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DECISION  
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In the Appeal of:  
 
For:  Advance Payment of a Premium Tax Credit 
  MinnesotaCare 
  Medical Assistance 
 
Agency: MNsure Board 
  Minnesota Department of Human Services 
 
Docket: 165441 
 
 On August 18, 2015, Appeals Examiner Christopher Cimafranca held an evidentiary 

hearing under 42 United States Code §18081(f) and Minnesota Statute §62V.05, subdivision 

6(a).  

 The following person appeared at the hearing:  
 

 Appellant. 
 

Based on the evidence in the record and considering the arguments of the parties, I recommend 

the following findings of fact, conclusions of law, and order. 
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STATEMENT OF ISSUES 
 

Whether the Appellant is entitled to child support deductions in the calculation of his 
modified adjusted gross income for the purpose determining his eligibility for 
MinnesotaCare, Medical Assistance, and advance payment of a premium tax credit. 
 
Whether the Minnesota Department of Human Services correctly determined that the 
Appellant is ineligible for Medical Assistance and MinnesotaCare. 
 
Whether the MNsure Board correctly determined that the Appellant is ineligible for 
advance payment of a premium tax credit. 

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

 
 

1. On May 4, 2015, the Appellant applied for health coverage. Exhibit 1. 
 

2. By Health Care Notice dated June 12, 2015, the Appellant was informed that he was 
ineligible for Medical Assistance and MinnesotaCare and that he was ineligible for advanced 
payment of a premium tax credit. Exhibit 1. 
 

3. The Minnesota Department of Human Services determined that the Appellant was 
ineligible for MinnesotaCare and Medical Assistance because his household income was above 
the income limit for a household size of one. Exhibit 1. 

 
4. The MNsure Board determined that the Appellant was eligible to enroll in a qualified 

health plan with zero advance payment of a premium tax credit because the second lowest cost 
silver level plan in the Appellant’s zip code was less than the Appellant’s affordability amount. 
Exhibit 1.  

 
5. The Appellant filed an appeal on July 15, 2015 because he wants his child support 

payments to be deducted from his modified adjusted gross income (MAGI). Exhibit 2. The 
Appellant believes it is unfair that alimony is allowed as a deduction but not child support. 
Testimony of Appellant. 

 
6. On August 18, 2015, Appeals Examiner Cimafranca held an evidentiary hearing via 

telephone conference.  The record was closed at the conclusion of the hearing consisting of two 
exhibits (MNsure Memorandum and State Agency Appeal Summary, Exhibit 1 and Appeal 
Request, Exhibit 2). 

 
7. The Appellant was born on . Exhibit 1. The Appellant has a household 

size of one. Exhibit 1. He lives with his fiancée and their two children. Exhibit 1. The Appellant’s 
fiancée claims the children as tax dependents. Exhibit 1.  

 
8. The Appellant’s projected annual income is $39,415.48 in 2015. Testimony of 
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Appellant; Exhibit 1. He pays approximately $586.00 bi-weekly in child support for his other 
children. Testimony of Appellant. The Appellant lives in n County with a zip code of 

. Exhibit 1. The second-lowest silver level plan in this zip code costs $206.69 per month. 
Exhibit 1.  

 
9. The Appellant’s affordability amount is $315.32 per month, the maximum premium 

the Appellant would be required to pay. Exhibit 1. MNsure arrived at this amount by multiplying 
the Appellant’s income by the applicable percentage (9.56%) and dividing the product by 12 
months. Exhibit 1. MNsure determined that the Appellant’s applicable percentage was 9.56 based 
on his calculated federal poverty level of 337.75%. Exhibit 1 
 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 
 

1. This appeal was started within the allowed time limits under Minnesota Statutes, § 
256.045, subdivision 3(h) and 45 C.F.R §155.520(b).   
 

