Skip to:

Holiday Observances--Offices Closed

The Board of Dietetics and Nutrition Practice will be closed in observance of the following holidays through January 2014:

November 28-29, 2013
December 25, 2013
January 1, 2014

Please be advised : Online  renewals must be processed by 11:59PM on Saturday, November 30th, and paper renewals must be postmarked by November 30th. Both forms of renewal are subject to a late penalty fee of $22.50 after November 30th, 2013.

Messages and emails received during this time will be answered in the order that they are received when staff returns to the office.  

The online renewal system is operational until January 31, 2015 at which time the online feature is terminated and only paper renewals are accepted.   

Fees: A late fee of $35.00 is now added to the annual fee of $115.50 ($105 renewal fee+ $10.50 OET surcharge); each duplicate is an additional $10 each.

 Registration for the online services is easy and completed within five minutes. The average time spent online to register and renew is less than nine minutes.

The Minnesota Board of Optometry has a   NEW ONLINE RENEWAL SYSTEM WHICH WILL REQUIRE YOU TO FIRST CREATE A NEW ACCOUNT BY ENTERING YOUR FULL NAME/SSN/DATE OF BIRTH AND THEN CREATE AN INDIVIDUAL USER NAME AND PASSWORD.   Click  the “Renew License” button on the right, then click “Register to Access Site” to create your new login   account.   Complete the renewal process t hen make a secure payment through US Bank with a MasterCard, Visa or Discover credit card.   This account will be used for future online activity, so maintain a copy of your login information.


REPORTING CONTINUING EDUCATION is NOT required this year.  The current (2) year reporting cycle is from 1/1/14-12/31/15.  Click here to find out more information about reporting CE.

RENEWAL OPTIONS AVAILABLE though January 31, 2015

  1. Online at our Secure Website - just click the “Renew License” button, then click “Register to Access Site” to create your new login account.  Complete the renewal process and then make a secure payment through US Bank with a MasterCard, Visa or Discover credit card.
  2. Request or Print a paper Renewal Form from the website at or email at and mail it with your check or money order (no credit cards). 
  • If you do not intend to renew your license. Notify us in writing via US Mail or email at .
  • To avoid late fees, your renewal must be postmarked on or before 12/31/14 and online transactions must be fully completed by midnight 12/31/14. You are strongly encouraged to renew early and online, allowing time for any technical difficulties which may occur.

Attention: Duplicate License Card Requests:   The new online license renewal system  to order duplicate license cards is now available!     

Continuing Education Requirements for License Renewal 

The current two-year continuing education of forty (40) clock hours is January 1, 2014 – December 31, 2015. There is no CE required in the even year for the annual renewal ending December 31, 2014. The continuing education will be required to renew the expired license on December 31, 2015. The number of continuing education credits you need is pro-rated depending upon the date you initially became licensed.


Locate the FAQ’s on the top tab bar for more answers and please contact the board office with any questions you have. We will work to resolve any remaining questions.  

Decorative Contact Lens: Public Safety Announcement

The Minnesota Board of Optometry (MBO) joins with the US Food and Drug Administration to alert consumers of risks associated with Non-Prescription Decorative Contact Lenses -Halloween inspired cosmetic contact lenses which can prove to be a health hazard.

Level Licensure Statement

As of January 1, 2013, all Minnesota Licensed Optometrists meet therapeutic certification standards (TPA) and are considered as meeting nationally recognized TMOD requirements. This level licensure standard is all inclusive of any former education including, but not limited to DPA, TPA certifications if the Minnesota licensed O.D. is currently or initially licensed after January 1, 2013.  


Minnesota Statutes 148.52 - 148.62 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 6500 provide the Minnesota Board of Optometry authority to act as the licensure agency for the practice of optometry.

Site Browser Requirements

In order to view and navigate our site, including processing renewals for the year, the most current version of the following internet browsers must be installed on your device:

firefox                    chrome                                              ie 11

Install Firefox for Mac              Install Google Chrome                          Install Internet Explorer for Windows

Install Firefox for Windows

Update older versions of Firefox

The change to our renewal processing and required upgrade to current internet browsers helps us ensure your utmost safety as you navigate and input your information on our site.  To streamline requests and confirm efficiency,  please attempt a browser upgrade prior to beginning your renewal.


MN Board of Optometry Online Services