
Arch
ive

d C
op

y

http://web.archive.org/web/20030508194026/http://www.nhtsa.gov/people/outreach/safesobr/19qp/factsheets/vehicle.html

 

■     Key Facts 

■     Legislative Status 

■     Recommendations for 
Strengthening and 
Increasing the Use of 
Vehicle and Vehicle Plate 
Sanctions 

■     Research and Evaluation 
Regarding the Effects of 
Vehicle and Plate 
Sanctions 

■     Transfer and Grant 
Programs 

■     Information Sources 

Return to Main Page 

 

Vehicle and License Plate 
Sanctions

Revoking or suspending a motorist’s operators license is now a 
common penalty for many traffic infractions, especially those 
related to impaired driving. Unfortunately, many of these offenders 
continue to drive. It is not unusual for suspended drivers to receive 
additional traffic citations or be involved in crashes during periods 
of license suspension. As a way of reducing this problem, many 
states have passed laws that directly affect the offender’s vehicle 
or license plates as a sanction for the impaired driving offense or 
for driving with a suspended license. 

Some states now permit the vehicles of drivers convicted of certain 
impaired driving offenses to be impounded, immobilized (club or 
boot), or forfeited and sold. Other states allow the license plates to 
be removed and impounded. Still others allow for the use of 
specially marked license plates, or allow for the installment of 
alcohol ignition interlock devices. 

 
Key Facts 

■     In 1997, 1.4 million people were arrested in the U.S. for 
driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated 
(DWI)—more than all other reported criminal offenses 
except larceny and theft. 

■     About one-third of all drivers arrested or convicted of DWI 
each year are repeat DWI offenders. 

■     Drivers with prior DWI convictions are also overrepresented 
in fatal crashes and have a greater relative risk of fatal crash 
involvement. 
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■     Many second- and third-time convicted DWI offenders who 
had their licenses suspended accumulated traffic offenses or 
were involved in crashes during the suspension period. In 
one study, 32 percent of suspended second-time DWI 
offenders, and 61 percent of third-time offenders received 
violations or crash citations on their driving records during 
their suspensions. 

■     Many drivers do not reinstate their licenses even when 
eligible to do so. In one study involving first-time DWI 
offenders who had their licenses suspended for 90 days, 50 
percent had not reinstated their licenses three years after 
they were eligible to be relicensed. Also, many of these 
offenders drive without auto insurance and do not attend 
treatment programs when required for reinstatement. 

 
Legislative Status 

Forty-four states have laws that can affect the vehicles or vehicle 
plates of offenders. 

■     Vehicle Impoundment: Overnight impoundment of the 
vehicle of an individual arrested for impaired driving is a 
typical practice in most states. Thirteen states have laws 
which permit longer-term impoundments for certain 
offenses, usually for repeat DWI offenses or for Driving 
While Suspended (DWS) where the original offense was 
related to a DWI infraction. States which impound vehicles 
for these types of offenses include California, Delaware, 
Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, 
Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oregon, and Wisconsin. 

■     Suspension of Vehicle Registration: In 19 states, vehicle 
registration is withdrawn upon conviction of a DWI or DWS 
offense where the original licensing action can be related to 
a DWI offense. States which can withdraw vehicle 
registrations for a DWI or DWS offense are Arizona, 
Arkansas, Delaware, Indiana, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, 
Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New 
York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South 
Dakota, Virginia, and Wyoming. Some of these states have 
their own enforcement departments that send out 
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investigators to pick up the license plates of these offenders. 
However, in general, the vehicle license plate suspension 
provisions are poorly enforced. 

■     Vehicle Confiscation: Twenty-one states permit the vehicle 
of multiple DWI or DWS offenders to be confiscated or sold, 
where the original licensing action can be related to a DWI 
offense. These states are Alaska, Alabama, Arizona, 
Arkansas, California, Georgia, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, 
Montana, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, 
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, 
Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin. 

■     Vehicle Immobilization: Courts can prevent a DWI or DWS 
offender from using his or her car by immobilizing the 
steering wheel (by using a club) or locking a wheel (with a 
boot). Currently, only Ohio uses these types of sanctions. 

■     Special License Plates or Plate Markings: Three states—
Iowa, Minnesota, and Ohio—issue special license plates to 
permit the use of the vehicle by family members of convicted 
DWI offenders. Two states—Oregon and Washington—
enacted laws which permitted officers to affix a zebra sticker 
over the annual year portion of the license plates of 
offenders. 

■     Ignition Interlock: The purpose of an ignition interlock is to 
prevent a person who has consumed alcohol from operating 
a vehicle. The device measures alcohol concentration in the 
breath and is attached to a vehicle’s ignition system. Before 
the car can be started, a driver must blow a sample of his or 
her breath into the interlock device. If the driver’s breath 
alcohol is below a specified concentration, the driver will be 
able to start the vehicle’s engine. However, if the driver has 
a breath alcohol concentration above the established level, 
the vehicle cannot be started. Thirty-five states have laws 
providing for either the discretionary or mandatory use of 
ignition interlock devices for repeat and chronic DWI 
offenders. The ignition interlock is discretionary in 32 states: 
Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, 
Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, 
Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, 
Nevada, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, 
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Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, 
Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. In three states—
California, Oregon, and Texas—the law is mandatory under 
special circumstances. In some jurisdictions, interlocks may 
also be used for first offenders. 

 
Recommendations for Strengthening and Increasing 
the Use of Vehicle and Vehicle Plate Sanctions 

Interviews with state and local officials, judiciary members, and law 
enforcement officers suggest that while impoundment and 
forfeiture legislation is common, application of these laws is rare. 
The reasons cited include: (1) these laws are generally reserved 
for the relatively few multiple DWI offenders rather than the more 
numerous first offenders; (2) there are difficulties in dealing with 
nonoffender owners; (3) it is costly to store junk vehicles that are 
not reclaimed by their owners; and (4) judges are reluctant to 
punish innocent family members. 

Yet some states have developed innovative ways for dealing with 
these problems. Minnesota experienced a twelvefold increase in 
the use of its license plate impoundment law when they switched 
from court-based to administrative enforcement of the 
impoundment law. 

The following recommendations may help state legislators and 
local officials revise existing legislation or enact new legislation to 
increase the use and effectiveness of their laws. 

■     Consider legislation that provides for administrative 
impoundment of plates and civil forfeiture of vehicles. In 
general, try to avoid criminal laws providing for forfeiture, as 
courts rarely use them. 

■     Enact legislation that allows for seizure at the time of arrest 
if officers impound either the vehicle or plate. It is more 
difficult and costly to track down the offender’s vehicle later, 
and the delay gives the offender the opportunity to transfer 
vehicle ownership. 

■     Consider legislation that makes it unlawful for the owner of a 
motor vehicle to allow another person to drive the vehicle 
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unless the owner determines the person possesses a valid 
driver’s license. Also, require nonoffender owners to sign an 
affidavit stating they will not allow the offender to drive the 
vehicle again while the suspension is in effect. 

■     Establish a computerized state record-keeping system to 
document vehicle (impoundment and forfeiture) and license 
plate actions. This allows states to monitor use of the 
sanctions. 

■     Apply impoundment laws to all repeat DWI offenders and to 
all DWS offenders where the original infraction was for a 
DWI offense. This will encourage an increase in the use of 
impoundment since many courts do not apply this sanction 
to second-time DWI offenders or to first-time DWS 
offenders. 

■     Where the law provides for special license plates (e.g., 
family plates or license plate sticker laws), incorporate a 
provision that permits officers to stop the vehicle for the sole 
purpose of checking whether the driver is operating the 
vehicle while their license is under suspension. 

 
Research and Evaluation Regarding the Effects of 
Vehicle and Plate Sanctions 

■     Maryland ignition interlock program lowered the re-
arrest rate for repeat alcohol offenders: A Maryland study 
involving 1,380 repeat alcohol offenders randomly assigned 
participants to either an ignition interlock group or a control 
group that did not receive the sanction. Alcohol-related 
traffic re-arrest rates were tabulated for a full year. They 
showed that only 2.4 percent of the interlock group was re-
arrested, whereas 6.7 percent of the control group was re-
arrested—a statistically significant difference indicating that 
the interlock program reduced the risk of an alcohol traffic 
violation within the first year by about 65 percent. Additional 
analyses of post-interlock recidivism are being examined. 
Other research on ignition interlocks is being conducted in 
Illinois and Alberta (Canada). Recently, NHTSA initiated 
another assessment of ignition interlocks. The focus of this 
congressionally mandated study is to conduct additional 
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research on the effectiveness of these devices once they 
have been removed from offenders’ vehicles. The findings 
from this four-year research effort will become available in 
2002. 

■     Minnesota License Plate Impoundment Study: In 
Minnesota, violators incurring three DWI violations in five 
years, or four or more in ten years, can have their license 
plates impounded and destroyed. An evaluation of the 
effects of the law found a significant decrease in recidivism 
for violators who had their plates impounded versus violators 
who did not. Violators whose license plates were impounded 
by the arresting officer showed a 50 percent decrease in 
recidivism over a two-year period (when compared with DWI 
violators who did not experience impoundment). 

■     Ohio Impoundment and Immobilization Program: In 
Franklin County (Columbus), Ohio, researchers conducted a 
field test to study the deterrent effects that a combined 
impoundment and immobilization sanctions program has on 
crashes and violations for multiple DUI (Driving Under the 
Influence) and suspended license offenders. From 
September 1993 to September 1995, the vehicles of nearly 
1,000 offenders were impounded and then immobilized. The 
recidivism rates of these offenders were compared to 
eligible offenders who did not receive a vehicle sanction. 
Offenders whose vehicles were impounded and immobilized 
had lower rates of recidivism (7%) both during and after the 
termination of the sanction than offenders who managed to 
avoid the impoundment and immobilization sanctions (11%). 
The project will also provide information on methods and 
procedures for implementing such a program, the types of 
problems that may be experienced, and recommendations 
for solutions. 

