Minnesota requires a bachelor's degree for licensure whether you apply for initial license in Minnesota or already have a license in another state and may have practiced for many years. The only exception is for persons who hold current certification as a nursing home administrator from the American College of Health Care Administrators.
Academic Course Requirements
Minnesota requires applicants for initial licensure, and those who are licensed in other states but do not meet the experience or certification requirements (click on “Licensed in another state” link at left), to complete accredited post-secondary academic courses in the following subjects:
• Organizational management
• Managerial accounting
• Health care and Medical needs
• Nursing facility services
• Human resources
• Information uses
• Regulatory management
For a more complete description of the academic course requirements and of the evidence required to prove that courses you may already have taken satisfy the requirements or that experience you have meets requirements to decrease the duration of the practicum requirement see Minnesota Rules 6400.6500, 6570, 6600 and 6650. (Click link at left).
For information about post-secondary academic institutions in Minnesota and Wisconsin that offer courses to meet the board's requirements for licensure, see BENHA Accredited College Programs link at left.
400 Hour Practicum
The practicum experience must be completed for academic credit at an accredited post-secondary institution. A reduction or waiver of the 400 hour requirement can be obtained by providing evidence of documented health care experience. The practicum must be coordinated through a faculty member providing a signed learning agreement coordinated with the preceptor and student. Specific requirements are found in Minn. Rules 6400.6600.
Minnesota State Rules Exam
Minnesota requires all applicants to pass a 1 hour 20 minute, 34-item, multiple choice open book exam testing candidate ability to research and interpret Minnesota Statutes and Rules pertaining to operation of a Minnesota nursing home. Additional information on the state examination is found at link at left. You must have an active application on file with the board to be eligible to take the state exam.
Minnesota , like all 50 states and DC, requires its licensees to successfully complete the examination developed by the National Association of Boards of Examiners for Long Term Care Administrators - the NAB exam. It is a 150-item multiple choice test covering Domains of Practice in the areas of:
• resident care and quality of life
• human resources
• physical environment and atmosphere
• leadership and management
View the Domains of Practice document for details.
FYI: The NAB exam fee is paid online to NAB/PES, not to the state licensing board.
Board Rules - 6400.6970 FEES pertaining to the application process
Subpart 1. Payment types and nonrefundability. The fees imposed in this part shall be paid by cash, personal check, bank draft, cashier's check, or money order made payable to the Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators. All fees are nonrefundable.
Subp. 2. Amounts. The amount of fees may be set by the board with the approval of the Department of Finance up to the limits provided in this part depending upon the total amount required to sustain board operations under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.1285, subdivision 2. Information about fees in effect at any time is available from the board office. The maximum amounts of fees are:
A. application for licensure, $150;
B. for a prospective applicant for a review of education and experience advisory to the license application, $50, to be applied to the fee for application for licensure if the latter is submitted within one year of the request for review of education and experience;
C. state examination, $75;
D. initial license, $200, if issued between July 1 and December 31, $100 if issued between January 1 and June 30;
There is a 10% OET surcharge on all initial license and license renewal fees mandated by the state legislature, effective from July 2009 through June 2015.
2829 University Ave SE Suite 404, Minneapolis, MN 55414-3230
(651) 201-2730 FAX: (651) 201-2763
Hearing/Speech Relay: (800) 627-3529
Comments? email email@example.com
The Minnesota Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators is an affirmative action / equal opportunity employer.
The Board does not discriminate in employment on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,
disability, public assistance, age, sexual orientation, or membership on a local human rights commission.
*Alternative formats of the content of this site can be made available upon request.*
© Copyright 2014 - State of Minnesota Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators.