Minnesota [-.'J.'Er.l.rllul.'lll: |1FHI]I'I'|EI'I Sarvicas

DECISION
OF AGENCY
ON APPEAL

In the Appeal of: || G

For: Enrollment in Qualified Health Plan — Effective Date
MinnesotaCare

Agency: Minnesota Department of Human Services
MNsure Board

Docket: 158809

On February 18, 2015, Appeals Examiner Jonathan R. Hall held an evidentiary hearing
under 42 United States Code 818081(f), Minnesota Statute 862V.05, subdivision 6(a), and
Minnesota Statute §256.045, subdivision 3.

The following people appeared at the hearing:
I ot

Based on the evidence in the record and considering the arguments of the parties, | recommend
the following findings of fact, conclusions of law, and order.

! Both the MNsure and Department of Human Services agencies were provided with a copy of the Notice and Order for
Hearing, but no representative from either agency appeared.
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STATEMENT OF ISSUES

Whether the Minnesota Department of Human Services (“DHS”) properly determined the
appellant’s eligibility for Medical Assistance and MinnesotaCare benefits.

Whether the MNsure Board (“MNsure”) properly determined the appellant’s eligibility for
a qualified health plan (QHP) as provided in the Affordable Care Act.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1.  On December 13, 2013, the appellant applied for health care coverage through
MNsure as a single tax filer. The MNsure eligibility system advised the appellant that he was
ineligible for medical assistance because his income exceeded 133 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines (FPG), or $15,521.00 for a household of one; ineligible for MinnesotaCare because
his income exceeded 200 percent of the FPG for a household of one, or $23,340.00; and that he
was eligible for an advance payment of a premium tax credit. Exhibit 2. On October 30, 2014,
the appellant reported a life change (job lay-off) to the Department of Human Services.
Appellant challenged this action by filing an appeal with MNsure on December 26, 2014.
Exhibit 1.

2.  On February 18, 2015, Appeals Examiner Jonathan R. Hall held an evidentiary
hearing via telephone conference. The record, consisting of five exhibits,? was closed at the end
of the hearing.

3. The state of Minnesota created MNsure as its marketplace or exchange for
individuals, families and small employers to access health insurance and tax credits or assistance
to help pay for coverage through the Affordable Care Act.

4. On his December 13, 2013 application for health care coverage, the appellant
reported a projected household income of $27,660.00. The appellant was determined eligible to
enroll in a QHP. He selected the plan offered called Blue+ and his coverage effective date was
January 1, 2014. Appellant Testimony; Exhibit 2.

5. The appellant was laid off from his job in October 2014. Appellant Testimony. He
recalculated his expected 2014 modified adjusted gross income to be $22,087.00. He reported
the change to MNsure. Appellant Testimony.

6.  On October 20, 2014, MNsure corrected the appellant’s income to reflect his new
2014 projected income of $24,204.00. Appellant Testimony.

7. On October 30, 2014, the appellant contacted DHS to report an income change. He

2 Exhibit 1(Appeal); Exhibit 2 (MNsure Summary); Exhibit 3 (DHS Summary); Exhibit 4 (Tax Credit Screen Print); Exhibit
5 (1/23/15 Appellant Letter).
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reported that he had been laid off and that his projected annual 2014 income would be
$22,319.00. DHS determined that the appellant was eligible for MinnesotaCare effective
November 1, 2014. Exhibit 3.

8. Because his 2014 gross income turned out to be within MinnesotaCare guidelines, the
appellant should be refunded the premium amounts he paid to Blue+ in 2014, or that the
premiums he paid in 2014 should be advanced to cover a portion of his 2015 MinnesotaCare
premiums. Appellant Testimony.