■     California Impoundment and Forfeiture Program: 
NHTSA, in conjunction with the State Department of Motor 
Vehicles, is conducting a three-year effort to study the 
impact of California’s new vehicle impoundment law as 
applied to unlicensed and suspended license offenders. The 
innovative 30-day impoundment law is not typical of those 
found in most states, but involves a civil action independent 
of a criminal DWS conviction for those caught driving without 
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a license. Findings indicate that during 1995, more than 
100,000 vehicles were impounded, but only 246 were seized 
and processed for forfeiture under the new laws. More than 
6,300 unlicensed drivers and those with suspended or 
revoked licenses whose vehicles were impounded were 
compared to about the same number of drivers in 1994 
whose vehicles would have been eligible had the 1995 
impoundment law been in effect. Driving records of both 
groups were compared for a one-year period on subsequent 
traffic violations and crashes. First offenders whose vehicles 
were impounded had an average rate of subsequent DWS 
or driving while unlicensed (DWU) that was 24 percent lower 
than those whose vehicles were not impounded. Repeat 
offenders had 34 percent fewer DWS or DWU convictions. 
Also, both first-time and repeat offenders whose vehicles 
were impounded had fewer crashes—there was a 25 
percent reduction for first-time offenders and a 38 percent 
reduction for repeat offenders. 

■     North Carolina Alcohol Ignition Interlock Program: A 
study was conducted to determine the effectiveness of an 
interlock program in reducing recidivism among second-time 
DWI offenders. In North Carolina, these offenders are 
eligible to petition for a conditional license that is valid for the 
last two years of the four-year revocation period. 
Assignment of petitioners to the interlock program was 
based on completion of the petition and the decision of a 
hearing officer. The findings suggested that as compared to 
those receiving a full four-year hard license suspension, or 
those given the conditional license without an interlock, 
offenders receiving the interlock had a reduced rate of 
recidivism while the interlock was installed. However, when 
the interlock was removed and a valid license obtained, the 
recidivism rate of these drivers rose substantially. The 
findings from the North Carolina study support those of a 
research study conducted in Hamilton County (Cincinnati), 
Ohio. In that study, an interlock program was found to 
reduce recidivism while the interlock was installed on the 
vehicles of multiple DWI offenders, but once removed the 
benefits did not continue (as compared to a license 
suspension group). Both studies suggest that, at least for 
multiple DWI offenders, long-term drinking and driving 
behavior patterns are not impacted. 
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■     Zebra Tag Program in Oregon and Washington States: 
In Oregon, suspended license offenders whose vehicle 
plates were “zebra tagged” had fewer subsequent DWI and 
DWS violations than suspended offenders who did not 
receive the special tags. Also, among suspended license 
offenders, the possibility of receiving a zebra tag if re-
arrested appears to reduce subsequent violations and 
crashes. A similar law in Washington State did not affect 
subsequent violations or crashes for these types of 
offenders; however, it was not applied to nearly as many 
drivers and vehicles and it was not as strongly enforced by 
the police. (Legislators in both states allowed the zebra tag 
law to expire.) 

 
Transfer and Grant Programs 

In 1998, as part of the TEA-21 Restoration Act, a new Federal 
program (see section 164 program) was established to encourage 
states to address the problem of the repeat intoxicated driver. To 
comply with Section 164, the state’s laws must require that certain 
sanctions must be imposed on persons convicted more than once 
within a five-year period of driving while intoxicated or driving 
under the influence of alcohol (DWI/DUI). One of the sanctions that 
must be imposed is: 

■     that all motor vehicles of repeat intoxicated drivers be 
impounded or immobilized for some period of time during 
the driver’s license suspension period, or that an ignition 
interlock system be installed on all motor vehicles of such 
drivers for some period of time after the end of the 
suspension period. 

States that do not meet the Section 164 requirements will have a 
portion of their Federal-aid highway construction funds redirected 
into other state safety activities, beginning in fiscal year 2001. 

In addition, TEA-21 modified the Section 410 grant program. Under 
the program, as modified by TEA-21, states that qualify for a basic 
grant may also qualify for supplemental grant funds by meeting 
one or more of six criteria. One of the six criteria is a program to 
reduce driving with a suspended driver’s license. In order to qualify 
for a supplemental grant under this criterion, a state must impose 
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one of the following sanctions on individuals convicted of driving 
after their license has been suspended for an alcohol-related 
offense: suspension of the offender’s vehicle registration and 
return of license plates; impoundment, immobilization, forfeiture or 
confiscation of the offender’s motor vehicles; or the use of 
distinctive license plates on the offender’s motor vehicle. 
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The reports and additional information are available from 
your State Highway Safety Office, the NHTSA Regional 
Office serving your State, or from NHTSA Headquarters, 
Traffic Safety Programs, ATTN: NTS-12, 400 Seventh 
Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20590; 202-366-2708. 
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