Skip to:

Enterprise Governance


State IT Governance

Enterprise governance sets a common destination for State IT and identifies the priorities and projects that will get us there.  

Published in June 2012, the State of Minnesota IT Governance Framework outlines eight formal governing bodies for the State of Minnesota’s executive branch. These bodies provide input to the State Chief Information Officer  across three IT governance categories that distinguish their roles: Vision, Planning, and Technology Operations Alignment.

IT Governance Committee Descriptions

  • State IT Governance

    Published in June 2012, the State of Minnesota IT Governance Framework outlines eight formal governing bodies for the State of Minnesota’s executive branch. These bodies provide input to the State Chief Information Officer  across three IT governance categories that distinguish their roles: Vision, Planning, and Technology Operations Alignment. These committees comprise the IT Governance Framework:

    • Enterprise Architecture Committee
    • Enterprise Project and Portfolio Standards Committee
    • Geospatial Technology Committee
    • Information Security Risk Management Committee
    • IT Strategic Planning Committee
    • Service Strategy Committee
    • Technology Accessibility Advisory Committee
    • Technology Advisory Committee
  • Enterprise Architecture Committee

    The Enterprise Architecture Committee’s primary goal is to ensure standard and stable systems that are highly available, responsive and reliable, and clarify business objectives and requirements. Committee outputs are the state architecture policies and standards to which the design and implementation of all enterprise-wide systems and services must adhere.

    Committee Chairs: Jeff Fanning and Matthew Porett

    Committee Members: Chris Buse, Lee Ho, Thomas Baden, Tu Tong, and Greg Tschida

  • Enterprise Project & Portfolio Standards Committee

    The Enterprise Project and Portfolio Standards Committee promulgates project and portfolio management policies and standards for use by all executive branch IT projects. Through the adoption of standards, the committee will increase project management rigor statewide and reduce the number of projects unable to achieve their stated objectives. Adoption of standards will also help MN.IT Services meet project oversight compliance requirements outlined in state law. The success of the newly consolidated operations of MN.IT Services will be based in part on how well it delivers complex projects on time and on budget.

    Committee Chairs:   Jesse Oman and John Rindal

  • Geospatial Technology Committee

    Minnesota law gives the Chief Geospatial Information Officer (CGIO) authority to identify, coordinate and guide strategic investments in geospatial information technology systems, data and services. The Geospatial Advisory Council, an advisory body established in legislation, provides advice to the CGIO about issues of importance to the entire state. However, the Geospatial Technology Committee is the primary governing body for decisions and policies that impact the use of geospatial technology in the executive branch of Minnesota government.

    Committee Chairs:   Daniel Ross and Robert Maki

    Committee Members: Chris Buse, Mike Dolbow, Jeff Fanning, Mark Kotz, Jackie Mines, Mark Olsen, Ben Timerson, Hal Watson and Gopal Narayan 

  • Information Standards & Risk Management Committee

    The Information Security and Risk Management Committee helps ensure that key security decisions include input from both security professionals and stakeholders impacted by committee decisions. The committee helps the State CIO define cyber security policies, standards, and guidelines for the executive branch.

    Committee Chairs:   Chris Buse and Stefanie Horvath

    Committee Members:  Aaron Call, Michelle Klatt, Jeanine Kuwik, Mark Mathison, John Moreland, Anita Scott, Tu Tong, David Wulff

  • IT Strategic Planning Committee

    The overarching goal of the IT Strategic Planning Committee is to align information technology with state agency business needs. The primary responsibility of the committee is to review and approve key planning activities in the State of Minnesota IT Master Plan and the State IT Strategic Plan.

    Committee Chairs:   Jenna Covey and Jim Close

  • Service Strategy Committee

    The Service Strategy Committee exists to inform and recommend an approach to the state IT service portfolio as a whole and strategies for individual service delivery. The Service Strategy Committee will help identify shared service opportunities and vet changes to existing services in the state’s technology portfolio.

    Committee is currently inactive

  • Technology Accessibility Advisory Committee

    Once a statutory advisory body, the Technology Accessibility Advisory Committee advances the accessibility of State of Minnesota information technology systems used by citizens and employees. Their ultimate goal is to enable citizens to effectively seek and obtain information or services from the state, regardless of ability.

    Committee Chairs: David Andrews and Jay Wyant

    Committee Members:  Diane Henry-Wangensteen, Eric Falk, Justin Kaufman, Kim Moccia, Kim Wee, Mary Hartnett, Cindy Le, Steve Jacobson, Jeff Fanning (Ex Officio), and Thomas A. Baden Jr

  • Technology Advisory Committee

    The Technology Advisory Committee is charged with broadly defined responsibilities that combine elements of all three categories of governance:  Vision, Planning and Technology Operations Alignment. State law outlines the membership of the TAC, as well as the persons who are responsible for appointing those members. The TAC serves in a consultative capacity to the State CIO. Many of the decisions and recommendations made by other governing bodies will be presented and/or reported to the TAC for input.

    Committee Chairs: Rick King and Lynn Anderson

    Committee Members:  Thomas A. Baden Jr, Charles E. Johnston, Gary Shelton, Laurie Martinson, Mona Dohman, Richard Kolodziejski, Sue Mulvihill, and Jon Eichten (Coordinator)