All Board of Medical Practice expenses are supported by fees charged to applicants and licensees. Fees charged by the Board for services are based on the costs of providing the services and maintaining the required Board activities. The Board is required to collect sufficient fees every two years to closely approximate anticipated expenditures during a fiscal biennium. The budget is approved by the Board and appropriated by the legislature every two years. All fees paid to the Board are non-refundable.
Applicants for an Initial License
The fees include initial application fee, annual fee, and e-licensing surcharge*. Does not include the temporary permit fee. There is no surcharge fee* for a temporary permit.
Profession Initial Application Before 06/30/2015 After 06/30/2015
Acupuncture $330 $300
Athletic Trainer $165 $150
Naturopathic Doctor $385 $350
Physician $431.20 $392
Physician Assistant With prescribing: $280.50 $255
Without prescribing: $258.50 $235
Respiratory Therapist $209 $190
Telemedicine $192.50 $175
Traditional Midwife $220 $200
Licensees Renewing License
Includes annual fee and e-licensing surcharge*. Does not include any late fee.
Profession Annual Renewal Before 06/30/2015 After 06/30/2015
Acupuncture $165 $150
Athletic Trainer $110 $100
Naturopathic Doctor $165 $150
Physician $211.20 $192
Physician Assistant With prescribing: $148.50 $135
Without prescribing: $126.50 $115
Respiratory Therapist $99 $90
Telemedicine $82.50 $75
Traditional Midwife $110 $100
*In 2009, the legislature enacted MN Statute 16E.22 which requires state agencies to collect a temporary 10% surcharge of no less than $5.00 and no more than $150.00 for the initial license application and license renewal fees for business, commercial, professional, and occupational licenses. These fees must be collected whether the application is made by paper or online and must be collected from July, 2009 through June, 2015 for the Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology to fund a statewide electronic licensing system.
Effective June 30, 2015, the 10% e-Licensing surcharge enacted by the Minnesota Legislature in 2009 will expire. Individuals whose application or renewal is PROCESSED as of 12:01 a.m. Central Standard Time on July 1, 2015, will not be assessed a surcharge. If the surcharge amount is submitted, individuals will receive a refund check for the surcharge amount from the Minnesota Department of Revenue. Submission of a surcharge fee after June 30, 2015, will not delay processing of an application or renewal.
© Copyright 2012 - State of Minnesota.