2. The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services has authority to 
review Appellant’s household’s eligibility for Medical Assistance and MinnesotaCare under 
Minnesota Statutes, § 256.045, subdivision 3, and the MNsure Board has legal authority to 
review Appellant’s household’s eligibility for premium assistance and cost sharing under 
Minnesota Statutes, § 62V.05, subdivision 6. 

 
3. The state laws about MinnesotaCare are set forth in Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 

256L. Federal regulations concerning eligibility for advance payment of a premium tax credit are 
found at 45 C.F.R. §155.305(f)(1) and 26 C.F.R §1.36B-2.   

 
4. MinnesotaCare and Advanced Premium Tax Credit (APTC) eligibility is determined 

using the Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) income methodology. Minn. Stat. § 256L.01, 
subd. 5; 42 C.F.R. § 155.305; 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-1(e)(2). Household income calculated using the 
MAGI income methodology includes the types of income included in adjusted gross income with 
the following additions: nontaxable foreign earned income and housing cost of citizens or 
residents of the United States living abroad; nontaxable interest income; and nontaxable Social 
Security and tier one railroad retirement benefits. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-1(e)(2). 
 

5. The state laws about Medical Assistance are set forth in Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 
256B.  Income eligibility for Medical Assistance (MA) for Families with Children and Adults is 
determined based on the Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) income methodology. Minn. 
Stat. § 256B.056, subd. 1a(b)(1). This income methodology includes much of the same income 
types as the MAGI income methodology, but is different in the following ways: lump sum 
income is counted in the month received; scholarships, awards or fellowship grants used for 
education purposes and not for living expenses is excluded; and certain American Indian/Alaska 
Native income is excluded. 42 C.F.R. § 435.603(e). 

 
6. Adjusted gross income means, in the case of an individual, gross income minus the 

following deductions: 
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• Educator expenses 
• Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists and fee-basis 

government officials 
• Health savings account 
• Moving expenses 
• Deductible portion of self-employment tax 
• Self-employed Simplified Employee Pension (SEP), Savings Incentive Match Plan 

for Employees (SIMPLE) and qualified plans 
• Self-employed health insurance 
• Penalty on early withdrawal of savings 
• Alimony paid (spousal support) 
• IRA deduction 
• Student loan interest 
• Tuition and fees 
• Domestic production activities 

 
26 U.S.C. § 62 

 
Income Standard for Medical Assistance 
 

7. To be eligible for Medical Assistance an adult without children may have income up 
to 133% of the federal poverty guidelines (FPG) for the household size. Minn. Stat. § 256B.056, 
subd. 4(c). An additional 5% FPG disregard is applied to the actual FPG percentage of pregnant 
women, infants, children younger than age 21, parents and relative caretakers, and adults without 
children when the applicant's income standard and the 5% FPG disregard allow the person to 
qualify for MA for Families with Children and Adults. Minn. Stat. § 256B.056, subd. 1a(b)(2). 

 
8. Effective July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015, for an individual with a household size 

of one, 100% of the FPG is $973.00 or $11,670.00 annually and 133% of the FPG is $15,521.00 
annually or $1,293.00 monthly. Federal Register, Vol. 79, No. 14, January 22, 2014, p. 3593; 
Minnesota Department of Human Services Health Care Programs Manual, Chapter 22.05.05. 

 
9. Financial eligibility for Medicaid for applicants, and other individuals not receiving 

Medicaid benefits at the point at which eligibility for Medicaid is being determined, must be 
based on current monthly household income and family size. 42 C.F.R. 435.603(h)(1).  
 
Income Standard for MinnesotaCare 
 

10. To be eligible for MinnesotaCare, a person must have income equal to or less than 
200% FPG and be ineligible for MA. Insurance Affordability Programs Manual 500.15.05; 
Minn. Stat. § 256L.04, subd. 1. In 2015, 200% of the FPG for a household size of one is 
$23,340.00 annually. Insurance Affordability Programs Manual, Income Standards for 
MinnesotaCare; Federal Register, Vol. 79, No. 14, January 22, 2014, p. 3593. 
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Premium Assistance 
 

11. Federal regulations concerning eligibility for advance payment of a premium tax 
credit are found at 45 C.F.R. §155.305(f)(1) and 26 C.F.R §1.36B-2.   
 

