Press Release

April 27, 2012

Bullying Prevention Task Force to Hold Listening Sessions in Saint Cloud

Department of Education logo
Department of Human Rights logo

Members of the Governor's Task Force for the Prevention of Bullying are convening listening sessions across the state to hear from Minnesota students, educators and community members on the issue of bullying and school climate. On Tuesday, May 1, listening sessions will be held in Saint Cloud.

The Saint Cloud listening sessions will be convened by Task Force Co-Chair Walter Roberts and members Vangie Castro, Phil Duran and Curt Carpenter. The first listening session will take place at Apollo High School and will focus on student input. The second listening session will also be held at Apollo High School and will offer parents, educators and community members an opportunity to weigh in.

Created through executive order by Governor Dayton, the task force is comprised of 15 members charged with examining best practices and policies that currently exist to prevent bullying. The panel is further tasked with providing future recommendations to the Governor and the legislature on this subject. The listening sessions will provide the opportunity for stakeholders to provide information and insight to task force members that will inform the group's final recommendations to Governor Dayton and the legislature.

Members of the taskforce include the Commissioners of the Department of Education, the Department of Human Rights and members of the legislature. Governor Dayton also appointed additional members with experience or expertise in psychology, education, pediatrics and anti-bullying advocacy.

What: Governor's Task Force for the Prevention of Bullying Listening Sessions

Who: Task Force Co-Chair Walter Roberts, Vangie Castro, Lyn Mitchell and Curt Carpenter

When: Tuesday, May 1, 2012 at 3:30 p.m. (Student listening session) and 5:30 p.m. (Parent, educator and community listening session)

Where: Apollo High School, Board Rooms A/B, 1000 44th Avenue North, Saint Cloud, MN 56303


Department of Education Contact: Keith Hovis, MDE 651.582.8275

Department of Human Rights Contact: Jeff Holman, 651-539-1090,

Press Releases

More About the Task Force at these links: