Skip to:

How to Obtain a DEA Number

*On May 13, 2014 and effective January 1, 2015, Governor Dayton signed into law a bill that will require a separate license for APRNs. The current rules and practice information for APRNs in effect until December 31, 2014 can be found here, under the Licensees tab and the Advanced Practice link. The current process for obtaining a DEA number is below.

For more information regarding the new laws and the process for obtaining an APRN license and DEA number in Minnesota, please follow the links under the Advanced Practice tab.

The current law states, To prescribe medications, an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) must have a written agreement with a physician for prescribing authority. A certified nurse-midwife is not required to have a written agreement. In addition, an APRN must have a controlled substance number issued by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) in order to prescribe controlled substances. Obtaining a DEA number is a two step process:

1.) Application to the DEA

Applications can be obtained by accessing the DEA website at www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/index.html or calling the DEA Regional Field Office at (612) 344-4136 or the national office toll free 1-800-882-9539. The DEA will then send a request for verification to the Board of Nursing.

2. ) Submit APRN Eligibility to Prescribe Controlled Substances Verification to DEA Form to the Board of Nursing

DEA requires the Minnesota Board of Nursing to verify that the APRN is in compliance with the Minnesota prescribing laws. The Board must receive certain information from an APRN in order to respond to DEA. The application can be obtained at the link below.

A certified clinical nurse specialist has the additional requirement of showing evidence of completion of a prescribing course must submit to the Board the following:

  • An APRN Eligibility to Prescribe Controlled Substances Verification to DEA form
  • $50 fee
  • Evidence of certification as a clinical nurse specialist
  • A Clinical Nurse Specialist Verification of Prescribing Course Completion form.

A certified nurse-midwife, certified nurse practitioner, or certified registered nurse anesthetist must submit to the Board the following:

  • An APRN Eligibility to Prescribe Controlled Substances Verification to DEA form
  • $50 fee
  • Evidence of certification as a nurse-midwife, nurse practitioner, or registered nurse anesthetist.

When the Board has received the DEA request and the complete APRN Eligibility to Prescribe Controlled Substances Verification to DEA form with required documents, the approved DEA verification form will be returned to the Regional DEA field office. The applicant can generally expect to receive their DEA card in 10-14 working days.

Note: You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view or print the verification of compliance form and the verification of successful completion of prescribing course form.

Forms: