Up until the end of the century, there were six different categories of successful closures in the vocational rehabilitation system. These were:

  • Competitive labor market,
  • Extended employment (formerly sheltered workshop),
  • Self employed,
  • Business enterprise program,
  • Homemaker,
  • Unpaid family worker.

Typically, the vast majority of successful closures are in competitive employment (85% in FY1998). The second largest, however, were extended (or sheltered) employment closures. The Olmstead decision of 1999 and changes in the Rehabilitation Act eliminated extended employment (sheltered workshop placement) as a successful closure.

Individual working in the community
Photo courtesy Ann Marsden