Iron Range Resources & Rehabilitation Board welcomes new board members

February 22, 2011

EVELETH, Minnesota – Following a special election February 15 for the Minnesota House of Representatives District 5B seat, Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board (IRRRB) Commissioner Tony Sertich today welcomed 13 new members to the agency board. 

Board members are: Senators Tom Bakk, John Carlson, Paul Gazelka, Tom Saxhaug, David Tomassoni; Representatives Tom Anzelc, David Dill, Carolyn McElfatrick, Carly Melin, Tom Rukavina; and Mr. Joe Begich, Mr. David Chura and Mr. Jack Ryan. 

“Each of these board members have enormous pride in northeastern Minnesota and to a person, view job creation as a priority for the region,” said Sertich. “The IRRRB is asking businesses and communities how we can help. Our new board members are in the same way committed to helping businesses, communities and in workforce development. I look forward to working together with the new board members to create good-paying jobs and economic growth across northeastern Minnesota.” 

The Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board is a state of Minnesota economic development agency headquartered in Eveleth. The Taconite Assistance Area served by the IRRRB encompasses approximately 13,000 square miles of northeastern Minnesota. 

Appointments to the board are made in odd-numbered years by the Senate Majority Leader, Speaker of the House and Governor. 

The new board holds its first meeting at 5:30 p.m., Wednesday, February 23, 2011, in Room 5 of the State Office Building in St. Paul.