New Hampshire Cracks Down On Illegal Parkers
By Dave Reynolds, Inclusion Daily Express
January 23, 2004
CONCORD, NEW HAMPSHIRE--While it may be true that a picture paints a thousand words, in New Hampshire a picture could cost you $250.
According to a brief item in the Concord Monitor, a new state law allows people with disabilities to snap pictures of cars that have parked illegally in designated accessible parking spaces -- then submit the photos with sworn statements to police.
Police will track down the drivers and issue tickets for the violations.
While individual cities have passed similar laws allowing people with disabilities to assist in catching parking violators, New Hampshire is believed to be the first state to enact such a measure.
"I'm going to spread the idea across the countryside," said Mike Dugan, president of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, who was visiting New Hampshire this week. "I think it's worth emulation."
Another new law will fine drivers $50 for parking in the buffer area between accessible spaces, which is usually marked with yellow crosshatches. The old laws had not made it clear that the buffer zone was off-limits.