APPLICABLE LAW

9.  For Medical Assistance and MinnesotaCare appeals, a person may request a state fair
hearing by filing an appeal either: 1) within 30 days of receiving written notice of the action; or
2) within 90 days of such notice if the Appellant can show good cause why the request for an
appeal was not submitted within the 30 day time limit. Minn. Stat. 8 256.045, subd. 3(h); Minn.
Stat. § 256L.10. For MNsure appeals, an appeal must be received within 90 days from the date of
the notice of eligibility determination. 45 C.F.R. § 155.520(b)(1); Minn. R. 7700.0105, subp.
2(D). In this case, the appellant submitted his appeal within 90 days after the October 30, 2014
change to his health care coverage and so his appeal is timely.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

10.  This appeal was started within the allowed time limits under Minnesota Statute §
256.045, subdivision 3(h) and 45 C.F.R 8155.520(b). However, | find nothing in state or federal
laws or policies that would allow me to rule whether an enrollee of a qualified health plan may be
refunded premium payments made to a private health insurer on the basis that the enrollee’s 2014
gross income turned out to be lower than he had anticipated. Further, I conclude that the DHS
agency correctly determined the appellant eligible for MinnesotaCare effective November 1,
2014 based on his reported change of income. Therefore, | recommend that the appeal be
dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.



RECOMMENDED ORDER

THE APPEALS EXAMINER RECOMMENDS THAT:

e The MNsure Board dismisses the appeal for lack of jurisdiction; and
e The Commissioner affirm the DHS agency’s determination that the appellant was eligible
for MinnesotaCare affective November 1, 2014.

/s/ Jonathan R. Hall March 19, 2015
Jonathan R. Hall Date
Appeals Examiner

ORDER

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT based upon all the evidence and proceedings, the
MNsure Board and the Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services adopt
the Appeals Examiner’s findings of fact, conclusions of law and order as each agency’s final
decision.

FOR THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN SERVICES as to any effect the decision has on
Appellant’s eligibility for Medical Assistance and/or MinnesotaCare benefits.

FOR THE MNSURE BOARD as to any effect the decision has on Appellant’s eligibility
through MNsure for Advance Premium Tax Credits, Cost Sharing Reductions, Qualified Health
Plan, and/or the Small Business Health Insurance Options Program.

Date

cc: Appellant

MNsure

DHS 0838,



FURTHER APPEAL RIGHTS

This decision is final, unless you take further action.

Appellants who disagree with this decision should consider seeking legal counsel to identify
further legal recourse.

If you disagree with the effect this decision has on your eligibility for Advance Premium Tax
Credits, Cost Sharing Reductions, Qualified Health Plan, and/or the Small Business
Health Insurance Options Program, you may:

e Appeal to the United States Department of Health and Human Services (DHHYS)
under 42 U.S.C. § 18081(f) and 45 C.F.R. § 155.520(c). This decision is the final
decision of MNsure, unless an appeal is made to DHHS. An appeal request may be made
to DHHS within 30 days of the date of this decision by calling the Marketplace Call
Center at 1-800-318-2596 (TTY 855-889-4325); or by downloading the appeals form for
Minnesota from the appeals landing page on www.healthcare.gov.

e Seek judicial review to the extent it is available by law.

If you disagree with this effect this decision has on your eligibility for Medical Assistance
and/or MinnesotaCare benefits, you may:

e Request the Appeals Office reconsider this decision. The request must state the
reasons why you believe your appeal should be reconsidered. The request may
include legal arguments and may include proposed additional evidence supporting the
request; however, if you submit additional evidence, you must explain why it was not
provided at the time of the hearing. The request must be in writing, be made within
30 days of the date of this decision, and a copy of the request must be sent to the
other parties. Send your written request, with your docket number listed, to:

Appeals Office

Minnesota Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 64941

St. Paul, MN 55164-0941

Fax: (651) 431-7523

e Start an appeal in the district court. This is a separate legal proceeding, and you must
start this within 30 days of the date of this decision by serving a notice of appeal upon
the other parties and the Commissioner. The law that describes this process is Minnesota
Statute § 256.045, subdivision 7.





