


STATEMENT OF ISSUES 
 

Whether the MNsure Board correctly determined that the Appellant was eligible for an 
advance payment of a premium tax credit of up to $77 monthly as provided in the 
Affordable Care Act. 

 
Whether the Minnesota Department of Human Services correctly determined that the 
Appellant was ineligible for Medical Assistance benefits and MinnesotaCare coverage. 
 

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

     
 1. The MNsure Board (herein Agency) advised the Appellant that Appellant is 
ineligible for MinnesotaCare but eligible for advance payment of a premium tax credit.  The 
Appellant filed a request challenging the Agency’s decision, which MNsure received on 
February 26, 2014.  On February 28, 2014, Appeals Examiner Phil Grove held an expedited 
evidentiary hearing via telephone conference.  The judge accepted into evidence one exhibit. 
The record was closed on February 28, 2014. 
 
 2. Appellant applied for health care coverage through MNsure on an unknown date.   
The Appellant’s household consists of himself (age 59), his wife and one child.  Only Appellant 
is applying for coverage. The Appellant's zip code, which dictates the geographic region he is 
assigned to for purposes of calculating overall premium costs, is .  Appellant’s attested 
household income is $41,800. 
 
 3. MNsure determined that the benchmark premium for Appellant’s age and 
geographic location is $314.40 a month, and that Appellant is eligible for advance payment of a 
premium tax credit of $77 per month. The agency also determined that Appellant is eligible for a 
73% cost sharing reduction. The agency determined that based on the household income, 
Appellant is ineligible for MinnesotaCare. At the hearing, Appellant did not dispute any of the 
material facts given by the agency. However, Appellant argued that he was a MinnesotaCare 
participant through December 31, 2013 and should still be eligible; and that in any event his 
family has significant medical expenses and cannot afford the premiums for any of the available 
health plans with only a $77 per month tax credit. 
  
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 
 1. Pursuant to 45 C.F.R. § 155.520(b)(1) and Minn. R. 770.0105, subp. 2(D) an 
appeal must be received within 90 days from the date of the notice of eligibility determination.  
This appeal is timely in that it was filed within 90 days of receipt of the Agency’s determination.   
 

2. The MNsure Board has the legal authority to review and decide issues in this 
appeal regarding Appellant’s eligibility through MNsure for Advance Premium Tax Credits, 
Cost Sharing Reductions, Qualified Health Plan, and/or the Small Business Health Insurance 
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Options Program. Minn. Stat. § 62V.05, subd. 6.  The MNsure Board has an agreement with the 
Department of Human Services to hear and decide appeals involving premium assistance.  The 
Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services has the legal authority to 
review and decide issues in this appeal regarding Appellant’s eligibility for Medical Assistance 
and MinnesotaCare. Minn. Stat. § 256.045, subd. 3. 

 
3. Federal regulations governing Medical Assistance and Exchange appeals require 

that, if an individual appeals a determination of eligibility for the advance payment of the 
premium tax credit or cost sharing reductions, the appeal will automatically be treated as a 
request for a fair hearing of the denial of eligibility of Medicaid.1  The reason for this automatic 
pairing of Medicaid appeals with appeals concerning advance payment of the premium tax 
credits is to further the goal of providing a streamlined, coordinated appeals process for 
Appellants which avoids the need for the Appellant to file multiple appeals with different 
agencies.  Id.  In Minnesota, Medicaid programs include Medical Assistance and 
MinnesotaCare. 

 
4. Federal regulations concerning eligibility for advance payment of a premium tax 

credit are found at 45 C.F.R. §155.305(f)(1) and 26 C.F.R §1.36B-2.  MNsure must determine a 
tax filer eligible for an advance premium tax credit if he or she is expected to have household 
income, as defined in 26 C.F.R. 1.36B-1(e), between 100% and 400% of federal poverty 
guidelines during the benefit year for which coverage is requested (unless he or she is a lawfully 
present noncitizen), and one or more applicants for whom the tax filer expects to claim a 
personal exemption deduction on his or her federal tax return for the benefit year are: (a) eligible 
for enrollment in a Qualified Health Plan through the Exchange as specified in 45 C.F.R. 
155.305(a), and (b) are not eligible for minimum essential coverage, with the exception of 
coverage in the individual market, in accordance with section 26 C.F.R. 1.36B-(a)(2) and (c). 45 
C.F.R. §155.305(f). 
 
