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UNPUBLISHED OPINION
SCHELLHAS, Judge
In this case involving a conviction of first-degree controlled-substance crime as a

subsequent controlled-substance offense, appellant argues that the district court abused its



discretion by failing to sentence respondent to an executed term of imprisonment of at
least 48 months. We reverse and remand for resentencing.
FACTS

Appellant State of Minnesota charged respondent Daniel Joseph Perry with first-
degree controlled-substance crime and fleeing a peace officer in a motor vehicle based on
an August 2014 incident. Perry pleaded guilty to both charges and to an unrelated charge
of driving after revocation (DAR). He also admitted to violating his probation on a prior
conviction of third-degree controlled-substance crime and requested execution of the
sentence for the third-degree controlled-substance crime. The district court imposed
executed sentences of 90 days’ incarceration for the DAR conviction and 45 months’
imprisonment for the conviction of third-degree controlled-substance crime, entered
convictions of first-degree controlled-substance crime and fleeing a peace officer in a
motor vehicle, imposed a sentence of 135 months’ imprisonment for the first-degree
controlled-substance conviction, and stayed execution of the 135-month sentence for 15

years. This state’s appeal follows.

! Reasoning that Perry committed the offenses of fleeing a peace officer in a motor
vehicle and first-degree controlled-substance crime as part of “the same behavioral
occurrence,” the district court did not sentence Perry for his fleeing conviction.
“Minnesota law generally prohibits a person from being punished twice for conduct that
is part of the same behavioral incident, with certain exceptions.” State v. Holmes, 778
N.W.2d 336, 339 (Minn. 2010); see Minn. Stat. 8 609.035 (2014). The exceptions include
fleeing a peace officer in a motor vehicle. Minn. Stat. § 609.035, subd. 5. The court could
have sentenced Perry for both convictions, but the state does not raise this issue on
appeal, and we therefore decline to address it. See Ouk v. State, 847 N.W.2d 698, 701 n.7
(Minn. 2014) (“Failure to brief or argue an issue on appeal results in waiver of that issue
on appeal.”), cert. denied sub nom. Kim Thul Ouk v. Minn., 135 S. Ct. 1429 (2015).



DECISION

“[Appellate courts] review sentencing decisions for an abuse of discretion.” State
v. Kangbateh, 868 N.W.2d 10, 14 (Minn. 2015). A district court abuses its discretion by
failing to execute a minimum term of imprisonment mandated by statute. See State v.
Adams, 791 N.W.2d 757, 757-59 (Minn. App. 2010) (reversing sentence of 81 months’
imprisonment, with execution stayed for 10 years, on grounds that “district court lacked
discretion to place [defendant] on probation instead of committing her to the [statutory]
minimum term” of 36 months’ imprisonment for second-degree controlled-substance
crime as subsequent controlled-substance offense), review denied (Minn. Mar. 15, 2011);
cf. State v. Blum, 676 N.W.2d 649, 651 (Minn. 2004) (stating that “the legislature may
restrict the exercise of judicial discretion in sentencing, such as by providing for
mandatory sentences” (quotation omitted)).

“Whether [a statute] requires a mandatory minimum term of incarceration is a
question of statutory construction which [appellate] court[s] review[] de novo.” See
Bluhm, 676 N.W.2d at 651. “The objective of statutory interpretation is to ascertain and
effectuate the Legislature’s intent.” State v. Struzyk, 869 N.W.2d 280, 284 (Minn. 2015).
“If the Legislature’s intent is clear from the statute’s plain and unambiguous language,
then [appellate courts] interpret the statute according to its plain meaning without
resorting to the canons of statutory construction.” Id. at 284-85 (quotation omitted).

Minnesota law provides:

If [a] conviction is a subsequent controlled substance

conviction, a person convicted [of first-degree controlled-
substance crime] shall be committed to the commissioner of



