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SYLLABUS
For a victim to “report” sexual abuse, triggering the statute-of-limitations period
set forth in Minnesota Statutes section 628.26, the victim must report the abuse to law

enforcement authorities, not merely disclose it to a relative.



OPINION
ROSS, Judge

This appeal requires us to decide whether the statute of limitations prevents the
state from prosecuting David Soukup for sexually abusing his now-adult step-daughter
when she was nine years old. The district court dismissed the criminal complaint based
on its interpretation of the statute of limitations and also because it determined that the Ex
Post Facto Clause of the federal Constitution prohibits the state from prosecuting Soukup.
Because the district court erroneously interpreted the statute of limitations and misapplied
the Ex Post Facto Clause, we reverse the district court’s order dismissing the criminal
complaint.

FACTS

On November 1, 2006, C.K. contacted the Minneapolis Police Department and
reported that her adoptive father, David Michael Soukup, had sexually abused her
between 1984 and 1987 when she was nine to twelve years old. She alleged that Soukup
performed oral sex on her and required her to perform oral sex on him. C.K. had
previously told her cousin about the abuse in July 1996, when C.K. was 21.

The police interviewed Soukup in January 2007, and Soukup admitted the
allegations of abuse. He confessed to requiring C.K. to perform oral sex, and although he
denied remembering her age when the abuse occurred, he acknowledged that it happened
when she was in elementary school. The state charged Soukup with one count of first-
degree criminal sexual conduct in violation of Minnesota Statutes section 609.342,

subdivisions 1(a) and (2) (1984).



Soukup soon moved the district court for dismissal, arguing that the statute of
limitations barred prosecution for the 20-year-old conduct. The applicable statute of
limitations has a nine-year offense-to-prosecution period with an exception for cases in
which the victim has waited a longer period to report the abuse. It provides as follows:

Indictments or complaints for [first-degree criminal sexual

conduct] if the victim was under the age of 18 years at the

time the offense was committed, shall be found or made and

filed in the proper court within nine years after the

commission of the offense or, if the victim failed to report the

offense within this limitation period, within three years after

the offense was reported to law enforcement authorities.
Minn. Stat. § 628.26(c) (Supp. 1995). This case hinges on what this statute means by
the phrase “report the offense.”

The district court granted Soukup’s motion to dismiss based on its application of
the various versions of the statute as amended over time since the abuse occurred. The
district court first determined that the versions of section 628.26 as amended in 1989,
1991, and 1994 applied, holding that the 1994 version required C.K. to report the abuse
before August 1, 1994. Because C.K. did not report the abuse until twelve years later, the
district court ruled that the statute of limitations prevented prosecution and dismissed the
criminal complaint with prejudice.

The state moved the district court to reconsider, arguing that the court
misunderstood the statute and that the statute-of-limitations period had not expired
because the state brought charges against Soukup well within three years after C.K. first

reported the abuse to law enforcement authorities in 2006. The district court agreed that

the 1995 version of section 628.26 applies, but it nevertheless denied the state’s motion to



reconsider. It applied the proper version of the statute but continued to hold that it
precluded Soukup’s prosecution based on the district court’s broad interpretation of the
term, “report.” The court also concluded that Minnesota Statutes section 609.342, the
provision criminalizing sex with minors, is a constitutionally defective ex post facto law
as applied to Soukup, and it dismissed the complaint on that alternative ground. The state
appeals the dismissal.
ANALYSIS

The state challenges the pretrial order dismissing the criminal complaint. To
prevail on appeal of a pretrial order, the state must clearly and unequivocally show that
the order is clearly erroneous and will critically impact the state’s ability to prosecute the
case. State v. McLeod, 705 N.W.2d 776, 784 (Minn. 2005). Critical impact is a threshold
issue. Id. Dismissal of the complaint constitutes a critical impact on the prosecutor’s
case. See State v. Richmond, 730 N.W.2d 62, 66 (Minn. App. 2007) (noting that where
an order dismisses a state’s case, the critical impact prong is met if defendant does not
challenge critical impact); see also State v. Meyer, 646 N.W.2d 900, 902 (Minn. App.
2002). Here, dismissal order from which the state appeals passes the threshold. The
remaining and central issue is whether the district court clearly erred when it dismissed
the complaint. We hold that it did.

The district court dismissed the complaint because it concluded that the statutory
limitations period had expired. When the offense is a continuing one, the statute of
limitations begins to run when the offense ends. State v. Danielski, 348 N.W.2d 352,

355-57 (Minn. App. 1984), review denied (Minn. July 26, 1984). The complaint here



alleged that Soukup committed multiple acts of sexual abuse against C.K. between 1984
and 1987. See id. (treating multiple sexual acts over a period of time as a continuing
offense under section 609.342). For the purpose of applying the statute of limitations,
1987 is the year of the offense.

Despite the early confusion in the district court, the parties now agree with the
district court’s final assessment that the 1995 amendment to the statute applies here. The
statute as amended expressly requires complaints of the offense charged against Soukup
to be filed either within nine years after the offense “or, if the victim failed to report the
offense within this limitation period, within three years after the offense was reported to
law enforcement authorities.” Minn. Stat. § 628.26(c) (1995). The district court held,
and Soukup argues on appeal, that because C.K. revealed to her cousin in 1996 that
Soukup had sexually abused her, the case does not fall within the non-report exception in
the statute of limitations. Specifically, the district court decided that by disclosing the
abuse to her cousin, C.K. “reported” the 1987 offense in 1996, barring any prosecution
based on C.K.’s later “report” to law enforcement in 2006. The appeal depends on how
we define “report”; we must decide whether “reporting” includes informing a relative.