 5. A “taxpayer's family” means the individuals for whom a taxpayer properly claims 
a deduction under 26 U.S.C. §151 for the taxable year. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-1(d). Family size 
means the number of individuals in the family. Id. Family and family size may include 
individuals who are not subject to or are exempt from the penalty under 26 U.S.C. § 5000A for 
failing to maintain minimum essential coverage. Id. 
 
 6. “Household income” means the sum of a taxpayer's modified adjusted gross 
income plus the aggregate modified adjusted gross income of all other individuals who are 
included in the taxpayer’s family and are required to file a tax return for the taxable year2. 26 
C.F.R. §1.36B-1(e)(1).   “Modified adjusted gross income” (MAGI) means adjusted gross 
income increased by: (i) amounts excluded from gross income under 26 U.S.C. §911 (foreign 
income and housing costs); (ii) tax exempt interest the taxpayer receives or accrues during the 

1 45 C.F.R. § 155.510(b)(3); 78 Fed. Reg. 4598 (proposed Jan. 22, 2013)(comments regarding proposed 42 C.F.R. § 
431.221(e)); and 78 Fed. Reg. 54096 (Aug. 30, 2013)(comments regarding 45 C.F.R. § 155.510(b)(3)). 
 
2  26 U.S.C. § 1 sets forth those individuals who must file a tax return.  Pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 1(c) unmarried individuals 
(other than a surviving spouse or head of a household) must file a return if taxable income is over $22,100.   
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taxable year; and (iii) social security benefits not included in gross income under 26 U.S.C. §86. 
26 C.F.R. §1.36B-1(e)(2). 
 

7. Minimum essential coverage is defined in 26 C.F.R. § 136B-2(c) and 26 U.S.C. § 
5000A(f)(1) as coverage which is: 1) government sponsored;  2) employer sponsored; 3) a 
health plan offered in the individual market within a State; 4) a grandfathered health plan; or 5) 
other health benefits coverage.   The term “eligible employer-sponsored plan” means, with 
respect to any employee, a group health plan or group health insurance coverage offered by an 
employer to the employee which is either a governmental plan (within the meaning of section 
2791(d)(8) of the Public Health Service Act), or any other plan or coverage offered in the small 
or large group market within a State and includes a grandfathered health plan described in 
paragraph (1)(D) offered in a group market.  26 U.S.C. § 5000A(f)(2).   

 
8. Effective January 1, 2014, to be eligible for Medical Assistance a parent or 

caretaker relative and children, ages 19 through 20, may have an income up to 133 percent of 
the federal poverty level (FPL) for the household size.3   Minn. Stat. § 256B.056, subd. 4(b) &  
4(d).  The modified adjusted gross income methodology as defined in the Affordable Care Act 
must be used when determining Medical Assistance eligibility categories based on: (i) children 
under age 19 and their parents and relative caretakers; (ii) children ages 19 to 20; (iii) pregnant 
women; (iv) infants; and (v) adults without children.  Id. at subd. 1a(b)(1).  As of January 1, 
2014 for individuals whose income eligibility for Medical Assistance is determined using the 
modified adjusted gross income methodology, an amount equivalent to five percent of the 
federal poverty guidelines is subtracted from the individual's modified adjusted gross income.  
Id. at subd. 1a(b)(2). 

 
9. Effective January 1, 2014 or upon federal approval, families with children with 

family income above 133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and equal to or less than 200 
percent of FPL for the applicable family size shall be eligible for MinnesotaCare according to 
this section.4   Minn. Stat. § 256L.04, subd. 1 as amended in the Minnesota Session Laws, 
Chapter 108, Article 1, Section 55.5  When determining eligibility for MinnesotaCare coverage 
effective January 1, 2014 or upon federal approval, "income" is determined by using modified 
adjusted gross income methodology, as defined in 26 C.F.R. § 1.36B-1.  Minn. Stat. § 256L.01, 
subd. 5 as amended in the Minnesota Session Laws, Chapter 108, Article 1, Section 55.    

 
10. The Appellant’s taxpayer family consists of himself, his wife and one child.   
 
11. The percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) represented by Appellant’s 

household income is calculated as follows: 

3  133 percent of FPL for a household of four people is $31,321.00 annually. 
  
4  200 percent of FPL for a household of two people is $47,100.00 annually. 
 