corrections for not less than four years nor more than 40 years

and, in addition, may be sentenced to payment of a fine of not

more than $1,000,000.
Minn. Stat. § 152.021, subd. 3(b) (2014). “A defendant convicted and sentenced to a
mandatory sentence under sections 152.021 to 152.025 . .. is not eligible for probation,
parole, discharge, or supervised release until that person has served the full term of
imprisonment as provided by law . ...” Minn. Stat. § 152.026 (2014). The language of
these statutes is plain and unambiguous: any sentence for first-degree controlled-
substance crime as a subsequent controlled-substance offense must include an executed
term of imprisonment of at least 48 months. Minn. Stat. 88 152.021, subd. 3(b), .026; see
Minn. Stat. 8 645.44, subd. 16 (2014) (providing that “‘[s]hall’ is mandatory”); Bluhm,
676 N.W.2d at 650-53 (interpreting very similar language in Minn. Stat. 8§ 152.025,
subd. 3(b), .026 (2002), and concluding that Minnesota law mandates minimum sentence
of six months’ incarceration for fifth-degree controlled-substance crime as subsequent
controlled-substance offense); Adams, 791 N.W.2d at 758-59 (interpreting nearly
identical language in Minn. Stat. 88 152.022, subd. 3(b), .026 (2006), and concluding that
Minnesota law mandates executed prison sentence of at least 36 months for second-
degree controlled-substance crime as subsequent controlled-substance offense); State v.
Turck, 728 N.W.2d 544, 546, 548 (Minn. App. 2007) (interpreting nearly identical
language in Minn. Stat. 88 152.023, subd. 3(b) (2004), .026 (Supp. 2005), and concluding
that Minnesota law mandates executed prison sentence of at least 24 months for third-

degree controlled-substance crime as subsequent controlled-substance offense), review

denied (Minn. May 30, 2007).



Here, the district court sentenced Perry to 135 months’ imprisonment, with
execution stayed for 15 years, for first-degree controlled-substance crime as a subsequent
controlled-substance offense. The state argues that the court abused its discretion by
failing to execute a term of imprisonment of at least 48 months. Perry acknowledges that
“[t]he stay of execution of [his] sentence violates this Court’s cases interpreting the drug
statutes’ mandatory-minimum language” but asserts a variety of arguments against
reversal, which are not persuasive.

Perry first argues that the state both invited and forfeited the sentencing error. But
“[a] criminal sentence that is contrary to the requirements of the applicable sentencing
statute is unauthorized by law,” State v. Rausch, 799 N.W.2d 19, 21 (Minn. App. 2011)
(quotation omitted), and “courts are empowered ‘at any time’ to correct sentences not
authorized by law,” Spann v. State, 740 N.W.2d 570, 573 (Minn. 2007) (quoting Minn.
R. Crim. P. 27.03, subd. 9). The state’s failure to alert the district court to the mandatory
minimum therefore has no consequence on appeal. Cf. State v. Pugh, 753 N.W.2d 308,
311 (Minn. App. 2008) (“Because courts have authority to correct an illegal sentence at
any time under Minn. R.Crim. P. 27.03, subd. 9, a defendant cannot forfeit, or waive by
silence, review of an illegal sentence.”), review denied (Minn. Sept. 23, 2008).

Perry also asks this court to “reexamine” Adams and Turck, claiming that those
cases were decided wrongly because “they did not address all relevant statutory
authority.” Specifically, Perry argues that a statute permitting appellate courts to vacate a
sentence that is “inconsistent with statutory requirements, unreasonable, inappropriate,

excessive, unjustifiably disparate, or not warranted by the findings of fact,” Minn. Stat.



8 244.11, subd. 2(b) (2014), also “provide[s] appellate courts the discretion to affirm
departures from statutory minimums in cases . . . where imposing the mandated penalty
would violate basic notions of fairness and justice.” Perry fails to address supreme court
caselaw—i.e., Bluhm, 676 N.W.2d at 651-53—that is consistent with Adams and Turck.
“As an error-correcting court, this court is not in a position to overturn established
supreme court precedent.” State v. Grigsby, 806 N.w.2d 101, 114 (Minn. App. 2011)
(quotation omitted), aff’d, 818 N.W.2d 511 (Minn. 2012). And regarding Adams and
Turck, “[appellate courts] recognize the importance of stare decisis in [their] decision
making and are extremely reluctant to overrule precedent, requiring a compelling reason
to do so.” Roman Nose v. State, 845 N.W.2d 193, 198 (Minn. 2014) (quotation omitted),
cert. denied sub nom. Nose v. Minn., 135 S. Ct. 193 (2014). No compelling reason exists
in this case, and Perry’s section-244.11 argument therefore fails.

We conclude that the district court abused its discretion by sentencing respondent
without regard to the mandatory minimum; we therefore reverse and remand for
resentencing in accordance with Minn. Stat. 8§ 152.021, subd. 3(b), .026. See Adams, 791
N.W.2d at 758-59. We note that the state additionally argues that the district court’s
downward dispositional departure was not supported by substantial and compelling
circumstances. “Because we are reversing and remanding for resentencing, we do not
address the validity of the factors upon which the district court based its dispositional
departure.” See id. at 759.

Reversed and remanded.



