Sub menu - V. Reawakening #d
 Previous Page Next Page To Menu

The severity of an individual's functional impairments was emphasized and references to specific disability categories were eliminated. In 1991, Amendments to the Act included children and developmental disability was defined as: "a severe, chronic disability of a person 5 years of age or older which

(a) is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or combination of mental and physical impairments,

(b) is manifested before the person attains age twenty-two;

(c) is likely to continue indefinitely;

(d) results in substantial functional limitations in three or more of the following areas of major life activities:

(1) self-care,

(2) receptive and expressive language,

(3) learning,

(4) mobility,

(5) self-direction,

(6) capacity for independent living, and

(7) economic sufficiency; and

(e) reflects the person's need for a combination and sequence of special, interdisciplinary, or generic care, treatment, or other services which are of lifelong or extended duration and are individually planned and coordinated; except that such term when applied to infants and young children means individuals from birth to age 5, inclusive, who have substantial developmental delay or specific congenital or acquired conditions with a high probability of resulting in developmental disabilities if services are not provided."