5  While the amendment to Minn. Stat. § 256L.07, subd. 2 is effective January 1, 2014 or upon federal approval, the 
Department of Human Services has extended the MinnesotaCare program and implemented the modifications of the program 
effective January 1, 2014 in anticipation of federal approval of this basic health plan under the Affordable Care Act 
retroactive to January 1, 2014. 

 4 

                                                 



 
Projected 2014 Household MAGI 41,800$   

Household Size 3

2013 FPL for Household Size 19,530$   

MAGI % of FPL 214.03%  
 
 
12. Although Appellant does not qualify for Medical Assistance or MinnesotaCare 

because the household's MAGI is greater than 200% FPL for Appellant's household size, 
Appellant qualifies for advance payment of a Premium Tax Credit because Appellant's MAGI is 
less than 400% of FPL for Appellant's household size. 

 
 13. A taxpayer's premium assistance credit amount for a taxable year is the sum of the 
premium assistance amounts determined under 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(d) for all coverage months 
for individuals in the taxpayer's family. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(a). 
 
 14. The premium assistance amount for a coverage month is the lesser of: (1) the 
premiums for the month for one or more qualified health plans in which a taxpayer or a member 
of the taxpayer’s family enrolls through the Exchange; or (2) the excess of the adjusted monthly 
premium for the applicable benchmark plan (second lowest-cost silver plan) over 1/12 of the 
product of a taxpayer's household income and the applicable percentage for the taxable year. 26 
C.F.R. §1.36B-3(d). 
 
 15. The adjusted monthly premium is the premium an insurer would charge for the 
applicable benchmark plan to cover all members of the taxpayer’s coverage family, adjusted 
only for the age of each member of the coverage family as allowed under section 2701 of the 
Public Health Service Act (42 U.S.C. 300GG). 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(e). The adjusted monthly 
premium is determined without regard to any premium discount or rebate under the wellness 
discount demonstration project under 2705(d) of the Public Health Service Act, and may not 
include any adjustments for tobacco use. Id. 
 
 16. The applicable benchmark plan for each coverage month is the second lowest-cost 
silver plan as described in section 1302(d)(1)(B) of the Affordable Care Act offered through the 
Exchange for the rating area where the taxpayer resides. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(f). The applicable 
benchmark plan provides self-only or family coverage. Id. Self-only coverage is for a taxpayer: 
(1) who computes tax under 26 U.S.C. §1(c) (meaning unmarried individuals other than 
surviving spouses and heads of household) and is not allowed a deduction under section 151 for 
a dependent for the taxable year; (2) who purchases only self-only coverage for one individual; 
or (3) whose coverage family includes only one individual. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(f)(1)(i). Family 
coverage is for all other taxpayers. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(f)(1)(ii). The applicable benchmark plan 
for family coverage is the second lowest cost silver plan that applies to the members of the 
taxpayer's coverage family (such as a plan covering two adults if the members of a taxpayer's 
coverage family are two adults). 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(f)(2). 
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 17. The applicable percentage multiplied by taxpayer’s household income determines 
the taxpayer’s required share of premiums for the benchmark plan. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-
3(g)(1).This required share is subtracted from the adjusted monthly premium for the applicable 
benchmark plan when computing the premium assistance amount. Id. There are several steps to 
calculate the applicable percentage. First, the percentage that the taxpayer’s household income 
bears to the federal poverty line for the taxpayer’s family size needs to be determined. Id. 
Second, the resulting federal poverty line percentage is compared to the income categories 
described in the table in 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(g)(2). Id. Third, an applicable percentage within an 
income category increases on a sliding scale in a linear manner, and is rounded to the nearest 
one-hundredth of one percent. Id. 
 
 18. The applicable percentage table is:  
 

Household income percentage  
of federal poverty line 

Initial 
percentage Final percentage 

       Less than 133% 2 2 
At least 133% but less than 150% 3 4 
At least 150% but less than 200% 4 6.3 
At least 200% but less than 250% 6.3 8.05 
At least 250% but less than 300% 8.05 9.5 
At last 300% but less than 400% 9.5 9.5 

 
26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(g)(2). 
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 19. The maximum amount of Appellant’s Monthly Premium Tax Credit is calculated 
as follows: 
 

Monthly Premium for 
Applicable Benchmark Plan 314.4

Annual Household Income 41800
Household Size 3

% of annual Federal Poverty 
Limit (FPL)