We conclude that the 1995 amendment extended the limitations period for the
prosecution of Soukup’s acts against C.K. to three years after she reported the offense to
police in November 2006. This conclusion follows from a straightforward reading of the
statute. This court reviews statutory construction de novo. State v. Koenig, 666 N.W.2d
366, 372 (Minn. 2003). The object of statutory interpretation is to give effect to the

legislature’s intent. Minn. Stat. § 645.16 (2006). A statute’s words and phrases should



be read according to their plain and ordinary meaning. Koenig, 666 N.W.2d at 372.
“When the words of a law in their application to an existing situation are clear and free
from all ambiguity, the letter of the law shall not be disregarded under the pretext of
pursuing the spirit.” Minn. Stat. § 645.16. A statute is ambiguous only when it is subject
to more than one plausible interpretation. Harrison ex rel. Harrison v. Harrison, 733
N.W.2d 451, 453 (Minn. 2007).

The meaning of “report” as used in the statute is not ambiguous. Although the
non-report exception in the statute is not the model of legislative clarity, it lends itself to
only one reasonable interpretation. In back-to-back clauses, the single-sentence provision
twice uses a variation of the word “report,” and in context, the meaning is self evident:
both references regard the same “report.” The second use includes the full description of
the “report” as being “to law enforcement authorities.” There is no textual or practical
reason to conclude, as Soukup urges, that the first use of “report” means anything other
than the second. Based on the context, syntax, and grammar of the statutory language,
we hold that a “report” in section 628.26(cC) is a report to law enforcement authorities.

Although our holding rests on the plain language of the statute, we add that neither
the district court’s order nor Soukup’s argument provides any reasonable basis for a
different reading. The practical end of Soukup’s theory is that when a sexually abused
child privately reveals the abuse to anyone and by any means, even in an anonymous
internet posting, for example, her abuse is forever removed from the statutory exception
designed to extend the limitations period for young victims who do not report their

abusers promptly. We cannot accept this to be the intended consequence of an exception



designed to expand, rather than limit, the statutory period in which the state may charge
sex offenders. See Minn. Stat. § 645.17(1) (2006) (“[T]he legislature does not intend a
result that is absurd, impossible of execution, or unreasonable.”).

We have explained in a related setting that to “report” means to inform law
enforcement authorities. In Danielski, a sex-crimes victim was abused from ages 9 to 16.
348 N.W.2d at 355. This court stated, “Although the victim told her mother, this was
insufficient to get official involvement.” Id. And we noted that “[t]he purpose of
[section 609.342]—penalizing those who use their authority to sexually abuse young
children—would be completely thwarted by permitting defendants to prevent reporting of
the act while taking advantage of the statute of limitations.” Id. at 356.

Additionally, we observe that the statutory scheme that mandates reporting of
maltreatment “to protect children whose health or welfare may be jeopardized through
physical abuse, neglect, or sexual abuse,” defines “report” as “any report received by the
local welfare agency, police department, county sheriff, or agency responsible for
assessing or investigating maltreatment pursuant to this section,” and instructs those
persons who are mandated reporters to make the report to the responsible, official
agency. Minn. Stat. § 626.556, subds. 1, 2(h), 3 (2007). Because we conclude that by
“reporting” the statute means notifying law enforcement authorities, we hold that the
district court erred in its interpretation of the statute and erroneously failed to apply the
exception in section 628.26 to this case.

The district court also dismissed the complaint on the alternative basis that

charging Soukup with a violation of Minnesota Statutes section 609.342 violates the ex



post facto prohibition. The Ex Post Facto Clause of the United States Constitution
prohibits a state from passing a law that criminalizes acts that occurred before its
enactment and disadvantages the defendant affected by it. Hankerson v. State, 723
N.W.2d 232, 241 (Minn. 2006). A law may be deemed to violate the Ex Post Facto
Clause if it disadvantages a defendant in any of three ways: (1) by punishing as a crime
an act previously committed, which was not a crime at the time; (2) by increasing the
burden of punishment for a crime after its commission; or (3) by depriving the defendant
of a defense that was available when the crime was committed. 1d. This court has held
that the retroactive application of the 1989, 1990, and 1991 amendments to section
609.342 does not violate the ex post facto prohibition. State v. Burns, 524 N.W.2d 516,
519-20 (Minn. App. 1994), review denied (Minn. Jan. 13, 1995).

The district court concluded that section 609.342 is an ex post facto law as applied
to Soukup because the penalties for the offense are greater now than when Soukup
committed the offense, from 1984 to 1987. But the state charged Soukup with violating
the 1984 version of the statute, not a newer version. Soukup points out that although the
complaint filed against him expressly identifies the correct, 1984 version of the statue, it
does not reflect the correct penalty for the 1984 version of section 609.342 because it
references a penalty of “0-30 years,” which is the penalty for violating the newer version.
We agree with the state that this drafting error does not create an ex post facto concern.
See State v. Billington, 241 Minn. 418, 427, 63 N.W.2d 387, 393 (1954) (“[A] conviction
will not be reversed for mere technical errors where it appears that the accused has not

been prejudiced through the impairment of substantial rights essential to a fair trial.”).



And the state acknowledges that, regardless of the erroneously referenced penalty term,
the district court may not impose an excessive sentence by incarcerating Soukup longer
than the penalty allowable under the 1984 statute. Prosecuting Soukup under section
609.342 does not invoke the concerns of the Ex Post Facto Clause.
DECISION

The district court erred when it dismissed the complaint on either basis described
in its order. Because the district court’s erroneous order had a critical impact on the
prosecution, we reverse.

Reversed.