12. A taxpayer's premium assistance credit amount for a taxable year is the sum of the 
premium assistance amounts determined under 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(d) for all coverage months 
for individuals in the taxpayer's family. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(a). 

 
13. The premium assistance amount for a coverage month is the lesser of: (1) the 

premiums for the month for one or more qualified health plans in which a taxpayer or a member 
of the taxpayer’s family enrolls through the Exchange; or (2) the excess of the adjusted monthly 
premium for the applicable benchmark plan (second lowest-cost silver plan) over 1/12 of the 
product of a taxpayer's household income and the applicable percentage for the taxable year. 26 
C.F.R. §1.36B-3(d). 

 
14. The adjusted monthly premium is the premium an insurer would charge for the 

applicable benchmark plan to cover all members of the taxpayer’s coverage family, adjusted only 
for the age of each member of the coverage family as allowed under section 2701 of the Public 
Health Service Act (42 U.S.C. 300GG). 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(e). The adjusted monthly premium is 
determined without regard to any premium discount or rebate under the wellness discount 
demonstration project under 2705(d) of the Public Health Service Act, and may not include any 
adjustments for tobacco use. Id. 

 
15. The applicable benchmark plan for each coverage month is the second lowest-cost 

silver plan as described in section 1302(d)(1)(B) of the Affordable Care Act offered through the 
Exchange for the rating area where the taxpayer resides. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(f). The applicable 
benchmark plan provides self-only or family coverage. Id. Self-only coverage is for a taxpayer: 
(1) who computes tax under 26 U.S.C. §1(c) (meaning unmarried individuals other than 
surviving spouses and heads of household) and is not allowed a deduction under section 151 for a 
dependent for the taxable year; (2) who purchases only self-only coverage for one individual; or 
(3) whose coverage family includes only one individual. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(f)(1)(i). Family 
coverage is for all other taxpayers. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(f)(1)(ii). The applicable benchmark plan 
for family coverage is the second lowest cost silver plan that applies to the members of the 
taxpayer's coverage family (such as a plan covering two adults if the members of a taxpayer's 
coverage family are two adults). 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(f)(2). 

 
16. The applicable percentage multiplied by taxpayer’s household income determines the 

taxpayer’s required share of premiums for the benchmark plan. 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3T(g)(1).This 
required share is divided by 12 and this monthly amount is subtracted from the adjusted monthly 
premium for the applicable benchmark plan when computing the premium assistance amount. Id. 
There are several steps to calculate the applicable percentage. First, the percentage that the 
taxpayer’s household income bears to the federal poverty line for the taxpayer’s family size 
needs to be determined. Id. Second, the resulting federal poverty line percentage is compared to 
the income categories described in the table in 26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3(g)(2) (or successor tables). Id. 
Third, an applicable percentage within an income category increases on a sliding scale in a linear 
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manner, and is rounded to the nearest one-hundredth of one percent. Id. The applicable 
percentage table is:  

 
Household income percentage  

of federal poverty line 
Initial 

percentage Final percentage 

       Less than 133% 2.01 2.01 
At least 133% but less than 150% 3.02 4.02 
At least 150% but less than 200% 4.02 6.34 
At least 200% but less than 250% 6.34 8.10 
At least 250% but less than 300% 8.10 9.56 

        At last 300% but less than 400% 9.56 9.56 
 
26 C.F.R. §1.36B-3T(g)(1); Rev. Proc. 2014-37 . 

 
17. I recognize that it is seems unfair that child support payments are not allowed 

deductions.  However, the law is clear on this and it must be applied as it is written. The record 
establishes that the Appellant does not meet the income standards and is ineligible for Medical 
Assistance, MinnesotaCare, and advanced payment of a premium tax credit. Therefore, the 
determinations should be affirmed. 
 

