State Ordered To Drop Parking Sign Charge
By Dave Reynolds, Inclusion Daily Express
January 18, 2006
JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI--Missourians with disabilities will no longer have to pay the state a $2 fee for windshield signs in order to park in spaces designated for them, Missouri Attorney General Jay Nixon announced Tuesday.
Nixon's announcement came after the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 8th Circuit ruled that charging the fee amounts to discrimination, the Associated Press reported.
Missouri law allows people with disabilities to park in spots reserved for them outside businesses, government and other buildings, by having a special license plate or a removable parking placard displayed through a vehicle's windshield. While the license plates cost the same as standard plates, the state now charges a $2 fee each year for the windshield signs.
"It reaffirms the principles of the Americans with Disabilities Act," said attorney Fred Switzer, who represented one of the plaintiffs in the case. "The disabled cannot be charged for an accommodation required by the law."
A spokesman for Nixon's office could not say when the state would stop charging for the window signs, but that it would likely happen soon.