Based on Annual Household 
Income and Household Size 214.03

Category of % FPL
From Applicable Percentage 

Table 200-250

Initial Premium % for 
Category

From Applicable Percentage 
Table 6.3

Final Premium % for 
Category

From Applicable Percentage 
Table 8.05

Premium % Range for 
Category

Final Premium % minus Initial 
Premium % 1.75

Initial % FPL for Category
From Applicable Percentage 

Table 200

Final % FPL for Category
From Applicable Percentage 

Table 250

% FPL Range for Category
Final % FPL for Category minus 

Initial % FPL for Category 50

Incremental % FPL within 
Category

% of annual FPL minus Initial 
% FPL for Category 14.03

Ratio of Incremental % FPL to 
FPL Range for Category

Incremental % FPL within 
Category divided by % FPL 

Range for Category
0.2806

Incremental Premium % 
within Category

Ratio of Incremental % FPL to 
FPL Range times Premium % 

Range for Category
0.49

Applicable Premium %
Initial Premium % for Category 

plus Incremental Premium % 
within Category

6.79

Monthly Premium 
Contribution

Annual Household Income 
times Applicable Premium % 

(divided by 1200)
236.55

Excess Monthly Premium for 
Applicable Benchmark Plan

Benchmark Plan Premium 
minus Monthly Premium 

Contribution
77.85

Maximum Amount of 
Monthly Premium Tax Credit

Same as Excess Monthly 
Premium for Benchmark Plan 77.85

 
 
 20. The maximum amount of monthly premium tax credit calculated in the above 
table matches (with rounding error) the agency’s determination in this case. I conclude that the 
Agency correctly found the Appellant eligible for an advance payment of the premium tax credit 
of $77 per month. 
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21. This decision is effective upon signature by the agency representative. 
 

RECOMMENDED ORDER 
 

THE APPEALS EXAMINER RECOMMENDS THAT: 
 

• The MNsure Board AFFIRM the Agency’s determination of eligibility for advance 
payment of a Premium Tax Credit in the amount of up to $77 per month and a cost 
sharing reduction of 73% as provided in the Affordable Care Act. 
 

• The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services AFFIRM the 
determination that Appellant is not eligible for Medical Assistance. 
 

• The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services AFFIRM the 
determination that Appellant is not eligible for MinnesotaCare coverage.  

 
 
/s/Phil Grove           February 28, 2014  
Phil Grove Date 
Appeals Examiner 
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FURTHER APPEAL RIGHTS 

 
This decision is final, unless you take further action. 

 
Appellants who disagree with this decision should consider seeking legal counsel to identify 
further legal recourse. 
 
If you disagree with the effect this decision has on your eligibility for Advance Premium Tax 
Credits, Cost Sharing Reductions, Qualified Health Plan, and/or the Small Business 
Health Insurance Options Program, you may: 

• Appeal to the United States Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 
under 42 U.S.C. § 18081(f) and 45 C.F.R. § 155.520(c). This decision is the final 
decision of MNsure, unless an appeal is made to DHHS. An appeal request may be made 
to DHHS within 30 days of the date of this decision by calling the Marketplace Call 
Center at 1-800-318-2596 (TTY 855-889-4325); or by downloading the appeals form for 
Minnesota from the appeals landing page on www.healthcare.gov.  
 

• Seek judicial review to the extent it is available by law. 
 
If you disagree with this effect this decision has on your eligibility for Medical Assistance 
and/or MinnesotaCare benefits, you may: 
 

• Request the Appeals Office reconsider this decision. The request must state the 
reasons why you believe your appeal should be reconsidered.  The request may include 
legal arguments and may include proposed additional evidence supporting the request; 
however, if you submit additional evidence, you must explain why it was not provided at 
the time of the hearing. The request must be in writing, be made within 30 days of the 
date of this decision, and a copy of the request must be sent to the other parties. Send 
your written request, with your docket number listed, to:  

 
     Appeals Office 
     Minnesota Department of Human Services 
     P.O. Box 64941 
     St. Paul, MN 55164-0941 
                                                    Fax:  (651) 431-7523 
 
 

• Start an appeal in the district court. This is a separate legal proceeding, and you must 
start this within 30 days of the date of this decision by serving a notice of appeal upon 
the other parties and the Commissioner. The law that describes this process is Minnesota 
Statute § 256.045, subdivision 7. 
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