RECOMMENDED ORDER 
 

THE APPEALS EXAMINER RECOMMENDS THAT: 
 

 
• The MNsure Board AFFIRM the Agency’s denial of eligibility for advanced payment of 

a Premium Tax Credit as provided in the Affordable Care Act effective January 1, 2014. 
 

• The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services AFFIRM the 
determination that Appellant is not eligible for Medical Assistance and MinnesotaCare. 
 

 
   /s/ Christopher Cimafranca     September 25, 2015 
Christopher Cimafranca Date 
Appeals Examiner 
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ORDER 
 
IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT based upon all the evidence and proceedings, the 
MNsure Board and the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services adopt 
the Appeals Examiner’s findings of fact, conclusions of law and order as each agency’s final 
decision.      
 
FOR THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES as to any effect the decision has on 
Appellant’s eligibility for Medical Assistance and/or MinnesotaCare benefits. 
 
 
FOR THE MNSURE BOARD as to any effect the decision has on Appellant’s eligibility 
through MNsure for Advance Premium Tax Credits, Cost Sharing Reductions, Qualified Health 
Plan, and/or the Small Business Health Insurance Options Program.  
 
   /s/ Inta M. Sellars     September 28, 2015 
Inta M. Sellars              Date 
C0-Chief Human Services Judge 
 
 
cc:  Appellant 

MNsure General Counsel 
Teressa Saybe, Minnesota Department of Human Services 

 
FURTHER APPEAL RIGHTS 

This decision is final, unless you take further action. 
Appellants who disagree with this decision should consider seeking legal counsel to identify 
further legal recourse. 
If you disagree with the effect this decision has on your eligibility for Advance Premium Tax 
Credits, Cost Sharing Reductions, Qualified Health Plan, and/or the Small Business 
Health Insurance Options Program, you may: 

• Appeal to the United States Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 
under 42 U.S.C. § 18081(f) and 45 C.F.R. § 155.520(c). This decision is the final 
decision of MNsure, unless an appeal is made to DHHS. An appeal request may be made 
to DHHS within 30 days of the date of this decision by calling the Marketplace Call 
Center at 1-800-318-2596 (TTY 855-889-4325); or by downloading the appeals form for 
Minnesota from the appeals landing page on www.healthcare.gov.  

• Start an appeal in the district court. This is a separate legal proceeding that you must 
start within 30 days of the date of this decision. You start this proceeding by serving a 
written copy of a notice of appeal upon MNsure and any other adverse party of record, 
and filing the original notice and proof of service with the court administrator of the 
county district court. The law that describes this process is Minnesota Statute § 62V.05, 



 8 

subdivision 6(e)-(i). 
 
If you disagree with the effect this decision has on your eligibility for Medical Assistance 
and/or MinnesotaCare benefits, you may: 
 

• Request the Appeals Office reconsider this decision. The request must state the 
reasons why you believe your appeal should be reconsidered.  The request may 
include legal arguments and may include proposed additional evidence supporting the 
request; however, if you submit additional evidence, you must explain why it was not 
provided at the time of the hearing. The request must be in writing, be made within 
30 days of the date of this decision, and a copy of the request must be sent to the 
other parties. Send your written request, with your docket number listed, to: Appeals 
Office, Minnesota Department of Human Services, P.O. Box 64941, St. Paul, MN 
55164-0941.  You may also fax the request to (651) 431-7523. 

• Start an appeal in the district court. This is a separate legal proceeding that you must 
start within 30 days of the date of this decision. You start this proceeding by serving a 
written copy of a notice of appeal upon the Commissioner and any other adverse party of 
record, and filing the original notice and proof of service with the court administrator of 
the county district court. The law that describes this process is Minnesota Statute § 
256.045, subdivision 7. 

 




