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Prompt Payment Processing  

Objective 

The Prompt Payment Law (Minnesota Statute, Section 16A.124) requires that state agencies pay 

each valid invoice within the vendor's early payment discount period, if any. If there is no early 

payment discount period, the invoice must be paid within 30 days following the receipt of the 

invoice, merchandise, or service, whichever is later.  

(Note: The following information was taken from Policy 0803-01,Payment Requests, Preparation 

and Approval refer to this policy for more information.) 

Policy 

1. Payment Scheduling 

The MAPS procurement component will compute the scheduled payment date based on 

compliance with the prompt payment law or to take advantage of the early discount period. This 

date can be overridden by the agency. The prompt payment date is computed from the Invoice 

Received Date field and the Receipt of the Merchandise Date field. Payment processed through 

the MAPS accounting component should be scheduled for the date the vendor/client receives the 

payment. Agencies should enter payment vouchers as soon as possible, but no later than two 

business days before the scheduled payment date to ensure adequate time for warrant processing 

and mailing.  

Payment vouchers will be selected for warrant and Electronic Fund Transfer production two 

business days prior to the scheduled payment date to ensure that the payment is received by the 

vendor on time. 

2. Process Payments Promptly  

The Prompt Payment Law (Minnesota Statutes, Section 16A.124) requires that the agency pays 

each valid invoice within the vendor's early payment-discount period, if any. If there is no early 

payment discount period, the invoice must be paid within 30 days following the receipt of the 

invoice, merchandise, or service, whichever is later.  

If an invoice is incorrect, the agency must notify the vendor within ten days of discovering the 

error. Upon receiving a corrected invoice, the agency must pay it within the time limitations 

outlined above. If the prompt payment date cannot be met because the invoice is contested (C), 

subject to audit prior to payment (A), subject to testing prior to payment (T), or the vendor 

failed to provide the necessary tax number (V), then the appropriate code should be entered in 

the Prompt Pay Reason Code field.  

http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/stats/16A/124.html
http://www.mmb.state.mn.us/doc/maps/policies/ch8/0803-01.pdf
http://www.mmb.state.mn.us/doc/maps/policies/ch8/0803-01.pdf
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/bin/getpub.php?pubtype=STAT_CHAP_SEC&year=current&section=16A.124


3. Interest Charges 

If a vendor has not received payment on a valid invoice within 30 days, the vendor can bill the 

agency for interest at the rate of 1.5% per month or fraction thereof. The minimum interest 

charge on invoices of $100 or more is $10.00 per month. All interest penalties and collection 

costs must be paid from the agency's current operating budget. 

Interest charges, if any, should NOT automatically be added to a late payment. The agency must 

wait for the vendor to submit an invoice for the interest. If the agency receives its invoice for 

interest on a late payment, it should be paid from object code 2M30 - an encumbrance is not 

required. 

Note: Purchases from utility and telephone companies are exempt from the Prompt Payment 

Law. If late fee rates and terms of such companies were approved by and listed with the Public 

Utilities Commission by August 1, 1985, these rates and terms supersede those of the Prompt 

Payment Law. Interest charges for such companies will normally appear on the next billing 

cycle invoice. 

See Also 

MAPS Operating Policy and Procedure 0803-01 - Payment Requests, Preparation and Approval 

http://www.mmb.state.mn.us/doc/maps/policies/ch8/0803-01.pdf

