 
2015 Minn. Stat. §§ 609.27, 275, 748, 749, 
Minn. Stat. § 617.261. 

Est. Bed Impact: 3 beds. Racial Disparity Impact:  Not estimated. 
 
Guidelines Considerations: Felony coercion under Minn. Stat. § 609.27, is ranked 
at Severity Level 3, when there is a threat of bodily harm under subdivision 1(1) or 
when the financial gain or loss is $2,500, or more. It is ranked at Severity Level 2, 
when the financial gain or loss is more than $300 but less than $2,500. The statutory 
maximum are based on financial gain or loss: ten years if the pecuniary gain or loss 
is $2,500, or more; and five years if the pecuniary gain or loss is more than $300 but 
less than $2,500.   

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.275
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.748
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.749
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.765
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.02
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=126
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.27
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.275
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.748
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.749
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=617.261
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Felony stalking under Minn. Stat. § 609.748 is based on aggravated violations, 
subsequent violations, or a pattern of stalking conduct. The statutory maximums are 
either five years or 10 years, as displayed in the table, below.  
 
  

Severity 
Level 

Stat. Max. 
Years 

Statute Number Offense 

4 5 609.748 subd. 6(d) Violation of Restraining Order 
4 5 609.749 subd. 3(a) 

609.749 subd. 3(a)(1) 
609.749 subd. 3(a)(2) 
 
609.749 subd. 3(a)(3) 
609.749 subd. 3(a)(4) 
 
609.749 subd. 3(a)(5) 

Stalking (Aggravated Violations) 
Aggravated-Bias Crime 
Aggravated-False Impersonating 
Another 
Aggravated-Dangerous Weapon 
Agg.-Tamper w/Juror/Proceeding or 
Retaliate 
Agg.-Victim under 18 and Actor 36 
mos. older  

4 10 609.749 subd. 3(b) Stalking (agg. violations) –Victim 
under 18, committed with sexual or 
aggressive intent 

4 5 609.749 subd. 4(a) Stalking (Subsequent Violations) 
5 10 609.749 subd. 4(b) Stalking (3rd or Subsequent 

violations) 
5 10 609.749 subd. 5 Stalking (Pattern of Conduct) 

 
Felony stalking is on the list of offenses eligible for a permissive consecutive 
sentence in Section 6, but coercion is not. For offenses on the list, it is permissive to 
sentence consecutively when the presumptive disposition is commitment.  
 
 
MSGC Staff Recommendations:  
 
1. Maintain the severity-level rankings for coercion under Minn. Stat. § 609.27, 

provided that the Commission agrees that the addition of a threat to commit 
nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images does not substantially 
change the rankings. The recommended modifications follow. 
 

 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

3 Coercion (Threat Bodily Harm)  609.27, subd. 1(1)  
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Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

Coercion (Prop. Value $2,500 or More)  
609.27, subd. 1(2),(3), 
(4), & (5), & (6) 

2 Coercion (Prop. Value $301 - $2,499500)  
609.27, subd. 1(2),(3), 
(4), & (5), & (6) 

 
* * * 
 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
 

Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

609.27, subd. 1(1)  Coercion (Threat Bodily Harm)  3 

609.27, subd. 1(2),(3), 
(4), & (5), & (6) 

Coercion (Prop. Value over $2,500 or More)  3 

609.27, subd. 1(2),(3), 
(4), & (5), & (6) 

Coercion (Prop. Value $301 - $2,500)  2 

  
* * * 

 
2. Rank felony nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images at Severity 

Level 3 (with coercion-threat of bodily harm or property value of $2,500 or 
more) or at Severity Level 4 (with the majority of stalking offenses). Possible 
modifications follow (shown at Severity Level 3). 

 
Section 5.A. Offense Severity Reference Table 
 
* * * 

 

Severity 
Level 

Offense Title Statute Number 

3 
Nonconsensual Dissemination of Private 
Sexual Images 

617.261, subd. 2(b) 

 
* * * 
 
 
Section 5.B. Severity Level by Statutory Citation 
 
* * * 
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Statute Number Offense Title Severity 
Level 

617.261, subd. 2(b) 
Nonconsensual Dissemination of Private 
Sexual Images 

3 

  
* * * 

 
3. Staff recommends adding nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images 

to the permissive consecutive sentencing list in the manner outlined below.  
 

 

Section 6. Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 
 

A. Convictions for attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit offenses listed below 

are eligible for permissive consecutive sentences as well as convictions for completed 

offenses. 

B. Under section 2.F.2(a)(1)(i), it is permissive for a current felony conviction to run 

consecutively to a prior felony sentence from a jurisdiction other than Minnesota if 

the non-Minnesota conviction is for a crime that is equivalent to a crime listed below. 

* * * 

 
Statute Number Offense Title 

617.261, subd. 2(b) 
Nonconsensual Dissemination of Private Sexual 
Images 

 
* * * 

 
 

 
C. Amended Crime Laws Not Affecting the Guidelines. Although these laws were 

amended by the 2016 Legislature, the crimes themselves were not amended. No action 
is necessary on the part of the Commission. Staff brings these changes forward for the 
Commission’s information.  

 
Statute of Limitations Increased for Certain Identity Theft 
(Chapter 121 – H.F. 3482-2E – PAGE 28) 

 
Description: This law amends Minn. Stat. § 628.26, clause (h) (list of offenses for 
which the statute of limitations is extended from three to five years) by adding a 
violation of Minn. Stat. § 609.527, subd. 3(5) (identity theft where the offense 
involves eight or more direct victims or the total combined loss to the direct or 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=121
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/bills/text.php?number=HF3482&version=2&session=ls89&session_year=2016&session_number=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=628.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.527
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indirect victims is more than $35,000). . Offenses currently listed in clause (h) are 
Minn. Stat. §§ 609.2335 (financial exploitation of vulnerable adult), 609.52, 
subdivision 2, clause (3), items (i) and (ii), (4), (15), or (16) (theft), 609.631 (check 
forgery), or 609.821 (financial transaction card fraud), where the value of the 
property or services stolen is more than $35,000. 
 
This law is effective August 1, 2016, and applies to crimes committed on or after 
that date and to crimes committed before that date if the limitations period for the 
crime did not expire before August 1, 2016. 
 
Prison Bed Impact: If three additional offenders a year receive prison sentences of 
75 months for identity theft as a result of the provisions, the projected prison bed 
impact is 12 beds a year. Allowing time for implementation, it is projected that two 
prison beds will be needed in FY2017, five prison beds will be needed in FY2018, 
nine prison beds will be needed in FY2019, and 12 prison beds will be needed in 
FY2020, and each year after. 
 
 

Effective Date:  August 1, 2016. 
 

Reference: 2016 Minn. Laws ch. 121;  
2015 Minn. Stat. § 628.26; § 609.527. 

Est. Bed Impact: 12 beds a year. Racial Disparity Impact: Prepared; no 
impact on racial disparity anticipated. 

 
Commission Action: No action is necessary or recommended. 
 
 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?year=2016&type=0&doctype=Chapter&id=121
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=628.26
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.527

